February 25, 2026DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having application No. 18/980,675 of MARTINEZ-BARREIRO et al. for “HIGH SECURITY DEVICE FOR MONITORING A DOOR, COMPARTMENT OR OTHER COVERED OPENING” filed December 13, 2024 has been examined.
Drawings
Drawings Figures 1-6 submitted on December 13, 2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.121(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted December 13, 2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 4, 8 and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities: the dependent claims 4, 8 and 14 recite limitation “the second switch is located sufficiently distant”, which the limitation --located sufficiently distant-- is a relative term that makes the metes and bounds of the claims ambiguous (i.e. what is sufficiently distant?). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The term “located sufficiently distant” in claims 4, 8 and 14 is a relative term which renders the claims indefinite. The term “located sufficiently distant” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Thus, it is not clear how the location of the second switch is determined to be located sufficiently distant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6-7, 9-10 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by the Prior Art of NG, Sing King (U.S. Publication No. 2003/0011474 A1) hereinafter “Ng”.
As to claim 1, Ng discloses an RF signaling device configured to detect tampering with a door or cover of an opening of a compartment or container (assembly [i.e. an RF signaling device], shown in Figure 5 and described in Paragraphs 0039-0040), the RF signaling device comprising: a controller (controller 28, shown in Figure 5); a first switch (first switch 84, shown in Figure 5)) coupled to the controller (first switch 84 coupled to controller 28 via conductor 85, shown in Figure 5); and a second switch (second switch 86, shown in Figure 5) coupled to the controller (second switch 86 coupled to controller 28 via conductor 87, shown in Figure 5); wherein the first switch is configured to detect normal opening or closing of the door or cover and signal the normal opening or closing to the controller (When the bolt 36 is coupled to the electronic circuit 60, the first switch 84 closes, for example, and supplies electrical power to the electronic circuit 60 from the power supply 30 via conductor 85 [i.e. wherein the first switch is configured to detect normal opening or closing of the door or cover and signal the normal opening or closing to the controller], described in Paragraph 0040); and the second switch is configured to detect the tampering with the door or cover and signal the tampering to the controller (When the bolt 36 is severed, the second switch 86 may open or close, for example, and the controller 28 detects the tamper signal 31 via conductor 87, as described previously [i.e. the second switch is configured to detect the tampering with the door or cover and signal the tampering to the controller], described in Paragraph 0040).
As to claim 6, Ng’s disclosure as set forth above in claim 1, further Ng discloses wherein: the first switch and the second switch are configured to take on different states to indicate the normal closing, and take on a first same state to indicate the normal opening (functionally may be represented schematically as two switches 84 and 86. When the bolt 36 is coupled to the electronic circuit 60, the first switch 84 closes, for example, and supplies electrical power to the electronic circuit 60 from the power supply 30 via conductor 85. When the bolt 36 is severed, the second switch 86 may open or close, as shown in Figure 5 and described in Paragraph 0040 [i.e. the first switch and the second switch are configured to take on different states to indicate the normal closing, and take on a first same state to indicate the normal opening], thus meeting the claimed limitation as claimed).
As to claim 7, Ng’s disclosure as set forth above in claim 6, further Ng discloses wherein: the first switch and the second switch are configured to take on a second same state different from the first state to indicate the tampering (functionally may be represented schematically as two switches 84 and 86. When the bolt 36 is coupled to the electronic circuit 60, the first switch 84 closes, for example, and supplies electrical power to the electronic circuit 60 from the power supply 30 via conductor 85. When the bolt 36 is severed, the second switch 86 may open or close, as shown in Figure 5 and described in Paragraph 0040 [i.e. the first switch and the second switch are configured to take on a second same state different from the first state to indicate the tampering], thus, meeting the claimed limitation as claimed).
As to claim 9, Ng’s disclosure as set forth above in claim 1, further Ng discloses wherein the RF signaling device is configured to communicate with a management device to report detecting of the tampering (controller 28 utilizes the data in the tamper code block 96 and the normal block 98 for generating the signal that is transmitted to the reader 12 [i.e. wherein the RF signaling device is configured to communicate with a management device to report detecting of the tampering], shown in Figure 5A and described in Paragraph 0041).
