DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 15 and 16 recite the limitation "one or more fatty components (F5)". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as they depend from claim 1. One or more fatty components (F5) is first seen as a limitation in dependent claim 14. Examiner suggests amending claims 15 and 16 to depend from claim 14.
Interpretation of Claim Language
“Shortly before” in claim 16 initially appears to be an indefinite term of degree. But the specification at paragraph 218 appears to define the phrase as it recites “was moistened shortly before administration, was moistened within a period of at most 30 minutes, preferably at most 10 minutes before administration.” (¶ 218). Therefore, Examiner interprets “shortly before” to mean at most 30 minutes before administration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-11, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Protat-Geradin (WO 2021/214055).
Protat-Geradin discloses a composition comprising 15% 3-aminopropyltriethysilane (APTES silsoft A-1100 solid) (organic alkoxysilane), 9.8% polydimethylsiloxanes (PDMS) with a trialkoxy end functional group (organic alkoxysilane), 2.86% red pigment (pigment), in ethanol q.s. (at least one solvent different from water) (¶ 244, Table 1). Ethanol is reasonably expected to contain some water, but as the primary solvent is ethanol, it appears the water content will be below 25%, preferably less than 2% by weight (¶ 188). The reference teaches hair is exposed to the composition, left at room temperature, followed by combing and drying with a hairdryer (¶¶ 245-254). As such, the keratinous material is dried without washing the colorant. The process can be applied to wet or dry keratin fibers (¶ 207).
Examiner notes that wet keratin fibers would require dampening before the treatment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Protat-Geradin (WO 2021/214055) in view of Stevant (FR 3117842).
With regards to claims 12-13, Protat-Geradin further teaches the coloring agent may be present up to 15% by weight, the pigments may be present up to 15% by weight, and direct dyes can be present up to 10% by weight. As the instant claims define the dye to include pigments and coloring agents (see instant claim 8), then Protat-Geradin explicitly teaches up to 40% dye. It would have been obvious to vary this amount based on the results provided. In other words, the proportions are so similar that one skilled in the art would expect the same properties for the compositions. As such, 40% dye content can reasonably make obvious 45% by weight absent evidence to the contrary. See MPEP 2144.05.
With regards to claims 14-16, Protat-Geradin further teaches the addition of hydrocarbon oils, such the fatty acids glycerol or diglyderol (paragraph 99).
With regards to claim 20, after the drying process, the hair will naturally be exposed to the environment. Given relative humidity can range from 0-100%, then the overlap makes obvious the claimed range for any given location which happens to have a relative humidity above 40%. See MPEP 2144.05.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Protat-Geradin (WO 2021/214055) in view of Stevant (FR 3117842).
Protat-Geradin is discussed above but does not teach the silicones of instant claim 5.
With regards to claim 5, Stevant teaches alkoxysilanes for keratin dye treatment include polyoxakylenes, such as methyltrimethoxyilane (¶ 47) and trimethyoxysilanes (¶ 69).
It would be obvious to use known obvious variants of alkoxysilanes suitable for hair dye processes, as taught by Stevant.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,471,393. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘393 is directed to the same method, but with limited number of species and an overlapping genus of alkoxy silanes.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,233,147. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘147 is directed to the same method, but with limited number of species and an overlapping genus of alkoxy silanes.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,737,967. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘967 is directed to the same method, but with limited number of species and an overlapping genus of alkoxy silanes.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,826,586. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘586 is directed to the same method, but with limited number of species and an overlapping genus of alkoxy silanes.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,697,292. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘292 is directed to the same method, but with limited number of species and an overlapping genus of alkoxy silanes.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,576,020. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘020 is directed to the same method, but with limited number of species and an overlapping genus of alkoxy silanes.
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of copending Application No. 17/998,438 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘438 is directed to the same method, but with limited number of species and an overlapping genus of alkoxy silanes.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN J PACKARD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612