DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 24-27 & 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Baumbach (US 4,159,500).
With regard to claims 1, 2, 4 & 24, Baumbach, in Figure 1 & 2, discloses a surge protective device (10) comprising: a base part (14) which is arranged to be fixed on a mounting rail (12); wherein the base part (14) includes at least a first elongated plug-in section (18) including at least a first to fourth mating contacts (the left and right vertical sections 40 comprise the first two mating contacts and the vertical sections of 70 & 72 comprise the third and fourth mating contacts); an elongated first module (16) arranged in the first plug-in section (18) and including a first and a second protective circuit component (54, 56) adjacently arranged in longitudinal direction and fixedly mechanically connected to each other (as seen in Fig. 2 the two protective components are fixedly mechanically connected together as a module); wherein the first module (16) includes at least a first to fourth contact pin (58, 60, 62 & 64) inserted in the first to fourth mating contacts, wherein the first and second contact pin (62, 64) are electrically connected to the first protective circuit component (54) and the third and fourth contact pin (58, 60) are electrically connected to the second protective circuit component (56); and wherein the base part (14) includes first wiring means (horizontal sections of 40, 70 & 72) for electrically connecting at least two mating contacts (the horizontal section of 40 connects the vertical sections of 40 which act as two of the mating contacts) of the first plug-in section (18) (re claim 1), wherein the first wiring means is arranged for electrically connecting the second and third mating contact (58, 62) so that a series connection of the first and second protective circuit component (54, 56) is formed in the plugged-in state (via 40) (re claim 2), wherein the base part (14) includes a second elongated plug-in section (10a of Fig. 1), wherein the first and second plug-in section (10, 10a) are located in parallel and have the same longitudinal extension, and wherein the second plug-in section (10a) includes a fifth to eight mating contact (which 26 is plugged into) (re claim 4), wherein the first wiring means (40) and/or second wiring means (70,72) is arranged removable from an outside of the base part (as seen in Fig. 2, the wiring means are connected to the base via bolts 34, 74 & 76 which are removable from outside of the base part) (re claim 24).
With regard to claims 25-27 & 31, Baumbach, in Figures 1 & 2, discloses an elongated module (16) for a surge protective device (10) comprising: a first and a second protective circuit component (54, 56) adjacently arranged in longitudinal direction and fixedly mechanically connected to each other (as seen in Fig. 2 the two protective components are fixedly mechanically connected together as a module); and a first to fourth contact pin (58, 60, 62 & 64), wherein the first and second contact pin (62, 64) are electrically connected to the first protective circuit component (54) and the third and fourth contact pin (58, 60) are electrically connected to the second protective circuit component (56) (re claim 25), wherein the first and the second protective component (58, 60) are fixedly arranged on a first carrier part (50) in a first common housing (52) of the module (16) (re claim 26), wherein the module (16) includes a first sub-module having a first submodule housing (108 which houses 54) and a second sub-module having a second sub-module housing (108 which houses 56), wherein the first protective circuit component (54) is arranged in the first submodule housing (108 at left) and the second protective circuit component (56) is arranged in the second submodule housing (108 at right), and wherein the first and second sub-module housing are fixedly mechanically connected to each other (they are attached to each other via the contacts 58, 60, 62m 64 and mounting section 50) (re claim 27), wherein the first and the second protective circuit component (54, 56) include a first overvoltage discharge component (54) or a first fuse and a second overvoltage discharge component (56) or a second fuse (Abstract) (re claim 31).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5, 8, 10 & 28-30 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 3 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims because the prior art of record does not teach or fairly suggest a surge protective device comprising all the features as recited in the claims and in combination with the first wiring means (W1a, W1b) including a first wiring part (W1a) for electrically connecting the first and third mating contact (M1, M3) and a second wiring part (W1b) for electrically connecting the second and fourth mating contact (M2, M4), the first and second wiring part (W1a, W1b) being electrically isolated from each other, so that a parallel connection of the first and second protective circuit component (OV1, OV2) is formed in the plugged-in state.
Claim 5 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims because the prior art of record does not teach or fairly suggest a surge protective device comprising all the features as recited in the claims and in combination with the base part (2) including second wiring means (W2) for electrically connecting at least one mating contact (M1, M2, M3, M4) of the first plug-in section (P1) and at least one mating contact (M5, M6, M7, M8) of the second plug-in section (P2); wherein the first and the second protective circuit component (OV1, OV2) include a first overvoltage discharge component (OV1) or a first fuse and a second overvoltage discharge component (OV2) or a second fuse; and wherein the third protective circuit component (OC) includes an overcurrent protection component (OC), and wherein the fifth and sixth contact pin (C5a, C5b) are inserted in corresponding mating contacts (M5, M8) in the base part (2).
Claim 8 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims because it depends on claim 5 which would also be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 10 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims because the prior art of record does not teach or fairly suggest a surge protective device comprising all the features as recited in the claims and in combination with the base part (2) including second wiring means (W2) for electrically connecting at least one mating contact (M1, M2, M3, M4) of the first plug-in section (P1) and at least one mating contact (M5, M6, M7, M8) of the second plug-in section (P2).
Claim 28 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims because the prior art of record does not teach or fairly suggest a module comprising all the features as recited in the claims and in combination with the module (PM1′) including a mechanical coupling member (CC) arranged between the first and second sub-module housing (H1a, H1b) which fixedly mechanically couples the first and second sub-module housing (H1a, H1b).
Claims 29 & 30 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims because they depend on claim 28 which would also be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Dabroski (US 2004/02333605), Neumetzler (US 2011/0310517) and Nilovic (DE 202007012507U1) all teach surge arrester modules with similarities to Applicant’s invention.
/Scott Bauer/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838