DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-6, 19-28 and 31 have been considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of different interpretation of the previously applied reference and previously cited (IDS 07/15/2025) prior art reference. Applicant's representative is invited to telephone the examiner for any clarification of any matter in this case.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 12/13/2024 fails to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609 because the documents of the cited art that are crossed out are not legible or contain parts that are not legible and should be replaced with legible copies. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered as to the merits. Applicant is advised that the date of any re-submission of any item of information contained in this information disclosure statement or the submission of any missing element(s) will be the date of submission for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements based on the time of filing the statement, including all certification requirements for statements under 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
The information disclosure statement filed 07/15/2025 fails to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609 because the documents of the cited art that are crossed out are not legible or contain parts that are not legible and should be replaced with legible copies. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered as to the merits. Applicant is advised that the date of any re-submission of any item of information contained in this information disclosure statement or the submission of any missing element(s) will be the date of submission for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements based on the time of filing the statement, including all certification requirements for statements under 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 6 & 23 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 3, 4, 10 & 20 of copending Application No. 18/981,046 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they disclose all the claim limitations as shown in the table below.
Instant Invention
Application No. 18/981,046
An electromagnetic, EM, device configured to be operational at a defined center frequency, f, having a free space wavelength, λ, the EM device comprising: a plurality of dielectric resonator antennas, DRAs, that can resonate at the same frequency, f, forming a unit cell having an overall footprint of equal to or less than λ/2 in both x and y directions of an orthogonal x-y-z coordinate system, as observed in a plan view of the EM device, where the z-direction is a direction of vertical extension of each DRA of the plurality of DRAs, the unit cell defining a DRA subarray.
1. An electromagnetic, EM, device (1000) configured to be operational at a defined center frequency, f, having a free space wavelength, λ, the EM device comprising:
an integrated circuit, IC, chip (2000); and
a DRA subarray (3000) integrally arranged with and disposed on the IC chip (2000); the DRA subarray (3000) comprising a plurality of DRAs (3100), that can resonate at the same frequency, f, defining a unit cell (3200) having an overall footprint (3300) of equal to or less than λ/2 in both x and y directions of an orthogonal x-y-z coordinate system, as observed in a plan view of the EM device (1000), where the z-direction is a direction of vertical extension of each DRA (3100′) of the plurality of DRAs (3100).
2. The EM device of claim 1, wherein: the unit cell is a monolithic construct.
3. The EM device (1000) claim 1, wherein: the DRA subarray (3000) is a monolithic construct.
3. The EM device of claim 1, wherein: each DRA of the plurality of DRAs is a solid, non-hollow, construct.
4. The EM device (1000) claim 1, wherein: each DRA (3100′) of the plurality of DRAs (3100) is a solid, non-hollow, construct.
6. The EM device of claim 1, wherein: each DRA of the plurality of DRAs has a same 3D shape and size.
10. The EM device (1000) of claim 1, wherein: each DRA (3100′) of the plurality of DRAs (3100) has a same 3D shape and size (3150).
23. The EM device of claim 1, wherein: the DRA subarray is at least a 2×2 array of the plurality of DRAs; alternatively, the DRA subarray is at least a 13×13 array of the plurality of DRAs.
20. The EM device (1000) of claim 1, wherein: the unit cell (3200) is at least a 2×2 array (3204) of the plurality of DRAs (3100); alternatively, the unit cell (3200) is at least a 3x3 array (3209) of the plurality of DRAs (3100).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 19-24, 26 & 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Pandey et al. US Patent Application Publication 2023/0078966 and Pance et al. US Patent Application Publication 2016/0111769 (cited by applicant).
The applied reference has a common applicant with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Regarding Claim 1, Pandey et al. teaches an electromagnetic, EM, device (Par. 0006-0011 Figs. 1A-5B) configured to be operational at a defined center frequency, f, having a free space wavelength, λ (Par. 0051), the EM device comprising:
a plurality of dielectric resonator antennas, DRAs (312 Figs. 1A-2B Par. 0046), that can resonate at the same frequency, f, (Par. 0051) forming a unit cell (Figs. 1A-2B) having an overall footprint in both x and y directions of an orthogonal x-y-z coordinate system (Figs. 1A-2B), as observed in a plan view of the EM device (Figs. 1A-2B), where the z-direction is a direction of vertical extension of each DRA of the plurality of DRAs (Figs. 1A-2B), the unit cell defining a DRA subarray (Figs. 1A-2B).
