DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the original application filed on 12/13/2024. Claims 1-20 are
pending in the application.
to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Objections
3. Claims 1-4, 6, 11-14, and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 in line 8, “at least one piece of first DCI” should be replaced by “at least one piece of the first DCI”.
Claim 1 in line 9, “at least one piece of first DCI” should be replaced by “at least one piece of the first DCI”.
Claim 1 in line 11, “at least one serving cell” should be replaced by “the at least one serving cell”.
Claim 2 in line 1, “wherein counting based on” should be replaced by “wherein the counting based on”.
Claim 2 in line 7, “at least one piece of first DCI” should be replaced by “at least one piece of the first DCI”.
Claim 3 in line 3-4, “same {serving cell or serving cell combination, PDCCH monitoring occasion}” should be replaced by “same serving cell or serving cell combination, and PDCCH monitoring occasion”.
Claim 3 in line 2, “of first DCI further comprises” should be replaced by “of the first DCI further comprises”.
Claim 4 in line 2, “at least one piece of first DCI” should be replaced by “at least one piece of the first DCI”.
Claim 6 in line 4, “at least one of a maximum number of CWs” should be replaced by “at least one of the maximum number of CWs”.
Claim 11 in line 7, “at least one piece of first DCI” should be replaced by “at least one piece of the first DCI”.
Claim 12 in line 7, “at least one piece of first DCI” should be replaced by “at least one piece of the first DCI”.
Claim 13 in line 3-4, “same {serving cell or serving cell combination, PDCCH monitoring occasion}” should be replaced by “same serving cell or serving cell combination, and PDCCH monitoring occasion”.
Claim 14 in line 4, “at least one piece of first DCI” should be replaced by “at least one piece of the first DCI”.
Claim 16 in line 4, “at least one of a maximum number of CWs” should be replaced by “at least one of the maximum number of CWs”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 1-2, 9, 11-12, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoshnevisan
et al. (US 2022/0322403 Al, hereinafter “Khoshnevisan”) in view of YANG et al. (US 2021/0352704 Al, hereinafter “Yang”).
Regarding claim 1, Khoshnevisan discloses:
A method for constructing a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) codebook, applicable to a terminal device, the method comprising (the method may include generating a codebook based on the counter downlink assignment index values. UE may accordingly transmit feedback (e.g., HARQ-ACK feedback) to the base station for PDSCH transmissions scheduled by the first and second DCI messages, Khoshnevisan: Fig. 8, [0038], [0182]):
receiving at least one piece of first downlink control information (DCI) (UE 115 may perform a blind search of PDCCH resources in the PMO and may receive the DCI messages on the PDCCH resources, Khoshnevisan: [0087], [0094]),
the first DCI comprises a counter-downlink assignment index (C-DAI) (DCI messages may indicate a counter downlink assignment indicator (cDAI) value, Khoshnevisan: [0037]); and
constructing a type-2 HARQ-acknowledgment (HARQ-ACK) codebook based on the C-DAI in the at least one piece of first DCI (the HARQ-ACK codebook may be an example of a Type-2 HARQ-ACK codebook. The HARQ-ACK codebook may be based on cDAI values, tDAI values, or both that correspond to the DCI messages. UE may generate a codebook based on the cDAI values and the order for the respective cDAI values, Khoshnevisan: [0114], [0126]);
wherein a counting manner of the C-DAI in the at least one piece of first DCI comprises (DCI messages may indicate a counter downlink assignment indicator (cDAI) value, Khoshnevisan: [0037]):
counting based on indexes of serving cell or indexes of serving cell combinations, wherein each of the serving cell combinations comprises at least one serving cell (cDAI value may indicate an accumulative number of resource pairs ( e.g., serving cell-PDCCH monitoring occasion (PMO) pairs) in which the base station has transmitted DCI messages, up to a current serving cell and a current PMO in which the base station is transmitting DCI messages. a cDAI value may indicate a serving cell first and a PMO second, Khoshnevisan: [0089]),
Khoshnevisan does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the first DCI is used for scheduling at least two physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs), the at least two PDSCHs corresponding to at least one serving cell, and
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yang teaches:
wherein the first DCI is used for scheduling at least two physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs), the at least two PDSCHs corresponding to at least one serving cell (If the UE is configured with only one serving cell, the counter-DAI may have the same meaning as the total-DAI. a counter downlink assignment index (c-DAI) and/or a totalDAI (t-DAI) may also be included in (DL grant) DCI. The counter-DAI may indicate how many PDSCHs are scheduled before a PDSCH related to the (DL grant) DCI. The total-DAI may indicate the total number of PDSCHs scheduled so far (until the current slot) (or the total number of slots including the PDSCH), Yang: [0122]), and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Khoshnevisan in view of Yang in order to further modify the first DCI which is used for scheduling at least two physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs), the at least two PDSCHs corresponding to at least one serving cell from the teachings of Yang.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the PDCCH (i.e., DCI) may carry information about a transport format and resource allocation of a DL shared channel (DL-SCH), resource allocation information of an uplink shared channel (UL-SCH), paging information on a paging channel (PCH), system information on the DL-SCH, information on resource allocation of a higher-layer control message such as an RAR transmitted on a PDSCH, a transmit power control command, information about activation/release of configured scheduling, and so on (Yang: [0056]).
