DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 02/13/2025, 10/10/2025, 04/15/2026, 06/29/2026 and 08/19/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 112
Claim 1- 20 contain or depend on a claim with the trademark/trade name Bluetooth. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe specification compliant with any current and future Bluetooth standard and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite. Bluetooth standards will change in future making the scope of the trademark to be indefinite.
Dependent claims that don't recite Bluetooth are rejected under the same rational as the independent claim for their failure to cure the deficiencies of the independent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, 10, 11 and 13 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bangs et al. ( U.S. PGPUB 2019/0289172), Bangs hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 1, Bangs teaches a Bluetooth based time synchronization method, comprising: ([0035] FIG. 5 illustrates a method for synchronizing data capture between sensors (e.g., optical cameras, infrared cameras, inertial measurement units, LiDAR, etc.). The method 500 may begin at step 510, where a computing device of a first sensor may receive synchronization information from a controller (e.g., CIB). The synchronization information may be generated based on a clock of the controller, which is different from the clocks of the sensors. ... [0051] ... One or more portions of one or more of these networks may be wired or wireless. As an example, computer system 600 may communicate with a wireless PAN (WPAN) (such as, for example, a Bluetooth WPAN), a WI-FI network, a WI-MAX network, a cellular telephone network (such as, for example, a Global System for Mobile Communications (GSM) network), ... )
performing, by a first electronic device, Bluetooth based time synchronization with a second electronic device, wherein the Bluetooth based time synchronization comprises N time synchronization subprocesses that are sequentially performed, and each time synchronization subprocess has one round trip time and one initial sub-time offset, wherein performing the Bluetooth based time synchronization comprises obtaining, by the first electronic device based on the N round trip times and the N initial sub-time offsets of the N time synchronization subprocesses, M valid sub-time offsets corresponding to M time synchronization subprocesses, wherein M≤N, and the M time synchronization subprocesses are in the N time synchronization subprocesses; and (paragraphs 0035 to 0043 discloses receiving synchronization information and determining offset. Fig. 5 also shows the loop from step 560 back to step 510, indicating repetition as neccessary. [0009] FIG. 5 illustrates an example method for synchronizing a data capture by a sensor. N round trip is disclosed in Fig. 5 and paragraph 0043 - [0043] Particular embodiments may repeat one or more steps of the method of FIG. 5, where appropriate. … M valid sub-time offset is disclosed in [0042] … Again, the first sensor may determine, based on the second synchronization information, another offset between the first clock of the first sensor and the clock of the controller. The first sensor may then replace the previously-stored first offset with the third offset. Other sensors synchronized with the controller may similarly update their respective synchronization tables.)
obtaining, by the first electronic device, a time offset between the first electronic device and the second electronic device based on the M valid sub-time offsets. ([0042] … Again, the first sensor may determine, based on the second synchronization information, another offset between the first clock of the first sensor and the clock of the controller. The first sensor may then replace the previously-stored first offset with the third offset. Other sensors synchronized with the controller may similarly update their respective synchronization tables.).
Regarding Claim 2, Bangs teaches claim 1.
Bangs further teaches wherein a first time synchronization subprocess is one of the N time synchronization subprocesses, and the first time synchronization subprocess comprises: ([0043] Particular embodiments may repeat one or more steps of the method of FIG. 5, where appropriate. … . Fig. 5 also shows the loop from step 560 back to step 510, indicating repetition as neccessary.)
receiving, by the first electronic device, a time synchronization frame sent by the second electronic device, wherein the time synchronization frame is carried by an indication sent by a Bluetooth module of the second electronic device; and ([0035] … The method 500 may begin at step 510, where a computing device of a first sensor may receive synchronization information from a controller (e.g., CIB). The synchronization information may be generated based on a clock of the controller, which is different from the clocks of the sensors. As previously described, the synchronization information may be a number of pulses with an interval that corresponds to a counter incrementation of the clock of the controller. In other embodiments, the synchronization information may be a code (e.g., k-indexed binary signal).)
sending, by the first electronic device, an acknowledgment message in response to the time synchronization frame to the second electronic device, wherein the acknowledgment message is carried by a confirm sent by a Bluetooth module of the first electronic device, wherein ([0037] In particular embodiments, each sensor, in response to receiving the synchronization information from the controller, may transmit the received synchronization information to the controller. The controller may then use the round-trip time of the synchronization information to estimate and compensate for an average transmission delay. For example, later when the controller sends trigger signals that indicate a scheduled time(s) for triggering capture, the scheduled time(s) may be selected by the controller based on the measured round-trip time or the average transmission delay computed therefrom. Doing so helps ensure that the trigger signals are received by their intended recipient sensors prior to the scheduled trigger times.)
TLPi=TEi−TTXi, wherein TLPi is a round trip time of the first time synchronization subprocess, TEi is an acknowledgment receiving moment at which the second electronic device receives the acknowledgment message, and TTXi is a time synchronization sending moment at which the second electronic device sends the time synchronization frame. ([0037] In particular embodiments, each sensor, in response to receiving the synchronization information from the controller, may transmit the received synchronization information to the controller. The controller may then use the round-trip time of the synchronization information to estimate and compensate for an average transmission delay. For example, later when the controller sends trigger signals that indicate a scheduled time(s) for triggering capture, the scheduled time(s) may be selected by the controller based on the measured round-trip time or the average transmission delay computed therefrom. Doing so helps ensure that the trigger signals are received by their intended recipient sensors prior to the scheduled trigger times.)
Regarding Claim 5, Bangs teaches claim 1.