As to claim 10, Ng discloses a security system, comprising: a compartment or container having a door or cover; a security device associated with the compartment or container (assembly [i.e. security system], shown in Figure 5 and described in Paragraphs 0039-0040), the security device including a controller (controller 28, shown in Figure 5), a first switch (first switch 84) coupled to the controller (first switch 84 coupled to controller 28 via conductor 85, shown in Figure 5), and a second switch (second switch 86, shown in Figure 5) coupled to the controller (second switch 86 coupled to controller 28 via conductor 87, shown in Figure 5); wherein the first switch is configured to detect normal opening and closing of the door or cover and signal the normal opening and closing to the controller (When the bolt 36 is coupled to the electronic circuit 60, the first switch 84 closes, for example, and supplies electrical power to the electronic circuit 60 from the power supply 30 via conductor 85 [i.e. wherein the first switch is configured to detect normal opening and closing of the door or cover and signal the normal opening and closing to the controller], described in Paragraph 0040); and the second switch is configured to detect tampering with the door or cover and signal the tampering to the controller (When the bolt 36 is severed, the second switch 86 may open or close, for example, and the controller 28 detects the tamper signal 31 via conductor 87, as described previously [i.e. the second switch is configured to detect the tampering with the door or cover and signal the tampering to the controller], described in Paragraph 0040).
As to claim 16, the claim recites a method that parallels the system claim 10. Therefore, the analysis discussed above with respect to claim 10 also applies to claim 16. Accordingly, claim 16 is rejected by the prior art of Ng under the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 2-5 and 8, 11-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by the Prior Art of NG, Sing King (U.S. Publication No. 2003/0011474 A1) hereinafter “Ng” in view of the Prior Art of BUCKLEY (U.S. Publication No. 2003/0052780 A1) hereinafter “Buckley”.
As to claim 2, Ng’s disclosure as set forth above in claim 1, but Ng does not expressly disclose further comprising an actuator magnet; wherein the first switch is configured to be magnetically coupled to the actuator magnet, and to detect normal opening or closing based on proximity to or separation from the actuator magnet.
Buckley, in similar field of endeavor, discloses a device, system and method comprising: tamper resistant magnetic contact switch having a plurality of magnetic reed switches (shown in Figures 8 and 10 and described in Abstract and Paragraphs 0055-0057).
Thus, given the device, system and method of Ng and having the teaching of Buckley disclosing a device having tamper resistant magnetic contact switch that is also well-known and conventional in the art, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device, system and method of Ng by incorporating the teaching of Buckley such that the device, system and method of Ng to further comprising an actuator magnet; wherein the first switch is configured to be magnetically coupled to the actuator magnet, and to detect normal opening or closing based on proximity to or separation from the actuator magnet, for the obvious advantage of providing a tamper resistance device, system and method as suggested by Buckley (Paragraphs 0058-0059) that is desirable feature particularly in the case of preventing tampering to secured compartment/container.
As to claim 3, the combination of Ng and Buckley as set forth above in claim 2, further having the teaching of Buckley disclosing a device, system and method comprising: tamper resistant magnetic contact switch having a plurality of magnetic reed switches (shown in Figures 8 and 10 and described in Abstract and Paragraphs 0055-0057), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify combination of Ng and Buckley such that the device, system and method of Ng wherein the second switch is configured to detect a presence of a tampering magnet, for the same motivational reasons as stated above in claim 2.
As to claim 4, the combination of Ng and Buckley as set forth above in claim 3, further the combination discloses wherein the second switch is located sufficiently distant from the actuator magnet that a state of the second switch is not affected by the actuator magnet (shown in Figure 5 of Ng and shown in Figures 8 and 10 of Buckley).
As to claim 5, the combination of Ng and Buckley as set forth above in claim 2, further Ng discloses the device, system and method further comprising: a first part configured to be housed in or attached to the door or cover, the first part including the controller, the first switch and the second switch; and a second part configured to be housed in or attached to the compartment or container, the second part including the actuator magnet (shown in Figure 5).
