DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 have been presented for examination and are rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/13/2024 and 03/19/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. US 12201887 hereinafter ‘887. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all elements of instant application is anticipated by claim 1 of the patent ‘887.
Similar reasoning applies to claim 16 of the instant application. See, the table below which shows both application claims on limitation bases.
The Instant application 18/981,118
Patent No. US 12201887
Claim 1. A computer-implemented method comprising:
receiving a signal message including information indicative of at least one sporting official event detection corresponding to at least one event produced by a sporting official using a signal generator, the signal message including information indicative of at least one of a plurality of different types of sporting official events; and
forwarding the signal message to subscribed subscriber platforms via a data network, wherein only subscriber platforms that have subscribed to the at least one of a plurality of different types of sporting official events receive the forwarded signal message.
Claim 1. A computer-implemented method comprising:
receiving a signal message including information indicative of at least one sporting official event detection corresponding to at least one event produced by a sporting official using a signal generator, the signal message including information indicative of at least one of a plurality of different types of sporting official events and an identifier of the sporting official who originated the sporting official event;
categorizing the signal message into one or more subscriber topics associated with the at least one sporting official event detection, wherein each of the one or more subscriber topics corresponds to a different sporting official event of the plurality of different types of sporting official events; and
causing a message broker to forward the signal message to subscribed subscriber platforms via a data network, wherein only subscriber platforms that have subscribed to the one or more subscriber topics into which the signal message has been categorized receive the forwarded signal message.
Claim 2. The method of claim 1wherein the signal generator is of a type from the group consisting of:
a smart whistle, a penalty flag, a turnover beanbag, a booth official device, and a player-worn device.
Claim 2. The method of claim I wherein the signal generator is of a type from the group consisting of: a smart whistle, a penalty flag, a turnover beanbag, a booth official device, and a player-worn device.
Claim 3. The method of claim 1 wherein the at least one sporting official event detection being triggered by one or more sensors of a sensor subsystem after detecting a signal exceeding a pre-defined threshold, wherein the sensor subsystem includes one or more sensors of a type from the group consisting of: a microphone, a vibration sensor, a pressure sensor, a temperature sensor, a humidity sensor, a barometric pressure sensor, a gyroscope, a magnetometer, an accelerometer, and a photoresistor.
Claim 3. The method of claim 1 wherein the at least one sporting official event detection being triggered by one or more sensors of a sensor subsystem after detecting a signal exceeding a pre-defined threshold, wherein the sensor subsystem includes one or more sensors of a type from the group consisting of: a microphone, a vibration sensor, a pressure sensor, a temperature sensor, a humidity sensor, a barometric pressure sensor, a gyroscope, a magnetometer, an accelerometer, and a photoresistor.
Claim 4. The method of claim 1 wherein the subscriber platforms are of a type from the group consisting of: a scoreboard, a game clock, a video display or recording device, an event logging device, a console or dashboard control device, and a light array.
Claim 4. The method of claim 1 wherein the subscriber platforms are of a type from the group consisting of: a scoreboard, a game clock, a video display or recording device, an event logging device, a console or dashboard control device, and a light array.
Claim 5. The method of claim I wherein the at least one sporting official event detection corresponds to the blowing of a whistle.
Claim 5. The method of claim 1 wherein the at least one sporting official event detection corresponds to the blowing of a whistle.
Claim 6. The method of claim 1wherein the signal generator further includes a local alert subsystem having one or more local alert output devices configured to alert a user of the signal generator.
Claim 6. The method of claim 1 wherein the signal generator further includes a local alert subsystem having one or more local alert output devices configured to alert a user of the signal generator.
Claim 7. The method of claim 6 wherein the local alert subsystem includes one or more devices of a type from the group consisting of: light-emitting diodes (LEDs), a haptic motor to cause physical vibration of the signal generator, and a speaker to emit audible sounds.
Claim 7. The method of claim 6 wherein the local alert subsystem includes one or more devices of a type from the group consisting of:
light-emitting diodes (LEDs), a haptic motor to cause physical vibration of the signal generator, and a speaker to emit audible sounds.
Claim 8. The method of claim 1 wherein the signal generator further includes a manual button with which a user can manually signal the occurrence of an event by manually pressing the button.
Claim 8. The method of claim 1 wherein the signal generator further includes a manual button with which a user can manually signal the occurrence of an event by manually pressing the button.
Claim 9. The method of claim 1 further including establishing a connection with the data network wherein the connection includes a BluetoothTM Low Energy (BLE) wireless data connection.