Bangs further teaches wherein a first time synchronization subprocess is one of the N time synchronization subprocesses, and the first time synchronization subprocess comprises: ( [0043] Particular embodiments may repeat one or more steps of the method of FIG. 5, where appropriate. … . Fig. 5 also shows the loop from step 560 back to step 510, indicating repetition as neccessary.)
sending, by the first electronic device, a time synchronization frame to the second electronic device, wherein the time synchronization frame is carried by an indication sent by a Bluetooth module of the first electronic device; ([0037] In particular embodiments, each sensor, in response to receiving the synchronization information from the controller, may transmit the received synchronization information to the controller. The controller may then use the round-trip time of the synchronization information to estimate and compensate for an average transmission delay. For example, later when the controller sends trigger signals that indicate a scheduled time(s) for triggering capture, the scheduled time(s) may be selected by the controller based on the measured round-trip time or the average transmission delay computed therefrom. Doing so helps ensure that the trigger signals are received by their intended recipient sensors prior to the scheduled trigger times.)
receiving, by the first electronic device, an acknowledgment message that is sent by the second electronic device in response to the time synchronization frame, wherein the acknowledgment message is carried by a confirm sent by a Bluetooth module of the second electronic device; and ([0035] … The method 500 may begin at step 510, where a computing device of a first sensor may receive synchronization information from a controller (e.g., CIB). The synchronization information may be generated based on a clock of the controller, which is different from the clocks of the sensors. As previously described, the synchronization information may be a number of pulses with an interval that corresponds to a counter incrementation of the clock of the controller. In other embodiments, the synchronization information may be a code (e.g., k-indexed binary signal).)
receiving, by the first electronic device, a response frame sent by the second electronic device, wherein ([0037] In particular embodiments, each sensor, in response to receiving the synchronization information from the controller, may transmit the received synchronization information to the controller. The controller may then use the round-trip time of the synchronization information to estimate and compensate for an average transmission delay. For example, later when the controller sends trigger signals that indicate a scheduled time(s) for triggering capture, the scheduled time(s) may be selected by the controller based on the measured round-trip time or the average transmission delay computed therefrom. Doing so helps ensure that the trigger signals are received by their intended recipient sensors prior to the scheduled trigger times.)
TLPi=TEi−TTXi, wherein TLPi is a round trip time of the first time synchronization subprocess, TEi is an acknowledgment receiving moment at which the first electronic device receives the acknowledgment message, and TTXi is a time synchronization sending moment at which the first electronic device sends the time synchronization frame. ([0037] In particular embodiments, each sensor, in response to receiving the synchronization information from the controller, may transmit the received synchronization information to the controller. The controller may then use the round-trip time of the synchronization information to estimate and compensate for an average transmission delay. For example, later when the controller sends trigger signals that indicate a scheduled time(s) for triggering capture, the scheduled time(s) may be selected by the controller based on the measured round-trip time or the average transmission delay computed therefrom. Doing so helps ensure that the trigger signals are received by their intended recipient sensors prior to the scheduled trigger times.)
Regarding Claim 10, Bangs teaches claim 1.
Bangs further teaches wherein a first time synchronization subprocess is one of the N time synchronization subprocesses, and the first time synchronization subprocess comprises: ( [0043] Particular embodiments may repeat one or more steps of the method of FIG. 5, where appropriate. … . Fig. 5 also shows the loop from step 560 back to step 510, indicating repetition as neccessary.)
receiving, by the first electronic device, a time synchronization frame sent by the second electronic device, wherein the time synchronization frame is carried by an indication sent by a Bluetooth module of the second electronic device; ([0035] … The method 500 may begin at step 510, where a computing device of a first sensor may receive synchronization information from a controller (e.g., CIB). The synchronization information may be generated based on a clock of the controller, which is different from the clocks of the sensors. As previously described, the synchronization information may be a number of pulses with an interval that corresponds to a counter incrementation of the clock of the controller. In other embodiments, the synchronization information may be a code (e.g., k-indexed binary signal).)
sending, by the first electronic device, an acknowledgment message in response to the time synchronization frame to the second electronic device, wherein the acknowledgment message is carried by a confirm sent by a Bluetooth module of the first electronic device; and ([0037] In particular embodiments, each sensor, in response to receiving the synchronization information from the controller, may transmit the received synchronization information to the controller. The controller may then use the round-trip time of the synchronization information to estimate and compensate for an average transmission delay. For example, later when the controller sends trigger signals that indicate a scheduled time(s) for triggering capture, the scheduled time(s) may be selected by the controller based on the measured round-trip time or the average transmission delay computed therefrom. Doing so helps ensure that the trigger signals are received by their intended recipient sensors prior to the scheduled trigger times.)
sending, by the first electronic device, a response frame to the second electronic device, wherein ([0035] … The method 500 may begin at step 510, where a computing device of a first sensor may receive synchronization information from a controller (e.g., CIB). The synchronization information may be generated based on a clock of the controller, which is different from the clocks of the sensors. As previously described, the synchronization information may be a number of pulses with an interval that corresponds to a counter incrementation of the clock of the controller. In other embodiments, the synchronization information may be a code (e.g., k-indexed binary signal).)
TLPi=TEi−TTXi,T, wherein TLPi is a round trip time of the first time synchronization subprocess, TEi is an acknowledgment receiving moment at which the second electronic device receives the acknowledgment message, and TTXi,T is a time synchronization sending moment at which the second electronic device sends the time synchronization frame. ([0037] In particular embodiments, each sensor, in response to receiving the synchronization information from the controller, may transmit the received synchronization information to the controller. The controller may then use the round-trip time of the synchronization information to estimate and compensate for an average transmission delay. For example, later when the controller sends trigger signals that indicate a scheduled time(s) for triggering capture, the scheduled time(s) may be selected by the controller based on the measured round-trip time or the average transmission delay computed therefrom. Doing so helps ensure that the trigger signals are received by their intended recipient sensors prior to the scheduled trigger times.)
Regarding Claim 11, Bangs teaches claim 10.
