Transducer Attachment Body for a Probe, having at Least One Transducer and One Lens, of an Acoustic Microscope, an Acoustic Microscope, and Method of Performing an Ultra-Sound Scanning Microscopy
DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/13/2024, 02/25/2025, 12/12/2025 and 10/01/2026 are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: The limitation “the outlet side of the receiving space” should read “an outlet side of the receiving space”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “a suction chamber… laterally at the outlet opening of the receiving space” is unclear if the suction chamber is laterally spaced from the outlet opening or something else. For the purpose of examination, the examiner interprets the limitation as “a suction chamber… laterally spaced from
Regarding claim 20, the limitation “the transducer attachment body is formed as an adapter” is unclear what two pieces of equipment the transducer attachment body joins together or adapts between.
Regarding claim 23, the limitation “the readable identification device” lacks antecedent basis. The examiner believes the claims should depend from claim 22.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-8, 19 and 25-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fleming (US 7284434; “Fleming”).
Regarding claim 1, Fleming discloses, in figures 1-2, a transducer attachment body (10, 12) for use with a probe (100) having at least one transducer (col. 4, line 6, “ultrasonic transducer”) and one lens (col. 7, lines 7-10, examiner notes Fleming’s arrangement allows for lens focused beams), of an acoustic microscope (the examiner believes the preamble recitation of an acoustic microscope does not further limit the recited structure in the body of the claim, see MPEP 2111.02), the transducer attachment body (10, 12) comprising: a receiving space ((10, 16, 30, 102) col. 4, lines 6-8, “ultrasonic transducer 100 is mounted between support shoulder 16 and transducer retainer 30 that is attached to the proximate end of central body 10”) configured to receive the probe (100); a supply line (col. 5, lines 32-34, “couplant inlet 105 that is connected to a couplant supply source (not shown) through a flexible hose”) for supplying a liquid coupling medium (ABSTRACT, “couplant”) fluidically connected (col. 4, lines 45-46, Fleming’s first chamber formed by the central and lower body continuously receives couplant fluid via the couplant inlet) with the receiving space (102); an outlet opening (20) facing a sample (101) to be examined for the discharge of the liquid coupling medium (col. 5, lines 2-3, couplant is drawn through the ports in the membrane onto the workpiece) from the receiving space (102); and a suction chamber (112) having a negative pressure (col. 4, lines 61-66, Flemings vacuum ports and chamber are connected to a vacuum pump), is provided outside (see fig. 1) of the receiving space (102) and laterally spaced from the outlet opening (20) of the receiving space (102), for suction of the coupling medium escaping (col. 5, lines 1-4, Flemings vacuum ports and chamber remove excess couplant from the surface of the workpiece as couplant is drawn through the couplant port) from the outlet opening (20).
Regarding claim 4, Fleming discloses, in figures 1-2, at least one discharge line (110) for discharging the coupling medium from the suction chamber (112), wherein the suction chamber (112) is fluidically connected (see fig. 1) with the at least one discharge line (110).
Regarding claim 5, Fleming discloses, in figures 1-2, a global discharge line (col. 4, lines 64, “flexible hose”) wherein the at least one discharge line (110) comprises two or more discharge lines (col. 4, line 60, “vacuum paths”), each fluidically connected with the suction chamber (112), and the two or more discharge lines (col. 4, line 60, “vacuum paths”) are fluidically connected with the global discharge line (col. 4, lines 64, Fleming’s vacuum ports are connected to a flexible hose coupled a remote vacuum pump).
Regarding claim 6, Fleming discloses, in figures 1-2, the suction chamber (112) comprises two suction chamber openings (see fig. 2a, examiner notes Fleming depicts the vacuum chamber connected to two vacuum ports therefore there is an opening between the vacuum chamber and each vacuum port), wherein each suction chamber opening (see previous comment) is connected with a respective discharge line (110) of the two or more discharge lines (col. 4, line 60, “vacuum paths”).
Regarding claim 7, Fleming discloses, in figures 1-2, the two suction chamber openings (see fig. 2a, examiner notes Fleming depicts the vacuum chamber connected to two vacuum ports therefore there is an opening between the vacuum chamber and each vacuum port) are arranged opposite to each other (see fig. 2a, examiner notes Flemings openings to the vacuum ports are opposite the cutting plane line 2b from each other).
Regarding claim 8, Fleming discloses, in figures 1-2, a gas bubble collection region (see fig. 1, the examiner asserts Fleming’s first chamber inherently contains a gas bubble collection region that forms at the top of the chamber, as couplant enters the chamber, any gas bubbles contained in the couplant will float to the top of the chamber due to buoyant force) formed on an inside of the receiving space (102) for gas bubbles contained in the coupling medium (ABSTRACT, “couplant”).
Regarding claim 19, Fleming discloses, in figures 1-2, a channel (105) is formed in the inside of the receiving space (102) on an inner wall of the receiving space see fig. 1, examiner notes Fleming’s couplant inlet extends through the inner wall of the first chamber).