Regarding claim 2, Khoshnevisan in view of Yang teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Khoshnevisan further discloses:
wherein counting based on the indexes of the serving cells comprises (a cDAI value may indicate a serving cell first and a PMO second, Khoshnevisan: [0089]):
wherein the counting manner of the C-DAI in the at least one piece of first DCI further comprises (DCI messages may indicate a counter downlink assignment indicator (cDAI) value, Khoshnevisan: [0037]):
counting based on at least one of an index of a PDCCH monitoring occasion or a PDSCH receive time (UE may receive a cDAI value, a tDAI value, or both in a DCI message. A cDAI value may indicate an accumulative number of resource pairs (e.g., serving cell-PMO pairs) in which the base station has transmitted DCI messages, up to a current serving cell and a current PMO in which the base station is transmitting DCI messages. Also, examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “or” in the limitation, Khoshnevisan: [0089]); or
counting based on the indexes of the serving cell or the indexes of the serving cell combinations comprises: counting based on the indexes of the serving cell or the indexes of the serving cell combinations in a case that indexes of PDCCH monitoring occasions are identical.
Khoshnevisan does not explicitly disclose:
counting in an ascending or descending order based on a minimum value of indexes of serving cells corresponding to the at least two PDSCHs scheduled by the first DCI; or
counting in an ascending or descending order based on a maximum value of indexes of serving cells corresponding to the at least two PDSCHs scheduled by the first DCI;
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yang teaches:
counting in an ascending or descending order based on a minimum value of indexes of serving cells corresponding to the at least two PDSCHs scheduled by the first DCI (counter-DAI may indicate how many PDSCHs are scheduled before a PDSCH related to the (DL grant) DCI. acknowledgment/negative acknowledgement (A/N) payloads may be mapped (ordered) in the order of counter-DAI values (e.g., from 1 to N). Also, examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “or” in the limitation, Yang: [0122], [0149]); or
counting in an ascending or descending order based on a maximum value of indexes of serving cells corresponding to the at least two PDSCHs scheduled by the first DCI;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Khoshnevisan in view of Yang in order to further modify counting in an ascending or descending order based on a minimum value of indexes of serving cells corresponding to the at least two PDSCHs scheduled by the first DCI from the teachings of Yang.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the PDCCH (i.e., DCI) may carry information about a transport format and resource allocation of a DL shared channel (DL-SCH), resource allocation information of an uplink shared channel (UL-SCH), paging information on a paging channel (PCH), system information on the DL-SCH, information on resource allocation of a higher-layer control message such as an RAR transmitted on a PDSCH, a transmit power control command, information about activation/release of configured scheduling, and so on (Yang: [0056]).
