DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1–4, 11, and 13–16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0216452 to Suzuki et al. in view of JP 2004-29298 A to Katsunuma (copy with translation attached with this Office action, citations to the provided translation).
Regarding Claim 1, Suzuki discloses (e.g., at least Fig. 1 and its description) a light beam shaping apparatus 1A, comprising a port assembly 10, a first light beam shaping device (e.g., combination of lens 41a and phase modulating light deflection element 30, paragraphs [0055] and [0062]), wherein the port assembly comprises at least one input port 11 (paragraph [0044]); the first light beam shaping device is configured to perform light beam shaping on a first light beam input from the at least one input port (e.g., paragraphs [0055] and [0062]).
Suzuki does not explicitly disclose a solid medium, the port assembly is connected to the first light beam shaping device through the solid medium.
Katsunuma discloses an optical device, and teaches forming the internal space of a transparent solid medium to reduce light loss (e.g., paragraph [0009]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the device of Suzuki to include a solid medium, such that the port assembly is connected to the first light beam shaping device through the solid medium, as suggested by Katsunuma, in order to reduce light loss in the device.
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Suzuki and Katsunuma would have rendered obvious wherein the solid medium uses a dielectric material with a high transmittance (e.g., quartz glass, paragraph [0017] of Katsunuma).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Suzuki and Katsunuma would have rendered obvious wherein the beam shaping apparatus further comprises a housing, wherein the port assembly and the first light beam shaping device are packaged in the housing, and the housing is filled with the solid medium (e.g., paragraphs [0009] and [0017] of Katsunuma, “covering the solid medium with a case, and attaching the incident light transmission path and the output light transmission path to the solid medium, thereby greatly simplifying the manufacturing process,” and “inner space 11 of the case 10 is filled with a transparent solid medium”).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Suzuki and Katsunuma would have rendered obvious wherein the first light beam shaping device is configured to perform phase adjustment on the first light beam, to adjust a beam waist width of the first light beam in a first direction and/or a second direction, wherein the first direction is perpendicular to the second direction (e.g., paragraphs [0054]–[0056] of Suzuki).
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Suzuki and Katsunuma would have rendered obvious wherein ports in the port assembly are distributed in M rows and N columns, M is an integer greater than 1, N is an integer greater than 1, M ports in each column are distributed in the first direction, and N ports in each row are distributed in the second direction (e.g., Figs. 16–25 of Suzuki illustrate various configurations, and where selecting a specific configuration or orientation would have been obvious as a matter of design choice, yielding predictable results based on known optical properties, absent evidence of criticality or otherwise unobvious results).
Regarding Claim 13, Suzuki discloses (e.g., at least Fig. 1 and its description) a light beam shaping method (e.g., Fig. 1), wherein the light beam shaping method is applied to a light beam shaping apparatus 1A, the light beam shaping apparatus comprises a port assembly 10/11 (e.g., paragraph [0044]), and a first light beam shaping device (e.g., combination of lens 41a and phase modulating light deflection element 30, paragraphs [0055] and [0062]); the port assembly comprises at least one input port 11 (paragraph [0044]); the method comprises: performing, by the first light beam shaping device, light beam shaping on the first light beam input from the at least one input port (e.g., paragraphs [0055] and [0062]).
Suzuki does not explicitly disclose a housing, the port assembly and the first light beam shaping device are packaged in the housing, and the housing is further filled with a solid medium.
Katsunuma discloses an optical device, and teaches forming the internal space of a transparent solid medium to reduce light loss, where the components are formed within a case (e.g., housing), to simplify the manufacturing process (e.g., paragraph [0009]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the method of Suzuki to include a housing, the port assembly and the first light beam shaping device are packaged in the housing, and the housing is further filled with a solid medium, as suggested by Katsunuma, in order to reduce light loss and simplify manufacturing.
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Suzuki and Katsunuma would have rendered obvious wherein the port assembly adheres to the first light beam shaping device through the solid medium (e.g., where the components of Suzuki would be adhered by the solid material of Katsunuma; also Fig. 1 of Katsunuma and paragraph [0009], teaching the components being attached).
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of Suzuki and Katsunuma would have rendered obvious wherein the solid medium uses a medium material with high transmittance (e.g., quartz glass, paragraph [0017] of Katsunuma).
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of Suzuki and Katsunuma would have rendered obvious wherein the performing, by the first light beam shaping device, light beam shaping on a first light beam input from the at least one input port comprises: performing, by the first light beam shaping device, phase adjustment on the first light beam, to adjust a beam waist width of the first light beam in a first direction and/or a second direction, wherein the first direction is perpendicular to the second direction (e.g., paragraphs [0054]–[0056] of Suzuki).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5–10, 12, and 17–20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/RYAN CROCKETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871