DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-15, 20, 27, 36, and 37 are pending. Claims 16-19, 21-026, and 28-35 were cancelled via preliminary amendment.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/13/2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/20/2025 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/29/2025 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/30/2026 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 12/13/2024. These drawings are accepted.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 8-10, 13, 20, 27, 36, and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NTT DoCoMo (S2-2207736, see PTO-892) in view of Nokia (S2-2207735, see PTO-892).
As per claim 1, NTT DoCoMo teaches a method for wireless communication, performed by a first network element in a wireless communication system [NTT DoCoMo, pg. 1, section 7.x, option 1, The proposed edit to TR 23.700-25 includes further defining the functionality of the NG-RAN, which includes a network element.], the method comprising:
determining, based on downlink (DL) or uplink (UL) resource availability, that a DL or UL burst arrival time of a DL or UL burst for a wireless device…to be adjusted [NTT DoCoMo, pg. 1, section 7.x, option 1, “NG-RAN determines the timing feedback based on the reception time of the packets in user plane (Solutions 2 and 15). The 5GS notifies the AF for the Burst Arrival Time offset; that is expressed in reference to the actual reception timing of the packets as experienced by the NG-RAN in User Plane; Burst Arrival Time offset can take positive or negative values. The solution#2 is applicable only for traffic in DL direction. Solution #15 is an enhancement of Solution#2 to make it applicable also for traffic in UL direction, but this impacts to the UE. The solutions do not require that the application is time-synchronized with the 5GS, i.e. BAT in TSCAI is optional. The solution can only adjust the sending time after the traffic has started. In practice it requires several packets until the application receives the feedback and required latency can be met”, The network element of the NG-RAN determines that a burst arrival time of a DL or UL from the user plane needs to be adjusted.]; and
transmitting a first message to a core network in the wireless communication system, the first message comprising a DL or UL burst arrival time adjustment indication for the wireless device indicating that a DL or UL burst arrival time of a DL or UL burst for the wireless device needs to be adjusted [NTT DoCoMo, pg. 1, section 7.x, option 1, “NG-RAN determines the timing feedback based on the reception time of the packets in user plane (Solutions 2 and 15). The 5GS notifies the AF for the Burst Arrival Time offset; that is expressed in reference to the actual reception timing of the packets as experienced by the NG-RAN in User Plane; Burst Arrival Time offset can take positive or negative values. The solution#2 is applicable only for traffic in DL direction. Solution #15 is an enhancement of Solution#2 to make it applicable also for traffic in UL direction, but this impacts to the UE. The solutions do not require that the application is time-synchronized with the 5GS, i.e. BAT in TSCAI is optional. The solution can only adjust the sending time after the traffic has started. In practice it requires several packets until the application receives the feedback and required latency can be met”, The network element of the NG-RAN determines that a burst arrival time of a DL or UL from the user plane needs to be adjusted. In response to the determination, the network element transmits a (first) message to the 5G core application function (AF), where the message indicates that the burst arrival time needs to be updated.].
NTT DoCoMo does not explicitly teach that a DL or UL burst arrival time of a DL or UL burst for a wireless device needs to be adjusted.
However, in an analogous art, Nokia teaches that a DL or UL burst arrival time of a DL or UL burst for a wireless device needs to be adjusted [Nokia, pg. 2, section 8.x, “Principles of reactive feedback”, “The AF may request the 5GS to report the BAT offset along with a certain threshold for reporting BAT offset; that is a time offset to the observed timing of the packet reception in the user plane in the NG-RAN. In this case the AF subscribes for the QoS notifications as described in the QoS notification control procedure in TS 23.501 and includes an indication of "burst arrival time adaptation" in the QoS-request to the 5GC”, The 5G core AF may configure the 5G RAN to report the burst arrival time offset based on a threshold. This information is conveyed to the NG-RAN (and ultimately the UE) via RRC signalling (see same section, bullets 1 and 2).].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the reactive feedback principles for burst arrival time adjustment as taught by Nokia into NTT DoCoMo. One would have been motivated to do this because configuring reporting based on a threshold as taught by Nokia would improve the proposed solution for requesting updated burst arrival time (see NTT DoCoMo, section 7.x, option 1) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 2, NTT DoCoMo in view of Nokia teach the method of claim 1. NTT DoCoMo also teaches wherein the DL burst arrival time adjustment indication comprises at least one of: a recommended DL burst arrival time; a recommended periodicity of the DL burst; a recommended DL burst arrival time offset relative to a current DL burst arrival time [NTT DoCoMo, pg. 1, section 7.x, option 1, “NG-RAN determines the timing feedback based on the reception time of the packets in user plane (Solutions 2 and 15). The 5GS notifies the AF for the Burst Arrival Time offset; that is expressed in reference to the actual reception timing of the packets as experienced by the NG-RAN in User Plane; Burst Arrival Time offset can take positive or negative values. The solution#2 is applicable only for traffic in DL direction. Solution #15 is an enhancement of Solution#2 to make it applicable also for traffic in UL direction, but this impacts to the UE. The solutions do not require that the application is time-synchronized with the 5GS, i.e. BAT in TSCAI is optional. The solution can only adjust the sending time after the traffic has started. In practice it requires several packets until the application receives the feedback and required latency can be met”, The network element of the NG-RAN determines that a burst arrival time of a DL or UL from the user plane needs to be adjusted. In response to the determination, the network element transmits a (first) message to the 5G core application function (AF), where the message indicates that the burst arrival time needs to be updated.]; a recommended DL burst arrival starting time and a recommended DL burst duration; a recommended DL burst arrival time pattern which matches with an available downlink radio resource for the wireless device; a cell specific Time Division Duplex (TDD) downlink time domain pattern; a cell specific TDD uplink and downlink time domain pattern; or an indication