Pandey et al. does not explicitly teach an overall footprint of equal to or less than λ/2 in both x and y directions of an orthogonal x-y-z coordinate system, as observed in a plan view of the EM device.
However, Pance et al. teaches “the plurality of resonators 200 are uniformly spaced apart a distance “A”, “B” to form a periodic structure where “A”=“B”. In an embodiment, the distance “A”, “B” between each resonator 200 is approximately defined by the radiation wavelength in the environment in which the resonators are embedded in, which can be air. However, an embodiment embeds the resonators 200 in PTFE. In an embodiment, the distance “A”, “B” is approximately half of the wavelength that the resonators 200 are designed and configured to resonate at, which provides for a best gain (interference between resonators) of the array apparatus 100” and “enabling “A” and “B” to be reduced to less than half the radiation wavelength without compromising performance, which would further reduce the overall size of the array apparatus 100” (Par. 0025 Fig. 1A).
In this particular case, a person having ordinary skill in the art recognizes that the overall footprint of a 2x2 array of dielectric resonators 200 is equal to or less than λ/2 in both x and y directions of an orthogonal x-y-z coordinate system, as observed in a plan view of the EM device as evident by Fig. 1A and Par. 0025 of Pance et al. to provide the best antenna performance by providing the best gain.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the unit cell of Pandey et al. with an overall footprint of equal to or less than λ/2 in both x and y directions of an orthogonal x-y-z coordinate system, as observed in a plan view of the EM device based on the teachings of Pance et al. as a result effect in order to provide the best antenna performance by providing the best gain.
Regarding Claim 2, Pandey et al. as modified teaches wherein: the unit cell is a monolithic construct (monolithic Par. 0051).
Regarding Claim 3, Pandey et al. as modified teaches wherein: each DRA of the plurality of DRAs is a solid, non-hollow, construct (Figs. 1A-2B).
Regarding Claim 4, Pandey et al. as modified teaches wherein: the unit cell is a dielectric-only construct (Par. 0046).
Regarding Claim 6, Pandey et al. as modified teaches wherein: each DRA of the plurality of DRAs has a same 3D shape and size (Figs. 1A-2B).
Regarding Claim 19, Pandey et al. as modified teaches further comprising: an encapsulant (300 Figs. 1A-2B Par. 0052) disposed encapsulating the DRA subarray and a non-DRA space between each adjacent DRA of the plurality of DRAs (Figs. 1A-2B).
Regarding Claim 20, Pandey et al. as modified teaches wherein: the encapsulant comprises a dielectric material (Par. 0052).
Regarding Claim 21, Pandey et al. as modified teaches wherein: the dielectric material of the encapsulant has a Dk value greater than 1 and equal to or less than 5, alternatively equal to or greater than 2 and equal to or less than 4 (Par. 0053).
Regarding Claim 22, Pandey et al. as modified teaches wherein: f is equal to or greater than 50 KHz and equal to or less than 50 MHZ, alternatively f is equal to or greater than 1 GHz, and equal to or less than 1000 GHz (Par. 0051).
Regarding Claim 23, Pandey et al. as modified teaches wherein: the DRA subarray is at least a 2×2 array of the plurality of DRAs (Figs. 1A-2B).
Regarding Claim 24, Pandey et al. as modified teaches wherein: each DRA of the plurality of DRAs has a 3D rectangular pyramid shape (Figs. 1A-2B).
Regarding Claim 26, Pandey et al. as modified teaches further comprising: a plurality of signal feeds disposed in a one-to-one relationship with a respective one of the plurality of DRAs (250 Figs. 3A-5B Par. 0055).
Regarding Claim 31, Pandey et al. as modified teaches wherein: each signal feed of the plurality of signal feeds comprises any one of: a slotted aperture (254 Fig. 3A Par. 0055).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Pandey et al. US Patent Application Publication 2023/0078966 and Pance et al. US Patent Application Publication 2016/0111769 (cited by applicant) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ohmi et al. US Patent Application Publication 2006/0119518 (cited by applicant).
Regarding Claim 5, Pandey et al. as modified teaches the EM device of claim 1 as shown in the rejection above.
Pandey et al. as modified is silent on wherein: the unit cell comprises a magneto-dielectric material.
However, Ohmi et al. teaches a magneto-dielectric material (Par. 0050, 0055, 0062).
