DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, claims 1-9 in the reply filed on 9/30/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 10-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/30/2026.
Title
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore,
“a shell brace that is substantially optically transparent and is coupled to the passthrough region of the housing shell to structurally reinforce the region of the housing shell that is thinner than the adjoining region of the housing shell” in claim 3.
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 2 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6, 15, 16 and 19 of copending Application No. 19/072304 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Application No. 19/072304 teaches everything except minor difference in wording, such as a first region is the same as a passthrough region.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (US 10,732,051; hereinafter “Zhang”).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses an apparatus (Figs. 9A, 9B) comprising:
a housing (120, Figs. 9A, 9B) comprising a housing shell (wall of 120 is same as shell), the housing shell being configured to permit light to pass through a passthrough region (900 of 120 in Figs. 9A, 9B) of the housing shell; and
an ambient light sensor (910, Fig. 9B), positioned to detect light that passes through the passthrough region of the housing shell (col. 11, lns. 6-31; col. 16, ln. 65- col. 17, ln. 26: “… The thinned portion 900 of the housing 120 may be thin enough to allow light to pass through the material of the housing 120…”).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang discloses the apparatus of claim 1, and Zhang further discloses wherein the passthrough region comprises a region (same as region at 900, Figs. 9A, 9B) of the housing shell that is thinner than an adjoining region of the housing shell (see col. 16, ln. 65- col. 17, ln. 26).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, and further in view of Andre et al. (US 2008/0024470; hereinafter “Andre”).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang teaches the apparatus of claim 2. Zhang does not teach a shell brace that is substantially optically transparent and is coupled to the passthrough region of the housing shell to structurally reinforce the region of the housing shell that is thinner than the adjoining region of the housing shell. However, Andre teaches a shell brace (same as 1402, Fig. 14) that is substantially optically transparent and is coupled to a passthrough region (802, Fig. 13) of a housing shell (same as 700, Fig .14) to structurally reinforce the region of the housing shell that is thinner than the adjoining region of the housing shell (as shown in Fig. 14; also see [0096-0097]: “…a transparent or translucent structural reinforcing element, like the structural plug 1402, may be used to reinforce any portion of a light-transmissive display pattern…”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a shell brace that is substantially optically transparent and is coupled to the passthrough region of the housing shell to structurally reinforce the region of the housing shell that is thinner than the adjoining region of the housing shell in Zhang, as taught by Andre, in order to improve structural integrity at the thinned region of the housing shell.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, and further in view of Tateda (US 10,738,965; hereinafter “Tateda”).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Zhang does not teach wherein the ambient light sensor is mounted on a substrate that is colored with a similar color to the housing shell. However, Tateda teaches a sensor (13b, Fig. 10) is mounted on a substrate (13c and/or 14, Fig. 10; “ col. 9, lns. 47-57 “… colored transparent…”) that is colored with a similar color to a housing shell (12, Fig. 3; col. 7, lns. 21-30: “… color is substantially the same …”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the ambient light sensor is mounted on a substrate that is colored with a similar color to the housing shell in Zhang, as taught by Tateda, in order to blend in with the surrounding so the ambient light sensor does not stand out from the apparatus.
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, and further in view of Wilson et al. (US 11,226,444; hereinafter “Wilson”).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Zhang teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Zhang does not teach wherein an outer surface of the housing shell is textured to improve light scattering of light passing through the housing shell; wherein an inner surface of the housing shell is textured to improve light scattering of light passing through the housing shell. However, Wilson teaches an outer surface (same as outer 46) of a housing shell (col. 3, lns. 50-56: “…form a housing for device 10… may form optical component covering structures…”; ) is textured to improve light scattering of light passing through the housing shell; wherein an inner surface (same as inner 46) of the housing shell is textured to improve light scattering of light passing through the housing shell (col. 9, lns. 7-12: “…Light may also be diffused by providing some or all of a inner or outer polymer or other layer… light-scattering texture…”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an outer surface of the housing shell is textured to improve light scattering of light passing through the housing shell; wherein an inner surface of the housing shell is textured to improve light scattering of light passing through the housing shell in Zhang, as taught by Wilson, in order to help reduce the sensitivity of ambient light measurement by even out the light toward the ambient light sensor.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, and further in view of Pollack et al. (US 11,014,502; hereinafter “Pollack”).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Zhang does not teach wherein a surface of the housing shell is shaped to act as a light-guiding material to direct light to the ambient light sensor. However, Pollack teaches a surface (surface of 28 of 18, Figs. 2-3) of a housing shell (12, Figs. 2-3; col. 2, ln. 67-col. 3, ln. 4: “… 18 is integrally formed as part of the housing 12 proximate the ambient light sensor 16…”) is shaped to act as a light-guiding material (34, Figs. 2-3; col. 3, lns. 33-35: “…The ridge 34 are configured to aid in directing ambient light into the light sensor 16…”) to direct light to an ambient light sensor (16, Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a surface of the housing shell is shaped to act as a light-guiding material to direct light to the ambient light sensor in Zhang, as taught by Pollack, in order to aid in directing ambient light into the ambient light sensor.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang.
Regarding claim 8, Zhang teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Zhang does not explicitly teach wherein the housing shell comprises a single contiguous piece of material. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the housing shell comprises a single contiguous piece of material in Zhang, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1893). In this case, making the housing shell a single contiguous piece of material provide a sleek appearance and also simplify the manufacturing process, and this yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, and further in view of Lu et al. (US 2020/0382739; hereinafter “Lu”).
Regarding claim 9, Zhang teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Zhang does not explicitly teach wherein the passthrough region of the housing shell is configured to allow an average of 12% of light to pass through the passthrough region to the ambient light sensor. However, Lu teaches a passthrough region (region at 84R, Fig. 4) of a housing shell (12, Fig. 4) is configured to allow an average of 12% of light ([0034]: “… at least 10%... less than 20%”) to pass through the passthrough region to an ambient light sensor (20R, Fig. 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the passthrough region of the housing shell is configured to allow an average of 12% of light to pass through the passthrough region to the ambient light sensor in Zhang, as taught by Lu, in order to allow ambient light to pass through while keeping the appearance of the passthrough region match closely to the housing shell.
Conclusion
/JAMES WU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841