Claim 9. The method of claim 1 further including establishing a connection with the data network wherein the connection includes a BluetoothTM Low Energy (BLE) wireless data connection.
Claim 10. The method of claim 1 further including establishing a connection with a gateway.
Claim 10. The method of claim 1 further including establishing a connection with a gateway.
Claim 11. The method of claim k further including configuring a message broker to maintain subscription data corresponding to topics subscribed to by the subscriber platforms.
Claim 11. The method of claim 1 wherein the message broker is configured to maintain subscription data corresponding to topics subscribed to by the subscriber platforms.
Claim 12. The method of claim 1further including configuring a message broker to perform a lookup to determine subscribers who have subscribed to topics corresponding to the received signal message.
Claim 12. The method of claim 1 wherein the message broker is configured to perform a lookup to determine subscribers who have subscribed to topics corresponding to the received signal message.
Claim 13. The method of claim 1 including determining which of one or more subscriber topics into which the signal message has been categorized.
Claim 13. The method of claim 1 including determining which of one or more subscriber topics into which the signal message has been categorized.
Claim 14. The method of claim 1wherein the signal message includes information corresponding to a quality of service.
Claim 14. The method of claim 1 wherein the signal message includes information corresponding to a quality of service.
Claim 15. The method of claim 1 including determining a physical location of the signal generator using trilateration.
Claim 15. The method of claim I including determining a physical location of the signal generator using trilateration.
Claim 16. A system comprising:
a message broker in data communication on a data network; and
a plurality of subscriber platforms in data communication on the data network, the system configured to:
cause the message broker to receive a signal message including information indicative of at least one sporting official event detection corresponding to at least one event produced by a sporting official using a signal generator, the signal message including information indicative of at least one of a plurality of different types of sporting official events; and
cause the message broker to forward the signal message to subscribed subscriber platforms of the plurality of subscriber platforms via the data network, wherein only subscriber platforms that have subscribed to the at least one of a plurality of different types of sporting official events receive the forwarded signal message.
Claim 16. A system comprising:
a message broker in data communication on a data network; and
a plurality of subscriber platforms in data communication on the data network, the system configured to:
cause the message broker to receive a signal message including information indicative of at least one sporting official event detection corresponding to at least one event produced by a sporting official using a signal generator, the signal message including information indicative of at least one of a plurality of different types of sporting official events and an identifier of the sporting official who originated the sporting official event, the signal message having been categorized into one or more subscriber topics associated with the at least one sporting official event detection, wherein each of the one or more subscriber topics corresponds to a different sporting official event of the plurality of different types of sporting official events; and
cause the message broker to forward the signal message to subscribed subscriber platforms of the plurality of subscriber platforms via the data network, wherein only subscriber platforms that have subscribed to the one or more subscriber topics into which the signal message has been categorized receive the forwarded signal message.
Claim 17. The system of claim 16 wherein the signal generator is of a type from the group consisting of: a smart whistle, a penalty flag, a turnover beanbag, a booth official device, and a player-worn device.
Claim 17. The system of claim 16 wherein the signal generator is of a type from the group consisting of:
a smart whistle, a penalty flag, a turnover beanbag, a booth official device, and a player-worn device.
Claim 18. The system of claim 16 wherein the subscriber platforms are of a type from the group consisting of: a scoreboard, a game clock, a video display or recording device, an event logging device, a console or dashboard control device, and a light array.
Claim 18. The system of claim 16 wherein the subscriber platforms are of a type from the group consisting of: a scoreboard, a game clock, a video display or recording device, an event logging device, a console or dashboard control device, and a light array.
Claim 19. The system of claim 16 wherein the message broker is configured to maintain subscription data corresponding to topics subscribed to by the subscriber platforms.
Claim 19. The system of claim 16 wherein the message broker is configured to maintain subscription data corresponding to topics subscribed to by the subscriber platforms.
Claim 20. The system of claim 16 wherein the message broker is configured to perform a lookup to determine subscribers who have subscribed to topics corresponding to the received signal message.
Claim 20. The system of claim 16 wherein the message broker is configured to perform a lookup to determine subscribers who have subscribed to topics corresponding to the received signal message.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. US 11872463 hereinafter ‘463. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all elements of instant application is anticipated by claim 1 of the patent ‘463.
Similar reasoning applies to claim 16 of the instant application. See, the table below which shows both application claims on limitation bases.
