Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5-8, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sahin et al (WO 2017036554 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sahin discloses an adjustable shelf apparatus comprising: a frame including side frame members (21); and an actuation system disposed on the frame, the actuation system comprising: a pin member (8, plate member acts as a “pin member”) mounted on one of the side frame members (21), the pin member being movable between an extended position and a retracted position, the pin member (8) being biased towards the extended position; and a pull bar (13 knob has a middle bar 13 in figure 3) movable between a disengaged position and an engaged position, wherein the pull bar (13) is operatively coupled to the pin member (8) such that movement of the pull bar towards the engaged position causes the pin member to move towards the retracted position.
Regarding claim 2, Sahin disclose the adjustable shelf apparatus of claim 1, wherein the actuation system further comprises: a rotating member (13d, rim of knob 13); and tension members (12) operatively coupling the pin member (8) and the pull bar the middle bar of knob 13, figure 3) with the rotating member (13d), wherein the tension members and the rotating member cooperate to translate movement of the pull bar towards the engaged position to movement of the pin member towards the retracted position.
Regarding claim 5, Sahin discloses the adjustable shelf apparatus of claim 1, wherein: the actuation system comprises a plurality of pin members (8), the pin member being one pin member of the plurality of pin members (8), the plurality of pin members being mounted on the side members (21), each pin member (8) of the plurality of pin members is movable between the extended position and the retracted position, each pin member of the plurality of pin members being biased towards the extended position, and the pull bar (13) is operatively coupled to the plurality of pin members such that movement of the pull bar towards the engaged position causes each pin member of the plurality of pin members to move towards the retracted position.
Regarding claim 6, Sahin discloses the adjustable shelf apparatus of claim 5, wherein the actuation system further comprises: a rotating member (13d rim of knob 13, figure 6); and tension members (12) operatively coupling the plurality of pin members (8) and the pull bar (middle bar 13 show in figure 3 of knob 13) with the rotating member (13d), wherein the tension members (12) and the rotating member (13d) cooperate to translate movement of the pull bar towards the engaged position to movement of each pin member of the plurality of pin members (8)towards the retracted position.
Regarding claim 7, Sahin discloses the adjustable shelf apparatus of claim 1, wherein the pin member (8) is biased towards the extended position by a spring (17).
Regarding claim 8, Sahin disclose the adjustable shelf apparatus of claim 1, wherein the pin member (8) is engageable within a storage case (2, refrigerator) when in the extended positioned and the adjustable shelf apparatus (1) is releasable from the storage case when the pin member is in the retracted position.
Regarding claim 15, Sahin discloses a storage case (2, refrigerator) comprising the adjustable shelf apparatus (1) of claim 1, wherein the pin member (8) engages within the storage case (2) when in the extended positioned and the adjustable shelf apparatus (1) is releasable from the storage case when the pin member is in the retracted position.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sahin et al (WO 2017036554 A1) in view of Gibson (US patent no. 5341945).
Regarding claim 13, Sahin discloses the adjustable shelf apparatus of claim 1, except further comprising a flange member attached to the frame, wherein the flange member includes a stop for products positioned on the frame. Gibson teaches in a shelf (figure 1) comprising a frame (16) wherein a flange member (14) attached to the frame, wherein the flange member includes a stop (20) for products positioned on the frame and act as a connection for shelf dividers (12). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to have modify the shelf frame of Sahin such that a flange member attached to the frame, wherein the flange member includes a stop for products positioned on the frame and to acts as connection for shelf dividers as taught to be desirable by Gibson.
Regarding claim 14, Sahin and Gibson combined discloses the adjustable shelf apparatus of claim 13, wherein Gibson further comprising a price channel (18) attached to the flange member (14) for price labels.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 4, and 9-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 16-20 are allowed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art of record further demonstrate shelves with biased pin members. However, none of the prior art of record shows a second pull bar for the second pin number as recited in independent claim 16.
/Ko H Chan/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631
Khc