DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/05/25 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi US 10642450 in view of Urasawa US 8482753 further in view of Okada US 9661155.
Regarding claim 1, Takahashi teaches An image processing apparatus that executes at least one function about an image process in response to a user operation (image forming apparatus 1A (column 6, lines 4-5 and fig 1), the image processing apparatus comprising:
a memory device that stores a set of instructions (memory 100b (column 6, lines 13-17); and
at least one processor that executes the set of instructions (microprocessor 100a (column 6, lines 7-10) to:
perform, when the user selects one of the diagnosis menus displayed, a diagnosis process corresponding to an error symptom described in the diagnosis menu selected by the user (the control unit 100 displays a diagnostic/recovery menu 200 illustrated in FIG. 3 on the display unit 103a of the user interface unit 103 (column 7, lines 32-40). the control unit executes the diagnostic/recovery menu upon determining that the button is pressed and held down (column 7, lines 10-15) The diagnostic/recovery menu 200 presents the type of the diagnostic/recovery processing and the rough estimate of the time required for the processing to the user, who can then select the diagnostic/recovery processing by referring to the rough estimate of the time required (column 7, lines 42-49); and
Takahashi fails to teach determine a display method of the diagnostic menus according to a state of the image processing apparatus.
Urasawa teaches determine a display method of the diagnostic menus according to a state of the image processing apparatus (possible malfunction information table 137a contains a malfunction type field 137b, a malfunction message field 137c, a priority field 137d, and a device field 137e. The malfunction type field 137b holds the malfunction types ERI therein. The malfunction message field 137c holds malfunction messages information which are messages to the user and are displayed on the display unit 111 (column 5, lines 4 – 16 and FIG. 4)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Takahashi to include: determine a display method of the diagnostic menus according to a state of the image processing apparatus.
The reason for doing so would be to allow a user to view any error involved with the image processing apparatus.
Although Takahashi teaches (When the user performs an operation to call the diagnostic/recovery processing by pressing the diagnostic button 103c or the like, the control unit 100 displays a diagnostic/recovery menu 200 illustrated in FIG. 3 on the display unit 103a of the user interface unit 103 (column 7, lines 32-40);
Takahashi in view of Urasawa fails to teach display diagnostic menus describing error symptoms, which may occur in the image processing apparatus, related to the at least one function so as to be selectable by a user
Okada teaches display diagnostic menus describing error symptoms, which may occur in the image processing apparatus, related to the at least one function so as to be selectable by a user (error handling screen 12a with the transition button, there is displayed error handling information 12a1 such as “Error 12345 has occurred. Please fix the following portions. •Paper feeder •Conveying route After fixing, please check the following. •Print operation” and a test mode screen transition button 12a2 for transition to a test mode corresponding to the occurred error and the displayed error handling information (column 6, lines 1-10) and fig 3 and 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Takahashi in view of Urasawa to include: display diagnostic menus describing error symptoms, which may occur in the image processing apparatus, related to the at least one function so as to be selectable by a user
The reason for doing so would be to allow a user to view any error involved with the image processing apparatus and select an option on a display.
Regarding claim 2, Takahashi in view Urasawa further in view of Okada teaches wherein the at least one processor executes the set of instructions to determine a diagnostic menu to be preferentially displayed from the diagnostic menus (Takahashi: the control unit 100 displays a diagnostic/recovery menu 200 illustrated in FIG. 3 on the display unit 103a of the user interface unit 103 (column 7, lines 32-40).
Regarding claim 3, Takahashi in view Urasawa further in view of Okada teaches wherein the at least one processor executes the set of instructions to preferentially display a diagnosis menu associated with a latest error occurred in the image processing apparatus (Okada: error handling screen 12a with the transition button, there is displayed error handling information 12a1 such as “Error 12345 has occurred. Please fix the following portions. •Paper feeder •Conveying route After fixing, please check the following. •Print operation” and a test mode screen transition button 12a2 for transition to a test mode corresponding to the occurred error and the displayed error handling information (column 6, lines 1-10) and fig 3 and 4) Note: the latest error is read as the last error on the screen since a test is performed and a list of all of the errors would be displayed. On the error handling information, conveying route cannot be fixed until the paper feeder error is fixed.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Takahashi in view Urasawa further in view of Okada to include: wherein the at least one processor executes the set of instructions to preferentially display a diagnosis menu associated with a latest error occurred in the image processing apparatus
The reason for doing so would be to allow a user to view the current error involved with the image processing apparatus and select an option on a display.