that a current radio resource configuration does not match with a current traffic pattern of the DL burst; or wherein the UL burst arrival time adjustment indication comprises at least one of: a recommended UL burst arrival time; a recommended periodicity of the UL burst; a recommended UL burst arrival time offset relative to a current DL or UL burst arrival time [NTT DoCoMo, pg. 1, section 7.x, option 1, “NG-RAN determines the timing feedback based on the reception time of the packets in user plane (Solutions 2 and 15). The 5GS notifies the AF for the Burst Arrival Time offset; that is expressed in reference to the actual reception timing of the packets as experienced by the NG-RAN in User Plane; Burst Arrival Time offset can take positive or negative values. The solution#2 is applicable only for traffic in DL direction. Solution #15 is an enhancement of Solution#2 to make it applicable also for traffic in UL direction, but this impacts to the UE. The solutions do not require that the application is time-synchronized with the 5GS, i.e. BAT in TSCAI is optional. The solution can only adjust the sending time after the traffic has started. In practice it requires several packets until the application receives the feedback and required latency can be met”, The network element of the NG-RAN determines that a burst arrival time of a DL or UL from the user plane needs to be adjusted. In response to the determination, the network element transmits a (first) message to the 5G core application function (AF), where the message indicates that the burst arrival time needs to be updated.]; a recommended UL burst arrival starting time and a recommended DL or UL burst duration; a recommended UL burst arrival time pattern which matches with an available downlink or uplink radio resource for the wireless device; a cell specific Time Division Duplex (TDD) uplink time domain pattern; a cell specific TDD uplink and downlink time domain pattern; or an indication that a current radio resource configuration does not match with a current traffic pattern of the DL burst.
As per claim 3, NTT DoCoMo in view of Nokia teach the method of claim 1. NTT DoCoMo also teaches wherein the first message comprises a User Equipment (UE) associated signaling message [NTT DoCoMo, pg. 1, section 7.x, option 1, “NG-RAN determines the timing feedback based on the reception time of the packets in user plane (Solutions 2 and 15). The 5GS notifies the AF for the Burst Arrival Time offset; that is expressed in reference to the actual reception timing of the packets as experienced by the NG-RAN in User Plane; Burst Arrival Time offset can take positive or negative values. The solution#2 is applicable only for traffic in DL direction. Solution #15 is an enhancement of Solution#2 to make it applicable also for traffic in UL direction, but this impacts to the UE. The solutions do not require that the application is time-synchronized with the 5GS, i.e. BAT in TSCAI is optional. The solution can only adjust the sending time after the traffic has started. In practice it requires several packets until the application receives the feedback and required latency can be met”, The message from the NG-RAN to the 5G core AF is associated with UE user plane messages.].
As per claim 5, NTT DoCoMo in view of Nokia teach the method of claim 1. NTT DoCoMo also teaches wherein…transmitting the first message to a core network comprises: in response to the indicator indicating that the DL or UL burst arrival time adjustment is supported by the core network, transmitting the first message to the core network [NTT DoCoMo, pg. 1, section 7.x, option 1, “NG-RAN determines the timing feedback based on the reception time of the packets in user plane (Solutions 2 and 15). The 5GS notifies the AF for the Burst Arrival Time offset; that is expressed in reference to the actual reception timing of the packets as experienced by the NG-RAN in User Plane; Burst Arrival Time offset can take positive or negative values. The solution#2 is applicable only for traffic in DL direction. Solution #15 is an enhancement of Solution#2 to make it applicable also for traffic in UL direction, but this impacts to the UE. The solutions do not require that the application is time-synchronized with the 5GS, i.e. BAT in TSCAI is optional. The solution can only adjust the sending time after the traffic has started. In practice it requires several packets until the application receives the feedback and required latency can be met”, The network element of the NG-RAN determines that a burst arrival time of a DL or UL from the user plane needs to be adjusted. In response to the determination, the network element transmits a (first) message to the 5G core application function (AF), where the message indicates that the burst arrival time needs to be updated. The method is performed in a system that adjusts burst arrival time.].
NTT DoCoMo does not explicitly teach before transmitting the first message to the core network, the method further comprises: receiving, from the core network, an indicator indicating whether a DL or UL burst arrival time adjustment is supported by the core network.
However, in an analogous art, Nokia teaches before transmitting the first message to the core network, the method further comprises: receiving, from the core network, an indicator indicating whether a DL or UL burst arrival time adjustment is supported by the core network [Nokia, pg. 2, section 8.x, “Principles of reactive feedback”, “The AF may request the 5GS to report the BAT offset along with a certain threshold for reporting BAT offset; that is a time offset to the observed timing of the packet reception in the user plane in the NG-RAN. In this case the AF subscribes for the QoS notifications as described in the QoS notification control procedure in TS 23.501 and includes an indication of "burst arrival time adaptation" in the QoS-request to the 5GC”, The 5G core AF may configure the 5G RAN to report the burst arrival time offset based on a threshold. This information is conveyed to the NG-RAN (and ultimately the UE) via RRC signalling (see same section, bullets 1 and 2). The offset information as part of the reactive feedback setup indicates that burst arrival time adjustment is supported.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the reactive feedback principles for burst arrival time adjustment as taught by Nokia into NTT DoCoMo. One would have been motivated to do this because configuring reporting based on a threshold as taught by Nokia would improve the proposed solution for requesting updated burst arrival time (see NTT DoCoMo, section 7.x, option 1) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 8, NTT DoCoMo in view of Nokia teach the method of claim 1. NTT DoCoMo also teaches wherein the first network element comprises a base station, the base station comprising one of: a gNodeB (gNB) [NTT DoCoMo, pg. 1, section 7.x, option 1, A NG-RAN reasonably includes a gNB and a ng-eNB.]; an eNodeB (eNB); an ng-eNodeB (ng-eNB) [NTT DoCoMo, pg. 1, section 7.x, option 1, A NG-RAN reasonably includes a gNB and a ng-eNB.]; or a NodeB.