Regarding claim 9, Khoshnevisan in view of Yang teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Khoshnevisan further discloses:
wherein constructing the type-2 HARQ-ACK codebook based on the C-DAI in the first DCI comprises (the HARQ-ACK codebook may be an example of a Type-2 HARQ-ACK codebook. The HARQ-ACK codebook may be based on cDAI values, tDAI values, or both that correspond to the DCI messages. UE may generate a codebook based on the cDAI values and the order for the respective cDAI values, Khoshnevisan: [0114], [0126]):
Khoshnevisan does not explicitly disclose:
in a case that the at least two PDSCHs scheduled by the first DCI are PDSCHs corresponding to serving cells in the first serving cell combination, and a second value is less than a number M of bits of HARQ-ACK of the first DCI, determining last M minus second value bits in the HARQ-A CK codebook as first information; and
the second value is determined based on at least one of a maximum number of CWs schedulable by the first DCI for each of the serving cells in the first serving cell combination or a number of the serving cells in the first serving cell combination.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yang teaches:
in a case that the at least two PDSCHs scheduled by the first DCI are PDSCHs corresponding to serving cells in the first serving cell combination, and a second value is less than a number M of bits of HARQ-ACK of the first DCI, determining last M minus second value bits in the HARQ-ACK codebook as first information (The HARQ-ACK indicates whether DL data (e.g., a transport block (TB), a codeword (CW), etc.) on the PDSCH is successfully received. two-bit HARQ-ACK may be transmitted in response to two pieces of DL data. counter-DAI may indicate how many PDSCHs are scheduled before a PDSCH related to the (DL grant) DCI. acknowledgment/negative acknowledgement (A/N) payloads may be mapped (ordered) in the order of counter-DAI values (e.g., from 1 to N), Yang: [0111], [0122], [0149]); and
the second value is determined based on at least one of a maximum number of CWs schedulable by the first DCI for each of the serving cells in the first serving cell combination or a number of the serving cells in the first serving cell combination (The PDSCH may deliver up to two codewords. The codewords are individually subjected to scrambling and modulation mapping, and modulation symbols from each codeword are mapped to one or more layers. The HARQ-ACK indicates whether DL data (e.g., a transport block (TB), a codeword (CW), etc.) on the PDSCH is successfully received. two-bit HARQ-ACK may be transmitted in response to two pieces of DL data, Yang: [0068], [0111]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Khoshnevisan in view of Yang in order to further modify two PDSCHs which is scheduled by the first DCI are PDSCHs corresponding to serving cells in the first serving cell combination, and a second value is less than a number M of bits of HARQ-ACK of the first DCI, determining last M minus second value bits in the HARQ-A CK codebook as first information, and the second value which is determined based on at least one of a maximum number of CWs schedulable by the first DCI for each of the serving cells in the first serving cell combination or a number of the serving cells in the first serving cell combination from the teachings of Yang.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the PDCCH (i.e., DCI) may carry information about a transport format and resource allocation of a DL shared channel (DL-SCH), resource allocation information of an uplink shared channel (UL-SCH), paging information on a paging channel (PCH), system information on the DL-SCH, information on resource allocation of a higher-layer control message such as an RAR transmitted on a PDSCH, a transmit power control command, information about activation/release of configured scheduling, and so on (Yang: [0056]).
Regarding claim 11, Khoshnevisan discloses:
when loading and running the one or more computer programs, cause the network device to perform a method for constructing a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) codebook (the method may include generating a codebook based on the counter downlink assignment index values. UE may accordingly transmit feedback (e.g., HARQ-ACK feedback) to the base station for PDSCH transmissions scheduled by the first and second DCI messages, Khoshnevisan: Fig. 8, [0038], [0182]);
transmitting at least one piece of first downlink control information (DCI) (the base station may transmit a DCI message to the UE on a set of PDSCH resources, Khoshnevisan: [0039]),
wherein a counter downlink assignment index (C-DAI) in each of the at least one piece of first DCI is configured to construct a type-2 HARQ-acknowledgment (the HARQ-ACK codebook may be an example of a Type-2 HARQ-ACK codebook. The HARQ-ACK codebook may be based on cDAI values, tDAI values, or both that correspond to the DCI messages. UE may generate a codebook based on the cDAI values and the order for the respective cDAI values, Khoshnevisan: [0114], [0126]),
wherein a counting manner of the C-DAI in the first DCI comprises (DCI messages may indicate a counter downlink assignment indicator (cDAI) value, Khoshnevisan: [0037]);
counting based on indexes of serving cells or indexes of serving cell combinations, wherein each of the serving cell combinations comprises at least one serving cell (NACK) (the HARQ-ACK codebook may be an example of a Type-2 HARQ-ACK codebook. The HARQ-ACK codebook may be based on cDAI values, tDAI values, or both that correspond to the DCI messages. UE may generate a codebook based on the cDAI values and the order for the respective cDAI values, Khoshnevisan: [0114], [0126]).
