DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-15, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2011/0000227 to Kamiya
In Reference to Claim 1
Kamiya discloses:
A compressor system comprising:
a compressor 1 for compressing a gas for generating a compressed gas, the compressor including a compressor stage (1), and a cooling system (5, 10, 13), the cooling system including an oil cooler 13 for cooling oil heated by the compressor, a compressed gas cooler 5 for cooling the gas that is completely or partially compressed to form the compressed gas, and a housing cooler 10 for cooling a housing or part of the housing of the compressor 1, wherein the oil cooler, the compressed gas cooler and the housing cooler are each arranged to be cooled by a coolant flow comprising a liquid coolant (water or refrigerant, see paragraph [0024]), and
wherein a housing cooler control comprising a valve or a pump 11 for individually controlling the coolant flow through the housing cooler is provided for the housing cooler, and the compressor system has a cooling control comprising a computer (controller, see paragraph [0023]) configured to actuate the housing cooler control, wherein the computer controls the housing cooler to control the coolant flow independently of the coolant flow through the oil cooler 13, see Fig.5 and paragraph [0023]
In Reference to Claim 2
Kamiya discloses:
wherein the cooling control is arranged to actuate the housing cooler control to control the coolant flow through the housing cooler independently of the coolant flow through the compressed gas cooler, see paragraph [0023].
In Reference to Claim 3
Kamiya discloses:
wherein the cooling control is arranged to control a cooling flow individually, via the housing cooler control 11, only for the housing cooler, while coolant flows for the oil cooler and the compressed gas cooler are not controlled or are controlled only via a common control of an overall coolant flow, see Fig.5.
In Reference to Claim 6 and 18
Kamiya discloses:
wherein the cooling control is arranged to detect an outlet temperature of the gas that is completely or partially compressed to form compressed gas when the gas exits from the compressor stage, determine a default temperature value for the outlet temperature, at which an optimum gap thickness should be expected, the default temperature value being determined during the coolant flow, and control the housing cooler control, wherein the housing cooler control is arranged to adjust the outlet temperature to the default temperature value as a desired temperature, see paragraph [0064] where the temperature sensor is used to control the circulation pumps.
In Reference to Claim 7
Kamiya discloses:
The cooling control is arranged to control the housing cooler control depending on a coolant temperature
In Reference to Claim 8 and 14
Kamiya discloses:
wherein the oil cooler and/or the housing cooler are/is connected in series to the compressed gas cooler whereby a coolant flow flows successively through the oil cooler and/or the housing cooler, see Fig. 5.
In Reference to Claim 9
Kamiya discloses:
wherein the compressor system is arranged such that the coolant flow flowing through the oil cooler and/or the housing cooler first flows through the oil cooler, and then flows through the compressed gas cooler, and wherein a coolant having a lower temperature flows through the oil cooler than through the compressed gas cooler, see Fig.5.
In Reference to Claim 10
Kamiya discloses:
a cooling circuit (working fluid) for making the coolant available at a cooling circuit inlet and for withdrawing the coolant heated by the coolers at a cooling circuit outlet, in order to cool down the heated coolant, and a cooling control (6) which is arranged to control the compressor system, and wherein the coolant at the cooling circuit outlet capable has a temperature of 85-95°C, or 90°C to 95°C.
In Reference to Claim 11
Kamiya discloses:
wherein a plurality of compressed gas coolers are provided, and the coolant, after flowing through the oil cooler, flows through the plurality of compressed gas coolers, which are connected in parallel whereby the coolant flows in parallel through the plurality of compressed gas coolers, see fig.5.
In Reference to Claim 12
Kamiya discloses:
wherein the plurality of compressed gas coolers (5, 10, 13) are divided into a plurality of compressed gas cooler groups, and wherein each of the compressed gas coolers in each of the compressed gas cooler groups are connected in parallel to one another, and the compressed gas cooler groups are connected in series to one another, and wherein a first and a second compressed gas cooler are connected in parallel to each other, and the first and second compressed gas cooler are connected in series to a third and fourth compressed gas cooler, which are connected in parallel to each other.
Reasons for Allowance
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 4, 5, 16 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims because the prior art of record cannot anticipate Applicant’s claimed invention by a single reference nor render Applicant’s claimed invention obvious by the combination of more than one reference.
Furthermore, the prior art of record does not teach “wherein the compressor further includes a rotor for compressing the compressed gas and a compressor gap having a variable gap thickness formed between the housing and the rotor or between two rotors, and wherein the cooling control is arranged to actuate the housing cooler control to ensure the gap thickness remains within a predeterminable range, and/or that the gap thickness follows a predeterminable desired gap thickness.” as within the context of the claimed invention as disclosed and within the context of the other limitations present in claim 4 and 16;
Therefore, the prior art of record cannot anticipate Applicant’s claimed invention by a single reference nor render Applicant’s claimed invention obvious by the combination of more than one reference.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANTHONY AYALA DELGADO/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746