As per claim 9, NTT DoCoMo teaches a method for wireless communication, performed by a core network node in a wireless communication system [NTT DoCoMo, pg. 1, section 7.x, option 1, The proposed edit to TR 23.700-25 includes further defining the functionality of the NG-RAN, which includes a network element.], the method comprising:
receiving a first message from a base station in the wireless communication system, the first message comprising a DL or UL burst arrival time adjustment indication for a wireless device indicating that a DL or UL burst arrival time of a DL or UL burst for the wireless device…adjusted [NTT DoCoMo, pg. 1, section 7.x, option 1, “NG-RAN determines the timing feedback based on the reception time of the packets in user plane (Solutions 2 and 15). The 5GS notifies the AF for the Burst Arrival Time offset; that is expressed in reference to the actual reception timing of the packets as experienced by the NG-RAN in User Plane; Burst Arrival Time offset can take positive or negative values. The solution#2 is applicable only for traffic in DL direction. Solution #15 is an enhancement of Solution#2 to make it applicable also for traffic in UL direction, but this impacts to the UE. The solutions do not require that the application is time-synchronized with the 5GS, i.e. BAT in TSCAI is optional. The solution can only adjust the sending time after the traffic has started. In practice it requires several packets until the application receives the feedback and required latency can be met”, The network element of the NG-RAN determines that a burst arrival time of a DL or UL from the user plane needs to be adjusted. In response to the determination, the network element transmits a (first) message to the 5G core application function (AF), where the message indicates that the burst arrival time needs to be updated.].
NTT DoCoMo does not explicitly teach that a DL or UL burst arrival time of a DL or UL burst for a wireless device needs to be adjusted.
However, in an analogous art, Nokia teaches that a DL or UL burst arrival time of a DL or UL burst for a wireless device needs to be adjusted [Nokia, pg. 2, section 8.x, “Principles of reactive feedback”, “The AF may request the 5GS to report the BAT offset along with a certain threshold for reporting BAT offset; that is a time offset to the observed timing of the packet reception in the user plane in the NG-RAN. In this case the AF subscribes for the QoS notifications as described in the QoS notification control procedure in TS 23.501 and includes an indication of "burst arrival time adaptation" in the QoS-request to the 5GC”, The 5G core AF may configure the 5G RAN to report the burst arrival time offset based on a threshold. This information is conveyed to the NG-RAN (and ultimately the UE) via RRC signalling (see same section, bullets 1 and 2).].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the reactive feedback principles for burst arrival time adjustment as taught by Nokia into NTT DoCoMo. One would have been motivated to do this because configuring reporting based on a threshold as taught by Nokia would improve the proposed solution for requesting updated burst arrival time (see NTT DoCoMo, section 7.x, option 1) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 10, NTT DoCoMo in view of Nokia teach the method of claim 9. NTT DoCoMo also teaches wherein the DL burst arrival time adjustment indication comprises at least one of: a recommended DL burst arrival time; a recommended periodicity of the DL burst; a recommended DL burst arrival time offset relative to a current DL burst arrival time [NTT DoCoMo, pg. 1, section 7.x, option 1, “NG-RAN determines the timing feedback based on the reception time of the packets in user plane (Solutions 2 and 15). The 5GS notifies the AF for the Burst Arrival Time offset; that is expressed in reference to the actual reception timing of the packets as experienced by the NG-RAN in User Plane; Burst Arrival Time offset can take positive or negative values. The solution#2 is applicable only for traffic in DL direction. Solution #15 is an enhancement of Solution#2 to make it applicable also for traffic in UL direction, but this impacts to the UE. The solutions do not require that the application is time-synchronized with the 5GS, i.e. BAT in TSCAI is optional. The solution can only adjust the sending time after the traffic has started. In practice it requires several packets until the application receives the feedback and required latency can be met”, The network element of the NG-RAN determines that a burst arrival time of a DL or UL from the user plane needs to be adjusted. In response to the determination, the network element transmits a (first) message to the 5G core application function (AF), where the message indicates that the burst arrival time needs to be updated.]; a recommended DL burst arrival starting time and a recommended DL burst duration; a recommended DL burst arrival time pattern which matches with an available downlink radio resource for the wireless device; a cell specific Time Division Duplex (TDD) downlink time domain pattern; a cell specific TDD uplink and downlink time domain pattern; or an indication that a current radio resource configuration does not match with a current traffic pattern of the DL burst; or wherein the UL burst arrival time adjustment indication comprises at least one of: a recommended UL burst arrival time; a recommended periodicity of the UL burst; a recommended UL burst arrival time offset relative to a current DL or UL burst arrival time [NTT DoCoMo, pg. 1, section 7.x, option 1, “NG-RAN determines the timing feedback based on the reception time of the packets in user plane (Solutions 2 and 15). The 5GS notifies the AF for the Burst Arrival Time offset; that is expressed in reference to the actual reception timing of the packets as experienced by the NG-RAN in User Plane; Burst Arrival Time offset can take positive or negative values. The solution#2 is applicable only for traffic in DL direction. Solution #15 is an enhancement of Solution#2 to make it applicable also for traffic in UL direction, but this impacts to the UE. The solutions do not require that the application is time-synchronized with the 5GS, i.e. BAT in TSCAI is optional. The solution can only adjust the sending time after the traffic has started. In practice it requires several packets until the application receives the feedback and required latency can be met”, The network element of the NG-RAN determines that a burst arrival time of a DL or UL from the user plane needs to be adjusted. In response to the determination, the network element transmits a (first) message to the 5G core application function (AF), where the message indicates that the burst arrival time needs to be updated.]; a recommended UL burst arrival starting time and a recommended DL or UL burst duration; a recommended UL burst arrival time pattern which matches with an available downlink radio resource for the wireless device; a cell specific Time Division Duplex (TDD) uplink time domain pattern; a cell specific TDD uplink and downlink time domain pattern; or an indication that a current radio resource configuration does not match with a current traffic pattern of the UL burst.