The Instant application 18/981,118
Patent No. US 11872463
Claim 1. A computer-implemented method comprising:
receiving a signal message including information indicative of at least one sporting official event detection corresponding to at least one event produced by a sporting official using a signal generator, the signal message including information indicative of at least one of a plurality of different types of sporting official events; and
forwarding the signal message to subscribed subscriber platforms via a data network, wherein only subscriber platforms that have subscribed to the at least one of a plurality of different types of sporting official events receive the forwarded signal message.
Claim 1. A computer-implemented method comprising:
detecting at least one event of a plurality of different types of sporting official events produced by a sporting official at a sporting activity by use of a signal generator with a data processor and a sensor subsystem, the at least one sporting official event detection of the plurality of different types of sporting official events being triggered by one or more sensors of the sensor subsystem detecting a signal exceeding a pre-defined threshold;
generating a signal message including information indicative of the at least one sporting official event detection corresponding to the at least one event produced by the sporting official using the signal generator, the signal message including information indicative of at least one of the plurality of different types of sporting official events and a location from which the sporting official event originated;
categorizing the signal message into one or more subscriber topics associated with the at least one sporting official event detection, wherein each of the one or more subscriber topics corresponds to a different sporting official event of the plurality of different types of sporting official events;
establishing, by use of the data processor of the signal generator, a connection with a data network; sending the signal message to a message broker via the data network; and
causing the message broker to forward the signal message to subscribed subscriber platforms, wherein only subscriber platforms that have subscribed to the one or more subscriber topics into which the signal message has been categorized receive the forwarded signal message.
Claim 2. The method of claim 1wherein the signal generator is of a type from the group consisting of:
a smart whistle, a penalty flag, a turnover beanbag, a booth official device, and a player-worn device.
Claim 2 . The method of claim 1 wherein the signal generator is of a type from the group consisting of: a smart whistle, a penalty flag, a turnover beanbag, a booth official device, and a player-worn device.
Claim 3. The method of claim 1 wherein the at least one sporting official event detection being triggered by one or more sensors of a sensor subsystem after detecting a signal exceeding a pre-defined threshold, wherein the sensor subsystem includes one or more sensors of a type from the group consisting of: a microphone, a vibration sensor, a pressure sensor, a temperature sensor, a humidity sensor, a barometric pressure sensor, a gyroscope, a magnetometer, an accelerometer, and a photoresistor.
Claim 3. The method of claim 1 wherein the sensor subsystem includes one or more sensors of a type from the group consisting of: a microphone, a vibration sensor, a pressure sensor, a temperature sensor, a humidity sensor, a barometric pressure sensor, a gyroscope, a magnetometer, an accelerometer, and a photoresistor.
Claim 4. The method of claim 1 wherein the subscriber platforms are of a type from the group consisting of: a scoreboard, a game clock, a video display or recording device, an event logging device, a console or dashboard control device, and a light array.
Claim 4. The method of claim 1 wherein the subscriber platforms are of a type from the group consisting of: a scoreboard, a game clock, a video display or recording device, an event logging device, a console or dashboard control device, and a light array.
Claim 5. The method of claim I wherein the at least one sporting official event detection corresponds to the blowing of a whistle.
Claim 5. The method of claim 1 wherein the sporting official event detection corresponds to the blowing of a whistle by the sporting official.
Claim 6. The method of claim 1wherein the signal generator further includes a local alert subsystem having one or more local alert output devices configured to alert a user of the signal generator.
Claim 6. The method of claim 1 wherein the signal generator further includes a local alert subsystem having one or more local alert output devices configured to alert the sporting official using the signal generator.
Claim 7. The method of claim 6 wherein the local alert subsystem includes one or more devices of a type from the group consisting of: light-emitting diodes (LEDs), a haptic motor to cause physical vibration of the signal generator, and a speaker to emit audible sounds.
Clam 7. The method of claim 6 wherein the local alert subsystem includes one or more devices of a type from the group consisting of: light-emitting diodes (LEDs), a haptic motor to cause physical vibration of the signal generator, and a speaker to emit audible sounds.
Claim 8. The method of claim 1 wherein the signal generator further includes a manual button with which a user can manually signal the occurrence of an event by manually pressing the button.
Claim 8. The method of claim 1 wherein the signal generator further includes a manual button with which the sporting official can manually signal the occurrence of an event by manually pressing the button.
Claim 9. The method of claim 1 further including establishing a connection with the data network wherein the connection includes a BluetoothTM Low Energy (BLE) wireless data connection.