In this particular case, providing the unit cell to comprise a magneto-dielectric material is common and well known in the art as evident by Ohmi et al. to lower the Q value of the resonance and broaden the antenna band (Par. 0062).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the unit cell of Pandey et al. as modified to comprise a magneto-dielectric material based on the teachings of Ohmi et al. as a result effect in order to lower the Q value of the resonance and broaden the antenna band.
Claims 25, 27 & 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Pandey et al. US Patent Application Publication 2023/0078966 and Pance et al. US Patent Application Publication 2016/0111769 (cited by applicant) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kingsley et al. EP Patent Publication EP 1232538 B1 (cited by applicant).
Regarding Claim 25, Pandey et al. as modified teaches the EM device of claim 1 as shown in the rejection above.
Pandey et al. as modified is silent on wherein: each DRA of the plurality of DRAs has a 3D triangular pyramid shape.
However, Kingsley et al. teaches a 3D triangular pyramid shape (Fig. 18 Par. 0013).
In this particular case, forming a dielectric resonator in a 3D triangular pyramid shape is common and well known in the art as evident by Kingsley et al. due to their increased bandwidth (Par. 0013).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide each DRA of the plurality of DRAs of Pandey et al. as modified as a 3D triangular pyramid shape based on the teachings of Kingsley et al. as a result effect due to their increased bandwidth.
Regarding Claim 27, Pandey et al. as modified teaches further comprising: a plurality of signal feeds (250 Figs. 3A-5B Par. 0055).
Pandey et al. as modified is silent on a plurality of signal feeds disposed in a two-to-one relationship with a respective one of the plurality of DRAs forming a pair of the plurality of signal feeds; wherein each pair of the plurality of signal feeds for each respective DRA of the plurality of DRAs are disposed to electromagnetically excite the respective DRA in two different directions.
However, Kingsley et al. teaches “A few publications have reported on experiments using two probes fed simultaneously in a circular dielectric slab. These probes were installed on radials at 90° to each other and fed in anti-phase so as to create circular polarisation” Par. 0002.
In this particular case, providing two feeds perpendicular to each other is common and well known in the art as evident by Kingsley et al. in order to create circular polarization.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the plurality of signal feeds of Pandey et al. as modified to be disposed in a two-to-one relationship with a respective one of the plurality of DRAs forming a pair of the plurality of signal feeds and in two different directions based on the teachings of Kingsley et al. as a result effect in order to create circular polarization.
Regarding Claim 28, Pandey et al. as modified teaches further comprising: a plurality of signal feeds (250 Figs. 3A-5B Par. 0055).
Pandey et al. as modified is silent on a plurality of signal feeds disposed in a two-to-one relationship with a respective one of the plurality of DRAs forming a pair of the plurality of signal feeds; wherein each pair of the plurality of signal feeds for each respective DRA of the plurality of DRAs are disposed to electromagnetically excite the respective DRA in two orthogonal directions.
However, Kingsley et al. teaches “A few publications have reported on experiments using two probes fed simultaneously in a circular dielectric slab. These probes were installed on radials at 90° to each other and fed in anti-phase so as to create circular polarisation” Par. 0002.
In this particular case, providing two feeds perpendicular to each other is common and well known in the art as evident by Kingsley et al. in order to create circular polarization.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the plurality of signal feeds of Pandey et al. to be disposed in a two-to-one relationship with a respective one of the plurality of DRAs forming a pair of the plurality of signal feeds and in two orthogonal directions based on the teachings of Kingsley et al. as a result effect in order to create circular polarization.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-18, 29 & 30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 7, the prior art of record, when taken alone or in combination does not fairly teach nor render obvious the limitation “a base of the unit cell, the base being monolithic with each DRA, and an opposing distal end at a distance from the base, the 3D shape tapering inward from the proximal end to the distal end to form and define non-DRA space between each adjacent DRA of the plurality of DRAs” combined with the structure as required by the claim. Claims 8-18 directly or indirectly depend therefrom.
Regarding Claim 29, the prior art of record, when taken alone or in combination does not fairly teach nor render obvious the limitations “wherein each signal feed of the plurality of signal feeds in combination with an opposing edge of the 3D triangular pyramid shape for each respective DRA of the plurality of DRAs are disposed to electromagnetically excite the respective DRA to facilitate circular polarization EM radiation” as required by the claim. Claim 30 depends therefrom.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL M BOUIZZA/Examiner, Art Unit 2845