DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the papers filed 03/27/2025.
Claims 19-35 are pending in the application as set forth in the claim set filed 03/27/2026.
Therefore, claims 19-35 are examined on the merits.
Priority
The present application is a CON of 16/072,345 (ABN) filed July 24, 2018.
16/072,345 is a 35 U.S.C. 371 national stage filing of International Application No. PCT/ US17/15238 filed January 27, 2017.
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed parent provisional application 62/288,574 filed 01/29/2016 under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) is acknowledged.
Thus, the earliest possible priority for the instant application is January 29, 2016.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21, 22, 24 , 25, 34 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 21 is rejected because of the recitation of “is larger than … by a factor of about 10”. It is unclear if the term “larger than” refers to size of CD4+/CD25+ T-reg cells, number of cells or other. As such the metes and bounds of the claim are indefinite. Caim 22 is indefinite due to the use of parentheticals. It is not clear whether the parenthetical is used to indicate a limitation, a preferred embodiment, or synonym, etc. Accordingly, the metes and bounds of the claim are not clear.
Claim 24 is unclear in the recitation of “(i) culturing CD25+ cells”. Claim 24 further limits step (d) in claim 20 which requires “culturing the selected population of CD4+/CD25+ T-reg cells”. Thus, it is unclear the culturing of (i) CD25+ cells in claim 24(i) having different cells markers are the same cells or different cells . As such the metes and bounds of the claim are indefinite.
Claim 25 recites “the CD4+/CD25+ T-reg cells are selected and expanded by a method of.” However, claim 19 on which claim 25 depends does not recite a step of selecting, only expanding and culturing.
Claims 34 and 35 which depend on claim 19 recite “ cells”. There is not proper antecedent bases for “cells” in the claims or parent claim 19.
Therefore, claims 21, 22, 24 25, 34 ,35 are rejected as indefinite.
Claim Interpretation
As the specification does not define “factor of 10,” claim 21 is interpreted as having a 10-fold increase, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 19, 21-22, 32-33 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hippen et al. (2011. Sci Transl Med 3(83): 1-9; IDS Reference).
Regarding claim 19, Hippen teaches restimulated cryopreserved donor CD4+CD25+ regulatory T-cells (nTregs) obtained from non-mobilized leukapheresis expanded ex vivo for the purpose of treating Graft-versus-host disease (GVHD) (i.e. patient in need of immunosuppression) and auto-immunity by providing an off-the-shelf, cost effective and proven cellular therapy (Abstract; Fig 4).
Regarding claim 21, Hippen teaches PB nTregs were purified under GMP conditions and expanded 80-fold to yield 19 × 109 cells (Abstract).
Regarding claim 22, Hippen teaches that both expanded nTreg preparations of frozen and fresh cells significantly reduced GVHD-induced lethality when compared with PBMNC controls, and there was no difference in their relative potency and that the cells maintained their phenotype and in vitro–suppressive function after cryopreservation and thawing (p. 6).
Regarding claim 32, Hippen teaches that it is a xenogenic transplant (p. 2), therefore, the apheresis sample is obtained from a different donor than the recipient.
Regarding claim 33, Hippen teaches nTregs each were capable of suppressing lethality in a xenogeneic model of GVHD where cells are transplanted (p. 2).
Regarding claim 35, Hippen teaches the enriched and expanded cells are frozen prior to administration (Fig 4).
Therefore, the invention is anticipated by Hippen.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 20, 23, and 26-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hippen et al. (2011. Sci Transl Med 3(83): 1-9 + Supplementary Materials; IDS Reference) as applied to claim 19 above, and in view of Cabezudo (2000. TRANSFUSION 40:1223-1227; IDS Reference) and Young (US20140051165; IDS Reference)
As discussed above in the 102 rejection and reiterated here in its entirety, Hippen teaches administering expanded previously cryopreserved CD4+/CD25+ Tregs to a subject in need of immunosuppression.
Moreover, Hippen teaches that their cryopreserved T reg samples are thawed in a medium of human serum albumin (Supplementary Material, p.2). Additionally, Tregs which would be expanded were selected by depleting non-CD4+ cells and analyzing for CD25high through MACs sorting (Figure 1A). Therefore, the Tregs were selected as a population of T-reg cells.
Regarding claims 20 and 29-30, however, Hippen does not teach that the original sample of leukapheresis from which T-reg cells are sorted from is cryopreserved, or that the cells are thawed in HAS, MgCl2, and dornase alfa.