As to claim 8, the combination of Ng and Buckley as set forth above in claim 5, further Ng disclosing functionally may be represented schematically as two switches 84 and 86. When the bolt 36 is coupled to the electronic circuit 60, the first switch 84 closes, for example, and supplies electrical power to the electronic circuit 60 from the power supply 30 via conductor 85. When the bolt 36 is severed, the second switch 86 may open or close (shown in Figure 5 and described in Paragraph 0040) and further having the teaching of Buckley disclosing a device comprising: tamper resistant magnetic contact switch having a plurality of magnetic reed switches (shown in Figures 8 and 10 and described in Abstract and Paragraphs 0055-0057), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify combination of Ng and Buckley wherein: each of the first switch and the second switch is or includes a magnetic switch; and the first part has an edge configured to be disposed opposite to an edge of the second part, and the second switch is located sufficiently distant from the edge of the first part that the state of the second switch is not affected by the actuator magnet, for the same motivational reasons as stated above in claim 2.
As to claim 11, Ng’s disclosure as set forth above in claim 10, further Ng discloses wherein the security device comprises: a first part housed in or attached to the door or cover, the first part including the controller, the first switch and the second switch; and a second part housed in or attached to the compartment or container (shown in Figure 5 and described in Paragraphs 0039-0040).
But Ng does not expressly disclose the second part including an actuator magnet configured to be magnetically coupled to the first switch.
Buckley, in similar field of endeavor, discloses a device comprising: tamper resistant magnetic contact switch having a plurality of magnetic reed switches (shown in Figures 8 and 10 and described in Abstract and Paragraphs 0055-0057).
Thus, given the device, system and method of Ng and having the teaching of Buckley disclosing a device having tamper resistant magnetic contact switch that is also well-known and conventional in the art, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device, system and method of Ng by incorporating the teaching of Buckley such that the device, system and method of Ng to further wherein the security device comprises: a first part housed in or attached to the door or cover, the first part including the controller, the first switch and the second switch; and a second part housed in or attached to the compartment or container, the second part including an actuator magnet configured to be magnetically coupled to the first switch, for the obvious advantage of providing a tamper resistance device, system and method as suggested by Buckley (Paragraphs 0058-0059) that is desirable feature particularly in the case of preventing tampering to secured compartment/container.
As to claim 12, the combination of Ng and Buckley as set forth above in claim 11, further having the teaching of Buckley disclosing a device comprising: tamper resistant magnetic contact switch having a plurality of magnetic reed switches (shown in Figures 8 and 10 and described in Abstract and Paragraphs 0055-0057), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify combination of Ng and Buckley such that the device, system and method of Ng wherein: in a normal closed condition of the compartment or container, the first switch and the second switch have different states, indicating the normal closed condition; and in a normal open condition of the compartment or container, the first switch and the second switch have a first same state, the first same state indicating the normal open condition, for the same motivational reasons as stated above in claim 11.
As to claim 13, the combination of Ng and Buckley as set forth above in claim 12, further having the teaching of Buckley disclosing a device comprising: tamper resistant magnetic contact switch having a plurality of magnetic reed switches (shown in Figures 8 and 10 and described in Abstract and Paragraphs 0055-0057), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify combination of Ng and Buckley such that the device, system and method of Ng wherein: in an unauthorized or tampering condition of the compartment or container, the first switch and the second switch have a second same state different from the first same state, indicating the unauthorized or tampering condition, for the same motivational reasons as stated above in claim 11.
As to claim 14, the combination of Ng and Buckley as set forth above in claim 13, further Ng disclosing further Ng disclosing functionally may be represented schematically as two switches 84 and 86. When the bolt 36 is coupled to the electronic circuit 60, the first switch 84 closes, for example, and supplies electrical power to the electronic circuit 60 from the power supply 30 via conductor 85. When the bolt 36 is severed, the second switch 86 may open or close (shown in Figure 5 and described in Paragraph 0040) and further having the teaching of Buckley disclosing a device comprising: tamper resistant magnetic contact switch having a plurality of magnetic reed switches (shown in Figures 8 and 10 and described in Abstract and Paragraphs 0055-0057), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify combination of Ng and Buckley wherein: each of the first switch and the second switch is or includes a magnetic switch; and the first part has an edge opposite to an edge of the second part, and the second switch is located sufficiently distant from the edge of the first part that the state of the second switch is not affected by the actuator magnet, for the same motivational reasons as stated above in claim 11.
As to claim 15, the combination of Ng and Buckley as set forth above in claim 11, further Buckley discloses the device, system and method further comprising: a management device configured to communicate with the first part (controller 28 utilizes the data in the tamper code block 96 and the normal block 98 for generating the signal that is transmitted to the reader 12 [i.e. wherein the RF signaling device is configured to communicate with a management device to report detecting of the tampering], shown in Figure 5A and described in Paragraph 0041).