Khoshnevisan does not explicitly disclose:
A network device, comprising a processor, a memory, and a transceiver; wherein the memory stores one or more computer programs, and the processor,
the first DCI is used for scheduling at least two physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs), and the at least two PDSCHs correspond to at least one serving cell;
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yang teaches:
A network device, comprising a processor, a memory, and a transceiver; wherein the memory stores one or more computer programs, and the processor (communication system includes wireless devices, BSs, and a network. The one or more memories may be connected to the one or more processors and store various types of data, signals, messages, information, programs, code, instructions, and/or commands. the communication circuit may include the one or more processors and/or the one or more memories. the transceiver(s) may include the one or more transceivers, Yang: Fig. 17, [0311], [0320], [0323]),
the first DCI is used for scheduling at least two physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs), and the at least two PDSCHs correspond to at least one serving cell (If the UE is configured with only one serving cell, the counter-DAI may have the same meaning as the total-DAI. a counter downlink assignment index (c-DAI) and/or a totalDAI (t-DAI) may also be included in (DL grant) DCI. The counter-DAI may indicate how many PDSCHs are scheduled before a PDSCH related to the (DL grant) DCI. The total-DAI may indicate the total number of PDSCHs scheduled so far (until the current slot) (or the total number of slots including the PDSCH), Yang: [0122]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Khoshnevisan in view of Yang in order to further modify a network device, comprising a processor, a memory, and a transceiver and the memory stores one or more computer programs, and the processor, and the first DCI which is used for scheduling at least two physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs), and the at least two PDSCHs correspond to at least one serving cell from the teachings of Yang.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the PDCCH (i.e., DCI) may carry information about a transport format and resource allocation of a DL shared channel (DL-SCH), resource allocation information of an uplink shared channel (UL-SCH), paging information on a paging channel (PCH), system information on the DL-SCH, information on resource allocation of a higher-layer control message such as an RAR transmitted on a PDSCH, a transmit power control command, information about activation/release of configured scheduling, and so on (Yang: [0056]).
Regarding claim 12, Khoshnevisan in view of Yang teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 11.
Khoshnevisan further discloses:
wherein counting based on the indexes of the serving cell comprises (a cDAI value may indicate a serving cell first and a PMO second, Khoshnevisan: [0089]):
the counting manner of the C-DAI in the at least one piece of first DCI further comprises (DCI messages may indicate a counter downlink assignment indicator (cDAI) value, Khoshnevisan: [0037]):
counting based on at least one of an index of a PDCCH monitoring occasion or a PDSCH receive time (UE may receive a cDAI value, a tDAI value, or both in a DCI message. A cDAI value may indicate an accumulative number of resource pairs (e.g., serving cell-PMO pairs) in which the base station has transmitted DCI messages, up to a current serving cell and a current PMO in which the base station is transmitting DCI messages, Khoshnevisan: [0089]): and
counting based on the indexes of the serving cells or the indexes of the serving cell combinations comprises: counting based on the indexes of the serving cells or the indexes of the serving cell combinations in a case that PDCCH monitoring occasions are identical (a cDAI value may indicate a serving cell first and a PMO second. A cDAI value may indicate an accumulative number of resource pairs (e.g., serving cell-PMO pairs) in which the base station has transmitted DCI messages, up to a current serving cell and a current PMO in which the base station is transmitting DCI messages, Khoshnevisan: [0089]);
Khoshnevisan does not explicitly disclose:
counting in an ascending or descending order based on a minimum value of indexes of serving cells corresponding to the at least two PDSCHs scheduled by the first DCI; or
counting in an ascending or descending order based on a maximum value of indexes of serving cells corresponding to the at least two PDSCHs scheduled by the first DCI;
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yang teaches:
counting in an ascending or descending order based on a minimum value of indexes of serving cells corresponding to the at least two PDSCHs scheduled by the first DCI (counter-DAI may indicate how many PDSCHs are scheduled before a PDSCH related to the (DL grant) DCI. acknowledgment/negative acknowledgement (A/N) payloads may be mapped (ordered) in the order of counter-DAI values (e.g., from 1 to N). Also, examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “or” in the limitation, Yang: [0122], [0149]); or
counting in an ascending or descending order based on a maximum value of indexes of serving cells corresponding to the at least two PDSCHs scheduled by the first DCI;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Khoshnevisan in view of Yang in order to further modify counting in an ascending or descending order based on a minimum value of indexes of serving cells corresponding to the at least two PDSCHs scheduled by the first DCI from the teachings of Yang.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the PDCCH (i.e., DCI) may carry information about a transport format and resource allocation of a DL shared channel (DL-SCH), resource allocation information of an uplink shared channel (UL-SCH), paging information on a paging channel (PCH), system information on the DL-SCH, information on resource allocation of a higher-layer control message such as an RAR transmitted on a PDSCH, a transmit power control command, information about activation/release of configured scheduling, and so on (Yang: [0056]).
