DETAILED ACTION
The action is responsive to the Application filed on 12/13/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending in the case. Claims 1, 9 and 16 are independent claims.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a storage apparatus, having” and “a processing apparatus, configured to execute” in claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-11 and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fozdar et al. (US 20250077538 A1, hereinafter Fozdar) in view of Liao (US 20230014265 A1).
As to claim 1, Fozdar discloses a data interaction method, comprising:
displaying target data pushed by a data platform through a first display panel on a display interface of a first application ("As shown in FIG. 3A, the exemplary GUI 300 includes various UI elements that are designed to assist the user with performing a data integration task by building a data pipeline. In accordance with some embodiments of the present techniques, a window 302 is provided along the righthand side of the GUI 300, where such window 302 is designed to enable the user to provide input for performing the natural language-based data integration process described herein. Specifically, the exemplary window 302 shown in FIG. 3A provides a chat bot-style implementation of the present techniques. In this particular embodiment, the window 302 includes a chat bot introduction 304 stating, 'Welcome: Simply tell me what you want to do, and I will do all the steps for you. No need to hunt for commands or help articles.' The window 302 also includes a text field 306 that allows the user to respond by providing input in the form of a natural language query corresponding to a desired data integration task," Fozdar paragraph 0043; "Turning now to FIG. 3B, the user has input the following natural language query into the text field 306: 'Add a copy activity that copies incremental data from SQL via Source1 into Container1/Folder1 via Destination1. Look up the country name from Table1 in SQL via Source1 to use as a parameter for copy source table in SQL.' In response to this natural language query, the natural language-based data integration system described herein has generated and output a corresponding data pipeline, as shown in window 308. In addition, as shown in box 310, the chat bot has responded by stating, 'I'm creating the pipeline for you . . . I've updated the pipeline for you. What's next?'," Fozdar paragraph 0044, pushing pipeline data to the app and displaying some information at 310); and
an interactive control in the first display panel ("As shown in the window 302, a number of buttons are then surfaced, including a 'Regenerate Pipeline' button 312, a 'Run Pipeline' button 314, and a 'Send Email When Any Activity Fails' button 316, as well as a second text field 318 that enables the user to direct the modification of the generated data pipeline, if desired," Fozdar paragraph 0044, multiple controls to interact with the data in some way), and displaying, on the display interface of the first application, a data interaction result based on the target data through a second display panel, wherein the second display panel is displayed side by side with or in parallel to the first display panel ("In response to this natural language query, the natural language-based data integration system described herein has generated and output a corresponding data pipeline, as shown in window 308," Fozdar paragraph 0044; Fozdar Figure 3B windows 308 and 310 are side by side).
However Fozdar does not appear to explicitly disclose in response to a trigger operation on an interactive control in the first display panel, reducing the first display panel for display, and displaying, on the display interface of the first application, a data interaction result.
Liao teaches in response to a trigger operation on an interactive control in the first display panel, reducing the first display panel for display, and displaying, on the display interface of the first application, a data interaction result ("Specifically, after the user views the mail sharing information in the target dialog window in the IM client, the mail viewing operation may be triggered by performing a click operation on the mail sharing information. The click operation may be, but not limited to, a touch-click or a mouse-click," Liao paragaph 0042; "Specifically, in response to detecting the mail viewing operation, the IM client may create the mail display window that is displayed independently from the target IM dialog window at a preset position of the target IM dialog window, such as a position on the right side, left side, upper side or lower side. Therefore, the target IM dialog window and the mail display window are displayed in parallel, so that the displayed mail information and dialog information are also displayed in parallel, and thus the user may more conveniently view the mail information and the dialog information at the same time, and the user experience is further improved. For example, FIG. 4 shows an example of a mail display window. An IM client in FIG. 4 is integrated in a PC. In response to detecting a mail viewing operation, a mail display window is automatically created on the right side of a target IM dialog window, so that the target IM dialog window and the mail display window may display information in parallel. FIG. 5 shows another example of a mail display window. An IM client in FIG. 5 is integrated in a mobile terminal. In response to detecting a mail viewing operation, due to a limited screen size, a target IM dialog window may be displayed in a reduced size, and a mail display window may be automatically created on the lower side of the reduced target IM dialog window," Liao paragraph 0045; Liao Figure 3 "Open Shared Mail" button; Liao Figure 4).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Fozdar to display the initial chatbot interface in full screen and display a control for displaying Fozdar’s data interaction result as taught by Liao. One would have been motivated to make such a combination so that the chatbot interface could be larger on the initial view only becoming smaller when the user chooses to display the additional data thus improving readability of the initial interface and improving user choice.
