June 10, 2026
DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: On page 1 of the specification, in paragraph [0001] under “CROSS-REFERENCE TO RELATED APPLICATIONS “, Applicant needs to insert “now U.S. Patent No. 12,194,898 B2- - after “This application is a continuation of U.S. Patent Application No. 18/481,361, filed October 5, 2023,.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “canopy unit being rotatable relative to the seat main body about the first axis and a second axis, the second axis being offset from the first axis”, as defined in Claim 28, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 28-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. In claim 28, Applicant defines that “the canopy unit being rotatable relative to the seat main body about the first axis and a second axis, the second axis being offset from the first axis.”. However, there is no mention of this feature in the specification. Claim 28 requires that the canopy unit is rotatable relative to the seat main body about two axes: a first axis (the mounting axis of the handle, as described in the spec) and a second axis, offset from the first axis (i.e., a different, non-coincident axis. The description does allow for the canopy bow to be mounted at a location “spaced apart from the handle mount” (see paragraphs [0028] and [0030]), but this does not teach or suggest a second, offset axis of rotation. It simply describes the mounting location along the handle, not a different axis. There is no teaching of any other structure that would provide two distinct, offset axes of rotation for the canopy unit relative to the seat main body. There is absolutely no mention of a “second axis” in the specification. The only axis described in the specification is when Applicant describes in paragraphs [0022] and [0023] that “Referring specifically to FIG. 8, each of the handle mounts 21 is formed with a limiting groove 211 that extends about a mounting axis (A)…..” and “Referring to FIGS. 3 and 4, the handle 3 is for carrying the infant car seat, and has two positioning ends 31 that are respectively mounted to and rotatable relative to the handle mounts 21 about the mounting axis (A). Each of the positioning ends 31 of the handle 3 is formed with a plurality of positioning grooves 311 that are disposed about the mounting axis (A).”. In paragraph [0025], Applicant describes “Referring to FIGS. 2 to 5, in one embodiment, the canopy bow 41 1s rotatable about the mounting axis (A) and has two ring portions 411 (only one is visible in FIG. 2), each of which surrounds the mounting axis (A)…..”. In paragraph [0026], Applicant describes “In another embodiment, the opposite ends of the canopy bow 41 may be respectively and magnetically coupled to the positioning ends 31 of the handle 3 for the canopy bow 41 to be positioned relative to the handle 3. In yet another embodiment, the canopy bow 41 is rotatable about the mounting axis (A),…..”. Finally, in paragraph [0028], Applicant describes “As a result, whenever the handle 3 rotates relative to the seat main body 2 about the mounting axis (A), the canopy bow 41 simultaneously rotates with the handle 3 about the mounting axis (A) as well.”). As a result, the “mounting axis (A)” and the rotational axis are one and the same and there are not a first and second axis, as defined in claim 28. As such, claim 28 contains NEW MATTER. As a result, the limitation “the canopy unit being rotatable relative to the seat main body about the first axis and a second axis, the second axis being offset from the first axis” is new matter in this instant application, since there is no mention of the subject matter in the specification and the aforementioned subject matter is also new matter as the Preliminary Amendment, which contains the subject matter of “the canopy unit being rotatable relative to the seat main body about the first axis and a second axis, the second axis being offset from the first axis”, was not filed with the original application. Furthermore, “the canopy unit being rotatable relative to the seat main body about the first axis and a second axis, the second axis being offset from the first axis” is considered new matter since the present invention has been filed as a Continuation of Application No. 18/481,361, which is a Continuation of Application No. 17/942,497, which is a Continuation of Application No. 16/868,640. This subject matter in question has not been described in any of the specifications of the aforementioned parent applications. It appears the present invention should have been filed as a Continuation-in-part. If this application had been filed as a Continuation-in-part, then the subject matter in question would not be new matter. If Application No. 18/980,699 had been filed as a Continuation-in-part, then the feature in question would not be considered new matter since that is the purpose of a Continuation-in-part, which is to claim new subject matter that was not described in the parent application(s) or new subject matter that had been added to the description of the instant application. To avoid the new matter rejection, Applicant should file the instant application as a Continuation-in-part.
Double Patenting
Claims 20-28 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 11, and 14-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,472,317 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter of claims 20-28 is claimed in claims 1, 11, and 14-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,472,317 B2. Claims 20-28 are also rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 11, and 14-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,813,968 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter of claims 20-28 is claimed in claims 1, 11, and 14-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,813,968 B2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 28-30, so far as understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Williams et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0326474 A1).
As for claim 28, Williams et al. teach an infant car seat comprising: a seat main body including a handle mount; a handle 112 mounted to the handle mount of the seat main body and rotatable relative to the handle mount about a first axis; and a canopy unit 115 operably coupled to the seat main body, the canopy unit being rotatable relative to the seat main body about the first axis and a second axis, the second axis being offset from the first axis.
As for claim 29, Williams et al. teach that that the canopy unit is located out of a path of rotational movement of the handle.
As for claim 30, Williams et al. teach that the canopy unit is rotatable about the first axis independently from the second axis.
Claims 28-30, so far as understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Longenecker et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,597,396 B2).
As for claim 28, Longenecker et al. teach an infant car seat comprising: a seat main body including a handle mount; a handle 404 mounted to the handle mount of the seat main body and rotatable relative to the handle mount about a first axis; and a canopy unit 580 operably coupled to the seat main body, the canopy unit being rotatable relative to the seat main body about the first axis and a second axis, the second axis being offset from the first axis.
As for claim 29, Longenecker et al. teach that that the canopy unit is located out of a path of rotational movement of the handle.
As for claim 30, Longenecker et al. teach that the canopy unit is rotatable about the first axis independently from the second axis.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 31-35 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
/Rodney B White/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636