As per claim 13, NTT DoCoMo in view of Nokia teach the method of claim 9. NTT DoCoMo does not explicitly teach wherein: before receiving the first message from the base station, the method further comprises: transmitting, to the base station, a first indicator indicating whether a DL or UL burst arrival time adjustment is supported by the core network node.
However, in an analogous art, Nokia teaches before receiving the first message from the base station, the method further comprises: transmitting, to the base station, a first indicator indicating whether a DL or UL burst arrival time adjustment is supported by the core network node [Nokia, pg. 2, section 8.x, “Principles of reactive feedback”, “The AF may request the 5GS to report the BAT offset along with a certain threshold for reporting BAT offset; that is a time offset to the observed timing of the packet reception in the user plane in the NG-RAN. In this case the AF subscribes for the QoS notifications as described in the QoS notification control procedure in TS 23.501 and includes an indication of "burst arrival time adaptation" in the QoS-request to the 5GC”, The 5G core AF may configure the 5G RAN to report the burst arrival time offset based on a threshold. This information is conveyed to the NG-RAN (and ultimately the UE) via RRC signalling (see same section, bullets 1 and 2). The offset information as part of the reactive feedback setup indicates that burst arrival time adjustment is supported.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the reactive feedback principles for burst arrival time adjustment as taught by Nokia into NTT DoCoMo. One would have been motivated to do this because configuring reporting based on a threshold as taught by Nokia would improve the proposed solution for requesting updated burst arrival time (see NTT DoCoMo, section 7.x, option 1) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 20, NTT DoCoMo in view of Nokia teach the method of claim 1. NTT DoCoMo does not explicitly teach wherein: a reception of the first message by the core network triggers the core network to transmit the UL burst arrival time adjustment indication to the wireless device; and a reception of the UL burst arrival time adjustment indication by the wireless device triggers the wireless device to transmit the UL burst arrival time adjustment indication to an entity providing the UL burst for the wireless device, the entity comprising at least one of: a data network; or an application layer.
However, in an analogous art, Nokia teaches a reception of the first message by the core network triggers the core network to transmit the UL burst arrival time adjustment indication to the wireless device; and a reception of the UL burst arrival time adjustment indication by the wireless device triggers the wireless device to transmit the UL burst arrival time adjustment indication to an entity providing the UL burst for the wireless device, the entity comprising at least one of: a data network [Nokia, pg. 2, bullet 2, “If the UE receives the indication for "burst arrival time adaptation" from NG-RAN, the UE determines a relative BAT offset value in reference to the current Burst Arrival Time experienced by UE (i.e. in reference to when UE currently receives bursts) and the scheduling UL time slot at UE (e.g. in Configured Grants, as defined in TS 38.321 [11]). The UE sends the BAT offset to RAN when the time offset value reaches the configured threshold, and NG-RAN sends the BAT offset value to SMF”, The UE receives the updated burst arrival time (BAT) that it uses for user plane (DL and UL traffic) that is exchanged with the data network (via the RAN). RRC signalling is used to convey updated BAT to the UE.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the reactive feedback principles for burst arrival time adjustment as taught by Nokia into NTT DoCoMo. One would have been motivated to do this because configuring reporting based on a threshold as taught by Nokia would improve the proposed solution for requesting updated burst arrival time (see NTT DoCoMo, section 7.x, option 1) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 27, NTT DoCoMo in view of Nokia teach the method of claim 13. NTT DoCoMo does not explicitly teach wherein before transmitting the first indicator to the base station, the method further comprises: receiving a second indicator from the wireless device indicating whether the UL burst arrival time adjustment is supported by the wireless device.