Claim 9. (Original) The method of claim 1 wherein the connection with a data network includes a BluetoothTM Low Energy (BLE) wireless data connection.
Claim 10. The method of claim 1 further including establishing a connection with a gateway.
Claim 10. The method of claim 1 wherein establishing a connection with a data network further includes establishing a connection with a gateway.
Claim 11. The method of claim k further including configuring a message broker to maintain subscription data corresponding to topics subscribed to by the subscriber platforms.
Claim 11. The method of claim 1 wherein the message broker is configured to maintain subscription data corresponding to topics subscribed to by the subscriber platforms.
Claim 12. The method of claim 1further including configuring a message broker to perform a lookup to determine subscribers who have subscribed to topics corresponding to the received signal message.
Claim 12. The method of claim 1 wherein the signal message includes information corresponding to a timestamp, an action to be performed, a request, or a response to a request. including categorizing the signal message into one or more subscriber topics.
Claim 13. The method of claim 1 including determining which of one or more subscriber topics into which the signal message has been categorized.
Claim 13. The method of claim 1 including determining which of the one or more subscriber topics into which the signal message has been categorized.
Claim 14. The method of claim 1wherein the signal message includes information corresponding to a quality of service.
Claim 14. The method of claim 1 wherein the signal message includes information corresponding to a quality of service.
Claim 15. The method of claim 1 including determining a physical location of the signal generator using trilateration.
Claim 15. The method of claim 1 including determining a physical location of the signal generator using trilateration.
Claim 16. A system comprising:
a message broker in data communication on a data network; and
a plurality of subscriber platforms in data communication on the data network, the system configured to:
cause the message broker to receive a signal message including information indicative of at least one sporting official event detection corresponding to at least one event produced by a sporting official using a signal generator, the signal message including information indicative of at least one of a plurality of different types of sporting official events; and
cause the message broker to forward the signal message to subscribed subscriber platforms of the plurality of subscriber platforms via the data network, wherein only subscriber platforms that have subscribed to the at least one of a plurality of different types of sporting official events receive the forwarded signal message.
Claim 16. A system comprising: a data network;
a message broker in data communication on the data network;
a subscriber platform in data communication on the data network; and
a signal generator including a data processor and a network interface, in data communication with the data processor, for communication on the data network, the signal generator including a sensor subsystem, the signal generator configured to:
detect at least one event of a plurality of different types of sporting official events produced by a sporting official at a sporting activity by use of a signal generator with a data processor and a sensor subsystem, the at least one sporting official event detection of the plurality of different types of sporting official events being triggered by one or more sensors of the sensor subsystem detecting a signal exceeding a pre-defined threshold;
generate a signal message including information indicative of the at least one sporting official event detection corresponding to the at least one event produced by the sporting official using the signal generator, the signal message including information indicative of at least one of the plurality of different types of sporting official events and a location from which the sporting official event originated;
categorize the signal message into one or more subscriber topics associated with the at least one sporting official event detection, wherein each of the one or more subscriber topics corresponds to a different sporting official event of the plurality of different types of sporting official events;
establish, by use of the data processor, a connection with the data network via the network interface;
send the signal message to the message broker via the data network; and
cause the message broker to forward the signal message to the subscriber platform, wherein only subscriber platforms that have subscribed to the one or more subscriber topics into which the signal message has been categorized receive the forwarded signal message.
Claim 17. The system of claim 16 wherein the signal generator is of a type from the group consisting of: a smart whistle, a penalty flag, a turnover beanbag, a booth official device, and a player-worn device.
Claim 17. (Original) The system of claim 16 wherein the signal generator is of a type from the group consisting of: a smart whistle, a penalty flag, a turnover beanbag, a booth official device, and a player-worn device.
Claim 18. The system of claim 16 wherein the subscriber platforms are of a type from the group consisting of:
a scoreboard, a game clock, a video display or recording device, an event logging device, a console or dashboard control device, and a light array.
Claim 19. The system of claim 16 wherein the subscriber platform is of a type from the group consisting of: a scoreboard, a game clock, a video display or recording device, an event logging device, a console or dashboard control device, and a light array.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8, 10-13, 16-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over of Cronin et al. (US 20160012810 hereinafter Cronin) in view of Tejani et al. (US 20050266859 hereinafter Tejani).