Regarding claim 19, Khoshnevisan in view of Yang teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 11 above.
Khoshnevisan further discloses:
wherein the method further comprises: receiving the HARQ-ACK codebook fed back by the terminal device (UE may transmit a HARQ-ACK codebook to the base station on PUCCH resources indicated by a last DCI message in the order, Khoshnevisan: [0114]);
Khoshnevisan does not explicitly disclose:
wherein in a case that the at least two PDSCHs scheduled by the first DCI are PDSCHs corresponding to serving cells in the first cell combination, and a second value is less than a number M of bits of HARQ-ACK of the first DCI, last M minus second value bits in the HARQ-ACK of the first DCI are first information; and
the second value is determined based on at least one of a maximum number of CWs schedulable by the first DCI for each of the serving cells in the first serving cell combination or a number of the serving cells in the first serving cell combination.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yang teaches:
wherein in a case that the at least two PDSCHs scheduled by the first DCI are PDSCHs corresponding to serving cells in the first cell combination, and a second value is less than a number M of bits of HARQ-ACK of the first DCI, last M minus second value bits in the HARQ-ACK of the first DCI are first information (The HARQ-ACK indicates whether DL data (e.g., a transport block (TB), a codeword (CW), etc.) on the PDSCH is successfully received. two-bit HARQ-ACK may be transmitted in response to two pieces of DL data. counter-DAI may indicate how many PDSCHs are scheduled before a PDSCH related to the (DL grant) DCI. acknowledgment/negative acknowledgement (A/N) payloads may be mapped (ordered) in the order of counter-DAI values (e.g., from 1 to N), Yang: [0111], [0122], [0149]); and
the second value is determined based on at least one of a maximum number of CWs schedulable by the first DCI for each of the serving cells in the first serving cell combination or a number of the serving cells in the first serving cell combination (The PDSCH may deliver up to two codewords. The codewords are individually subjected to scrambling and modulation mapping, and modulation symbols from each codeword are mapped to one or more layers. The HARQ-ACK indicates whether DL data (e.g., a transport block (TB), a codeword (CW), etc.) on the PDSCH is successfully received. two-bit HARQ-ACK may be transmitted in response to two pieces of DL data, Yang: [0068], [0111]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Khoshnevisan in view of Yang in order to further modify two PDSCHs which is scheduled by the first DCI are PDSCHs corresponding to serving cells in the first serving cell combination, and a second value is less than a number M of bits of HARQ-ACK of the first DCI, determining last M minus second value bits in the HARQ-A CK codebook as first information, and the second value which is determined based on at least one of a maximum number of CWs schedulable by the first DCI for each of the serving cells in the first serving cell combination or a number of the serving cells in the first serving cell combination from the teachings of Yang.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the PDCCH (i.e., DCI) may carry information about a transport format and resource allocation of a DL shared channel (DL-SCH), resource allocation information of an uplink shared channel (UL-SCH), paging information on a paging channel (PCH), system information on the DL-SCH, information on resource allocation of a higher-layer control message such as an RAR transmitted on a PDSCH, a transmit power control command, information about activation/release of configured scheduling, and so on (Yang: [0056]).
Claims 3-5 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoshnevisan in
view of Yang and in further view of ZHOU (US 2025/0386342 Al, hereinafter “Zhou”).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Khoshnevisan in view of Yang teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claims 1 and 11 above.