As to claim 2, Fozdar as modified by Liao further discloses the data interaction method according to claim 1, wherein the in response to a trigger operation on an interactive control in the first display panel, reducing the first display panel for display, and displaying, on the display interface of the first application, a data interaction result based on the target data through a second display panel, comprises:
in response to a trigger operation on a first view control in the first display panel, displaying, on the display interface of the first application, data details corresponding to the target data through the second display panel, wherein the data details comprise data interpretation information of the target data and/or a data chart generated based on the target data ("More specifically, the present techniques provide a natural language-based data integration system that leverages an LLM as a controller for invoking and coordinating the execution of various application programming interfaces (APIs) in order to generate valid data pipelines, including Extract, Transform, and Load (ETL) data pipelines and/or Extract, Load, and Transform (ELT) data pipelines," Fozdar paragraph 0016; "In various embodiments, the user then provides input indicating a desire to run or regenerate the data pipeline (among other potential tasks), and the data integration application 102 responds by performing the task requested by the user," Fozdar paragraph 0031, displayed option to regenerate the pipeline which will be displayed in the second panel); and/or
in response to a trigger operation on a second view control in the first display panel, displaying, on the display interface of the first application, a structured query language (SQL) statement for querying the target data through the second display panel.
As to claim 3, Fozdar as modified by Liao further discloses the data interaction method according to claim 1, further comprising:
displaying a preset analysis instruction for the target data in the first display panel; and in response to a selection operation on a target analysis instruction in the preset analysis instruction, displaying, in the first display panel, a data analysis result obtained by analyzing the target data according to the target analysis instruction ("Turning now to FIG. 3B, the user has input the following natural language query into the text field 306: 'Add a copy activity that copies incremental data from SQL via Source1 into Container1/Folder1 via Destination1. Look up the country name from Table1 in SQL via Source1 to use as a parameter for copy source table in SQL.' In response to this natural language query, the natural language-based data integration system described herein has generated and output a corresponding data pipeline, as shown in window 308. In addition, as shown in box 310, the chat bot has responded by stating, 'I'm creating the pipeline for you . . . I've updated the pipeline for you. What's next?' As shown in the window 302, a number of buttons are then surfaced, including a 'Regenerate Pipeline' button 312, a 'Run Pipeline' button 314, and a 'Send Email When Any Activity Fails' button 316, as well as a second text field 318 that enables the user to direct the modification of the generated data pipeline, if desired," Fozdar paragraph 0044, text box for further user input to direct modification of the data pipeline where the output to the text input will be displayed in first panel 302).
As to claim 6, Fozdar as modified by Liao further discloses the data interaction method according to claim 1, wherein the second display panel displays a sub-interactive control for performing an interactive function on the data interaction result, and the data interaction method further comprises:
in response to a trigger operation on the sub-interactive control in the second display panel, jumping to the data platform, and displaying a function tab related to the interactive function corresponding to the sub-interactive control in the data platform (Fozdar Figure 3B "Parameters", "Variables", "Settings", "Output" tab controls and controls on the right of the pipeline view in 310 to search, zoom in and out and perform other functions on the data pipeline); and/or
in response to a trigger operation on the sub-interactive control in the second display panel, displaying a sub-interaction result in the second display panel, wherein the sub-interaction result is obtained by performing the interactive function corresponding to the sub-interactive control.
As to claim 7, Fozdar as modified by Liao further discloses the data interaction method according to claim 6, wherein the in response to a trigger operation on the sub-interactive control in the second display panel, jumping to the data platform, and displaying a function tab related to the interactive function corresponding to the sub-interactive control in the data platform comprises:
in response to a trigger operation on a first sub-interactive control in the second display panel, jumping to the data platform, and displaying a dataset tab in the data platform, wherein the first sub-interactive control is used to view a dataset associated with the data interaction result (Fozdar Figure 3B "Parameters", "Variables", and "Output" tab controls to view the dataset data); and/or
in response to a trigger operation on a second sub-interactive control in the second display panel, jumping to the data platform, and displaying an SQL tab in the data platform, wherein the second sub-interactive control is used to view an SQL statement for generating the data interaction result.