However, in an analogous art, Nokia teaches wherein before transmitting the first indicator to the base station, the method further comprises: receiving a second indicator from the wireless device indicating whether the UL burst arrival time adjustment is supported by the wireless device [Nokia, pg. 2, section 8.x, “Principles of reactive feedback”, “The AF may request the 5GS to report the BAT offset along with a certain threshold for reporting BAT offset; that is a time offset to the observed timing of the packet reception in the user plane in the NG-RAN. In this case the AF subscribes for the QoS notifications as described in the QoS notification control procedure in TS 23.501 and includes an indication of "burst arrival time adaptation" in the QoS-request to the 5GC”, The 5G core AF may configure the 5G RAN to report the burst arrival time offset based on a threshold. This information is conveyed to the NG-RAN (and ultimately the UE) via RRC signalling (see same section, bullets 1 and 2). The offset information as part of the reactive feedback setup indicates that burst arrival time adjustment is supported.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the reactive feedback principles for burst arrival time adjustment as taught by Nokia into NTT DoCoMo. One would have been motivated to do this because configuring reporting based on a threshold as taught by Nokia would improve the proposed solution for requesting updated burst arrival time (see NTT DoCoMo, section 7.x, option 1) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 36, NTT DoCoMo teach a device for wireless communication comprising a memory for storing computer instructions and a processor in communication with the memory, wherein, when the processor executes the computer instructions, the processor is configured to implement [NTT DoCoMo, pg. 1, section 7.x, option 1, The proposed edit to TR 23.700-25 includes further defining the functionality of the NG-RAN, which includes a network element. A network element of a NG-RAN reasonably includes the structure and stored program code to perform the cited functions.] a method comprising:
determining, based on downlink (DL) or uplink (UL) resource availability, that a DL or UL burst arrival time of a DL or UL burst for a wireless device…to be adjusted [NTT DoCoMo, pg. 1, section 7.x, option 1, “NG-RAN determines the timing feedback based on the reception time of the packets in user plane (Solutions 2 and 15). The 5GS notifies the AF for the Burst Arrival Time offset; that is expressed in reference to the actual reception timing of the packets as experienced by the NG-RAN in User Plane; Burst Arrival Time offset can take positive or negative values. The solution#2 is applicable only for traffic in DL direction. Solution #15 is an enhancement of Solution#2 to make it applicable also for traffic in UL direction, but this impacts to the UE. The solutions do not require that the application is time-synchronized with the 5GS, i.e. BAT in TSCAI is optional. The solution can only adjust the sending time after the traffic has started. In practice it requires several packets until the application receives the feedback and required latency can be met”, The network element of the NG-RAN determines that a burst arrival time of a DL or UL from the user plane needs to be adjusted.]; and
transmitting a first message to a core network in the wireless communication system, the first message comprising a DL or UL burst arrival time adjustment indication for the wireless device indicating that a DL or UL burst arrival time of a DL or UL burst for the wireless device needs to be adjusted [NTT DoCoMo, pg. 1, section 7.x, option 1, “NG-RAN determines the timing feedback based on the reception time of the packets in user plane (Solutions 2 and 15). The 5GS notifies the AF for the Burst Arrival Time offset; that is expressed in reference to the actual reception timing of the packets as experienced by the NG-RAN in User Plane; Burst Arrival Time offset can take positive or negative values. The solution#2 is applicable only for traffic in DL direction. Solution #15 is an enhancement of Solution#2 to make it applicable also for traffic in UL direction, but this impacts to the UE. The solutions do not require that the application is time-synchronized with the 5GS, i.e. BAT in TSCAI is optional. The solution can only adjust the sending time after the traffic has started. In practice it requires several packets until the application receives the feedback and required latency can be met”, The network element of the NG-RAN determines that a burst arrival time of a DL or UL from the user plane needs to be adjusted. In response to the determination, the network element transmits a (first) message to the 5G core application function (AF), where the message indicates that the burst arrival time needs to be updated.].
NTT DoCoMo does not explicitly teach that a DL or UL burst arrival time of a DL or UL burst for a wireless device needs to be adjusted.
However, in an analogous art, Nokia teaches that a DL or UL burst arrival time of a DL or UL burst for a wireless device needs to be adjusted [Nokia, pg. 2, section 8.x, “Principles of reactive feedback”, “The AF may request the 5GS to report the BAT offset along with a certain threshold for reporting BAT offset; that is a time offset to the observed timing of the packet reception in the user plane in the NG-RAN. In this case the AF subscribes for the QoS notifications as described in the QoS notification control procedure in TS 23.501 and includes an indication of "burst arrival time adaptation" in the QoS-request to the 5GC”, The 5G core AF may configure the 5G RAN to report the burst arrival time offset based on a threshold. This information is conveyed to the NG-RAN (and ultimately the UE) via RRC signalling (see same section, bullets 1 and 2).].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the reactive feedback principles for burst arrival time adjustment as taught by Nokia into NTT DoCoMo. One would have been motivated to do this because configuring reporting based on a threshold as taught by Nokia would improve the proposed solution for requesting updated burst arrival time (see NTT DoCoMo, section 7.x, option 1) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 37, NTT DoCoMo teach a computer program product comprising a non-transitory computer-readable program medium with computer code stored thereupon, the computer code, when executed by one or more processors, causing the one or more processors to implement [NTT DoCoMo, pg. 1, section 7.x, option 1, The proposed edit to TR 23.700-25 includes further defining the functionality of the NG-RAN, which includes a network element. A network element of a NG-RAN reasonably includes the structure and stored program code to perform the cited functions.] a method comprising:
determining, based on downlink (DL) or uplink (UL) resource availability, that a DL or UL burst arrival time of a DL or UL burst for a wireless device…to be adjusted [NTT DoCoMo, pg. 1, section 7.x, option 1, “NG-RAN determines the timing feedback based on the reception time of the packets in user plane (Solutions 2 and 15). The 5GS notifies the AF for the Burst Arrival Time offset; that is expressed in reference to the actual reception timing of the packets as experienced by the NG-RAN in User Plane; Burst Arrival Time offset can take positive or negative values. The solution#2 is applicable only for traffic in DL direction. Solution #15 is an enhancement of Solution#2 to make it applicable also for traffic in UL direction, but this impacts to the UE. The solutions do not require that the application is time-synchronized with the 5GS, i.e. BAT in TSCAI is optional. The solution can only adjust the sending time after the traffic has started. In practice it requires several packets until the application receives the feedback and required latency can be met”, The network element of the NG-RAN determines that a burst arrival time of a DL or UL from the user plane needs to be adjusted.]; and
transmitting a first message to a core network in the wireless communication system, the first message comprising a DL or UL burst arrival time adjustment indication for the wireless device indicating that a DL or UL burst arrival time of a DL or UL burst for the wireless device needs to be adjusted [NTT DoCoMo, pg. 1, section 7.x, option 1, “NG-RAN determines the timing feedback based on the reception time of the packets in user plane (Solutions 2 and 15). The 5GS notifies the AF for the Burst Arrival Time offset; that is expressed in reference to the actual reception timing of the packets as experienced by the NG-RAN in User Plane; Burst Arrival Time offset can take positive or negative values. The solution#2 is applicable only for traffic in DL direction. Solution #15 is an enhancement of Solution#2 to make it applicable also for traffic in UL direction, but this impacts to the UE. The solutions do not require that the application is time-synchronized with the 5GS, i.e. BAT in TSCAI is optional. The solution can only adjust the sending time after the traffic has started. In practice it requires several packets until the application receives the feedback and required latency can be met”, The network element of the NG-RAN determines that a burst arrival time of a DL or UL from the user plane needs to be adjusted. In response to the determination, the network element transmits a (first) message to the 5G core application function (AF), where the message indicates that the burst arrival time needs to be updated.].
NTT DoCoMo does not explicitly teach that a DL or UL burst arrival time of a DL or UL burst for a wireless device needs to be adjusted.
However, in an analogous art, Nokia teaches that a DL or UL burst arrival time of a DL or UL burst for a wireless device needs to be adjusted [Nokia, pg. 2, section 8.x, “Principles of reactive feedback”, “The AF may request the 5GS to report the BAT offset along with a certain threshold for reporting BAT offset; that is a time offset to the observed timing of the packet reception in the user plane in the NG-RAN. In this case the AF subscribes for the QoS notifications as described in the QoS notification control procedure in TS 23.501 and includes an indication of "burst arrival time adaptation" in the QoS-request to the 5GC”, The 5G core AF may configure the 5G RAN to report the burst arrival time offset based on a threshold. This information is conveyed to the NG-RAN (and ultimately the UE) via RRC signalling (see same section, bullets 1 and 2).].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the reactive feedback principles for burst arrival time adjustment as taught by Nokia into NTT DoCoMo. One would have been motivated to do this because configuring reporting based on a threshold as taught by Nokia would improve the proposed solution for requesting updated burst arrival time (see NTT DoCoMo, section 7.x, option 1) with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 4, 6, 7, 11, 12, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NTT DoCoMo (S2-2207736, see PTO-892) in view of Nokia (S2-2207735, see PTO-892) and Lee et al. (US PG Pub 2025/0193263).
As per claim 4, NTT DoCoMo in view of Nokia teach the method of claim 1. NTT DoCoMo does not explicitly teach further comprising: receiving a second message from the core network as a response to the first message, the second message comprising a DL or UL burst arrival time confirmation, and the DL burst arrival time confirmation comprising at least one of: a DL burst arrival time; a periodicity of the DL burst; a DL burst arrival time offset relative to a current DL burst arrival time; a DL burst arrival starting time and a DL burst duration; a DL burst arrival time pattern which matches with an available downlink radio resource for the wireless device; or an indication to delete a DL burst arrival time related configuration; or the UL burst arrival time confirmation comprising at least one of: a UL burst arrival time; a periodicity of the UL burst; a UL burst arrival time offset relative to a current DL or UL burst arrival time; a UL burst arrival starting time and a DL or UL burst duration; a UL burst arrival time pattern which matches with an available downlink radio resource for the wireless device; or an indication to delete a UL burst arrival time related configuration.
