DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
This action is in response to applicant arguments filed on 08/27/2026 for application 18/980812.
Claims 1-20 and 39 have been canceled.
Claims 40-41 have been added new.
Claims 21 and 35 have been amended.
Claims 21-38 and 40-41 are currently pending and have been examined.
Detailed Action
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 21-38 and 40-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Step 1:
Claims 21-39 are drawn to a method and system, which is/are statutory categories of invention (Step 1: YES).
Step 2A Prong One:
Independent claims 21 and 35 recite assign an exercise program; prompt the patient to send feedback; and analyzing the feedback. The recited limitations, as drafted, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover certain methods of organizing human activity by identifying and reporting events preceding a pattern in a set of user data. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people, then it falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea (Step 2A Prong One: YES).
Step 2A Prong Two:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claims are abstract but for the inclusion of the additional elements including a online portal; network and a ML model, which are additional elements that are recited at a high level of generality such that they amount to no more than mere instruction to apply the exception using generic computer components. See: MPEP 2106.05(f).
The claims recite the additional element of providing an online portal and prompt the medical professional to intervene, which are considered limitations directed to insignificant extra-solution activity that does not amount to an inventive concept because the limitations do not impose meaningful limits on the claim such that is it not nominally or tangentially related to the invention. In the claimed context, the claimed providing limitation is incidental to the performance of the recited abstract idea of identifying and reporting events preceding a pattern in a set of user data and the prompting limitation is an insignificant extra solution activity. See: MPEP 2106.05(g).
The combination of these additional elements is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Hence, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Accordingly, the claims are directed to an abstract idea (Step 2A Prong Two: NO).
Step 2B:
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, using the additional elements to perform the abstract idea amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic components cannot provide an inventive concept. See: MPEP 2106.05(f).
Further, the claimed additional elements, identified above, are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because they are generic components that are not integrated into the claim because they are merely incidental or token additions to the claim that do not alter or affect how the process steps or functions in the abstract idea are performed. Therefore, the claimed additional elements do not add meaningful limitations to the indicated claims beyond a general linking to a technological environment. See: MPEP 2106.05(h).
Further, the claimed additional elements, identified above, are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because they are generic components that are configured to perform well-understood, routine, and conventional activities previously known to the industry. See: MPEP 2106.05(d). Said additional elements are recited at a high level of generality and provide conventional functions that do not add meaningful limits to practicing the abstract idea. The originally filed specification supports this conclusion:
“machine learning (ML) model based on a gradient boosting algorithm is stored on or connected to the server, wherein the machine learning (ML) model is configured to analyse the feedback data of a patient and to predict the patient's compliance when performing the exercise program the next time after expiry of a number of time intervals to follow, preferably after expiry of the next time interval. According to a further aspect of the invention, the system is configured to implement an inventive method for remotely monitoring a patient. “
“he patient client is configured to send feedback data to the server via a communication network, wherein the server is configured to send requests to the patient client via the communication network, the requests prompting the patient to send feedback data to the server, preferably each time after having finished an exercise.”
Fig. 7 shows a schematic example of an inventive system for implementing the online therapy. The setup includes a server 3 containing a database and providing an online portal 1, to which a therapist can log on by means of a therapist client, and a patient client 2 to be used by a patient. Communication between each of the server, the therapist client and the patient-side client 2 is possible in both directions using preferably the WebSocket protocol, which is illustrated by double arrows. The WebSocket protocol is advantageous in that real-time communication between the apps installed on the clients and the server is possible. Moreover, latency is considerably reduced compared to a pure Hypertext Transfer Protocol (HTTP). Finally, WebSockets are efficient in terms of message size and header information and WebSockets enable bidirectional data transfer, allowing the server to push updates to the apps, and facilitate seamless back-and-forth communication.
The claims recite the additional element of providing an online portal to a medical professional, which amounts to extra-solution activity concerning mere data gathering. The specification (e.g., as excerpted above) does not provide any indication that the additional elements are anything other than well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions when claimed in a merely generic manner (as they are here). See: MPEP 2106.05(g).
Viewing the limitations as an ordered combination, the claims simply instruct the additional elements to implement the concept described above in the identification of abstract idea with routine, conventional activity specified at a high level of generality in a particular technological environment.
Hence, the claims as a whole, considering the additional elements individually and as an ordered combination, do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea (Step 2B: NO).
Dependent claim(s) 22-34 and 36-38 and 40-41 when analyzed as a whole, considering the additional elements individually and/or as an ordered combination, are held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the additional recited limitation(s) fail(s) to establish that the claim(s) is/are not directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. These claims fail to remedy the deficiencies of their parent claims above, and are therefore rejected for at least the same rationale as applied to their parent claims above, and incorporated herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-28, 30-34, and 40-41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ashely et al. (US 2022/0288462 A1) in view of Gamarnik et al. (US 2018/0330810 A1) and in further in view of Kamath et al. (US 2022/0273204 A1).