Cabezudo teaches cryopreserved or fresh apheresis samples can be utilized as cell sources. Furthermore, leukapheresis samples were processed and cryopreserved successfully with high nucleated cell recovery from thawed bags (Table 1, p. 1224)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to utilize frozen apheresis samples which would then be thawed instead of fresh apheresis samples as taught by Cabezudo with a reasonable expectation of success. An artisan would have been motivated to do so as Cabezudo demonstrates that frozen samples can be recovered at high levels comparable to fresh samples.
However, Hippen and Cabezudo do not teach that the thawing buffer comprises human serum albumin (HSA), magnesium chloride (MgCl2), and dornase alfa.
Young teaches methods of thawing cryopreserved cord blood for the purpose of treatment wherein DNases such as PULMOZYME (i.e. Dornase Alfa), MgCl2, and HSA in buffers are added to the thawing cord blood to form a suspension (para. 0003, 0024, 0027, 0055, Example I part II). Young teaches that the DNAse is utilized for the purpose of preventing the increase of viscosity of the collected cells and hinders further handling of the cells for clinical uses due to the lysing of RBCs which can occur during cryopreservation and thawing (para. 0024). HSA is capable of maintaining pH stability longterm (para 0027).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to thaw the apheresis sample utilized in the method made obvious by Hippen and Cabezudo in a buffer of Dornase Alfa, MgCl2 and HSA as taught by Young with a reasonable expectation of success. An artisan would be motivated to utilize a buffer containing a DNAse in order to prevent the increase of viscosity of the collected cells which hinders further handling of the cells for clinical uses due to the lysing of RBCs which can occur during cryopreservation and thawing (para. 0024). Additionally, an artisan would be motivated to utilize HSA as it is capable of maintaining pH stability longterm (para 0027).
Regarding claim 23, Hippen, Cabezudo and Young make obvious claim 20. Moreover, Hippen teaches incubating samples with CD8+ and CD19+ to isolate the Tregs from CD8+ and CD19+ cells (p. 2, Figure 1A). These cells were captured on microbeads in order to deplete the sample (p. 8) which reads on steps ii)-iii). Then Hippen teaches taking the depleted product and CD25high cells were isolated from the depleted sample through incubating with microbeads for CD25 and placing them in a cell culture (p. 8, Figure 1A) which reads on steps iv)-iv). Regarding the limitation of one or more of the steps use buffers comprising HAS, MgCl2 and dornase alfa, the combination of Hippen, Cabezudo and Young make obvious utilizing the solution in the thawing procedure, therefore, step i) would have such a solution.
Regarding claim 26-28, Hippen teaches that the cells are administered to mice which model GVHD and their findings advance the clinical utility of expanded nTregs for the prevention and treatment of GVHD after blood and marrow transplantation, solid organ rejection, and autoimmune disease (p. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to administer the cells of Hippen to an individual with GVHD, an organ transplant or an autoimmune disease as Hippen teaches that its findings can be applicable to GVHD after blood and marrow transplantation or organ rejection and autoimmune disease.
Therefore, the invention would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date
Claim 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hippen (supra) in view of in view of Cabezudo (supra) and Young (supra) as applied to claims 19 and 20, and in further view of Godfrey (US20120282694), Jhunjhunwala et al. (2012. Journal of Controlled Release 159(1): 78-84; IDS Reference), and Strauss (2007. The Journal of Immunology, 178: 320–329; IDS Reference)
As discussed above in the rejection of claims 19 and 20 and reiterated here in its entirety, Hippen, Cabezudo and Young teach administering expanded previously cryopreserved CD4+/CD25+ Tregs to a subject in need of immunosuppression. Moreover, Hippen teaches incubating samples with CD8+ and CD19+ to isolate the Tregs from CD8+ and CD19+ cells (p. 2, Figure 1A). These cells were captured on microbeads in order to deplete the sample (p. 8) which reads on steps ii)-iii). Then Hippen teaches taking the depleted product and CD25high cells were isolated from the depleted sample through incubating with microbeads for CD25 and placing them in a cell culture (p. 8, Figure 1A) which reads on steps iv)-iv). Regarding the limitation of one or more of the steps use buffers comprising HAS, MgCl2 and dornase alfa, the combination of Hippen, Cabezudo and Young make obvious utilizing the solution in the thawing procedure, therefore, step i) would have such a solution. Moreover, Hippen teaches adding IL-2 and rapamycin in growth media with the anti-CD3/CD28 mAb-coated beads and Tregs (p. 2).
However, regarding claims 24-25, Hippen, Cabezudo, and Young do not teach growth media comprising IL-2, rapamycin and TGF-beta which is continuously refreshed and added, and no additional rapamycin is added to the cells beyond 9 days of culture.