Khoshnevisan further discloses:
wherein counting of the C-DAI in the at least one piece of first DCI further comprises (DCI messages may indicate a counter downlink assignment indicator (cDAI) value, Khoshnevisan: [0037]):
Khoshnevisan does not explicitly disclose:
counting based on the PDSCH receive time for a same {serving cell or serving cell combination, PDCCH monitoring occasion}.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Zhou teaches:
counting based on the PDSCH receive time for a same {serving cell or serving cell combination, PDCCH monitoring occasion} (PDSCH transmissions on two cells scheduled by a single DCI in the disclosure will be exemplified with reference to FIG. 4a. DCI-1 transmitted on cell CC0 is used for scheduling transmission of PDSCH-1 on cell CC0 and transmission of PDSCH 4 on cell CC3, and DCI-2 transmitted on cell CC1 is used for scheduling transmission of PDSCH-3 on cell CC1 and transmission of PDSCH-2 on cell CC2, Zhou: Fig. 4A, [0075]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Khoshnevisan and Yang in view of Zhou in order to further modify counting based on the PDSCH receive time for a same {serving cell or serving cell combination, PDCCH monitoring occasion} from the teachings of Zhou.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the N DCIs can also be monitored by the terminal device in a certain monitoring occasion (such as a first monitoring occasion). The monitoring occasion in which the DCI is monitored can also be referred to as a DAI counting occasion (Zhou: [0076]).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Khoshnevisan in view of Yang teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claims 1 and 11 above.
Khoshnevisan further discloses:
wherein the HARQ-ACK codebook comprises bits of HARQ-ACK corresponding to the at least one piece of first DCI respectively (The UE may include an ACK or a NACK for each of the subsequent PDSCH transmissions scheduled by the DCI messages in a feedback message ( e.g., including a HARQ-ACK codebook) and may transmit the HARQ-ACK codebook to the base station on PUCCH resources indicated by a last DCI message indicated by the order, Khoshnevisan: [0085]); and
a number of the bits of the HARQ-ACK corresponding to the first DCI is determined by at least one of (the HARQ-ACK feedback of the PUCCH transmission may include a codebook with entries (e.g., bits) corresponding to the PDSCH transmissions, Khoshnevisan: [0102]):
Khoshnevisan does not explicitly disclose:
an optional number of the at least two PDSCHs scheduled by the first DCI;
a maximum number of the at least two PDSCHs scheduled by the first DCI; or
a maximum number of codewords (CWs) schedulable by the first DCI for each of Pl serving cells, wherein Pl is an integer greater than or equal to 1.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Zhou teaches:
an optional number of the at least two PDSCHs scheduled by the first DCI;
a maximum number of the at least two PDSCHs scheduled by the first DCI; or
a maximum number of codewords (CWs) schedulable by the first DCI for each of Pl serving cells, wherein Pl is an integer greater than or equal to 1 (the maximum number of codewords in one PD SCH across a cell supporting multi-cell scheduling within a PUCCH group configured by the network device, Zhou: Fig. 4A/B, [0116]-[0119]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Khoshnevisan and Yang in view of Zhou in order to further modify a maximum number of codewords (CWs) which is schedulable by the first DCI for each of Pl serving cells, wherein Pl is an integer greater than or equal to 1 from the teachings of Zhou.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the maximum number of codewords supported by one PDSCH scheduled by the multi-carrier scheduling DCI format can be understood as the maximum number of codewords that can be included in one PDSCH scheduled by a DCI having the multi-carrier scheduling DCI format (Zhou: [0100]).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Khoshnevisan-Yang-Zhou teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claims 4 and 14above.
Khoshnevisan further discloses:
the first serving cell combination is one of m serving cell combinations preconfigured by a system, wherein m is an integer greater than or equal to 1 (the DCI messages multiplexed with PDSCH transmissions may be ordered (e.g., in ascending order) based on scheduled CC (e.g., serving cell) indices associated with the DCI messages, Khoshnevisan: [0112]).
Khoshnevisan does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the at least two PDSCHs scheduled by the first DCI are PDSCHs corresponding to serving cells in a first serving cell combination; and
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yang teaches:
wherein the at least two PDSCHs scheduled by the first DCI are PDSCHs corresponding to serving cells in a first serving cell combination (If the UE is configured with only one serving cell, the counter-DAI may have the same meaning as the total-DAI. a counter downlink assignment index (c-DAI) and/or a totalDAI (t-DAI) may also be included in (DL grant) DCI. The counter-DAI may indicate how many PDSCHs are scheduled before a PDSCH related to the (DL grant) DCI. The total-DAI may indicate the total number of PDSCHs scheduled so far (until the current slot) (or the total number of slots including the PDSCH), Yang: [0122]); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Khoshnevisan and Zhou in view of Yang in order to further modify the two PDSCHs which is scheduled by the first DCI are PDSCHs corresponding to serving cells in a first serving cell combination from the teachings of Yang.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the PDCCH (i.e., DCI) may carry information about a transport format and resource allocation of a DL shared channel (DL-SCH), resource allocation information of an uplink shared channel (UL-SCH), paging information on a paging channel (PCH), system information on the DL-SCH, information on resource allocation of a higher-layer control message such as an RAR transmitted on a PDSCH, a transmit power control command, information about activation/release of configured scheduling, and so on (Yang: [0056]).