Bangs further teaches wherein the time synchronization frame comprises TE(i−1), TRX(i−1),T, and TTXi,T, TE(i−1) is an acknowledgment receiving moment at which the second electronic device receives a previous acknowledgment message of the acknowledgment message, TRX(i−1),T is a response receiving moment at which the second electronic device receives a previous response frame of the response frame, and TTXi,T is the moment at which the second electronic device sends the time synchronization frame. ([0030] ... CIB 202 may use cross-correlated timestamps to extract the relative frequency and delay offsets between cameras (e.g., 104A and 104B). CIB 202 may accept the clock of one of the cameras (e.g., 104B) as a master clock to calculate and sends synchronization table entries Sij to the different cameras (e.g., 104A and 104B) and a trigger schedule or future time to capture an image asynchronously. ... [0031] .... As described in more detail above, CIB 202 may cross-correlate the image across cameras with overlapping FOVs (e.g., 104A and 104B) data based on the timestamp associated with the image data and send corrections of synchronization table entries Sij and a trigger schedule over a forward channel to the appropriate cameras (e.g., 104A and 104B), which may be performed asynchronously.).
Regarding Claim 13, Bangs teaches claim 1.
Bangs further teaches wherein the time synchronization frame further comprises at least one of: a sequence number, wherein the sequence number indicates a ranking of the time synchronization frame in the N time synchronization subprocesses; or (Alternative)
a Bluetooth interval T0 ( [0035] … The synchronization information may be generated based on a clock of the controller, which is different from the clocks of the sensors. As previously described, the synchronization information may be a number of pulses with an interval that corresponds to a counter incrementation of the clock of the controller. … [0051] ... As an example, computer system 600 may communicate with a wireless PAN (WPAN) (such as, for example, a Bluetooth WPAN), ...)
Regarding Claim 15, Bangs teaches claim 1.
Bangs further teaches wherein the obtaining, by the first electronic device based on the N round trip times and the N initial sub-time offsets of the N time synchronization subprocesses, M valid sub-time offsets corresponding to M time synchronization subprocesses comprises: (paragraphs 0035 to 0043 discloses receiving synchronization information and determining offset. Fig. 5 also shows the loop from step 560 back to step 510, indicating repetition as neccessary. [0009] FIG. 5 illustrates an example method for synchronizing a data capture by a sensor. N round trip is disclosed in Fig. 5 and paragraph 0043 - [0043] Particular embodiments may repeat one or more steps of the method of FIG. 5, where appropriate. … M valid sub-time offset is disclosed in [0042] … Again, the first sensor may determine, based on the second synchronization information, another offset between the first clock of the first sensor and the clock of the controller. The first sensor may then replace the previously-stored first offset with the third offset. Other sensors synchronized with the controller may similarly update their respective synchronization tables.)
performing, by the first electronic device, the following operations on each of the N round trip times: (paragraphs 0035 to 0043 discloses receiving synchronization information and determining offset. Fig. 5 also shows the loop from step 560 back to step 510, indicating repetition as neccessary.)
determining, by the first electronic device, whether a first round trip time meets a preset condition; and ( [0020] ... For example, if the entry in the synchronization table for camera 104A and CIB 202 indicates that the local clock of camera 104A has an offset that is 2 milliseconds slower than the timing of CIB 202 (from timing system 206), camera 104A may transform a counter value from the CIB into the camera's 104A own counter value by subtracting the received counter value by the equivalent of 2 milliseconds. Similarly, the other cameras (e.g., 104B) may use the relevant entry in its synchronization table to synchronize its clock to the timing of CIB 202. In this way, not only would each camera know its own counter value, it would also able to estimate the offset of the counter value of the other cameras or central controllers in its synchronization table. ... [0037] ... The controller may then use the round-trip time of the synchronization information to estimate and compensate for an average transmission delay. For example, later when the controller sends trigger signals that indicate a scheduled time(s) for triggering capture, the scheduled time(s) may be selected by the controller based on the measured round-trip time or the average transmission delay computed therefrom. ...)
when the first round trip time meets the preset condition, using an initial sub-time offset corresponding to the first round trip time as a valid sub-time offset; or ( [0042] … Again, the first sensor may determine, based on the second synchronization information, another offset between the first clock of the first sensor and the clock of the controller. The first sensor may then replace the previously-stored first offset with the third offset. Other sensors synchronized with the controller may similarly update their respective synchronization tables.)
when the first round trip time does not meet the preset condition, deleting an initial sub-time offset corresponding to the first round trip time, wherein the first round trip time is a round trip time of any one of the N time synchronization subprocesses, and the preset condition comprises: 2T0−ε≤Round trip time ≤2T0+ε, wherein 0<ε≤T0, and T0 is a Bluetooth interval. ( [0042] … Again, the first sensor may determine, based on the second synchronization information, another offset between the first clock of the first sensor and the clock of the controller. The first sensor may then replace the previously-stored first offset with the third offset. Other sensors synchronized with the controller may similarly update their respective synchronization tables.).
Regarding Claim 16, Bangs teaches claim 1.
Bangs further teaches wherein the obtaining, by the first electronic device based on the N round trip times, M valid sub-time offsets corresponding to M time synchronization subprocesses comprises: performing, by the first electronic device, the following operations on each of the N round trip times: (paragraphs 0035 to 0043 discloses receiving synchronization information and determining offset. Fig. 5 also shows the loop from step 560 back to step 510, indicating repetition as neccessary. [0009] FIG. 5 illustrates an example method for synchronizing a data capture by a sensor. N round trip is disclosed in Fig. 5 and paragraph 0043 - [0043] Particular embodiments may repeat one or more steps of the method of FIG. 5, where appropriate. … M valid sub-time offset is disclosed in [0042] … Again, the first sensor may determine, based on the second synchronization information, another offset between the first clock of the first sensor and the clock of the controller. The first sensor may then replace the previously-stored first offset with the third offset. Other sensors synchronized with the controller may similarly update their respective synchronization tables.)
determining, by the first electronic device, whether a first round trip time meets a preset condition; and ( [0020] ... For example, if the entry in the synchronization table for camera 104A and CIB 202 indicates that the local clock of camera 104A has an offset that is 2 milliseconds slower than the timing of CIB 202 (from timing system 206), camera 104A may transform a counter value from the CIB into the camera's 104A own counter value by subtracting the received counter value by the equivalent of 2 milliseconds. Similarly, the other cameras (e.g., 104B) may use the relevant entry in its synchronization table to synchronize its clock to the timing of CIB 202. In this way, not only would each camera know its own counter value, it would also able to estimate the offset of the counter value of the other cameras or central controllers in its synchronization table. ... [0037] ... The controller may then use the round-trip time of the synchronization information to estimate and compensate for an average transmission delay. For example, later when the controller sends trigger signals that indicate a scheduled time(s) for triggering capture, the scheduled time(s) may be selected by the controller based on the measured round-trip time or the average transmission delay computed therefrom. ...)