In claim 21, a computer-implemented method for remotely monitoring a patient, engaged in a treatment program, comprising the steps:
Ashley teaches:
providing an online portal to a medical professional, wherein the online portal is operative to enable the medical professional to (Para. 60 wherein a web based interface is taught):
assign an exercise program to the patient, wherein the exercise program consists of a number of exercises to be completed by the patient each time in regular time intervals (Fig. 2 and Para. 5 and 158 wherein generating a treatment and exercise plan is taught); and
prompt the patient to send feedback data via a communication network, whereby a patient’s compliance with the exercise program is predicted by a machine learning (ML) model (Para. 60 wherein feedback form the patient is taught. Para. 97 teaches “FIG. 6 shows an example block diagram of training a machine learning model 13 to output, based on data 600 pertaining to the patient and to the occupational task(s) associated with the patient, a treatment plan 602 for the patient and a predicted estimate 603 of when the patient performing treatment plan”. In addition, Para 118 teaches “Determining the patient is on track for the current treatment plan may cause the trained machine learning model 13 to adjust a parameter of the treatment apparatus 70. The adjustment may be based on a next step of the treatment plan to further improve the performance of the patient.” i.e. compliance of treatment plan and adjusting treatment plan is taught)
Ashley does not explicitly teach however Gamarnik teaches using a gradient boosting algorithm considering both subjective and objective feedback data form the patient (Para. 71 wherein gradient boosting algorithm is used in modeling is taught. Para. 64 teaches measuring biological parameters of a patient, i.e. objective feedback is taught. Para. 129 and Fig. 11 and 12 teach wherein subjective feedback from the patient is taught); and
Both Ashley and Gamarnik do not explicitly teach however Kamath teaches:
wherein the ML model analyses feedback data of the patient and calculates an objective metric corresponding to a predicted compliance when performing at a future session taking place after the patient has performed a prescribed number of time intervals (Para. 336 wherein “ In some examples, a score or other prediction may be determined based on a future diabetes risk or a cost if the patient were to continue on a current diabetes management program. Additionally, or alternatively, a score or other prediction may be determined based upon a calculated potential benefit or prediction of success of an enhanced diabetes program”) and
Gamarnik further teaches:
prompt the medical professional to intervene in the treatment program in response to a predicted compliance metric below a predefined compliance threshold (Para. 85 wherein “immediate feedback can reduce the likelihood of injury. If the motion tracking device detects a high risk of injury, the prescribing physician or physical therapist can be informed to intervene.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to combine the system and method for generating treatment plans to enhance patient recovery as taught in Ashely with the artificial intelligence that uses gradient boosting to interpret data as taught in Gamarnik further. The well-known elements described are merely a combination of old elements, and in combination, each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
It would further have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the patient information collected and analyzed by the combined system of Ashley and Gamarnik in accordance with Kamath to predict a future patient condition and or compliance. One would have been motivated to make this modification because predicting the patient’s future compliance or health risk form previously collected patient information would allow the system to identify patients who may required additional monitoring or intervention. The modification would merely use the collected to objective and subjective patient data as inputs to Kamath’s know predictive technique, with each component continuing to perform its established function and would have yielded the predictable result of providing prospective patient management information.
As per claim 22, Ashley teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 21, wherein the compliance is predicted by determining the likelihood of a patient completing more than 50% of the number of exercises when performing the exercise program a next time after expiry of a number of time intervals to follow (Para. 145 wherein “Controlling the treatment apparatus 70 distally may include the server 30 transmitting, based on the treatment plan, a control instruction to change a parameter of the treatment apparatus 70 at a particular time to increase a likelihood of a positive effect of continuing to use the treatment apparatus or to decrease a likelihood of a negative effect of continuing to use the treatment apparatus.”).
As per claim 23, Ashley teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 21, further including the step, providing a motivation message to a patient contingent upon prediction of a low patient compliance (Para. 112 wherein “It may be useful and encouraging to provide a patient with information about an incentive such as an awardable product, object, activity, accolade, title, discount, coupon or some combination of these, and to communicate that the patient could earn the incentive by adhering to the selected treatment plan”).
As per claim 24, Ashley teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 21, wherein the feedback data includes one or more of data associated with: 1) a patient identifier; 2) a course identifier; 3) on which day of a sequential number of days of the course the feedback data are sent; 4) a date; 5) a patient's subjective evaluation whether the patient complied on the date; 6) a number of exercises assigned to the patient on the date; 7) a painfulness of at least one exercise; 8) a difficulty the patient had when carrying out at least one exercise; 8) a time needed for completion of at least one individual exercise; 9) information on whether at least one of the individual exercise has been completed; 10) a number of exercises completed per day; 11) an exercise identifier; 12) information whether an exercise targets an upper or lower body part of the patient; 13) a day of the week the feedback data was provided; 14) a therapy center to which the patient belongs to; 15) an actual number of exercises executed by the patient in a day; 16) which of a number of exercises are skipped; 17) an average time per exercise; 18) a patient's assessment of an intensity of one or more exercises; and 19) a patient's demographics (Para. 137 and 172).
