DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 3 objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 3 lines 2-3 recites “are arranged side by side in a front-back direction” however the examiner suggest amending the claim to “are arranged in a front-back direction” in order to improve the form of the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “remote operation device” and “operation portion” in claim 1; “first notification portion” in claim 2 and “second notification portion” in claim 4
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent No. 10,802,496 B2 to Lampley et. al. (Lampley).
In Reference to Claim 1
A work vehicle comprising:
a traveling machine body (tractor) (see at least Lampley Fig. 2 and column 2 lines 20-45);
a work machine (implement) connected to the traveling machine body (tractor) (see at least Lampley Fig. 2 and column 1 lines 43-58 and column 2 lines 46-58);
a remote operation device (12 and 36) that operates the traveling machine body (tractor) (see at least Lampley Fig. 2 and column 1 lines 43-58 and column 2 lines 46-67); and
an operation portion (buttons 18-20 and 46-48) capable of setting a direction of a forward operation of the remote operation device (12) to either a first direction from the work machine toward the traveling machine body or a second direction from the traveling machine body (tractor) toward the work machine (implement) (“remote tractor control system 10 may include hand held remote control unit 12 having command buttons 18-20 to creep in forward or reverse, command buttons 22-24 to raise or lower the three point hitch, command buttons 30-32 to start or stop the engine, and command buttons 26-28 that may be configurable for various other tractor functions that may be desirable and safe while the operator is off the tractor or seated facing rearwardly and operating rear facing implements such as a backhoe. For example, command buttons 26-28 may be configured to increase or decrease engine speed, raise or lower a front implement, tilt a bucket up or down, or turn the front wheels left or right” and “The rear switch module may include buttons 42-44 that may provide commands to the hitch controller to raise or lower the three point hitch, and buttons 46-48 that may provide commands to the transmission controller to creep in forward and reverse”) (see at least Lampley Fig. 2 and column 2 lines 46-67 and column 3 lines 1-11).
In Reference to Claim 5
The work vehicle according to claim 1 (see rejection to claim 1 above), wherein the operation portion (42-44) is provided in the traveling machine body (tractor) (see at least Lampley Fig. 2 and column 2 lines 46-58).
In Reference to Claim 6
The work vehicle according to claim 1 (see rejection to claim 1 above), wherein the operation portion (18-20) is provided in the remote operation device (tractor) (see at least Lampley Fig. 2 and column 2 lines 59-67 and column 3 lines 1-11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lampley in view of Pub No. US 2018/0334089 A1 to Huang et. al. (Huang).
In Reference to Claim 2
Lampley teaches (except for the bolded and italic recitations below):
The work vehicle according to claim 1 (see rejection to claim 1 above), wherein the traveling machine body (tractor) has a first notification portion that gives notice of a traveling direction of the traveling machine body (tractor) by the forward operation (see at least Lampley Fig. 2 and column 1 lines 43-58 and column 2 lines 46-58).
Lampley does not explicitly teaches (bolded and italic recitations above) as to having a first notification portion that gives notice of a traveling direction of the traveling machine body (tractor) by the forward operation. However, it is known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a first notification portion that gives notice of a traveling direction of the traveling machine body (vehicle) by the forward operation. For example, Huang teaches a notification portion (122a, 122b, 160) that gives notice of a traveling direction of the traveling machine body (300) by the forward operation. Huang further teaches that having such structures notify surrounding people of the direction of the vehicle and to prevent accidents (see at least Huang Figs. 1-2, 4-5 and paragraphs 4-5, 16-19 and 25). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lampley to include the notification portions that gives notice of a traveling direction of the traveling machine body (vehicle) by the forward operation as taught by Huang in order to notify surrounding people of the direction of the vehicle and to prevent accidents.
In Reference to Claim 3
The work vehicle according to claim 2 (see rejection to claim 2 above), wherein the traveling machine body (tractor) and the work machine (implement) are arranged side by side in a front-back direction, the first notification portion (Huang #122a, #122b) is one of a plurality of first notification portions (Huang #122a, #122b) that give notice of the traveling direction of the traveling machine body (tractor) by the forward operation, and the plurality of first notification portions (Huang #122a, #122b) are provided on a front side and a back side of the traveling machine body (tractor) (see at least Lampley Fig. 2 and column 1 lines 43-58 and column 2 lines 46-58) (see at least Huang Figs. 1-2, 4-5 and paragraphs 4-5, 16-19 and 25).
In Reference to Claim 4
The work vehicle according to claim 2 (see rejection to claim 2 above), wherein the traveling machine body (tractor) has a second notification portion ((Huang #160b) that gives notice by a unit different from the first notification portion (Huang #122a, #122b), and at least one of the first notification portion (Huang #122a, #122b) and the second notification portion (Huang #160) gives notice when a setting of the direction of the forward operation (tractor) is switched (see at least Lampley Fig. 2 and column 1 lines 43-58 and column 2 lines 46-58) (see at least Huang Figs. 1-2, 4-5 and paragraphs 4-5, 16-19 and 25).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pub No. US 2015/0047918 A1 to Buerkle et. al. (Buerkle) teaches having a remote control for controlling the tractor.
/BRANDON D LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662 March 3, 2026