Godfrey discloses a method for selecting and expanding a population of CD4+/CD25+ T -regulatory cells from human cord blood as T-regulatory cells as CD4+CD25+ T-regulatory cells appear to be central control elements of immunoregulation, and understanding their biology is important to efforts aimed at therapeutically manipulating immune responses (para. 0004-0005) Said method comprises isolating (i.e. selecting) a population of CD4+/CD25+ T-regulatory (T-reg) cells and culturing the selected population in order to produce an expanded population through rounds of subculturing (para. 0013-0014, Claim 10 and 13). The culture in IL-2 comprises an antibody to CD3, and antibody to CD28 (para. 0035). This is because a cell isolated by the methods of the present invention can be multiplied approximately 100 fold by culturing the cell with an antibody that binds CD3, and antibody that binds CD28, and IL-2 (para. 0066).
Jhunjhunwala teaches that IL-2 in combination with TGF-beta and rapamycin have been previously reported to induce T regulatory cells and further teach that the combination in a controlled release formulation can achieve the same result (Abstract, p. 81). Furthermore, enhancing these Treg numbers and function has the potential to suppress transplant rejection and autoimmunity in therapies (p. 82). Jhunjhunwala further teaches that a continuous presence of Tgf-beta is required for FoxP3 expression in naïve T cells (i.e. a marker of T reg cell expression) (p. 81-82). Additionally, rapamycin is a known factor which favors Treg development (p. 79).
Strauss teaches after 1 week of expansion, the proliferation numbers of both cultures which contain and do not contain rapamycin have similar cell counts from the resulting expansion as the cells have become resistant to rapamycin as the remaining cells should be T regulatory cells and CD25- cell proliferation was blocked (Fig 2., p. 323-324).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to culture CD25+ Treg cells of Hippen, Cabezudo, and Young in the presence of rapamycin, IL-2 and beads which have anti-CD3/anti-CD28 antibodies and add rapamycin to the growth media as taught by Godfrey, Jhunjhunwala and Strauss with a reasonable expectation of success. An artisan would be motivated to utilize IL-2, TGF-beta and rapamycin as a continuous presence of Tgf-beta is required for FoxP3 expression in naïve T cells (i.e. a marker of T reg cell expression) and rapamycin is a known factor which favors Treg development (Jhunjhunwala et al.; p. 79, 81-82). An artisan would further be motivated to stop adding rapamycin at a certain point in cell culture (i.e. less than the 9th day of culture) as after 1 week of expansion, the proliferation numbers of both cultures which contain and do not contain rapamycin have similar cell counts from the resulting expansion as the cells have become resistant to rapamycin as the remaining cells should be T regulatory cells and CD25- cell proliferation was blocked (Strauss et al.; Fig 2., p. 323-324). Any repetitive steps would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further expand the cell culture.
Therefore, the invention would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date
Claim 31 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hippen (supra) in view of in view of Cabezudo (supra) and Young (supra) as applied to claims 19, 29 above, and in further view of Blazar (US20120207727)
As discussed above in the rejection of claim 19 and claim 29 and reiterated here in its entirety, Hippen, Cabezudo and Young teach administering expanded previously cryopreserved CD4+/CD25+ Tregs to a subject in need of immunosuppression.
However these references do not teach autologous donor sources or about 1,000,000,000 to about 5,000,000,000 cells administered.
Blazar teaches methods for the production of ex vivo activated and culture-expanded isolated CD4+CD25+ suppressor Treg cells for the prevention or suppression of immune reactions in a host, particularly in a human host, and including autoimmune responses (Abstract). Moreover, Blazar teachs another object of the Invention to provide a method for inducing an anti-GVHD response in vivo comprising contacting host CD4+CD25+ cells with activating and/or enhancing compositions ex vivo and infusing thus activated and/or enhanced CD4+CD25+ cells into the autologous host, who has or will undergo allogeneic transplant that may produce or has already initiated GVHD response in the transplant recipient (para. 0034). On average as many as 1×109 culture-expanded Treg cells will be needed for clinical trials in a human (para. 0116).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to administer as many as 1×109 culture-expanded Treg cells which are autologous as taught by Blazar with a reasonable expectation of success. An artisan would be motivated to do so as many as 1×109 culture-expanded Treg cells will be needed for clinical trials in a human (para. 0116). Either autologous or allogeneic cells may be utilized in the method of Blazar as seen in para. 0120.
Therefore, the invention would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/ALEXANDRA F CONNORS/Examiner, Art Unit 1634
/MARIA G LEAVITT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1634