As to claim 17, Ng’s disclosure as set forth above in claim 16, but Ng does not expressly disclose wherein the detecting the unauthorized opening or closing or tampering comprises detecting, by the second switch, a presence of a tampering magnet.
Buckley, in similar field of endeavor, discloses a device, system and method comprising: tamper resistant magnetic contact switch having a plurality of magnetic reed switches (shown in Figures 8 and 10 and described in Abstract and Paragraphs 0055-0057).
Thus, given the device, system and method of Ng and having the teaching of Buckley disclosing a device, system and method having tamper resistant magnetic contact switch that is also well-known and conventional in the art, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device, system and method of Ng by incorporating the teaching of Buckley such that the device, system and method of Ng wherein the detecting the unauthorized opening or closing or tampering comprises detecting, by the second switch, a presence of a tampering magnet, for the obvious advantage of providing a tamper resistance device, system and method as suggested by Buckley (Paragraphs 0058-0059) that is desirable feature particularly in the case of preventing tampering to secured compartment/container.
As to claim 18, the combination of Ng and Buckley as set forth above in claim 17, further Ng discloses (functionally may be represented schematically as two switches 84 and 86. When the bolt 36 is coupled to the electronic circuit 60, the first switch 84 closes, for example, and supplies electrical power to the electronic circuit 60 from the power supply 30 via conductor 85. When the bolt 36 is severed, the second switch 86 may open or close, as shown in Figure 5 and described in Paragraph 0040 [i.e. wherein the detecting the normal closing comprises determining that the first switch and the second switch have different states], thus, meeting the claimed limitation as claimed).
As to claim 19, the combination of Ng and Buckley as set forth above in claim 18, further Ng discloses (functionally may be represented schematically as two switches 84 and 86. When the bolt 36 is coupled to the electronic circuit 60, the first switch 84 closes, for example, and supplies electrical power to the electronic circuit 60 from the power supply 30 via conductor 85. When the bolt 36 is severed, the second switch 86 may open or close, as shown in Figure 5 and described in Paragraph 0040 [i.e. the detecting the normal opening comprises determining that the first switch and the second switch have a same first state], thus, meeting the claimed limitation as claimed).
As to claim 20, the combination of Ng and Buckley as set forth above in claim 19, further Ng discloses (functionally may be represented schematically as two switches 84 and 86. When the bolt 36 is coupled to the electronic circuit 60, the first switch 84 closes, for example, and supplies electrical power to the electronic circuit 60 from the power supply 30 via conductor 85. When the bolt 36 is severed, the second switch 86 may open or close, as shown in Figure 5 and described in Paragraph 0040 [i.e. wherein the detecting the unauthorized opening or closing or tampering comprises determining that the first switch and the second switch have a same second state different from the first state], thus, meeting the claimed limitation as claimed).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following cited arts are further to show the state of related art.
U.S. Publication No. 2020/0148383 A1 of MARTINEZ-BARREIRO, discloses a system includes an RF signaling device configured to record a count of a number of times that an aircraft door or cover has opened or closed, and a management device configured to determine a state of the aircraft door or cover based on communication with the RF signaling device.
U.S. Publication No. 2019/0057598 A1 of MARTINEZ-BARREIRO, discloses a system and method for managing an aircraft personal safety device can include an RF signaling device configured to monitor a state or condition of the aircraft personal safety device, and a management device configured to determine the state or condition of the aircraft personal safety device based on communication with the RF signaling device. The method can include associating the RF signaling device with the aircraft personal safety device, and monitoring the state or condition of the aircraft personal safety device by using the management device to receive information from the RF signaling device.
U.S. Publication No. 2008/0186173 A1 of GATES, discloses a redundant security system relies on a Radio Frequency Identification (RFID) tag to convey security sensor data. If the RFID tag is unable to convey security sensor data, a backup photoelectric cell powered transmitter is activated to transmit security sensor data to a monitoring station. Alternately, a security safe is outfitted with a RFID tag based security sensor. The RFID tag allows remote monitoring of at least one of an opened/closed condition and a locked/unlocked condition of a door of the security safe.
Correspondence
/SISAY YACOB/ February 25, 2026 Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686