Regarding claim 4, Takahashi in view Urasawa further in view of Okada teaches wherein the information about the latest error occurred is obtained from a job history of the image processing apparatus (Okada: the image former 13 performs image formation by printing images based on the received print job (step S103) under control of the CPU 15. Here, description is given of the example in which the image formation is performed based on a print job from any of the terminal devices 3, 3, . . Until the image formation is completed (step S105; NO), the error controller 15a of the CPU 15 performs detection of whether an error occurs in the image forming apparatus 1, based on outputs from the error sensors 14 (step S107). When the error controller 15a of the CPU 15 detects occurrence of an error during the printing (step S107; YES), the error controller 15a performs error notification by, for example, displaying an error occurrence screen indicating occurrence of an error on the display 12 (column 5, lines 15-41).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Takahashi in view Urasawa further in view of Okada to include: wherein the information about the latest error occurred is obtained from a job history of the image processing apparatus
The reason for doing so would be to allow a user to view the current error involved with the print job.
Regarding claim 5, Takahashi in view Urasawa further in view of Okada teaches wherein a diagnosis history that is the job history of the diagnosis process includes information indicating whether a diagnosis result is an error (Okada: When the error controller 15a of the CPU 15 detects occurrence of an error during the printing (step S107; YES), the error controller 15a performs error notification by, for example, displaying an error occurrence screen indicating occurrence of an error on the display 12 (column 5, lines 15-41)., and wherein the at least one processor executes the set of instructions to preferentially display a diagnosis menu associated with a latest diagnosis record of which the diagnosis result is an error (Okada: error handling screen 12a with the transition button, there is displayed error handling information 12a1 such as “Error 12345 has occurred. Please fix the following portions. •Paper feeder •Conveying route After fixing, please check the following. •Print operation” and a test mode screen transition button 12a2 for transition to a test mode corresponding to the occurred error and the displayed error handling information (column 6, lines 1-10) and fig 3 and 4) Note: the latest error is read as the last error on the screen since a test is performed and a list of all of the errors would be displayed. On the error handling information, conveying route cannot be fixed until the paper feeder error is fixed.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Takahashi in view Urasawa further in view of Okada to include: wherein a diagnosis history that is the job history of the diagnosis process includes information indicating whether a diagnosis result is an error, and wherein the at least one processor executes the set of instructions to preferentially display a diagnosis menu associated with a latest diagnosis record of which the diagnosis result is an error
The reason for doing so would be to allow a user to view a list of errors involved with the print job.
Regarding claim 8, Takahashi teaches An image processing apparatus that executes at least one function about an image process in response to a user operation (image forming apparatus 1A (column 6, lines 4-5 and fig 1), the image processing apparatus comprising:
a memory device that stores a set of instructions (memory 100b (column 6, lines 13-17); and
at least one processor that executes the set of instructions (microprocessor 100a (column 6, lines 7-10) to:
perform, when the user selects one of the diagnosis menus displayed, a diagnosis process corresponding to an error symptom described in the diagnosis menu selected by the user (the control unit 100 displays a diagnostic/recovery menu 200 illustrated in FIG. 3 on the display unit 103a of the user interface unit 103 (column 7, lines 32-40). the control unit executes the diagnostic/recovery menu upon determining that the button is pressed and held down (column 7, lines 10-15) The diagnostic/recovery menu 200 presents the type of the diagnostic/recovery processing and the rough estimate of the time required for the processing to the user, who can then select the diagnostic/recovery processing by referring to the rough estimate of the time required (column 7, lines 42-49); and
Takahashi fails to teach determine a display method of the diagnostic menus according to a status of a system constituted by the image processing apparatus and another image processing apparatus.
