DETAIL ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). The certified copy has been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 12/13/2024 and 2/13/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
(f) ELEMENT IN CLAIM FOR A COMBINATION.—An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof.
As explained in MPEP 2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the following three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph:
6. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a management server configured to register an image file and a translation server configured to receive the image file in claim 13.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application 18980938 in view of PARK et al (US 20160147724 A1), if allowed, would improperly extend the “right to exclude” already granted in the patent. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it is merely in the terminology used in both sets of claims.
Claim 1-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application 18982746 in view of PARK et al (US 20160147724 A1), if allowed, would improperly extend the “right to exclude” already granted in the patent. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it is merely in the terminology used in both sets of claims.
Below is a list of limitations that perform the same function. However different terminology is used in both sets to describe the limitations.
Instant application- 18980949: - Note* bold means different in instant application
Co-pending application 18980938
1. A method of translating content, comprising:
receiving an image file of a translation target related to an episode of content created on the basis of a language of a first country;
receiving an image file of a translation target related to an episode of content created based on a language of a first country;
extracting text corresponding to the language of the first country from the image file; and
providing a translation editor for the image file so that a translated episode of the episode is generated on the basis of a language of a second country different from the first country using the image file,
providing a translation editor for the image file so that a translated episode of the episode is generated on the basis of a language of a second country different from the first country using the image file,
wherein the translation editor includes:
a first area where at least a portion of the image file of the translation target is output; and
wherein the translation editor includes a first area in which the image file of the translation target is output, and
a second area where a plurality of input windows for receiving a translated language of the language of the second country for the extracted text as input are displayed, and
a second area for receiving a translated language in the language of the second country for the extracted text as input, and
wherein which portion of the image file is output in the first area is specified on the basis of a selection of one of the plurality of input windows.
Wherein in response to a control command for image capturing at least a portion of the output image file received through the first area, an input window for receiving a translated language for the captured image as input is generated in the second area.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
The mapping between instant application 18980949 and co-pending application 18982746 is similar to above mapping.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter because the claim(s) as a whole, considering all claim elements both individually and in combination, do not amount to significantly more than an abstract idea. As summarized in the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, examiners must perform a Two-Part Analysis for Judicial Exceptions.
Step 1
In Step 1, it must be determined whether the claimed invention is directed to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter. The instant invention encompasses four sets of claims: a method in claims 1-9 (i.e., a process), a method in claims 10-12 (i.e., a process), a system in claims 13-14 (i.e., a manufacture) and a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium in claims 15 (i.e., a manufacture). All claims are directed to one of the four statutory categories and meet the requirements of step 1.
Step 2A
Prong One
The claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significant more. The instant invention is broadly directed to “receiving an image file of an episode of content created on the basis of a language, extracting text form the image file and proving a translated episode with a second language”. Claim 1 recites the following (with emphasis added):
Claim 1: A method of translating content, comprising:
receiving an image file of a translation target related to an episode of content created on the basis of a language of a first country;
extracting text corresponding to the language of the first country from the image file; and
providing a translation editor for the image file so that a translated episode of the episode is generated on the basis of a language of a second country different from the first country using the image file,
wherein the translation editor includes:
a first area where at least a portion of the image file of the translation target is output; and
a second area where a plurality of input windows for receiving a translated language of the language of the second country for the extracted text as input are displayed, and
wherein which portion of the image file is output in the first area is specified on the basis of a selection of one of the plurality of input windows.
The bold portions of claim 1 encompass the abstract idea, which is also encompassed by the dependent claims 2-9, and substantially also encompassed by claims 10-12, 13-14 and 15.
Claims 1, 10, 13 and 15 recite the steps to provide the translated episode of content with different language for a received image file and specify which part of the image file to be output for displayed. These limitations, when given their broadest reasonable interpretation, are directed to certain performing of organizing human activity and mental processes, which is abstract idea.
Prong Two
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because mere instruction to implement on computers (i.e. storage medium or processors in claim 15) or a display (display and command input in claim 1), or a servers (server in claim 13) or merely using computers as a tool to perform the abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, and/or generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a technological environment for field of use is not considered integration into a practical application. Claim 1 recites receiving an image file of an episode of content created on the basis of a language, extracting text form the image file and proving a translated episode with a second language. Proving a translated episode from received image file with a second language is a generic process, which does not represent a technological improvement. The using of the computer, extracting text from an image file process and Proving a translated episode does not add improvement to the functioning of a computer or to any other technology field, which failed to enable the abstract idea to integrate into a practical application. The claims are drafted in a result-oriented fashion, without the requisite specificity needed to provide a nonabstract technological solution. The computing system and general process are directed to the components of a system amount to merely field of use type limitations and/or extra solution activity to implement the abstract idea as presented.