However, in an analogous art, Lee et al. teach receiving a second message from the core network as a response to the first message, the second message comprising a DL or UL burst arrival time confirmation, and the DL burst arrival time confirmation comprising at least one of: a DL burst arrival time [Lee, fig. 8, message 810, ¶ 0146, “As shown in connection with reference number 810, the core network function 610 may transmit, and the network node 605 may receive, feedback associated with the TSCAI modification request for the XR data traffic”, The network node sends a first message (TSCAI modification request, see message 805), where TSCAI includes burst arrival time (see ¶s 0140-0143 and 0148). The core network responds with feedback for the TSCAI modification request, including modification of burst arrival time (for DL or UL). The core network (see element 610) may include a AMF (see ¶ 0100).]; a periodicity of the DL burst; a DL burst arrival time offset relative to a current DL burst arrival time; a DL burst arrival starting time and a DL burst duration; a DL burst arrival time pattern which matches with an available downlink radio resource for the wireless device; or an indication to delete a DL burst arrival time related configuration; or the UL burst arrival time confirmation comprising at least one of: a UL burst arrival time [Lee, fig. 8, message 810, ¶ 0146, “As shown in connection with reference number 810, the core network function 610 may transmit, and the network node 605 may receive, feedback associated with the TSCAI modification request for the XR data traffic”, The network node sends a first message (TSCAI modification request, see message 805), where TSCAI includes burst arrival time (see ¶s 0140-0143 and 0148). The core network responds with feedback for the TSCAI modification request, including modification of burst arrival time (for DL or UL). The core network (see element 610) may include a AMF (see ¶ 0100).]; a periodicity of the UL burst; a UL burst arrival time offset relative to a current DL or UL burst arrival time; a UL burst arrival starting time and a DL or UL burst duration; a UL burst arrival time pattern which matches with an available downlink radio resource for the wireless device; or an indication to delete a UL burst arrival time related configuration.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the modification messaging for burst arrival time adjustment as taught by Lee et al. into NTT DoCoMo. One would have been motivated to do this because defining burst arrival time modification as taught by Lee et al. would improve the proposed solution for requesting updated burst arrival time (see NTT DoCoMo, section 7.x, option 1) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 6, NTT DoCoMo in view of Nokia teach the method of claim 1. NTT DoCoMo does not explicitly teach wherein a reception of the first message by the core network triggers the core network to perform at least one of: transmitting the DL burst arrival time adjustment indication to an entity providing the DL burst for the wireless device, the entity comprising at least one of: a data network; or an application layer; or transmitting the DL burst arrival time adjustment indication to the wireless device.
However, in an analogous art, Lee et al. teach wherein a reception of the first message by the core network triggers the core network to perform at least one of: transmitting the DL burst arrival time adjustment indication to an entity providing the DL burst for the wireless device, the entity comprising at least one of: a data network; or an application layer; or transmitting the DL burst arrival time adjustment indication to the wireless device [Lee, fig. 8, message 810, ¶ 0146, “As shown in connection with reference number 810, the core network function 610 may transmit, and the network node 605 may receive, feedback associated with the TSCAI modification request for the XR data traffic”, The network node sends a first message (TSCAI modification request, see message 805), where TSCAI includes burst arrival time (see ¶s 0140-0143 and 0148). The core network responds with feedback for the TSCAI modification request, including modification of burst arrival time (for DL or UL). The core network (see element 610) may include a AMF (see ¶ 0100).].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the modification messaging for burst arrival time adjustment as taught by Lee et al. into NTT DoCoMo. One would have been motivated to do this because defining burst arrival time modification as taught by Lee et al. would improve the proposed solution for requesting updated burst arrival time (see NTT DoCoMo, section 7.x, option 1) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 7, NTT DoCoMo in view of Nokia teach the method of claim 1. NTT DoCoMo does not explicitly teach wherein transmitting the first message to the core network comprises: transmitting the first message to an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) of the core network via a UE associated signaling.
However, in an analogous art, Lee et al. teach wherein transmitting the first message to the core network comprises: transmitting the first message to an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) of the core network via a UE associated signaling [Lee, fig. 8, message 810, ¶ 0146, “As shown in connection with reference number 810, the core network function 610 may transmit, and the network node 605 may receive, feedback associated with the TSCAI modification request for the XR data traffic”, The network node sends a first message (TSCAI modification request, see message 805), where TSCAI includes burst arrival time (see ¶s 0140-0143 and 0148). The core network responds with feedback for the TSCAI modification request, including modification of burst arrival time (for DL or UL). The core network (see element 610) may include a AMF (see ¶ 0100).].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the modification messaging for burst arrival time adjustment as taught by Lee et al. into NTT DoCoMo. One would have been motivated to do this because defining burst arrival time modification as taught by Lee et al. would improve the proposed solution for requesting updated burst arrival time (see NTT DoCoMo, section 7.x, option 1) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 11, NTT DoCoMo in view of Nokia teach the method of claim 9. NTT DoCoMo does not explicitly teach further comprising: transmitting the DL burst arrival time adjustment indication to an entity providing the DL burst for the wireless device, the entity comprising at least one of: a data network; or an application layer.
However, in an analogous art, Lee et al. teach transmitting the DL burst arrival time adjustment indication to an entity providing the DL burst for the wireless device, the entity comprising at least one of: a data network; or an application layer [Lee, fig. 8, message 810, ¶ 0146, “As shown in connection with reference number 810, the core network function 610 may transmit, and the network node 605 may receive, feedback associated with the TSCAI modification request for the XR data traffic”, The network node sends a first message (TSCAI modification request, see message 805), where TSCAI includes burst arrival time (see ¶s 0140-0143 and 0148). The core network responds with feedback for the TSCAI modification request, including modification of burst arrival time (for DL or UL). The core network (see element 610) may include a AMF (see ¶ 0100).].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the modification messaging for burst arrival time adjustment as taught by Lee et al. into NTT DoCoMo. One would have been motivated to do this because defining burst arrival time modification as taught by Lee et al. would improve the proposed solution for requesting updated burst arrival time (see NTT DoCoMo, section 7.x, option 1) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 12, NTT DoCoMo in view of Nokia teach the method of claim 9. NTT DoCoMo does not explicitly teach further comprising: transmitting the DL or UL burst arrival time adjustment indication to the wireless device.