Claims 6-7 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoshnevisan in
view of Yang and in further view of Zhou and in further view of LI et al. (US 2025/0023698 Al, hereinafter “Li”).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Khoshnevisan-Yang-Zhou teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claims 5 and 15 above.
Khoshnevisan further discloses:
wherein the number of the bits of the HARQ-ACK corresponding to the first DCI is determined by first values corresponding to the m serving cell combinations (the HARQ-ACK feedback of the PUCCH transmission may include a codebook with entries (e.g., bits) corresponding to the PDSCH transmissions. the codebook may include a bit for each scheduled PDSCH transmission, and the PDSCH transmission may each be associated with feedback during a same PUCCH opportunity, Khoshnevisan: [0102]);
Khoshnevisan does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the first value is determined based on at least one of a maximum number of CWs schedulable by the first DCI for each of serving cells in a serving cell combination corresponding to the first value or a number of serving cells in the serving cell combination corresponding to the first value.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Li teaches:
wherein the first value is determined based on at least one of a maximum number of CWs schedulable by the first DCI for each of serving cells in a serving cell combination corresponding to the first value (the maximum number of codewords that is configured for a scheduled cell scheduled by the first DCI of the scheduling cell. Also, examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “or” in the limitation, Li: [0076]-[0078]) or a number of serving cells in the serving cell combination corresponding to the first value.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Khoshnevisan-Yang-Zhou in view of Li in order to further modify the first value which is determined based on at least one of a maximum number of CWs schedulable by the first DCI for each of serving cells in a serving cell combination corresponding to the first value or a number of serving cells in the serving cell combination corresponding to the first value from the teachings of Li.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because one physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) by one piece of downlink control information (DCI), or scheduling repeated PDSCHs by one DCI, or scheduling multiple PDSCHs in one cell (cell) by one DCI is supported (Li: [0003]).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Khoshnevisan-Yang-Zhou-Li teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claims 6 and 16 above.
Khoshnevisan further discloses:
wherein the number of the bits of the HARQ-ACK corresponding to the first DCI is (the HARQ-ACK feedback of the PUCCH transmission may include a codebook with entries (e.g., bits) corresponding to the PDSCH transmissions, Khoshnevisan: [0102]):
a maximum value of the first values corresponding to the m serving cell combinations (multiple HARQ feedback indications (e.g., ACK/negative acknowledgment (NACK)) may be transmitted simultaneously on a single feedback occasion (e.g., within a feedback report), and respective information bits representing detected messages may be encoded in a HARQ-ACK codebook, Khoshnevisan: [0036]); and
a first value corresponding to a second serving cell combination of the m serving cell combinations comprises (the DCI messages multiplexed with PDSCH transmissions may be ordered (e.g., in ascending order) based on scheduled CC (e.g., serving cell) indices associated with the DCI messages, Khoshnevisan: [0112]):
Khoshnevisan does not explicitly disclose:
a product of a number of serving cells in the second serving cell combination and a maximum value of maximum numbers of CWs schedulable by the first DCI for the serving cells in the second serving cell combination; or
a sum of the maximum numbers of CWs schedulable by the first DCI for the serving cells in the second serving cell combination, wherein the second serving cell combination is any one of the m serving cell combinations.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Li teaches:
a product of a number of serving cells in the second serving cell combination and a maximum value of maximum numbers of CWs schedulable by the first DCI for the serving cells in the second serving cell combination; or
a sum of the maximum numbers of CWs schedulable by the first DCI for the serving cells in the second serving cell combination, wherein the second serving cell combination is any one of the m serving cell combinations (the second quantity is a maximum value of second HARQ ACK bit quantities for scheduling cells in the first quantity of scheduling cells. the maximum number of codewords that is configured for a scheduled cell scheduled by the first DCI of the scheduling cell. the third HARQ ACK bit quantity is a sum of the maximum number of codewords of the cell combination. Also, examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “or” in the limitation Li: [0076]-[0078]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Khoshnevisan-Yang-Zhou in view of Li in order to further modify a sum of the maximum numbers of CWs which is schedulable by the first DCI for the serving cells in the second serving cell combination, wherein the second serving cell combination is any one of the m serving cell combinations from the teachings of Li.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because one physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) by one piece of downlink control information (DCI), or scheduling repeated PDSCHs by one DCI, or scheduling multiple PDSCHs in one cell (cell) by one DCI is supported (Li: [0003]).