As to claim 8, Fozdar as modified by Liao further discloses the data interaction method according to claim 6, wherein the data interaction result comprises a data chart generated based on the target data, and the in response to a trigger operation on the sub-interactive control in the second display panel, displaying a sub-interaction result in the second display panel comprises:
in response to a trigger operation on a target third sub-interactive control in the second display panel, switching, in the second display panel, a chart type of the data chart according to a chart type corresponding to the target third sub-interactive control, wherein the second display panel displays a plurality of third sub-interactive controls that are different, each of the plurality of third sub-interactive controls is used to indicate one data chart type, and the target third sub-interactive control is one of the plurality of third sub-interactive controls (Fozdar Figure 3B "Parameters", "Variables", "Settings", "Output" tab controls and controls on the right of the pipeline view in 310 to search, zoom in and out and perform other functions on the data pipeline where the displayed parameters can be edited, added to or deleted and thus changes the flowchart displayed).
As to claim 9, Fozdar discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium having a computer program stored thereon, wherein when the computer program is executed by a processing apparatus, causes the processing apparatus to implement a data interaction method, and the data interaction method (“In the present disclosure, a machine readable medium may be a tangible medium, which may contain or store a program used by the instruction execution system, apparatus, or device or a program used in combination with the instruction execution system, apparatus, or device,” Fozdar paragraph 0132) comprises:
displaying target data pushed by a data platform through a first display panel on a display interface of a first application ("As shown in FIG. 3A, the exemplary GUI 300 includes various UI elements that are designed to assist the user with performing a data integration task by building a data pipeline. In accordance with some embodiments of the present techniques, a window 302 is provided along the righthand side of the GUI 300, where such window 302 is designed to enable the user to provide input for performing the natural language-based data integration process described herein. Specifically, the exemplary window 302 shown in FIG. 3A provides a chat bot-style implementation of the present techniques. In this particular embodiment, the window 302 includes a chat bot introduction 304 stating, 'Welcome: Simply tell me what you want to do, and I will do all the steps for you. No need to hunt for commands or help articles.' The window 302 also includes a text field 306 that allows the user to respond by providing input in the form of a natural language query corresponding to a desired data integration task," Fozdar paragraph 0043; "Turning now to FIG. 3B, the user has input the following natural language query into the text field 306: 'Add a copy activity that copies incremental data from SQL via Source1 into Container1/Folder1 via Destination1. Look up the country name from Table1 in SQL via Source1 to use as a parameter for copy source table in SQL.' In response to this natural language query, the natural language-based data integration system described herein has generated and output a corresponding data pipeline, as shown in window 308. In addition, as shown in box 310, the chat bot has responded by stating, 'I'm creating the pipeline for you . . . I've updated the pipeline for you. What's next?'," Fozdar paragraph 0044, pushing pipeline data to the app and displaying some information at 310); and
an interactive control in the first display panel ("As shown in the window 302, a number of buttons are then surfaced, including a 'Regenerate Pipeline' button 312, a 'Run Pipeline' button 314, and a 'Send Email When Any Activity Fails' button 316, as well as a second text field 318 that enables the user to direct the modification of the generated data pipeline, if desired," Fozdar paragraph 0044, multiple controls to interact with the data in some way), and displaying, on the display interface of the first application, a data interaction result based on the target data through a second display panel, wherein the second display panel is displayed side by side with or in parallel to the first display panel ("In response to this natural language query, the natural language-based data integration system described herein has generated and output a corresponding data pipeline, as shown in window 308," Fozdar paragraph 0044; Fozdar Figure 3B windows 308 and 310 are side by side).
However Fozdar does not appear to explicitly disclose in response to a trigger operation on an interactive control in the first display panel, reducing the first display panel for display, and displaying, on the display interface of the first application, a data interaction result.