Step 2B
Step 2B in the analysis requires us to determine whether the claims do significantly more than simply describe that abstract method. Mayo, 132 S. Ct. at 1297. We must examine the limitations of the claims to determine whether the claims contain an "inventive concept" to "transform" the claimed abstract idea into patent-eligible subject matter. Alice, 134 S. Ct. at 2357 (quoting Mayo, 132 S. Ct. at 1294, 1298). The transformation of an abstract idea into patent-eligible subject matter "requires 'more than simply stat[ing] the [abstract idea] while adding the words 'apply it."' Id. (quoting Mayo, 132 S. Ct. at 1294) (alterations in original). "A claim that recites an abstract idea must include 'additional features' to ensure 'that the [claim] is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the [abstract idea].'" Id. (quoting Mayo, 132 S. Ct. at 1297) (alterations in original). Those "additional features" must be more than "well-understood, routine, conventional activity." Mayo, 132 S. Ct. at 1298.
The present claims include the additional elements other than the abstract idea which include a processor, storage medium, display and client device with user interface (in claim 1 and 15). These additional elements are merely conventional computer and computer interface. Any potentially technical aspects of the claims are well-known generic computer components performing conventional functions (e.g., a processor performing a mental process). The present claims have been analyzed both individually and in combination and, the instant claims do not provide any improvement of the functioning of the computer or improvement to computer technology or any other technical field. There do not appear to be any meaningful limitations other than those that are well-understood, routine and conventional in the field. Thus, the present claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Thus, the claims 1-9 are not patent eligible.
Claims 10-12, 13-14, and 15 recite similar limitations of claims 1-9, thus are abstract idea and not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 10-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PARK et al (US 20160147724 A1) in view of KO et al (JP 2017004483 A).
Regarding claim 1, PARK discloses a method of translating content [e.g. FIG. 1-2 and 15; translation editor processing], comprising:
receiving an image file [e.g. image data] of a translation target related to an episode of content created on the basis of a language of a first country [e.g. FIG. 4-6; episode of cartoon in English]; and
providing a translation editor [e.g. FIG. 5; translations editor] for the image file so that a translated episode [e.g. FIG. 4; translated episodes] of the episode is generated on the basis of a language of a second country different from the first country using the image file [e.g. translated episode in French or THAI],
wherein the translation editor includes:
a first area [e.g. FIG. 5-6; 530 including 531 and 532 area] where at least a portion of the image file of the translation target is output [e.g. text and image]; and
a second area [e.g. FIG. 5-6; e.g. 511, 515, 513, 540 and 517 area] where a plurality of input windows for receiving a translated language [e.g. French] of the language of the second country for the extracted text as input are displayed, and
wherein which portion of the image file is output [e.g. FIG. 5B-5C; displayed text in different language] in the first area e.g. 530] is specified on the basis of a selection of one of the plurality of input windows [e.g. 517, 541, and 546 547].
It is noted that PARK differs to the present invention in that PARK fails to explicitly disclose extracting text from an image.
However, KO teaches the well-known concept of extracting text [e.g. dialogue text data] corresponding to the language of the first country [e.g. Japanese or Korea] from the image file [e.g. FIG 1-3; multilingual web toon image].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the translations editor system disclosed by PARK to exploit the well-known extracting text data from an image technique taught by KO as above, in order to provide reduced the production time of the multilingual web toon [See KO, page 2; lines 1-5].
Regarding claim 2, PARK and KO further disclose position information on text layers is extracted for the extracted text from the image file [e.g. PARK: FIG. 4-6; KO: FIG. 2-3; a text database 330 for storing the character code, the position information of the text data], and wherein the plurality of input windows are each matched to the extracted text [e.g. PARK: FIG. 4-6; KO: FIG. 8-10].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the translations editor system disclosed by PARK to exploit the well-known extracting text data from an image technique taught by KO as above, in order to provide reduced the production time of the multilingual web toon [See KO, page 2; lines 1-5].