However, in an analogous art, Lee et al. teach transmitting the DL or UL burst arrival time adjustment indication to the wireless device [Lee, fig. 8, message 810, ¶ 0146, “As shown in connection with reference number 810, the core network function 610 may transmit, and the network node 605 may receive, feedback associated with the TSCAI modification request for the XR data traffic”, The network node sends a first message (TSCAI modification request, see message 805), where TSCAI includes burst arrival time (see ¶s 0140-0143 and 0148). The core network responds with feedback for the TSCAI modification request, including modification of burst arrival time (for DL or UL). The core network (see element 610) may include a AMF (see ¶ 0100).].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the modification messaging for burst arrival time adjustment as taught by Lee et al. into NTT DoCoMo. One would have been motivated to do this because defining burst arrival time modification as taught by Lee et al. would improve the proposed solution for requesting updated burst arrival time (see NTT DoCoMo, section 7.x, option 1) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 14, NTT DoCoMo in view of Nokia teach the method of claim 13. NTT DoCoMo does not explicitly teach further comprising: transmitting a second message to the base station as a response to the first message, the second message comprising a DL or UL burst arrival time confirmation, and the DL burst arrival time confirmation comprising at least one of: a DL burst arrival time; a periodicity of the DL burst; a DL burst arrival time offset relative to a current DL burst arrival time; a DL burst arrival starting time and a DL burst duration; a DL burst arrival time pattern which matches with an available downlink radio resource for the wireless device; or an indication to delete a DL burst arrival time related configuration; or the UL burst arrival time confirmation comprising at least one of: a UL burst arrival time; a periodicity of the UL burst; a UL burst arrival time offset relative to a current DL or UL burst arrival time; a UL burst arrival starting time and a DL or UL burst duration; a UL burst arrival time pattern which matches with an available downlink radio resource for the wireless device; or an indication to delete a UL burst arrival time related configuration.
However, in an analogous art, Lee et al. teach receiving a second message from the core network as a response to the first message, the second message comprising a DL or UL burst arrival time confirmation, and the DL burst arrival time confirmation comprising at least one of: a DL burst arrival time [Lee, fig. 8, message 810, ¶ 0146, “As shown in connection with reference number 810, the core network function 610 may transmit, and the network node 605 may receive, feedback associated with the TSCAI modification request for the XR data traffic”, The network node sends a first message (TSCAI modification request, see message 805), where TSCAI includes burst arrival time (see ¶s 0140-0143 and 0148). The core network responds with feedback for the TSCAI modification request, including modification of burst arrival time (for DL or UL). The core network (see element 610) may include a AMF (see ¶ 0100).]; a periodicity of the DL burst; a DL burst arrival time offset relative to a current DL burst arrival time; a DL burst arrival starting time and a DL burst duration; a DL burst arrival time pattern which matches with an available downlink radio resource for the wireless device; or an indication to delete a DL burst arrival time related configuration; or the UL burst arrival time confirmation comprising at least one of: a UL burst arrival time [Lee, fig. 8, message 810, ¶ 0146, “As shown in connection with reference number 810, the core network function 610 may transmit, and the network node 605 may receive, feedback associated with the TSCAI modification request for the XR data traffic”, The network node sends a first message (TSCAI modification request, see message 805), where TSCAI includes burst arrival time (see ¶s 0140-0143 and 0148). The core network responds with feedback for the TSCAI modification request, including modification of burst arrival time (for DL or UL). The core network (see element 610) may include a AMF (see ¶ 0100).]; a periodicity of the UL burst; a UL burst arrival time offset relative to a current DL or UL burst arrival time; a UL burst arrival starting time and a DL or UL burst duration; a UL burst arrival time pattern which matches with an available downlink radio resource for the wireless device; or an indication to delete a UL burst arrival time related configuration.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the modification messaging for burst arrival time adjustment as taught by Lee et al. into NTT DoCoMo. One would have been motivated to do this because defining burst arrival time modification as taught by Lee et al. would improve the proposed solution for requesting updated burst arrival time (see NTT DoCoMo, section 7.x, option 1) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 15, NTT DoCoMo in view of Nokia teach the method of claim 9. NTT DoCoMo does not explicitly teach wherein the core network node comprises an AMF.
However, in an analogous art, Lee et al. teach wherein the core network node comprises an AMF [Lee, fig. 8, message 810, ¶ 0146, “As shown in connection with reference number 810, the core network function 610 may transmit, and the network node 605 may receive, feedback associated with the TSCAI modification request for the XR data traffic”, The network node sends a first message (TSCAI modification request, see message 805), where TSCAI includes burst arrival time (see ¶s 0140-0143 and 0148). The core network responds with feedback for the TSCAI modification request, including modification of burst arrival time (for DL or UL). The core network (see element 610) may include a AMF (see ¶ 0100).].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the modification messaging for burst arrival time adjustment as taught by Lee et al. into NTT DoCoMo. One would have been motivated to do this because defining burst arrival time modification as taught by Lee et al. would improve the proposed solution for requesting updated burst arrival time (see NTT DoCoMo, section 7.x, option 1) with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The reference, Li et al. (US PG Pub 2026/0254763), teaches indication of burst arrival time in network device communication (see fig. 2).
The reference, Laitila et al. (US PG Pub US 2025/0175537), teaches providing feedback on burst arrival time (see fig. 4).
The reference, Sun et al. (US PG Pub US 2025/0175433), teaches burst arrival time adjustment (see fig. 13).
The reference, Kahn et al. (US PG Pub 20220046567), teaches burst arrival time adjustment (see fig. 2).
The reference, NTT DoCoMo (S2-2206540, see PTO-892), teaches the use of a burst arrival time offset for reporting of conditions on the user plane (see section 7.x).
The reference, ZTE (S2-2206593, see PTO-892), teaches burst arrival time adjustment (see section 6.2.1).
/Paul H. Masur/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2417