Liao teaches in response to a trigger operation on an interactive control in the first display panel, reducing the first display panel for display, and displaying, on the display interface of the first application, a data interaction result ("Specifically, after the user views the mail sharing information in the target dialog window in the IM client, the mail viewing operation may be triggered by performing a click operation on the mail sharing information. The click operation may be, but not limited to, a touch-click or a mouse-click," Liao paragaph 0042; "Specifically, in response to detecting the mail viewing operation, the IM client may create the mail display window that is displayed independently from the target IM dialog window at a preset position of the target IM dialog window, such as a position on the right side, left side, upper side or lower side. Therefore, the target IM dialog window and the mail display window are displayed in parallel, so that the displayed mail information and dialog information are also displayed in parallel, and thus the user may more conveniently view the mail information and the dialog information at the same time, and the user experience is further improved. For example, FIG. 4 shows an example of a mail display window. An IM client in FIG. 4 is integrated in a PC. In response to detecting a mail viewing operation, a mail display window is automatically created on the right side of a target IM dialog window, so that the target IM dialog window and the mail display window may display information in parallel. FIG. 5 shows another example of a mail display window. An IM client in FIG. 5 is integrated in a mobile terminal. In response to detecting a mail viewing operation, due to a limited screen size, a target IM dialog window may be displayed in a reduced size, and a mail display window may be automatically created on the lower side of the reduced target IM dialog window," Liao paragraph 0045; Liao Figure 3 "Open Shared Mail" button; Liao Figure 4).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the non-transitory computer-readable medium of Fozdar to display the initial chatbot interface in full screen and display a control for displaying the data interaction result as taught by Liao. One would have been motivated to make such a combination so that the chatbot interface could be larger on the initial view only becoming smaller when the user chooses to display the additional data thus improving readability of the initial interface and improving user choice.
As to claim 10, it is substantially similar to claim 2 and is therefore rejected using the same rationale as above.
As to claim 11, it is substantially similar to claim 3 and is therefore rejected using the same rationale as above.
As to claim 14, it is substantially similar to claim 6 and is therefore rejected using the same rationale as above.
As to claim 15, it is substantially similar to claim 7 and is therefore rejected using the same rationale as above.
As to claim 16, Fozdar discloses an electronic device, comprising:
a storage apparatus, having a computer program stored thereon (“In the present disclosure, a machine readable medium may be a tangible medium, which may contain or store a program used by the instruction execution system, apparatus, or device or a program used in combination with the instruction execution system, apparatus, or device,” Fozdar paragraph 0132); and
a processing apparatus, configured to execute the computer program in the storage apparatus, to implement a data interaction method, and the data interaction method (“In the present disclosure, a machine readable medium may be a tangible medium, which may contain or store a program used by the instruction execution system, apparatus, or device or a program used in combination with the instruction execution system, apparatus, or device,” Fozdar paragraph 0132) comprises:
displaying target data pushed by a data platform through a first display panel on a display interface of a first application ("As shown in FIG. 3A, the exemplary GUI 300 includes various UI elements that are designed to assist the user with performing a data integration task by building a data pipeline. In accordance with some embodiments of the present techniques, a window 302 is provided along the righthand side of the GUI 300, where such window 302 is designed to enable the user to provide input for performing the natural language-based data integration process described herein. Specifically, the exemplary window 302 shown in FIG. 3A provides a chat bot-style implementation of the present techniques. In this particular embodiment, the window 302 includes a chat bot introduction 304 stating, 'Welcome: Simply tell me what you want to do, and I will do all the steps for you. No need to hunt for commands or help articles.' The window 302 also includes a text field 306 that allows the user to respond by providing input in the form of a natural language query corresponding to a desired data integration task," Fozdar paragraph 0043; "Turning now to FIG. 3B, the user has input the following natural language query into the text field 306: 'Add a copy activity that copies incremental data from SQL via Source1 into Container1/Folder1 via Destination1. Look up the country name from Table1 in SQL via Source1 to use as a parameter for copy source table in SQL.' In response to this natural language query, the natural language-based data integration system described herein has generated and output a corresponding data pipeline, as shown in window 308. In addition, as shown in box 310, the chat bot has responded by stating, 'I'm creating the pipeline for you . . . I've updated the pipeline for you. What's next?'," Fozdar paragraph 0044, pushing pipeline data to the app and displaying some information at 310); and
an interactive control in the first display panel ("As shown in the window 302, a number of buttons are then surfaced, including a 'Regenerate Pipeline' button 312, a 'Run Pipeline' button 314, and a 'Send Email When Any Activity Fails' button 316, as well as a second text field 318 that enables the user to direct the modification of the generated data pipeline, if desired," Fozdar paragraph 0044, multiple controls to interact with the data in some way), and displaying, on the display interface of the first application, a data interaction result based on the target data through a second display panel, wherein the second display panel is displayed side by side with or in parallel to the first display panel ("In response to this natural language query, the natural language-based data integration system described herein has generated and output a corresponding data pipeline, as shown in window 308," Fozdar paragraph 0044; Fozdar Figure 3B windows 308 and 310 are side by side).