Urasawa teaches determine a display method of the diagnostic menus according to a status of a system constituted by the image processing apparatus and another image processing apparatus (the malfunction detection information includes malfunction sensor information DSI and malfunction type ERI, which are listed in a malfunction information table. The malfunction sensor information DSI is contained in the detected malfunction information DS received from individual malfunction sensors. The sensors include those disposed in the printer 150, scanner 151, facsimile 152, and communicator 153. The malfunction type ERI is used to identify the nature of malfunction, which occurs in the multifunction printer 100, using the malfunction sensor information DSI. (column 4, lines 49-60). possible malfunction information table 137a contains a malfunction type field 137b, a malfunction message field 137c, a priority field 137d, and a device field 137e. The malfunction type field 137b holds the malfunction types ERI therein. The malfunction message field 137c holds malfunction messages information which are messages to the user and are displayed on the display unit 111 (column 5, lines 4 – 16 and FIG. 4) Note: the malfunction information table 137a contains the malfunction information for the printer 150, scanner 151, facsimile 152, and communicator 153 of multifunction printer 100 (system)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Takahashi to include: determine a display method of the diagnostic menus according to a status of a system constituted by the image processing apparatus and another image processing apparatus
The reason for doing so would be to allow a user to view a list of errors involved with the image processing apparatus
Although Takahashi teaches (When the user performs an operation to call the diagnostic/recovery processing by pressing the diagnostic button 103c or the like, the control unit 100 displays a diagnostic/recovery menu 200 illustrated in FIG. 3 on the display unit 103a of the user interface unit 103 (column 7, lines 32-40);
Takahashi in view of Urasawa fails to teach display diagnostic menus describing error symptoms, which may occur in the image processing apparatus, related to the at least one function so as to be selectable by a user;
Okada teaches display diagnostic menus describing error symptoms, which may occur in the image processing apparatus, related to the at least one function so as to be selectable by a user error handling screen 12a with the transition button, there is displayed error handling information 12a1 such as “Error 12345 has occurred. Please fix the following portions. •Paper feeder •Conveying route After fixing, please check the following. •Print operation” and a test mode screen transition button 12a2 for transition to a test mode corresponding to the occurred error and the displayed error handling information (column 6, lines 1-10) and fig 3 and 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Takahashi in view Urasawa to include: display diagnostic menus describing error symptoms, which may occur in the image processing apparatus, related to the at least one function so as to be selectable by a user
The reason for doing so would be to allow a user to view a list of errors involved with the image processing apparatus
Regarding claim 9, Takahashi teaches A control method for an image processing apparatus that executes at least one function about an image process in response to a user operation (image forming apparatus 1A (column 6, lines 4-5 and fig 1), the control method comprising:
displaying diagnostic menus describing error symptoms, which may occur in the image processing apparatus, related to the at least one function so as to be selectable by a user (the control unit 100 displays a diagnostic/recovery menu 200 illustrated in FIG. 3 on the display unit 103a of the user interface unit 103 (column 7, lines 32-40). the control unit executes the diagnostic/recovery menu upon determining that the button is pressed and held down (column 7, lines 10-15) The diagnostic/recovery menu 200 presents the type of the diagnostic/recovery processing and the rough estimate of the time required for the processing to the user, who can then select the diagnostic/recovery processing by referring to the rough estimate of the time required (column 7, lines 42-49);
Takahashi fails to teach determining a display method of the diagnostic menus according to a state of the image processing apparatus.
Urasawa teaches determining a display method of the diagnostic menus according to a state of the image processing apparatus (possible malfunction information table 137a contains a malfunction type field 137b, a malfunction message field 137c, a priority field 137d, and a device field 137e. The malfunction type field 137b holds the malfunction types ERI therein. The malfunction message field 137c holds malfunction messages information which are messages to the user and are displayed on the display unit 111 (column 5, lines 4 – 16 and FIG. 4)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Takahashi to include: determining a display method of the diagnostic menus according to a state of the image processing apparatus
The reason for doing so would be to allow a user to view a list of errors involved with the image processing apparatus
Although Takahashi teaches (When the user performs an operation to call the diagnostic/recovery processing by pressing the diagnostic button 103c or the like, the control unit 100 displays a diagnostic/recovery menu 200 illustrated in FIG. 3 on the display unit 103a of the user interface unit 103 (column 7, lines 32-40);
Takahashi in view of Urasawa fails to teach performing, when the user selects one of the diagnosis menus displayed, a diagnosis process corresponding to an error symptom described in the diagnosis menu selected by the user;
Okada teaches performing, when the user selects one of the diagnosis menus displayed, a diagnosis process corresponding to an error symptom described in the diagnosis menu selected by the user (error handling screen 12a with the transition button, there is displayed error handling information 12a1 such as “Error 12345 has occurred. Please fix the following portions. •Paper feeder •Conveying route After fixing, please check the following. •Print operation” and a test mode screen transition button 12a2 for transition to a test mode corresponding to the occurred error and the displayed error handling information (column 6, lines 1-10) and fig 3 and 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Takahashi in view of Urasawa to include: performing, when the user selects one of the diagnosis menus displayed, a diagnosis process corresponding to an error symptom described in the diagnosis menu selected by the user
The reason for doing so would be to allow a user to view a list of errors involved with the image processing apparatus
Regarding claim 10, Takahashi teaches A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a control program causing a computer to execute a control method for an image processing apparatus that executes at least one function about an image process in response to a user operation (non-transitory recording medium storing a computer readable program (column 4, lines 43-46) image forming apparatus 1A (column 6, lines 4-5 and fig 1), the control method comprising:
displaying diagnostic menus describing error symptoms, which may occur in the image processing apparatus, related to the at least one function so as to be selectable by a user (the control unit 100 displays a diagnostic/recovery menu 200 illustrated in FIG. 3 on the display unit 103a of the user interface unit 103 (column 7, lines 32-40). the control unit executes the diagnostic/recovery menu upon determining that the button is pressed and held down (column 7, lines 10-15) The diagnostic/recovery menu 200 presents the type of the diagnostic/recovery processing and the rough estimate of the time required for the processing to the user, who can then select the diagnostic/recovery processing by referring to the rough estimate of the time required (column 7, lines 42-49);
Takahashi fails to teach determining a display method of the diagnostic menus according to a state of the image processing apparatus.