when the first round trip time meets the preset condition, correcting an initial sub-time offset corresponding to the first round trip time, and using a corrected initial sub-time offset as a valid sub-time offset; or ( [0042] … Again, the first sensor may determine, based on the second synchronization information, another offset between the first clock of the first sensor and the clock of the controller. The first sensor may then replace the previously-stored first offset with the third offset. Other sensors synchronized with the controller may similarly update their respective synchronization tables.)
when the first round trip time does not meet the preset condition, using an initial sub-time offset corresponding to the first round trip time as a valid sub-time offset, wherein the first round trip time is a round trip time of any one of the N time synchronization subprocesses, and the preset condition comprises: Round trip time >2T0+Φ, wherein 0<Φ<2T0. ( [0042] … Again, the first sensor may determine, based on the second synchronization information, another offset between the first clock of the first sensor and the clock of the controller. The first sensor may then replace the previously-stored first offset with the third offset. Other sensors synchronized with the controller may similarly update their respective synchronization tables.).
Regarding Claim 17, Bangs teaches claim 16.
Bangs further teaches wherein the initial sub-time offset is corrected in the following manner:
Δi′=Δi−δ, wherein Δi′ is a corrected initial sub-time offset, Δi is the initial sub-time offset, and δ is a correction compensation amount. ([0020] ... For example, if the entry in the synchronization table for camera 104A and CIB 202 indicates that the local clock of camera 104A has an offset that is 2 milliseconds slower than the timing of CIB 202 (from timing system 206), camera 104A may transform a counter value from the CIB into the camera's 104A own counter value by subtracting the received counter value by the equivalent of 2 milliseconds. Similarly, the other cameras (e.g., 104B) may use the relevant entry in its synchronization table to synchronize its clock to the timing of CIB 202. In this way, not only would each camera know its own counter value, it would also able to estimate the offset of the counter value of the other cameras or central controllers in its synchronization table. ...[0031] ... As described in more detail above, CIB 202 may cross-correlate the image across cameras with overlapping FOVs (e.g., 104A and 104B) data based on the timestamp associated with the image data and send corrections of synchronization table entries Sij and a trigger schedule over a forward channel to the appropriate cameras (e.g., 104A and 104B), which may be performed asynchronously.)
Regarding Claim 18, Bangs teaches claim 17.
Bangs further teaches 18. The Bluetooth based time synchronization method according to claim 17, wherein the correction compensation amount is a Bluetooth interval T0. ([0031] ... As described in more detail above, CIB 202 may cross-correlate the image across cameras with overlapping FOVs (e.g., 104A and 104B) data based on the timestamp associated with the image data and send corrections of synchronization table entries Sij and a trigger schedule over a forward channel to the appropriate cameras (e.g., 104A and 104B), which may be performed asynchronously.)
Regarding Claim 19, Bangs teaches an electronic device, comprising: at least one processor; (fig. 6) and one or more memories coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor to perform operations comprising: (fig. 6 and paragraph 0048 - In particular embodiments, memory 604 includes main memory for storing instructions for processor 602 to execute or data for processor 602 to operate on. …)
performing, by a first electronic device, Bluetooth based time synchronization with a second electronic device, wherein the Bluetooth based time synchronization comprises N time synchronization subprocesses that are sequentially performed, and each time synchronization subprocess has one round trip time and one initial sub-time offset, wherein performing the Bluetooth based time synchronization comprises obtaining, by the first electronic device based on the N round trip times and the N initial sub-time offsets of the N time synchronization subprocesses, M valid sub-time offsets corresponding to M time synchronization subprocesses, wherein M≤N, and the M time synchronization subprocesses are in the N time synchronization subprocesses; and (paragraphs 0035 to 0043 discloses receiving synchronization information and determining offset. Fig. 5 also shows the loop from step 560 back to step 510, indicating repetition as neccessary. [0009] FIG. 5 illustrates an example method for synchronizing a data capture by a sensor. N round trip is disclosed in Fig. 5 and paragraph 0043 - [0043] Particular embodiments may repeat one or more steps of the method of FIG. 5, where appropriate. … M valid sub-time offset is disclosed in [0042] … Again, the first sensor may determine, based on the second synchronization information, another offset between the first clock of the first sensor and the clock of the controller. The first sensor may then replace the previously-stored first offset with the third offset. Other sensors synchronized with the controller may similarly update their respective synchronization tables.)
obtaining, by the first electronic device, a time offset between the first electronic device and the second electronic device based on the M valid sub-time offsets. ([0042] … Again, the first sensor may determine, based on the second synchronization information, another offset between the first clock of the first sensor and the clock of the controller. The first sensor may then replace the previously-stored first offset with the third offset. Other sensors synchronized with the controller may similarly update their respective synchronization tables.).
