DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s amendment of claim(s) 1 in Applicant’s Response to Official Action dated 09/25/2026 (“Response”). Claims 1-5 are currently pending in this application and are subject to examination herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Japanese Pat. Pub. No. 2005287518 A to Imamura et al. (hereinafter Imamura) (cited by Applicant in IDS filed on 08/15/2025) in view of U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2022/0354048 to Wendt et al. (hereinafter Wendt).
Regarding claim 1, Imamura discloses a work vehicle (self-propelled mower B) (Abstract; Figs. 1-3; Paras. [0051]-[0052], [0062]-[0064]) comprising:
a traveling machine body (frame 1) (Figs. 1-3; Paras. [0052]-[0055]);
a grass mowing device (cutter 2) (Figs. 1-3; Paras. [0052], [0054]-[0056], [0061]-[0068]) connected to the traveling machine body (frame 1) (Figs. 1-3; Paras. [0052]-[0055]), and has a rotary mowing blade (blade of cutter 2) (Figs. 1-3; Paras. [0052], [0054]-[0056], [0061]-[0068]) connected to the grass mowing device (cutter 2) (Figs. 1-3; Paras. [0052], [0054]-[0056], [0061]-[0068]), wherein the rotary mowing blade (blade of cutter 2) (Figs. 1-3; Paras. [0052], [0054]-[0056], [0061]-[0068]) is configured to switch between:
an automatic switching mode in which a rotation direction of the rotary mowing blade (blade of cutter 2) (Figs. 1-3; Paras. [0052], [0054]-[0056], [0061]-[0068]) switches in response to a change in an advancing direction of the traveling machine body (frame 1) (Figs. 1-3; Paras. [0052]-[0055]).
However, Imamura appears to teach only the automatic switching mode and does not expressly disclose a non-automatic switching mode in which the rotation direction of the rotary mowing blade remains the same in response to the change in the advancing direction of the traveling machine body in addition to the automatic switching mode.
Nevertheless, Wendt teaches a non-automatic switching mode (operate in default or other selected mode at step 906) (Fig. 9; Para. [0071]) in which the rotation direction of the rotary mowing blade (Fig. 1; Para. [0034]) remains the same in response to the change in the advancing direction of the traveling machine body (body of vehicle 100) (Fig. 1; Para. [0033]-[0034]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the work vehicle disclosed in Imamura having automatic switching mode for the blades based on advancing direction with the user selection of default mowing mode taught in Wendt with a reasonable expectation of success in order to give the user the option to have direct control over whether the mower reverses cutter rotation depending on direction of travel or maintains default mowing operation. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the work vehicle disclosed in Imamura having automatic switching mode for the blades based on advancing direction with the user selection of default mowing mode taught in Wendt with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Regarding claim 2, Imamura in view of Wendt teaches the work vehicle according to claim 1 (see above). Furthermore, Imamura discloses a work vehicle (self-propelled mower B) (Abstract; Figs. 1-3; Paras. [0051]-[0052], [0062]-[0064]) wherein the rotation direction of the rotary mowing blade (blade of cutter 2) (Figs. 1-3; Paras. [0052], [0054]-[0056], [0061]-[0068]) is reversed (Paras. [0027], [0062]-[0064]), when the advancing direction of the traveling machine body (frame 1) (Figs. 1-3; Paras. [0052]-[0055]) is changed from one side to the other side (Paras. [0027], [0062]-[0064]) in a front-rear direction (Paras. [0027], [0062]-[0064]) of the traveling machine body (frame 1) (Figs. 1-3; Paras. [0052]-[0055]).
Regarding claim 3, Imamura in view of Wendt teaches the work vehicle according to claim 1 (see above). Furthermore, Imamura discloses a work vehicle (self-propelled mower B) (Abstract; Figs. 1-3; Paras. [0051]-[0052], [0062]-[0064]) wherein at a time when the rotation direction of the rotary mowing blade is switched (Paras. [0027], [0062]-[0064]), a rotation speed of the rotary mowing blade (blade of cutter 2) (Figs. 1-3; Paras. [0052], [0054]-[0056], [0061]-[0068]) is gradually lowered and the rotary mowing blade is stopped, and after the rotary mowing blade (blade of cutter 2) (Figs. 1-3; Paras. [0052], [0054]-[0056], [0061]-[0068]) is stopped, the rotation speed of the rotary mowing blade (blade of cutter 2) (Figs. 1-3; Paras. [0052], [0054]-[0056], [0061]-[0068]) is gradually increased to a target rotation speed. Real systems do not stop instantly from a speed and do not adjust to a target speed instantly from a stopped condition, so the Examiner submits this limitation is met by Imamura. Nevertheless, to the extent that the gradual lowering, stopping and gradually increasing of the cutter blade is not expressly disclosed in Imamura, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Imamura to gradually lower, stop and then gradually increase with a reasonable expectation of success in order to avoid changing the angular momentum of the rotary mowing blade too quickly and avoid damaging the blade or mower and to avoid causing unnecessary vibration that could damage or loosen parts of the blade or mower.
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imamura in view of Wendt, as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2021/0276593 to Bucur et al. (hereinafter Bucur).
Regarding claim 4, Imamura in view of Wendt teaches the work vehicle according to claim 1 (see above). However, Imamura does not disclose that the rotary mowing blade includes a rotating shaft portion that rotates around a shaft extending along a right-left direction. Nevertheless, Bucur teaches a rotary mowing blade (cutting element 125) (Fig. 4; Paras. [0026]-[0027]) that includes a rotating shaft portion that rotates around a shaft extending along a right-left direction (see Fig. 4). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the work vehicle disclosed in Imamura with the rotary mowing blade that includes a rotating shaft portion taught in Bucur with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held that the simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 417, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Regarding claim 5, Imamura in view of Wendt teaches the work vehicle according to claim 1 (see above). However, Imamura does not disclose the work vehicle comprising a remote control device capable of changing an advancing direction of the traveling machine body. Nevertheless, Bucur teaches that the work vehicle comprises a remote control device (computer system 1100) (Fig. 11; Para. [0036]) capable of changing an advancing direction of the traveling machine body (Para. [0036]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the work vehicle disclosed in Imamura with the remote control device taught in Bucur with a reasonable expectation of success in order to allow remote control of the work vehicle without having to manually control the work vehicle. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the work vehicle disclosed in Imamura with the remote control device taught in Bucur with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2023/0373318 to Takeuchi relates to an autonomous mower that reverses mower blade rotation as the travel direction of the mower is switched from forward to backward or from backward to forward.
/CLAUDE J BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3671