Regarding claim 3, PARK and KO further disclose a portion of the image file output in the first area is changed to correspond to a selected input window using the position information [e.g. PARK: FIG. 4-6; calculating location information of the other cartoon data or text data editor based on the location information of each of the unit texts and portions of the image data and the text data corresponding to the location information may be displayed; KO: FIG. 8-10; recognizes position of the image data].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the translations editor system disclosed by PARK to exploit the well-known extracting text data from an image technique taught by KO as above, in order to provide reduced the production time of the multilingual web toon [See KO, page 2; lines 1-5].
Regarding claim 4, PARK and KO further disclose input window among the plurality of input windows is output in the second area is specified on the basis of a selection of a text image included in a portion of the image file output in the first area [e.g. PARK: FIG. 4-6 and 13; 541s and 532].
Regarding claim 5, PARK and KO further disclose upon receiving the selection of the text image, the extracted text is specified using the text image, and the translation editor is controlled so that an input window matched to the specified text is displayed in the second area [e.g. PARK: FIG. 5A-C].
Regarding claim 6, PARK and KO further disclose in response to receiving a control command through the first area requesting image capture of at least an output portion of the image file [e.g. KO: FIG. 2 and 9; the cut extraction module 351 captures each cut image to be sampled], an input window for receiving a translated language for the captured image as input is generated in the second area [e.g. PARK: FIG. 5-6; KO: FIG. 9-11].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the translations editor system disclosed by PARK to exploit the well-known extracting text data from an image technique taught by KO as above, in order to provide reduced the production time of the multilingual web toon [See KO, page 2; lines 1-5].
Regarding claim 7, PARK and KO further disclose a position of the input window for receiving the translated language for the captured image as input in the second area is determined on the basis of relative positions of the image-captured portion and the extracted text in the first area [e.g. PARK: FIG. 4-6; location information in the image data; KO: FIG. 2 and 9; recognizing a specific position on the image data].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the translations editor system disclosed by PARK to exploit the well-known extracting text data from an image technique taught by KO as above, in order to provide reduced the production time of the multilingual web toon [See KO, page 2; lines 1-5].
Regarding claim 10, 11 and 12, this is a method that includes same limitation as in claim 1, 1, and 2 above respectively, the rejection of which are incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 13-14, this is a system that includes same limitation as in claim 1-2 above respectively, the rejection of which are incorporated herein
Regarding claim 15, this is a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium that includes same limitation as in claim 1 above, the rejection of which are incorporated herein.
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PARK et al (US 20160147724 A1) in view of KO et al (JP 2017004483 A) and Hwang et al (US 20190065477 A1).
Regarding claim 8, PARK and KO further disclose the translated episode is output in the first area [e.g. PARK: FIG. 4-5] , and in response to receiving a control command through the first area to image capture at least a portion of the translated episode [e.g. PARK: FIG. 4-5; KO FIG. 2 and 8-11], a review list including the captured image is generated [e.g. PARK: FIG. 4 and 8-9], but PARK and KO fail to explicitly disclose reviewing the translated episode.
However, Hwang teaches the well-known concept of a review of the translated episode is performed [e.g. FIG. 1; ST60 and ST 70; secondary translation is manually performed by a translator to increase accuracy of translation], and the image file of the translation target is output in the second area [e.g. FIG. 6], [e.g. FIG. 1 and 6].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the translations editor system disclosed by PARK to exploit the well-known extracting text data from an image technique taught by KO and the well-known concept of providing and displaying a translated webcomic as above, in order to provide reduced the production time of the multilingual web toon [See KO, page 2; lines 1-5] and reduced time and cost for webcomic translation [See Hwang; [0017]].
Regarding claim 9, PARK. KO and Hwang further disclose in response to receiving the control command through the first area to image capture at least a portion of the translated episode [e.g. PARK: FIG. 4-5; KO FIG. 2 and 8-11; Hwang: FIG. 6], position information on the portion being image captured is extracted, and when the captured image is selected from the review list [e.g. Hwang: FIG. 6; position information], the position information is used to specify information being output in at least one of the first area or the second area [e.g. PARK: FIG. 4-5; Hwang: FIG. 6].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the translations editor system disclosed by PARK to exploit the well-known extracting text data from an image technique taught by KO and the well-known concept of providing and displaying a translated webcomic as above, in order to provide reduced the production time of the multilingual web toon [See KO, page 2; lines 1-5] and reduced time and cost for webcomic translation [See Hwang; [0017]].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
SUNG (US 20240338535 A1).
MITSUNAGA et al (US 20160301869 A1).
/ZHUBING REN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2658