Regarding Claim 20, Bangs teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium stores instructions, and when the instructions are executed on an electronic device, the electronic device is enabled to: (fig. 6 and paragraph 0048 - In particular embodiments, memory 604 includes main memory for storing instructions for processor 602 to execute or data for processor 602 to operate on. …)
perform, by a first electronic device, Bluetooth based time synchronization with a second electronic device, wherein the Bluetooth based time synchronization comprises N time synchronization subprocesses that are sequentially performed, and each time synchronization subprocess has one round trip time and one initial sub-time offset, wherein performing the Bluetooth based time synchronization comprises obtaining, by the first electronic device based on the N round trip times and the N initial sub-time offsets of the N time synchronization subprocesses, M valid sub-time offsets corresponding to M time synchronization subprocesses, wherein M≤N, and the M time synchronization subprocesses are in the N time synchronization subprocesses; and (paragraphs 0035 to 0043 discloses receiving synchronization information and determining offset. Fig. 5 also shows the loop from step 560 back to step 510, indicating repetition as neccessary. [0009] FIG. 5 illustrates an example method for synchronizing a data capture by a sensor. N round trip is disclosed in Fig. 5 and paragraph 0043 - [0043] Particular embodiments may repeat one or more steps of the method of FIG. 5, where appropriate. … M valid sub-time offset is disclosed in [0042] … Again, the first sensor may determine, based on the second synchronization information, another offset between the first clock of the first sensor and the clock of the controller. The first sensor may then replace the previously-stored first offset with the third offset. Other sensors synchronized with the controller may similarly update their respective synchronization tables.)
obtain, by the first electronic device, a time offset between the first electronic device and the second electronic device based on the M valid sub-time offsets. ([0042] … Again, the first sensor may determine, based on the second synchronization information, another offset between the first clock of the first sensor and the clock of the controller. The first sensor may then replace the previously-stored first offset with the third offset. Other sensors synchronized with the controller may similarly update their respective synchronization tables.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 3, 4, 6 - 9, 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bangs et al, (U.S. PGPub 2019/0289172), Bangs hereinafter, in view of Schmidt et al. (U.S. PGPub 2009/0059962), Schmidt hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 3, Bangs teaches claim 2.
Yet, Bangs does not expressly teach 3. The method according to claim 2, wherein the time synchronization frame comprises TTXi and TEi−1, and TEi−1 is an acknowledgment receiving moment at which the second electronic device receives a previous acknowledgment message of the acknowledgment message.
However, in the analogous art, Schmidt explicitly discloses 3. The method according to claim 2, wherein the time synchronization frame comprises TTXi and TEi−1, and TEi−1 is an acknowledgment receiving moment at which the second electronic device receives a previous acknowledgment message of the acknowledgment message. ([0047] ... The data packet further includes timestamps from the receiving device for the arrival and transmission of the packet, and may further include decoder latency information and buffer information. Utilizing such data, the transmitter may determine that the roundtrip delay for a receiver is equal to the time difference between the transmission and arrival of the data packet at the transmitter, minus the difference between the arrival and transmission of the data packer at the receiver 416. If the determined delay is not within a threshold 418, this may indicate that varying network jitter is causing extra delay, and the determination of the delay is repeated. If the delay is within the threshold 418, the phase offset may be determined based upon the timestamp values 420. If there are more receivers to be addressed 422, the synchronization process may be repeated 406. ... )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Bang’s Systems and methods for synchronizing sensor capture to include Schmidt's time difference between the transmission and arrival of the data packet in calculating round trip time and offset to determine network delay.
Regarding Claim 4, Bangs teaches claim 2.
Yet, Bangs does not expressly teach 4. The method according to claim 2, wherein the initial sub-time offset comprises any one of the following:
Δi=TRXi−TTXi, or Δi=TTXi−TRXi, wherein Δi is the initial sub-time offset, TRXi is a time synchronization receiving moment at which the first electronic device receives the time synchronization frame, and TTXi is the time synchronization sending moment at which the second electronic device sends the time synchronization frame; or
Δi=TRXi−TEi, or Δi=TEi−TRXi, wherein Δi is the initial sub-time offset, TRXi is a time synchronization receiving moment at which the first electronic device receives the time synchronization frame, and TEi is the acknowledgment receiving moment at which the second electronic device receives the acknowledgment message.
However, in the analogous art, Schmidt explicitly discloses 4. The method according to claim 2, wherein the initial sub-time offset comprises any one of the following:
Δi=TRXi−TTXi, or Δi=TTXi−TRXi, wherein Δi is the initial sub-time offset, TRXi is a time synchronization receiving moment at which the first electronic device receives the time synchronization frame, and TTXi is the time synchronization sending moment at which the second electronic device sends the time synchronization frame; or ([0047] ... The data packet further includes timestamps from the receiving device for the arrival and transmission of the packet, and may further include decoder latency information and buffer information. Utilizing such data, the transmitter may determine that the roundtrip delay for a receiver is equal to the time difference between the transmission and arrival of the data packet at the transmitter, minus the difference between the arrival and transmission of the data packer at the receiver 416. If the determined delay is not within a threshold 418, this may indicate that varying network jitter is causing extra delay, and the determination of the delay is repeated. If the delay is within the threshold 418, the phase offset may be determined based upon the timestamp values 420. If there are more receivers to be addressed 422, the synchronization process may be repeated 406. ... )
Δi=TRXi−TEi, or Δi=TEi−TRXi, wherein Δi is the initial sub-time offset, TRXi is a time synchronization receiving moment at which the first electronic device receives the time synchronization frame, and TEi is the acknowledgment receiving moment at which the second electronic device receives the acknowledgment message. ([0047] ... The data packet further includes timestamps from the receiving device for the arrival and transmission of the packet, and may further include decoder latency information and buffer information. Utilizing such data, the transmitter may determine that the roundtrip delay for a receiver is equal to the time difference between the transmission and arrival of the data packet at the transmitter, minus the difference between the arrival and transmission of the data packer at the receiver 416. If the determined delay is not within a threshold 418, this may indicate that varying network jitter is causing extra delay, and the determination of the delay is repeated. If the delay is within the threshold 418, the phase offset may be determined based upon the timestamp values 420. If there are more receivers to be addressed 422, the synchronization process may be repeated 406. ... )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Bang’s Systems and methods for synchronizing sensor capture to include Schmidt's time difference between the transmission and arrival of the data packet in calculating round trip time and offset to determine network delay.
Regarding Claim 6, Bangs teaches claim 5.
Yet, Bangs does not expressly teach 6. The method according to claim 5, wherein the response frame comprises TRXi, and TRXi is a time synchronization receiving moment at which the second electronic device receives the time synchronization frame.
