DETAILED ACTION
Introduction
Claims 1-5 are currently pending in this application and are subject to examination herein.
Information Disclosure Statement
The two (2) information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 12/13/2024 and 08/15/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Japanese Pat. Pub. No. 2005287518 A to Imamura et al. (hereinafter Imamura) (cited by Applicant in IDS filed on 08/15/2025).
Regarding claim 1, Imamura discloses a work vehicle (self-propelled mower B) (Abstract; Figs. 1-3; Paras. [0051]-[0052], [0062]-[0064]) comprising:
a traveling machine body (frame 1) (Figs. 1-3; Paras. [0052]-[0055]); and
a grass mowing device (cutter 2) (Figs. 1-3; Paras. [0052], [0054]-[0056], [0061]-[0068]) connected to the traveling machine body (frame 1) (Figs. 1-3; Paras. [0052]-[0055]), wherein the grass mowing device (cutter 2) (Figs. 1-3; Paras. [0052], [0054]-[0056], [0061]-[0068]) has a rotary mowing blade (blade of cutter 2) (Figs. 1-3; Paras. [0052], [0054]-[0056], [0061]-[0068]), and a rotation direction of the rotary mowing blade (blade of cutter 2) (Figs. 1-3; Paras. [0052], [0054]-[0056], [0061]-[0068]) is automatically switched (Paras. [0027], [0062]-[0064]), when an advancing direction of the traveling machine body (frame 1) (Figs. 1-3; Paras. [0052]-[0055]) is changed (Paras. [0027], [0062]-[0064]).
Regarding claim 2, Imamura discloses the work vehicle according to claim 1 (see above). Furthermore, Imamura discloses a work vehicle (self-propelled mower B) (Abstract; Figs. 1-3; Paras. [0051]-[0052], [0062]-[0064]) wherein the rotation direction of the rotary mowing blade (blade of cutter 2) (Figs. 1-3; Paras. [0052], [0054]-[0056], [0061]-[0068]) is reversed (Paras. [0027], [0062]-[0064]), when the advancing direction of the traveling machine body (frame 1) (Figs. 1-3; Paras. [0052]-[0055]) is changed from one side to the other side (Paras. [0027], [0062]-[0064]) in a front-rear direction (Paras. [0027], [0062]-[0064]) of the traveling machine body (frame 1) (Figs. 1-3; Paras. [0052]-[0055]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imamura.
Regarding claim 3, Imamura discloses the work vehicle according to claim 1 (see above). Furthermore, Imamura discloses a work vehicle (self-propelled mower B) (Abstract; Figs. 1-3; Paras. [0051]-[0052], [0062]-[0064]) wherein at a time when the rotation direction of the rotary mowing blade is switched (Paras. [0027], [0062]-[0064]), a rotation speed of the rotary mowing blade (blade of cutter 2) (Figs. 1-3; Paras. [0052], [0054]-[0056], [0061]-[0068]) is gradually lowered and the rotary mowing blade is stopped, and after the rotary mowing blade (blade of cutter 2) (Figs. 1-3; Paras. [0052], [0054]-[0056], [0061]-[0068]) is stopped, the rotation speed of the rotary mowing blade (blade of cutter 2) (Figs. 1-3; Paras. [0052], [0054]-[0056], [0061]-[0068]) is gradually increased to a target rotation speed. Real systems do not stop instantly from a speed and do not adjust to a target speed instantly from a stopped condition, so the Examiner submits this limitation is met by Imamura. Nevertheless, to the extent that the gradual lowering, stopping and gradually increasing of the cutter blade is not expressly disclosed in Imamura, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Imamura to gradually lower, stop and then gradually increase with a reasonable expectation of success in order to avoid changing the angular momentum of the rotary mowing blade too quickly and avoid damaging the blade or mower and to avoid causing unnecessary vibration that could damage or loosen parts of the blade or mower.
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imamura in view of U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2021/0276593 to Bucur et al. (hereinafter Bucur).
Regarding claim 4, Imamura discloses the work vehicle according to claim 1 (see above). However, Imamura does not disclose that the rotary mowing blade includes a rotating shaft portion that rotates around a shaft extending along a right-left direction. Nevertheless, Bucur teaches a rotary mowing blade (cutting element 125) (Fig. 4; Paras. [0026]-[0027]) that includes a rotating shaft portion that rotates around a shaft extending along a right-left direction (see Fig. 4). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the work vehicle disclosed in Imamura with the rotary mowing blade that includes a rotating shaft portion taught in Bucur with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held that the simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 417, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Regarding claim 5, Imamura discloses the work vehicle according to claim 1 (see above). However, Imamura does not disclose the work vehicle comprising a remote control device capable of changing an advancing direction of the traveling machine body. Nevertheless, Bucur teaches that the work vehicle comprises a remote control device (computer system 1100) (Fig. 11; Para. [0036]) capable of changing an advancing direction of the traveling machine body (Para. [0036]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the work vehicle disclosed in Imamura with the remote control device taught in Bucur with a reasonable expectation of success in order to allow remote control of the work vehicle without having to manually control the work vehicle. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the work vehicle disclosed in Imamura with the remote control device taught in Bucur with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. Pat. Pub. Nos. 2020/00128730 to Nakano et al.; 2022/0007571 to Foster et al.; 2022/0007570 to Foster et al.; and 2017/0367257 to Cmich et al. relate to a mower with a blades that are rotatable in both forward and reverse directions. Int’l. Pat. Pub. No. WO 2021/209881 A1 to Revelli relates to a robotic mower that can stop the blades and reverse them to move the blades away from a presumed undesirable object. Japanese Pat. Pub. No. JP 2021027806A to Fujiwara et al. relates to a lawnmower with a wireless remote control.
/CLAUDE J BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3671