With respect to claims 1 and 16, Cronin teaches a computer-implemented method comprising:
receiving a signal message including information indicative of at least one sporting official event detection corresponding to at least one event produced by a sporting official using a signal generator (Cronin, see FIG. 4 and paragraph [0042] in step 430, the whistle processor processes the received digital signal from the one or more digital whistles. The digital signal received (i.e., received signal message) from the one or more digital whistles (i.e., equivalent to signal generator) can signify one or more different reasons. The whistle processor may be capable of discerning the various reasons. For example, there may be a database associated with the whistle processor that the whistle processor can evaluate the received digital signal with),
the signal message including information indicative of at least one of a plurality of different types of sporting official events (Cronin, see paragraph [0019] the digital whistle 105 may be used by a referee 110 while the referee 110 is presiding over a particular sporting event. Much like its predecessors, the digital whistle 105 may be used to signal changes in game phases and violations of game rules. The digital whistle 105 may be a whistle that is already in use by a referee 110 presiding over sporting events currently. Paragraphs [0044, 0048] further discloses the technology can be used in a variety of different events and venues including entertainment or cultural events presented at a theater, gymnasium, stadium or other facility involving a group of people. Such events may also include a variety of sporting events); and
Cronin yet fails to explicitly disclose forwarding the signal message to subscribed subscriber platforms via a data network, wherein only subscriber platforms that have subscribed to the at least one of a plurality of different types of sporting official events receive the forwarded signal message.
However, Tejani discloses forwarding the signal message to subscribed subscriber platforms via a data network (Tejani, see FIGS. 2, 3 and paragraphs [0031-0032] signaling messages and forwarding the signaling messages to presence gateway correlator 126… step 208 where the message is forwarded to presence gateway correlator 126. Presence gateway event manager 128 receives events detected by each correlator and forwards the events relating to subscribed-to presentitie to presence server 124),
wherein only subscriber platforms that have subscribed to the at least one of a plurality of different types of sporting official events receive the forwarded signal message (Tejani, see paragraphs [0033-0034] the delivery of presence information regarding these subscribers can be expedited over conventional presence implementations where presence information is collected only for subscribed-to presentities…presence information for these entities can be readily obtained when a subscription to one of the entities occurs…detects events regarding potential presentities, and passes the events to event manager 128 (i.e., different types of events). Event manager 128 includes a database 402 of subscribed-to presentities. Subscribed-to presentities may be subscribers whose presence status is currently being monitored by another subscriber or application).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine the teaching of Cronin with the teaching of Tejani to provide the method for forwarding signal messages exclusively to subscribed platforms on a data network functions as a publish-subscribe routing system. For specific events, this method provides key advantages in network efficiency, user experience, and targeted engagement. It prevents network congestion, ensures user privacy, and allows media providers to monetize premium content through targeted, on-demand distribution.
With respect to claims 2 and 17, Cronin-Tejani teaches the method, wherein the signal generator is of a type from the group consisting of: a smart whistle, a penalty flag, a turnover beanbag, a booth official device, and a player-worn device (Cronin, see paragraphs [0019, 0027-0029] the digital whistle 105 (i.e., equivalent to smart whistle) may be used to signal changes in game phases (e.g., when a play is over) and violations of game rules (i.e., interpreted as being equivalent to a penalty flag). The digital whistle 210 incorporate some sort of notification for the referee 205 to indicate that the digital whistle 210 received the signal from the referee 205 (e.g., blowing into the whistle). This notification (i.e., local feedback) may be provided via a tone that is generated from the audible sound generator 220 of the digital whistle 210 (i.e., interpreted as being equivalent to smart whistle that is generating signal). The digital whistle 210 may provide other methods of notification (e.g., vibration, lights) that can be used to indicate that the digital whistle 210 had been blown by the referee 205. The player processor 235, is used to facilitate notifying each of the players that the digital whistle 210 has been blown. The player processor 235, may be embedded within a helmet (e.g., football helmet) used by the player. The player processor 235 may be associated with the uniform or attached to the body of the players (i.e., interpreted as being equivalent to a player-worn device )).
With respect to claims 3 and 18, Cronin-Tejani teaches the method, wherein the sensor subsystem includes one or more sensors of a type from the group consisting of: a microphone (Cronin, see paragraph [0032] the amplifier 250 may be used, in situations where the output is an audio-based signal, to amplify the output (i.e., microphone) from the signal processor 245 into a signal that can be heard by the player via speakers 255 associated with the player processor 235),
a vibration sensor, a pressure sensor (Cronin, see paragraphs[0026, 0028] Within the digital whistle 210, an actuator 215 (e.g., pressure sensor) may also be situated. The digital whistle 210 may provide other methods of notification (e.g., vibration, lights) that can be used to indicate that the digital whistle 210 had been blown by the referee 205), a temperature sensor, a humidity sensor, a barometric pressure sensor, a gyroscope, a magnetometer, an accelerometer, and a photoresistor).