However, in the analogous art, Schmidt explicitly discloses 6. The method according to claim 5, wherein the response frame comprises TRXi, and TRXi is a time synchronization receiving moment at which the second electronic device receives the time synchronization frame. ([0047] ... The data packet further includes timestamps from the receiving device for the arrival and transmission of the packet, and may further include decoder latency information and buffer information. Utilizing such data, the transmitter may determine that the roundtrip delay for a receiver is equal to the time difference between the transmission and arrival of the data packet at the transmitter, minus the difference between the arrival and transmission of the data packer at the receiver 416. If the determined delay is not within a threshold 418, this may indicate that varying network jitter is causing extra delay, and the determination of the delay is repeated. If the delay is within the threshold 418, the phase offset may be determined based upon the timestamp values 420. If there are more receivers to be addressed 422, the synchronization process may be repeated 406. ... ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Bang’s Systems and methods for synchronizing sensor capture to include Schmidt's time difference between the transmission and arrival of the data packet in calculating round trip time and offset to determine network delay.
Regarding Claim 7, Bangs teaches claim 5.
Yet, Bangs does not expressly teach 7. The method according to claim 5, wherein the initial sub-time offset comprises any one of the following:
Δi=TTXi−TRXi, or Δi=TRXi−TTXi, wherein Δi is the initial sub-time offset, TTXi is the time synchronization sending moment at which the first electronic device sends the time synchronization frame, and TRXi is the time synchronization receiving moment at which the second electronic device receives the time synchronization frame; or
Δi=TEi−TRXi, or Δi=TRXi−TEi, wherein Δi is the initial sub-time offset, TEi is the acknowledgment receiving moment at which the first electronic device receives the acknowledgment message, and TRXi is the time synchronization receiving moment at which the second electronic device receives the time synchronization frame.
However, in the analogous art, Schmidt explicitly discloses 7. The method according to claim 5, wherein the initial sub-time offset comprises any one of the following:
Δi=TTXi−TRXi, or Δi=TRXi−TTXi, wherein Δi is the initial sub-time offset, TTXi is the time synchronization sending moment at which the first electronic device sends the time synchronization frame, and TRXi is the time synchronization receiving moment at which the second electronic device receives the time synchronization frame; or ([0047] ... The data packet further includes timestamps from the receiving device for the arrival and transmission of the packet, and may further include decoder latency information and buffer information. Utilizing such data, the transmitter may determine that the roundtrip delay for a receiver is equal to the time difference between the transmission and arrival of the data packet at the transmitter, minus the difference between the arrival and transmission of the data packer at the receiver 416. If the determined delay is not within a threshold 418, this may indicate that varying network jitter is causing extra delay, and the determination of the delay is repeated. If the delay is within the threshold 418, the phase offset may be determined based upon the timestamp values 420. If there are more receivers to be addressed 422, the synchronization process may be repeated 406. ... )
Δi=TEi−TRXi, or Δi=TRXi−TEi, wherein Δi is the initial sub-time offset, TEi is the acknowledgment receiving moment at which the first electronic device receives the acknowledgment message, and TRXi is the time synchronization receiving moment at which the second electronic device receives the time synchronization frame.
([0047] ... The data packet further includes timestamps from the receiving device for the arrival and transmission of the packet, and may further include decoder latency information and buffer information. Utilizing such data, the transmitter may determine that the roundtrip delay for a receiver is equal to the time difference between the transmission and arrival of the data packet at the transmitter, minus the difference between the arrival and transmission of the data packer at the receiver 416. If the determined delay is not within a threshold 418, this may indicate that varying network jitter is causing extra delay, and the determination of the delay is repeated. If the delay is within the threshold 418, the phase offset may be determined based upon the timestamp values 420. If there are more receivers to be addressed 422, the synchronization process may be repeated 406. ... ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Bang’s Systems and methods for synchronizing sensor capture to include Schmidt's time difference between the transmission and arrival of the data packet in calculating round trip time and offset to determine network delay.
Regarding Claim 8, Bangs teaches claim 5.
Yet, Bangs does not expressly teach 8. The method according to claim 5, wherein the response frame comprises TRXi,T and TTXi,T, TRXi,T is a time synchronization receiving moment at which the second electronic device receives the time synchronization frame, and TTXi,T is a response sending moment at which the second electronic device sends the response frame.
However, in the analogous art, Schmidt explicitly discloses 8. The method according to claim 5, wherein the response frame comprises TRXi,T and TTXi,T, TRXi,T is a time synchronization receiving moment at which the second electronic device receives the time synchronization frame, and TTXi,T is a response sending moment at which the second electronic device sends the response frame. ([0047] ... The data packet further includes timestamps from the receiving device for the arrival and transmission of the packet, and may further include decoder latency information and buffer information. Utilizing such data, the transmitter may determine that the roundtrip delay for a receiver is equal to the time difference between the transmission and arrival of the data packet at the transmitter, minus the difference between the arrival and transmission of the data packer at the receiver 416. If the determined delay is not within a threshold 418, this may indicate that varying network jitter is causing extra delay, and the determination of the delay is repeated. If the delay is within the threshold 418, the phase offset may be determined based upon the timestamp values 420. If there are more receivers to be addressed 422, the synchronization process may be repeated 406. ... ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Bang’s Systems and methods for synchronizing sensor capture to include Schmidt's time difference between the transmission and arrival of the data packet in calculating round trip time and offset to determine network delay.
Regarding Claim 9, Bangs teaches claim 5.
