DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is in response to amendment received on 12/17/25. Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 7, 10-13, and 17 have been amended. Claims 1-7 and 9-20 are examined herein.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “circumferential fold line extending between the first inside corner and the second inside corner” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: support for “the fold line” language as amended into claim 17 needs to be provided.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-13 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 12 and claim 13 depending therefrom, it is unclear how the maximum depth of the front portion is from the base of the collar at a top edge of the shoulder to the lowermost extend of the front collar portion, the shoulder of the garment is located where the back portion of the collar would be located (see figure 7, identifier 154). How can the front portion have a depth that includes the transition and the back portion? It is unclear what structure is required to read on the dimension recited the front portion of the collar or the front and back portion of the collar.
Regarding claim 17, it is unclear what structure is required to read on the “circumferential fold line” as amended into claim 17, the specification is silent as to what the circumferential fold line requires, it is unclear if this is a formed structure (crease, stitch line) or an imaginary line that is produced when a fabric is folded. For examination purposes the examiner is interpreting the fold line to be an imaginary line that is formed when fabric is folded.
Any remaining claims are rejected depending from a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 17-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cleghorn et al. (US 11,457,670).
In regard to claim 17, Cleghorn et al. teaches a tactical shirt (shirt: 100), comprising: a body having a neck opening (see neck opening in figure 1); a collar that surrounds the neck opening (collar assembly: 120), the collar defining a height between a first connected edge located at the neck opening and a second free edge opposite the first connected edge (see figures 3 and 4), the collar comprising: a front portion (124b); a rear portion (124a); a first transition between the front portion and the rear portion on a first side of the collar (transition between front and rear collar portions on right side 124a, 124b: see figure 3); and a second transition between the front portion and the rear portion on a second side of the collar (transition between front and rear collar portions on left side 124a, 124b: see figure 3); wherein the second free edge of the collar defines a first collar point and a first inside corner at the first transition and a second collar point and a second inside corner at the second transition (see corner inside corner and points between first and second collar portions: 124a, 124b, figure 3), wherein each of the first collar point, the first inside corner, the second collar point, and the second inside corner define a sharp transition between adjacent portions of the second free edge of the collar (see sharp transition, not gradual between first and second collar portions); wherein the rear portion is configured to be foldable along a circumferential fold line extending between the first inside corner and the second inside corner from a standing orientation to a folded orientation of the collar (capable of as desired); and wherein the collar is configured to be wearable in each of the standing orientation and the folded orientation (capable of being worn folded or standing as desired); wherein, in a standing orientation of the collar, a lateral distance between the first collar point and the second collar point is at least 50 percent of a lateral dimension across the collar (see figures 3 and 4).
In regard to claim 18, Cleghorn et al. teaches wherein the neck opening defines a fixed circumference (see figures 1-3 and column 4, lines 19-28).
In regard to claim 20, Cleghorn et al. teaches wherein the collar is formed by a single piece of fabric (column 6, lines 30-31).
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 9-10, 12 and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Minzesheimer (US 26,043).
In regard to claim 1, Minzesheimer teaches a tactical shirt, comprising: a body having a neck opening (see figures 1-3); a collar that surrounds the neck opening (collar: M), the collar defining a width height between a first connected edge located at the neck opening and a second free edge opposite the first connected edge (see figure 1-3), the collar comprising: a front portion (see figure 4 smaller dimensioned ends); a rear portion (large center portion of figure 4), wherein a maximum width height of the rear portion is at least 1.8 times a maximum width height of the front portion (see figure 4, front portion vs. rear portion of collar is at least 1.8 times); a first transition between the front portion and the rear portion on a first side of the collar (transition: edges and corners and points between front and rear collar portions: figure 4); and a second transition between the front portion and the rear portion on a second side of the collar (transition: edges and corners and points between front and rear collar portions: figure 4); wherein the second free edge of the collar defines a first collar point and a first inside corner at the first transition and a second collar point and a second inside corner at the second transition (see inside corner and collar points in transition area: figure 4), wherein each of the first collar point, the first inside corner, the second collar point, and the second inside corner define a sharp transition between adjacent portions of the second free edge of the collar, and wherein the first collar point and the second collar point are spaced apart from one another in a standing orientation of the collar (see figure 4 and figures 1-3).
In regard to claim 2, Minzesheimer teaches wherein the rear portion is configured to be foldable along a circumferential fold line between the first inside corner and the second inside corner to define a folded orientation of the collar (fabric of collar is configured to be folded as desired).