Urasawa teaches determining a display method of the diagnostic menus according to a state of the image processing apparatus (possible malfunction information table 137a contains a malfunction type field 137b, a malfunction message field 137c, a priority field 137d, and a device field 137e. The malfunction type field 137b holds the malfunction types ERI therein. The malfunction message field 137c holds malfunction messages information which are messages to the user and are displayed on the display unit 111 (column 5, lines 4 – 16 and FIG. 4)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Takahashi to include: determining a display method of the diagnostic menus according to a state of the image processing apparatus
The reason for doing so would be to allow a user to view a list of errors involved with the image processing apparatus
Although Takahashi teaches (When the user performs an operation to call the diagnostic/recovery processing by pressing the diagnostic button 103c or the like, the control unit 100 displays a diagnostic/recovery menu 200 illustrated in FIG. 3 on the display unit 103a of the user interface unit 103 (column 7, lines 32-40);
Takahashi in view of Urasawa fails to teach performing, when the user selects one of the diagnosis menus displayed, a diagnosis process corresponding to an error symptom described in the diagnosis menu selected by the user (error handling screen 12a with the transition button, there is displayed error handling information 12a1 such as “Error 12345 has occurred. Please fix the following portions. •Paper feeder •Conveying route After fixing, please check the following. •Print operation” and a test mode screen transition button 12a2 for transition to a test mode corresponding to the occurred error and the displayed error handling information (column 6, lines 1-10) and fig 3 and 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Takahashi in view of Urasawa to include: performing, when the user selects one of the diagnosis menus displayed, a diagnosis process corresponding to an error symptom described in the diagnosis menu selected by the user
The reason for doing so would be to allow a user to view a list of errors involved with the image processing apparatus
Claim(s) 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi US 10642450 in view of Urasawa US 8482753 further in view of Okada US 9661155 further in view of Kajikawa US 20190286390.
Regarding claim 6, Takahashi in view Urasawa further in view of Okada teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 2
Takahashi in view of Urasawa further in view of Okada fails to teach wherein the at least one processor executes the set of instructions to:
obtain an installed function actually provided by the image processing apparatus among functions that can be provided by the image processing apparatus; and
hide a diagnostic menu of the function that is not installed among the diagnostic menus.
Kajikawa teaches wherein the at least one processor executes the set of instructions to:
obtain an installed function actually provided by the image processing apparatus among functions that can be provided by the image processing apparatus (function providing applications 22 can be installed in the information processing apparatus 20a and the fixed operating unit 20b (paragraph 0051 and fig 1 – shows multiple applications); and
hide a diagnostic menu of the function that is not installed among the diagnostic menus (the display control unit 201 may hide the icon 87b of the function providing application 22 that is determined, by the determining unit 202, as being unavailable (inexecutable) (paragraph 0096).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Takahashi in view of Urasawa further in view of Okada to include: wherein the at least one processor executes the set of instructions to: obtain an installed function actually provided by the image processing apparatus among functions that can be provided by the image processing apparatus; and hide a diagnostic menu of the function that is not installed among the diagnostic menus
The reason for doing so would be that unnecessary function will not be displayed
Regarding claim 7, Takahashi in view Urasawa further in view of Okada teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 2
Takahashi in view of Urasawa further in view of Okada fails to teach wherein the at least one processor executes the set of instructions to:
obtain an installed function actually provided by the image processing apparatus among functions that can be provided by the image processing apparatus; and
display a diagnostic menu of the function that is not installed in a grayed-out manner among the diagnostic menus.
Kajikawa teaches wherein the at least one processor executes the set of instructions to:
obtain an installed function actually provided by the image processing apparatus among functions that can be provided by the image processing apparatus (function providing applications 22 can be installed in the information processing apparatus 20a and the fixed operating unit 20b (paragraph 0051 and fig 1 – shows multiple applications); and
display a diagnostic menu of the function that is not installed in a grayed-out manner among the diagnostic menus (the display control unit 201 may hide the icon 87b of the function providing application 22 that is determined, by the determining unit 202, as being unavailable (inexecutable) (paragraph 0096).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Takahashi in view of Urasawa further in view of Okada to include: wherein the at least one processor executes the set of instructions to: obtain an installed function actually provided by the image processing apparatus among functions that can be provided by the image processing apparatus; and display a diagnostic menu of the function that is not installed in a grayed-out manner among the diagnostic menus
The reason for doing so would be that unnecessary function will not be displayed
Conclusion
Michael Burleson
Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2683
Michael Burleson
September 17, 2026
/MICHAEL BURLESON/
/AKWASI M SARPONG/SPE, Art Unit 2681 9/21/2026