As per claim 25, Ashley teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 21, wherein the ML model has been trained using one or more of data associated with: 1) time needed for at least one of the individual exercises making up the training program; 2) information on whether an exercise has been completed; 3) a number of exercises completed per day; 4) an exercise identifier; 5) information whether an exercise targets an upper or lower body part; 6) course that the patient is assigned to; 7) on which day of a sequential number of days of a course feedback data was sent; 8) a day of a week exercises were executed; 9) a therapy center to which the patient belongs to; 9) a patient identifier; (Para. 148).
As per claim 26, Ashley teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 21, including the step, training the ML model for predicting the level of patient compliance utilizing exemplary feedback data (Para. 49 wherein “level of compliance with the treatment plans” is taught).
As per claim 27, Ashley teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 21, further including the step, providing an alert to a medical professional responsive to allow compliance prediction (Para. 109).
As per claim 28, Ashley teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 21. Ashely does not explicitly teach however Gamarnik teaches, wherein the exercise program is directed to improving physical and/or mental capabilities of stroke patients (Para. 45 wherein exercise program are for stroke patients is taught). The motivation to combine references is the same as seen in claim 21
As per claim 30, Ashley teaches the computer-implemented method as recited in claim 21, further including the step, prescribing therapeutic treatment of a patient having suffered a stroke or a patient suffering from Parkinson's disease or an elderly patient (Para. 39).
As per claim 31, Ashley teaches the computer-implemented method as recited in claim 21, further including the step, determining improvement to a level of patient compliance (Para. 49 and 112).
As per claim 32, Ashley teaches the computer-implemented method as recited in claim 31, wherein a level of compliance of a patient having suffered a stroke or a patient suffering from Parkinson's disease or an elderly patient is improved (Para. 39, 49 and 112).
As per claim 33, Ashley teaches the computer-implemented method as recited in claim 21. Ashely does not explicitly teach however Gamarnik teaches further including the step, determining therapeutic treatment of a patient having suffered from a stroke (Para. 45). The motivation to combine references is the same as seen in claim 1.
As per claim 34, Ashley teaches the computer-implemented method as recited in claim 21, further including the step, determining improvement for patient compliance, including improving a level of compliance of a patient having suffered a stroke or a patient suffering from Parkinson's disease or an elderly patient (Para. 49 and 112).
As per claim 40 Ashely teaches the computer-implemented method as recited in claim 21, wherein
Ashley does not explicitly teach however Gamarnik teches:
the subjective feedback data from the patient includes a patient defined qualitative characterization of the exercises performed (Para. 129 and Fig. 11 and 12 teach wherein subjective feedback from the patient is taught), and
the objective feedback data includes both a quantifiable characterization of the exercises performed , one or more measured physiological parameters of the patient (Para. 64 teaches measuring biological parameters of a patient, i.e. objective feedback is taught.),
Gamarnik does not explicitly teach however Kamath teaches:
wherein the ML model analyses the feedback data of the patient and further calculates an objective metric corresponding to a predicted value for the one or more physiological characteristics of the patient, and wherein the predicted compliance when performing the exercise program at a future session taking place after the patient has performed a prescribed number of time intervals takes into consideration the predicted value for the one or more physiological characteristics of the patient (Para 336-337)_ The motivation to combine references is the same as seen in claim 21.
As per claim 41, Ashley teaches the machine learning-based computer platform for remote patient monitoring, comprising a processor having computer executable instructions stored thereon configured to cause the processor to perform the method according to claim 21 (Fig. 6).
Response to Arguments
The Applicant argues the 101 rejection. The Applicant argues that the claims provide a technical improvement to the function of the algorithm itself, for example by improving computation time and prediction accuracy. They provide an improvement to the field of remote monitoring of patients by using a prediction to further compliance to prompt the medical professional to intervene earlier. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claims do not recite any specific improvement to the operation of a computer, model or devices. Rather, the claims broadly receive patient data, analyze the data using a model to determine whether certain conditions are satisfied and providing an indication prompting a medical professional to intervene. The claims do not recite a particular model architecture, data structure, or any other technical mechanism that produces that asserted reduction in computational time or increasing in prediction accuracy. Accordingly, the alleged improvements describe desired results of the abstract analysis rather than a claimed technological manner of achieving those results. The prompting of the medical professional is an insignificant post solution activity and does not impose a meaningful limitations on the underlying collection and analysis of patient information.
The Applicant argues that the claims provides highly accurate predictions with fast computational speed thereby allowing the medical professional to be notified of predicted low compliance, even before the patient begins to deteriorate. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Applicant is arguing the beneficial result without identifying the claimed technical mechanism that supposedly produces those results. Although, the specification may describe faster computation or improved accuracy, the claims must themselves reflect the components or steps that provide the technical improvement. Here the claims recite the desired result without specifying a particular technological manner of achieving those results.
Other applicant 101 arguments simply rehash arguments addressed above or are addressed the in the 101 rejection above, therefore they are not persuasive.
Applicant arguments/amendments with respect to the art rejection for claim 21 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejections necessitated by claim amendments.
Applicant arguments/amendments with respect to claim 35 have been found persuasive. The prior art rejection for Claims 29, 35-39 has been withdrawn. The prior art fails to teach the specific learning value parameters seen in claims 29 and 35.
Conclusion
MAROUN P. KANAAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3687
/MAROUN P KANAAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3687