However Fozdar does not appear to explicitly disclose in response to a trigger operation on an interactive control in the first display panel, reducing the first display panel for display, and displaying, on the display interface of the first application, a data interaction result.
Liao teaches in response to a trigger operation on an interactive control in the first display panel, reducing the first display panel for display, and displaying, on the display interface of the first application, a data interaction result ("Specifically, after the user views the mail sharing information in the target dialog window in the IM client, the mail viewing operation may be triggered by performing a click operation on the mail sharing information. The click operation may be, but not limited to, a touch-click or a mouse-click," Liao paragaph 0042; "Specifically, in response to detecting the mail viewing operation, the IM client may create the mail display window that is displayed independently from the target IM dialog window at a preset position of the target IM dialog window, such as a position on the right side, left side, upper side or lower side. Therefore, the target IM dialog window and the mail display window are displayed in parallel, so that the displayed mail information and dialog information are also displayed in parallel, and thus the user may more conveniently view the mail information and the dialog information at the same time, and the user experience is further improved. For example, FIG. 4 shows an example of a mail display window. An IM client in FIG. 4 is integrated in a PC. In response to detecting a mail viewing operation, a mail display window is automatically created on the right side of a target IM dialog window, so that the target IM dialog window and the mail display window may display information in parallel. FIG. 5 shows another example of a mail display window. An IM client in FIG. 5 is integrated in a mobile terminal. In response to detecting a mail viewing operation, due to a limited screen size, a target IM dialog window may be displayed in a reduced size, and a mail display window may be automatically created on the lower side of the reduced target IM dialog window," Liao paragraph 0045; Liao Figure 3 "Open Shared Mail" button; Liao Figure 4).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Fozdar to display the initial chatbot interface in full screen and display a control for displaying the data interaction result as taught by Liao. One would have been motivated to make such a combination so that the chatbot interface could be larger on the initial view only becoming smaller when the user chooses to display the additional data thus improving readability of the initial interface and improving user choice.
As to claim 17, it is substantially similar to claim 2 and is therefore rejected using the same rationale as above.
As to claim 18, it is substantially similar to claim 3 and is therefore rejected using the same rationale as above.
Claims 4, 12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fozdar et al. (US 20250077538 A1, hereinafter Fozdar) in view of Liao (US 20230014265 A1) in further view of Tung et al. (US 20200134002 A1, hereinafter Tung).
As to claim 4, Fozdar as modified by Liao further discloses the data interaction method according to claim 1, further comprising:
displaying a switching control for switching a dataset to which displayed data belongs in the first display panel and displaying, in the first display panel, data in the target dataset ("The memory 524 further includes a database 532, which may be configured to store (among other data) various datasets that are suitable to undergo (or have already undergone) the natural language-based data integration process described herein," Fozdar paragraph 0063; "Turning now to FIG. 3B, the user has input the following natural language query into the text field 306: 'Add a copy activity that copies incremental data from SQL via Source1 into Container1/Folder1 via Destination1. Look up the country name from Table1 in SQL via Source1 to use as a parameter for copy source table in SQL.' In response to this natural language query, the natural language-based data integration system described herein has generated and output a corresponding data pipeline... As shown in the window 302, a number of buttons are then surfaced, including a 'Regenerate Pipeline' button 312, a 'Run Pipeline' button 314, and a 'Send Email When Any Activity Fails' button 316, as well as a second text field 318 that enables the user to direct the modification of the generated data pipeline, if desired," Fozdar paragraph 0044, multiple data sets are available and additional text input can change "Source1" to some other dataset).
However neither Fozdar nor Liao appear to explicitly disclose in response to a trigger operation on the switching control, displaying selectable candidate datasets in the first display panel.
Tung teaches in response to a trigger operation on the switching control, displaying selectable candidate datasets in the first display panel (“Rich text box engine 228 may also include functions and methods with a rich text box to enable functionality such as auto-completion and mentioning. For example, when users 102 enter a triggering character, e.g. ‘@’, a list of accounts, documents, live applications, and other components within the cloud collaboration platform may display in the rich text box. Users 102 may refine the displayed entities further by entering more characters or substrings. Users 102 may select, using a mouse or keyboard gesture, from the list of accounts, documents, and other components to auto-complete the mention within the rich text box. The auto-complete values, i.e., the options presenting for auto-completion, may be pulled by cloud collaboration platform 110 from data 122 via search module 116. Accordingly, a third-party live application need not access data about users or documents in the system to provide this functionality, furthering data security within the system. By using the auto-complete functionality within a rich text box embedded in a live application, developers may spare users 102 from entering an entire user name, document name, etc., to reference that entity within the live application,” Tung paragraph 0051).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Fozdar to show a list of candidate datasets as taught by Tung. One would have been motivated to make such a combination so that the user is spared from entering an entire document/dataset name thus resulting in less work and greater ease of use for the user (Tung paragraph 0051)
As to claim 12, it is substantially similar to claim 4 and is therefore rejected using the same rationale as above.