In regard to claim 3, Minzesheimer teaches wherein, in the folded orientation, a lateral distance between the first collar point and the second collar point defines a maximum width of lateral dimension across the collar (see figures 1-4 in folded orientation that back portion defines the lateral dimension across the collar).
In regard to claim 4, Minzesheimer teaches wherein, in the standing orientation, a lateral distance between the first collar point and the second collar point is at least 50 percent of a maximum width of lateral dimension across the collar (see figures 1-3).
In regard to claim 5, Minzesheimer teaches wherein the collar is formed by a single piece of fabric (see figure 4, collar single piece: M).
In regard to claim 7, Minzesheimer teaches wherein a maximum stretch direction of the single piece of fabric is oriented in a circumferential direction of the collar as assembled in the tactical shirt (see figure 4, collar M circumferential direction is the maximum stretch direction).
In regard to claim 9, Minzesheimer teaches wherein each of the first and second transitions is limited to no more than about 10% of an overall circumference of the collar (see figure 4).
In regard to claim 10, Minzesheimer teaches wherein the maximum width height of the rear portion is at least about 2 inches (see figures 1-4, about 2 inches).
In regard to claim 12, Minzesheimer teaches wherein a maximum depth of the front portion as measured from a base of the collar at an intersection with a top edge of a shoulder of the tactical shirt to a lowermost extent of the front portion of the collar is less than or equal to about 7 inches (see dimension from shoulder to lowermost point of front collar portion is less than about 7 inches).
In regard to claim 14, Minzesheimer teaches wherein the front portion includes a right side and a left side (see figures 1-2 and 4).
In regard to claim 15, Minzesheimer teaches wherein the right side and the left side are coupled at a front center of the collar (see figures 1 and 2).
In regard to claim 16, Minzesheimer teaches wherein end portions of the right side and the left side overlap one another (see figure 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minzesheimer (US 26,043) in view of Hart, Jr (US 844,795).
Minzesheimer fails to teach the single piece of fabric is folded to create two overlapping layers connected to one another at a folded edge, wherein the with a folded edge defining of the single piece of fabric is located at the second free edge of the collar.
In regard to claim 6, Hart, Jr. teaches a shirt collar made from a single piece of fabric is folded to create two overlapping layers connected to one another at a folded edge, wherein the with a folded edge defining of the single piece of fabric is located at a second free edge of the collar (see figure 2).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one having ordinary skill in the art to have provided the single fabric piece collar of Minzesheimer with the folded edge as taught by Hart, Jr. since a single pieces of fabric creating the collar would provide a unitary collar that does not have any lines creating a less bulky and streamlined collar structure.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minzesheimer (US 26,043).
In regard to claim 11, Minzesheimer teaches the maximum width of the rear portion (124a) is less than that of the front portion (124b).
Minzesheimer fails to specifically teach the maximum width height of the rear portion is between 2-2.5 inches.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one having ordinary skill in the art and through routine experimentation to have provided the dimensions of the rear width maximum depth to be between 2-2.25 inches, since the claimed relative dimensions of the device would not perform differently than the prior art device to Cleghorn et al. and therefore is not patentably distinct from the prior art device (see MPEP 2144.04 IV A). The rear collar maximum width being between 2-2.25 inches would not destroy the garment design of Minzesheimer and would be a dimension that would fit some user’s body size and proportions.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cleghorn et al. (US 11,457,670).
Cleghorn et al. teaches a tactical shirt as described above in claims 1, 10 and 17. However, Cleghorn et al. fails to specifically teach wherein the lateral distance is at least 4 inches.
In regard to claim 19, Cleghorn et al. teaches the lateral distance.
However, Cleghorn et al. fails to specifically teach the lateral distance being at least four inches.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one having ordinary skill in the art and through routine exprimentation to have provided the dimensions of the lateral distance to be at least four inches, since the claimed relative dimensions of the device would not perform differently than the prior art device to Cleghorn et al. and therefore is not patentably distinct from the prior art device (see MPEP 2144.04 IV A). The lateral distance to be at least four inches would not destroy the garment design of Cleghorn et al. and would be a dimension that would fit some user’s body size and proportions.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/17/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Cleghorn et al. (US11,457,670) fails to teach the amendments of claim 17.
Cleghorn et al. teach the amended limitations as detailed above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ALISSA L. HOEY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3732
/ALISSA L HOEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732