DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chiu (TWI698697B).
Re claim 1, Chiu discloses a device comprising: a light source (10) providing an initial incident light along a first optical path; an optical film (12) disposed on the first optical path, wherein the optical film is configured to generate a first incident light with a first polarization direction; a beam splitter (14) disposed on the first optical path, wherein the beam splitter is configured to receive the first incident light from the optical film and generate a first reflected light along a second optical path; a liquid crystal on silicon (LCOS) module (15) configured to, upon receiving the first reflected light with a first polarization direction, generate a second incident light with a second polarization direction along the second optical path and passing through the beam splitter; and an optical lens group (16) collimated to the LCOS module along the second optical path, wherein the optical lens group is configured to focus the second incident light from the beam splitter to generate an outgoing light (Fig. 1).
Re claim 16, Chiu et al. discloses a device comprising: a liquid crystal on silicon (LCOS) module (15) configured to generate primary incident light; and an optical lens group (16) having a fold light path architecture, wherein the optical lens group is used to focus the primary incident light to produce an outgoing light (Fig. 1), wherein the optical lens group sequentially includes a first lens, a second lens, and a third lens from a light-receive side to a light-emitting side (Fig. 1, ref. 16).
Re claim 17, Chiu et al. discloses the device wherein the LCOS module (15) is a reflective LCOS module, including a light source (10) providing an initial incident light; a polarization element (12) configured to receive the initial incident light and generate a first incident light with a first polarization direction; a beam splitter (14) receiving the first incident light from the polarization element and generating a first reflected light along a first optical path (Fig. 1); and an LCOS panel (15) configured to, upon receiving the first reflected light with a first polarization direction, generate a second incident light with a second polarization direction along the second optical path and passing through the beam splitter (Fig. 1).
Claim(s) 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mochizuki (US 2021/0072516 A1).
Re claim 9, Mochizuki disclose a device wherein the optical lens group sequentially includes a cemented lens (B31) and a light-receiving lens (L11) along an optical axis from a light receiving side to a light-emitting side, the light-receiving lens has negative refractive power (paragraph 0040), and the cemented lens (B31) includes at least two materials with different refractive indices (Fig. 2) and has positive refractive power (paragraph 0045). Materials with different refractive indices would include at least two materials
Re claim 10, Mochizuki discloses the device wherein the light receiving lens (L11) and the cemented lens (B31) each have a light-receiving side surface facing the light receiving side and a light-emitting side surface facing the light-emitting side, the light-receiving side surface of the light receiving lens (L11) is provided with a first convex portion, the light-emitting side surface of the light-receiving lens is provided with a first concave portion adjacent to the optical axis (Fig. 1(a)), the light-receiving side surface of the cemented lens (B31) is provided with a first planar portion (G3LS), and the light emitting-side surface of the cemented lens is provided with a second convex portion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiu in view of Chuang et al. (US 2023/0049696).
Re claim 2, Chiu does not disclose the device wherein the optical lens group sequentially includes a cemented lens and a light-receiving lens along an optical axis from a light receiving side to a light-emitting side, the light-receiving lens has negative refractive power, and the cemented lens includes at least two materials with different refractive indices and has positive refractive power.
Chuang et al. disclose a device wherein the optical lens group sequentially includes a cemented lens (3, 4) and a light-receiving lens (2) along an optical axis from a light receiving side to a light-emitting side, the light-receiving lens has negative refractive power (paragraph 0023), and the cemented lens includes at least two materials with different refractive indices (TAB1, 1) and has positive refractive power (Fig. 1, ref. 3, 4). Materials with different refractive indices would include at least two materials
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to employ the device wherein the optical lens group sequentially includes a cemented lens and a light-receiving lens along an optical axis from a light receiving side to a light-emitting side, the light-receiving lens has negative refractive power, and the cemented lens includes at least two materials with different refractive indices and has positive refractive power since one would be motivated by high image quality.
Re claim 18, Chiu et al. does not disclose the device wherein the first lens is an aspheric lens, the second lens and the third lens are spherical lenses, the first lens has positive refractive power, and the second and third lens have negative refractive power.
Chuang et al. discloses the device wherein a first lens (5) is an aspheric lens (paragraph 024), the second (2) and third lens (1), the first lens has positive refractive power, and the second and third lens have negative refractive power (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to employ the device wherein the first lens is an aspheric lens, the second lens and the third lens are spherical lenses, the first lens has positive refractive power, and the second and third lens have negative refractive power since one would be motivated by high image quality.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-8, 11-15 and 19-20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/RICHARD H KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871