Yet, Bangs does not expressly teach 9. The method according to claim 5, wherein the initial sub-time offset comprises any one of the following:
Δi=TTXi,P−TRXi,T, or Δi=TRXi,T−TTXi,P, wherein Δi is the initial sub-time offset, TTXi,P is a time synchronization sending moment at which the first electronic device sends the time synchronization frame, and TRXi,T is the time synchronization receiving moment at which the second electronic device receives the time synchronization frame;
Δi=TEi−TRXi,T, or Δi=TRXi,T−TEi, wherein Δi is the initial sub-time offset, TEi is the acknowledgment receiving moment at which the first electronic device receives the acknowledgment message, and TRXi,T is the time synchronization receiving moment at which the second electronic device receives the time synchronization frame;
Δi=(TTXi,P−TRXi,T+TRXi,P−TTXi,T)/2, or Δi=(TRXi,T−TTXi,P+TTXi,T−TRXi,P)/2, wherein Δi is the initial sub-time offset, TTXi,P is a time synchronization sending moment at which the first electronic device sends the time synchronization frame, TRXi,T is the time synchronization receiving moment at which the second electronic device receives the time synchronization frame, TRXi,P is a response receiving moment at which the first electronic device receives the response frame, and TTXi,T is the response sending moment at which the second electronic device sends the response frame; or
Δi=TRXi,P−TTXi,T, or Δi=TTXi,T−TRXi,P, wherein Δi is the initial sub-time offset, TRXi,P is a response receiving moment at which the first electronic device receives the response frame, and TTXi,T is the response sending moment at which the second electronic device sends the response frame.
However, in the analogous art, Schmidt explicitly discloses 9. The method according to claim 5, wherein the initial sub-time offset comprises any one of the following:
Δi=TTXi,P−TRXi,T, or Δi=TRXi,T−TTXi,P, wherein Δi is the initial sub-time offset, TTXi,P is a time synchronization sending moment at which the first electronic device sends the time synchronization frame, and TRXi,T is the time synchronization receiving moment at which the second electronic device receives the time synchronization frame; ([0047] ... The data packet further includes timestamps from the receiving device for the arrival and transmission of the packet, and may further include decoder latency information and buffer information. Utilizing such data, the transmitter may determine that the roundtrip delay for a receiver is equal to the time difference between the transmission and arrival of the data packet at the transmitter, minus the difference between the arrival and transmission of the data packer at the receiver 416. If the determined delay is not within a threshold 418, this may indicate that varying network jitter is causing extra delay, and the determination of the delay is repeated. If the delay is within the threshold 418, the phase offset may be determined based upon the timestamp values 420. If there are more receivers to be addressed 422, the synchronization process may be repeated 406. ... )
Δi=TEi−TRXi,T, or Δi=TRXi,T−TEi, wherein Δi is the initial sub-time offset, TEi is the acknowledgment receiving moment at which the first electronic device receives the acknowledgment message, and TRXi,T is the time synchronization receiving moment at which the second electronic device receives the time synchronization frame; ([0047] ... The data packet further includes timestamps from the receiving device for the arrival and transmission of the packet, and may further include decoder latency information and buffer information. Utilizing such data, the transmitter may determine that the roundtrip delay for a receiver is equal to the time difference between the transmission and arrival of the data packet at the transmitter, minus the difference between the arrival and transmission of the data packer at the receiver 416. If the determined delay is not within a threshold 418, this may indicate that varying network jitter is causing extra delay, and the determination of the delay is repeated. If the delay is within the threshold 418, the phase offset may be determined based upon the timestamp values 420. If there are more receivers to be addressed 422, the synchronization process may be repeated 406. ... )
Δi=(TTXi,P−TRXi,T+TRXi,P−TTXi,T)/2, or Δi=(TRXi,T−TTXi,P+TTXi,T−TRXi,P)/2, wherein Δi is the initial sub-time offset, TTXi,P is a time synchronization sending moment at which the first electronic device sends the time synchronization frame, TRXi,T is the time synchronization receiving moment at which the second electronic device receives the time synchronization frame, TRXi,P is a response receiving moment at which the first electronic device receives the response frame, and TTXi,T is the response sending moment at which the second electronic device sends the response frame; or ([0047] ... The data packet further includes timestamps from the receiving device for the arrival and transmission of the packet, and may further include decoder latency information and buffer information. Utilizing such data, the transmitter may determine that the roundtrip delay for a receiver is equal to the time difference between the transmission and arrival of the data packet at the transmitter, minus the difference between the arrival and transmission of the data packer at the receiver 416. If the determined delay is not within a threshold 418, this may indicate that varying network jitter is causing extra delay, and the determination of the delay is repeated. If the delay is within the threshold 418, the phase offset may be determined based upon the timestamp values 420. If there are more receivers to be addressed 422, the synchronization process may be repeated 406. ... )
Δi=TRXi,P−TTXi,T, or Δi=TTXi,T−TRXi,P, wherein Δi is the initial sub-time offset, TRXi,P is a response receiving moment at which the first electronic device receives the response frame, and TTXi,T is the response sending moment at which the second electronic device sends the response frame. ([0047] ... The data packet further includes timestamps from the receiving device for the arrival and transmission of the packet, and may further include decoder latency information and buffer information. Utilizing such data, the transmitter may determine that the roundtrip delay for a receiver is equal to the time difference between the transmission and arrival of the data packet at the transmitter, minus the difference between the arrival and transmission of the data packer at the receiver 416. If the determined delay is not within a threshold 418, this may indicate that varying network jitter is causing extra delay, and the determination of the delay is repeated. If the delay is within the threshold 418, the phase offset may be determined based upon the timestamp values 420. If there are more receivers to be addressed 422, the synchronization process may be repeated 406. ... ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Bang’s Systems and methods for synchronizing sensor capture to include Schmidt's time difference between the transmission and arrival of the data packet in calculating round trip time and offset to determine network delay.
Regarding Claim 12, Bangs teaches claim 10.