Regarding claim 25, Fleming discloses, in figures 1-2, a probe (100) with at least one transducer (col. 4, line 6, “ultrasonic transducer”) and one lens arranged in the transducer attachment body (col. 7, lines 7-10, examiner notes Fleming’s arrangement allows for lens focused beams).
Regarding claim 26, Fleming discloses, in figures 1-2, the supply line is connected with a coupling medium reservoir (col. 4, line 47, “external couplant reservoir”) for the liquid coupling medium (col. 5, lines 32-34, “couplant inlet 105 that is connected to a couplant supply source (not shown) through a flexible hose”), and wherein a pump (col. 4, line 66, “pump”), which is connected to the coupling medium reservoir (col. 5, lines 2-4, examiner asserts Fleming’s pump is connected to the couplant reservoir through the vacuum chamber, second chamber and first chamber connection to the couplant reservoir), is provided in one or more of the supply line, and the discharge line (110) is connected to a negative pressure source (col. 4, line 66, “vacuum pump”).
Regarding claim 27, Fleming discloses, in figures 1-2, the probe (100) comprises one of one transducer (col. 4, line 6, “ultrasonic transducer”) and one lens (col. 7, lines 7-10, examiner notes Fleming’s arrangement allows for lens focused beams).
Regarding claim 28, Fleming discloses, in figures 1-2, a method for performing an acoustic microscopy, the method comprising: introducing a probe (100) having at least one transducer (col. 4, line 6, “ultrasonic transducer”) and one lens (col. 7, lines 7-10, examiner notes Fleming’s arrangement allows for lens focused beams) into a receiving space ((10, 16, 30, 102) col. 4, lines 6-8, “ultrasonic transducer 100 is mounted between support shoulder 16 and transducer retainer 30 that is attached to the proximate end of central body 10”) of a transducer attachment body (10, 12) configured to receive the probe (100); supplying a liquid coupling medium (ABSTRACT, “couplant”) to the receiving space (102) through an inlet (105) of the transducer attachment body (10, 12); and creating a negative pressure (col. 4, lines 61-66, Flemings vacuum ports and chamber are connected to a vacuum pump) between the inlet (105) and an outlet (20) to generate a coupling medium cushion (col. 4, lines 38-39, “to supply couplant to second chamber”) between a surface (see fig. 1) of a sample (101) being observed and the transducer attachment body (10, 12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fleming (US 7284434; “Fleming”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Patton (US 5469744; “Patton”).
Regarding claim 2, Fleming discloses, in figures 1-2, the suction chamber (112) surrounds (see fig. 2a) the outlet opening (20).
Fleming fails to disclose the suction chamber surrounds at least partially annularly.
Patton teaches, in figures 4-5, the suction chamber (426) surrounds (see fig. 5) the outlet opening (119, 120) at least partially annularly (see fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Patton’s scheme of surrounding a fluid outlet with an annular suction chamber into Fleming’s acoustic inspection apparatus since it is well known to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Doing so provides a reliable way of removing excess coupling fluid from a workpiece surface.
Regarding claim 3, Fleming and Patton disclose, in Fleming’s figures 1-2 and Patton’s figures 4-5, the suction chamber (Fleming (112), Patton (426)) surrounds the outlet opening (Fleming (20)) at least partially annularly (see Patton’s fig. 5) in a region of the outlet side (see Fleming’s fig. 1) of the receiving space (Fleming (102)).
Claims 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fleming (US 7284434; “Fleming”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Patterson (US 6298727; “Patterson”).
Regarding claim 16, Fleming fails to disclose an introduction opening for a probe opposite the outlet opening.
Patterson teaches, in figures 1-2, the receiving space (102) comprises an introduction opening (14) for introducing a probe (100) into the receiving space (102), the introduction opening (14) being formed opposite to the outlet opening (20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Patterson’s scheme of providing a receiving space with an introduction opening for a transducer probe into Fleming’s acoustic inspection apparatus since it is well known to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Doing so provides a reliable way of aligning and supporting the transducer to prevent it from bottoming out against the membrane.
Regarding claim 17, Fleming and Patterson fail to disclose the introduction opening is formed with a sealing body disposed within a circumferential recess.
However, Applicant has not disclosed that providing a sealing body within the circumferential recess is critical or produces unexpected results. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to design Fleming and Patterson’s introduction opening to be formed with a sealing body disposed within a circumferential recess for holding the sealing body. Doing assist in holding the transducer in place.
Regarding claim 18, Fleming and Patterson fail to disclose a sealing ring.
The Examiner takes official notice that sealing rings are well-known in the art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a well-known sealing ring to seal Fleming and Patterson’s central passage. Doing so provides a reliable element for retaining the transducer in place.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fleming (US 7284434; “Fleming”) as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 21, Fleming fails to disclose the transducer attachment body is made of plastic.
However, plastic materials are well-known as excellent electrical insulators, lightweight, corrosion resistant, chemical resistant, significantly cheaper than machining or casting metal, highly durable and impact resistant, and easily molded.
Therefore, it would be obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to use plastic in the manufacture of Fleming’s transducer attachment body, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-15 and 22-24 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TIMOTHY P GRAVES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855