As to claim 19, it is substantially similar to claim 4 and is therefore rejected using the same rationale as above.
Claims 5, 13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fozdar et al. (US 20250077538 A1, hereinafter Fozdar) in view of Liao (US 20230014265 A1) in further view of Chaudhuri et al. (US 20200394190 A1, hereinafter Chaudhuri).
As to claim 5, Fozdar as modified by Liao further discloses the data interaction method according to claim 1, however neither Fozdar nor Liao appear to explicitly disclose a limitation further comprising:
displaying a result feedback control for the data interaction result while the data interaction result is displayed, wherein the result feedback control comprises a first feedback control for representing positive feedback and/or a second feedback control for representing negative feedback;
in response to a trigger operation on the first feedback control, using a positive feedback result corresponding to the first feedback control as a feedback result for the data interaction result, wherein the feedback result for the data interaction result is used by the data platform for function optimization; and
in response to a trigger operation on the second feedback control, using a negative feedback result corresponding to the second feedback control as a feedback result for the data interaction result.
Chaudhuri teaches a limitation further comprising:
displaying a result feedback control for the data interaction result while the data interaction result is displayed, wherein the result feedback control comprises a first feedback control for representing positive feedback and/or a second feedback control for representing negative feedback (“FIG. 3 is an exemplary user interface, according to an embodiment of the present invention. As shown in FIG. 3, SQL queries may be executed against a database. At input 310, a user may enter a query in natural language. The input may be entered by the user via text or voice, selected from a set of options and/or other input or command. Additional specifics may be provided at 312, 314 and 316. These inputs may be predetermined and available via drop down windows. Other inputs may be provided. The result set may be transformed into various formats, including text 318, grid 320 and chart 322. The Graph representation of the intermediate query in a simplified format, the actual question asked, and the response may be sent back to the user interface. In addition, user interactions may be captured. For example, the amount of time spent by the user in each grid and the feedback button clicked, e.g., Bookmark, Incorrect, Correct or More options represented by 324, may be stored for further training and reinforced learning,” Chaudhuri paragraph 0054);
in response to a trigger operation on the first feedback control, using a positive feedback result corresponding to the first feedback control as a feedback result for the data interaction result, wherein the feedback result for the data interaction result is used by the data platform for function optimization (“In addition, user interactions may be captured. For example, the amount of time spent by the user in each grid and the feedback button clicked, e.g., Bookmark, Incorrect, Correct or More options represented by 324, may be stored for further training and reinforced learning,” Chaudhuri paragraph 0054); and
in response to a trigger operation on the second feedback control, using a negative feedback result corresponding to the second feedback control as a feedback result for the data interaction result (“In addition, user interactions may be captured. For example, the amount of time spent by the user in each grid and the feedback button clicked, e.g., Bookmark, Incorrect, Correct or More options represented by 324, may be stored for further training and reinforced learning,” Chaudhuri paragraph 0054).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Fozdar to allow the user to provide feedback on the data interaction result for function optimization as taught by Chaudhuri. One would have been motivated to make such a combination so that answers could become more relevant and more aligned with the user’s expectations over time thus resulting in less frustration for the user and greater utility for the finished product.
As to claim 13, it is substantially similar to claim 5 and is therefore rejected using the same rationale as above.
As to claim 20, it is substantially similar to claim 5 and is therefore rejected using the same rationale as above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 11068477 B1 to Tuckfield et al. discloses natural language processing with pre-specified SQL queries where data is pushed to a chat interface and where specific SQL statements can be output for display to the user;
US 20180329993 A1 to Bedadala et al. discloses natural language processing integrated with database and data storage management where SQL queries are used to push data to the user in a chat interface; and
US 20200044992 A1 to Kumar et al. discloses displaying data sets responsive to natural language messages received by chatbots where chat messages are displayed in a first panel of a chatbot interface and data sets are displayed in a second panel of the chatbot interface.
/DANIEL SAMWEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171