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoshnevisan in view of
Yang and in further view of JUNG et al. (US 2023/0344570 Al, hereinafter “Jung”).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Khoshnevisan in view of Yang teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claims 1 and 11 above.
Khoshnevisan further discloses:
wherein an order of bits of HARQ-ACK corresponding to the at least two PDSCHs scheduled by the first DCI is (UE may determine PUCCH resources on which to transmit HARQ-ACK feedback based on ordering the DCI messages, Khoshnevisan: [0092]):
an ascending or descending order of indexes of serving cells for different serving cells (UE may determine PUCCH resources on which to transmit HARQ-ACK feedback based on ordering the DCI messages.UE may index the DCI messages (which may be associated with one or more detected DCI formats) in an ascending order across serving cell indices within the same PMO, Khoshnevisan: [0092]).
Khoshnevisan does not explicitly disclose:
an ascending or descending order of CW indexes for a same serving cell; and
However, in the same field of endeavor, Jung teaches:
an ascending or descending order of CW indexes for a same serving cell (If, via higher layer signaling, the terminal is not indicated for HARQ-ACK bundling for a codeword, is not indicated for CBG transmission of a PDSCH, and is indicated to be able to receive up to two codewords through one PDSCH, configuring an HARQ-ACK feedback bit for each codeword while increasing j by 1, Jung: [0323], [0341]); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Khoshnevisan and Yang in view of Jung in order to further modify the first DCI as an ascending or descending order of CW indexes for a same serving cell from the teachings of Jung.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because if the terminal is indicated for CBG transmission of a PDSCH and is indicated to be able to receive up to two codewords through one PDSCH, configuring as many HARQ-ACK feedback bits as CBGs for each codeword while increasing j by 1 (Jung: [0326]).
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoshnevisan in view
of Yang and in further view of Li.
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Khoshnevisan in view of Yang teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claims 9 and 19 above.
Khoshnevisan does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the second value comprises: a sum of the maximum numbers of CWs schedulable by the first DCI for the serving cells in the first serving cell combination; or
a product of the number of the serving cells in the first serving cell combination and a maximum value of the maximum numbers of CWs schedulable by the first DCI for the serving cells in the first serving cell combination.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Li teaches:
wherein the second value comprises: a sum of the maximum numbers of CWs schedulable by the first DCI for the serving cells in the first serving cell combination (the second quantity is a maximum value of second HARQ ACK bit quantities for scheduling cells in the first quantity of scheduling cells. the maximum number of codewords that is configured for a scheduled cell scheduled by the first DCI of the scheduling cell. the third HARQ ACK bit quantity is a sum of the maximum number of codewords of the cell combination. Also, examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “or” in the limitation, Li: [0076]-[0078]); or
a product of the number of the serving cells in the first serving cell combination and a maximum value of the maximum numbers of CWs schedulable by the first DCI for the serving cells in the first serving cell combination.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Khoshnevisan and Yang in view of Li in order to further modify a sum of the maximum numbers of CWs which is schedulable by the first DCI for the serving cells in the first serving cell combination from the teachings of Li.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because one physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) by one piece of downlink control information (DCI), or scheduling repeated PDSCHs by one DCI, or scheduling multiple PDSCHs in one cell (cell) by one DCI is supported (Li: [0003]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
References considered relevant to this application are listed in the attached “Notice of References Cited” (PTO-892).
LIU et al. (US 20250287388 A1); See Fig. 3 & 4, [0083] -[0096], [0108]-[0111].
SABER et al. (US 20210021381 A1; See Fig. 3, [0030]-[0033], [0039]-[0048].
Yao et al. (US 20250260546 A1); See Fig. 5A &B, [0066]-[0067], [0080]-[0082].
Wang et al. (US 2025/0062864 Al); See Fig. 1A & 2A, [0049]-[0052], [0058].
3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #104b-e R1-2105094; See Fi2. 2, Section 3.3
directed to SANG C LEE whose telephone number is (703)756-1461. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 9:00AM-5:00PM ET.
/S.C.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2467
/MOHAMMED S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467