Yet, Bangs does not expressly teach 12. The method according to claim 10, wherein the initial sub-time offset comprises any one of the following:
Δi=TRXi,P−TTXi,T, or Δi=TTXi,T−TRXi,P, wherein Δi is the initial sub-time offset, TRXi,P is a time synchronization receiving moment at which the first electronic device receives the time synchronization frame, and TTXi,T is the time synchronization sending moment at which the second electronic device sends the time synchronization frame;
Δi=TRXi,P−TEi, or Δi=TEi−TRXi,P, wherein Δi is the initial sub-time offset, TRXi,P is a time synchronization receiving moment at which the first electronic device receives the time synchronization frame, and TEi is the acknowledgment receiving moment at which the second electronic device receives the acknowledgment message;
Δi=(TRXi,P−TTXi,T+TTXi,P−TRXi,T)/2, or Δi=(TTXi,T−TRXi,P+TRXi,T−TTXi,P)/2, wherein Δi is the initial sub-time offset, TRXi,P is a time synchronization receiving moment at which the first electronic device receives the time synchronization frame, TTXi,T is the time synchronization sending moment at which the second electronic device sends the time synchronization frame, TTXi,P is a response sending moment at which the first electronic device sends the response frame, and TRXi,T is a response receiving moment at which the second electronic device receives the response frame; or
Δi=TTXi,P−TRXi,T, or Δi=TRXi,T−TTXi,P, wherein Δi is the initial sub-time offset, TTXi,P is a response sending moment at which the first electronic device sends the response frame, and TRXi,T is a response receiving moment at which the second electronic device receives the response frame.
However, in the analogous art, Schmidt explicitly discloses 12. The method according to claim 10, wherein the initial sub-time offset comprises any one of the following:
Δi=TRXi,P−TTXi,T, or Δi=TTXi,T−TRXi,P, wherein Δi is the initial sub-time offset, TRXi,P is a time synchronization receiving moment at which the first electronic device receives the time synchronization frame, and TTXi,T is the time synchronization sending moment at which the second electronic device sends the time synchronization frame; ([0047] ... The data packet further includes timestamps from the receiving device for the arrival and transmission of the packet, and may further include decoder latency information and buffer information. Utilizing such data, the transmitter may determine that the roundtrip delay for a receiver is equal to the time difference between the transmission and arrival of the data packet at the transmitter, minus the difference between the arrival and transmission of the data packer at the receiver 416. If the determined delay is not within a threshold 418, this may indicate that varying network jitter is causing extra delay, and the determination of the delay is repeated. If the delay is within the threshold 418, the phase offset may be determined based upon the timestamp values 420. If there are more receivers to be addressed 422, the synchronization process may be repeated 406. ... )
Δi=TRXi,P−TEi, or Δi=TEi−TRXi,P, wherein Δi is the initial sub-time offset, TRXi,P is a time synchronization receiving moment at which the first electronic device receives the time synchronization frame, and TEi is the acknowledgment receiving moment at which the second electronic device receives the acknowledgment message; ([0047] ... The data packet further includes timestamps from the receiving device for the arrival and transmission of the packet, and may further include decoder latency information and buffer information. Utilizing such data, the transmitter may determine that the roundtrip delay for a receiver is equal to the time difference between the transmission and arrival of the data packet at the transmitter, minus the difference between the arrival and transmission of the data packer at the receiver 416. If the determined delay is not within a threshold 418, this may indicate that varying network jitter is causing extra delay, and the determination of the delay is repeated. If the delay is within the threshold 418, the phase offset may be determined based upon the timestamp values 420. If there are more receivers to be addressed 422, the synchronization process may be repeated 406. ... )
Δi=(TRXi,P−TTXi,T+TTXi,P−TRXi,T)/2, or Δi=(TTXi,T−TRXi,P+TRXi,T−TTXi,P)/2, wherein Δi is the initial sub-time offset, TRXi,P is a time synchronization receiving moment at which the first electronic device receives the time synchronization frame, TTXi,T is the time synchronization sending moment at which the second electronic device sends the time synchronization frame, TTXi,P is a response sending moment at which the first electronic device sends the response frame, and TRXi,T is a response receiving moment at which the second electronic device receives the response frame; or ([0047] ... The data packet further includes timestamps from the receiving device for the arrival and transmission of the packet, and may further include decoder latency information and buffer information. Utilizing such data, the transmitter may determine that the roundtrip delay for a receiver is equal to the time difference between the transmission and arrival of the data packet at the transmitter, minus the difference between the arrival and transmission of the data packer at the receiver 416. If the determined delay is not within a threshold 418, this may indicate that varying network jitter is causing extra delay, and the determination of the delay is repeated. If the delay is within the threshold 418, the phase offset may be determined based upon the timestamp values 420. If there are more receivers to be addressed 422, the synchronization process may be repeated 406. ... )
Δi=TTXi,P−TRXi,T, or Δi=TRXi,T−TTXi,P, wherein Δi is the initial sub-time offset, TTXi,P is a response sending moment at which the first electronic device sends the response frame, and TRXi,T is a response receiving moment at which the second electronic device receives the response frame. ([0047] ... The data packet further includes timestamps from the receiving device for the arrival and transmission of the packet, and may further include decoder latency information and buffer information. Utilizing such data, the transmitter may determine that the roundtrip delay for a receiver is equal to the time difference between the transmission and arrival of the data packet at the transmitter, minus the difference between the arrival and transmission of the data packer at the receiver 416. If the determined delay is not within a threshold 418, this may indicate that varying network jitter is causing extra delay, and the determination of the delay is repeated. If the delay is within the threshold 418, the phase offset may be determined based upon the timestamp values 420. If there are more receivers to be addressed 422, the synchronization process may be repeated 406. ... ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Bang’s Systems and methods for synchronizing sensor capture to include Schmidt's time difference between the transmission and arrival of the data packet in calculating round trip time and offset to determine network delay.
Regarding Claim 14, Bangs in view of Schmidt teaches claim 6.
Bangs further teaches wherein the response frame further comprises at least one of: a sequence number, wherein the sequence number indicates a ranking of the response frame in the N time synchronization subprocesses; or (Alternative)
a Bluetooth interval T0. ( [0035] … The synchronization information may be generated based on a clock of the controller, which is different from the clocks of the sensors. As previously described, the synchronization information may be a number of pulses with an interval that corresponds to a counter incrementation of the clock of the controller. … [0051] ... As an example, computer system 600 may communicate with a wireless PAN (WPAN) (such as, for example, a Bluetooth WPAN), ...)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. This includes:
U.S. PGPUB 2023/0072580 which describes communication method and apparatus
U.S. PGPUB 2025/0164598 which describes communication method and communication apparatus
/A.L.O./Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472