With respect to claims 5 and 20, Cronin-Tejani teaches the method, wherein the at least one sporting official event detection corresponds to the blowing of a whistle (Cronin, see paragraphs [0019, 0027-0029] the digital whistle 105 may be used to signal changes in game phases (e.g., when a play is over) and violations of game rules (i.e., interpreted as being equivalent to a penalty flag). Paragraph [0041] the digital whistle may include a plurality of buttons directed at different signals that can be generated based on the situation detected. For example, one button may be pressed when a violation is detected while a different button may be pressed when a time-out/pause in the game is initiated).
With respect to claim 6, Cronin-Tejani teaches the method, wherein the signal generator further includes a local alert subsystem having one or more local alert output devices configured to alert a user of the signal generator (Cronin, see paragraphs [0028-0029, 0037] the digital whistle 210 incorporate some sort of notification (i.e., alert ) for the referee 205 to indicate that the digital whistle 210 received the signal from the referee 205 (e.g., blowing into the whistle). This notification (i.e., local feedback) may be provided via a tone that is generated from the audible sound generator 220 of the digital whistle 210).
With respect to claim 8, Cronin-Tejani teaches the method, wherein the signal generator further includes a manual button with which the sporting official can manually signal the occurrence of an event by manually pressing the button (Cronin, see FIG. 4 and paragraphs [0037-0043], the digital whistle may be activated in other ways other than the act of blowing. The digital whistle may have a corresponding button that the referee may press in order to trigger the actuators for the digital signal…where the digital whistle may include a plurality of buttons directed at different signals that can be generated based on the situation detected).
With respect to claim 10, Cronin-Tejani teaches the method, further including establishing a connection with a gateway (Tejani, FIG. 3 and paragraph [0032] presence gateway 122 includes a plurality of presence gateway correlators 126 connected to a single presence gateway event manager 128 via a LAN/WAN 300).
With respect to claim 11, Cronin-Tejani teaches the method, further including configuring a message broker to maintain subscription data corresponding to topics subscribed to by the subscriber platforms (Tejani, paragraph [0034] detects events regarding potential presentities, and passes the events to event manager 128. Event manager 128 includes a database 402 of subscribed-to presentities. Subscribed-to presentities may be subscribers whose presence status is currently being monitored by another subscriber or application).
With respect to claim 12, Cronin-Tejani teaches the method, further including configuring a message broker to perform a lookup to determine subscribers who have subscribed to topics corresponding to the received signal message (Tejani, paragraph [0034] detects events regarding potential presentities, and passes the events to event manager 128. Event manager 128 includes a database 402 of subscribed-to presentities. Subscribed-to presentities may be subscribers whose presence status is currently being monitored by another subscriber or application).
With respect to claim 13, Cronin-Tejani teaches the method, including determining which of one or more subscriber topics into which the signal message has been categorized (Tejani, paragraph [0034] detects events regarding potential presentities, and passes the events to event manager 128. Event manager 128 includes a database 402 of subscribed-to presentities. Subscribed-to presentities may be subscribers whose presence status (i.e., subscriber topics) is currently being monitored by another subscriber or application).
Claims 4 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cronin et al. (US 20160012810 hereinafter Cronin) in view of in view of Tejani et al. (US 20050266859 hereinafter Tejani) further in view of Aman et al. (US 20110173235 hereinafter Aman).
With respect to claims 4 and 19, Cronin-Tejani teaches the method, wherein the subscriber platforms are of a type from the group consisting of:
a game clock (Cronin, see FIG. 1 and paragraph [0007-0008] In some sports (e.g., football, basketball), the operation of the game clock is associated with the signals via whistles provided by the various individuals presiding over the game), and a light array (Cronin, see paragraph [0022, 0028] the player processor 130 may also provide light-based signals that can be picked up by the player 125 and surrounding players as well),
Cronin-Tejani yet fails explicitly to disclose the subscriber platforms are of a type from the group consisting of: a scoreboard, a video display or recording device, an event logging device, a console or dashboard control device.
However, Amen discloses a scoreboard, a video display or recording device, an event logging device, a console or dashboard control device (Amen, see paragraph [0179] during the sporting event, it would be typical to expect at least one manually operated game camera 270 to be collecting audio and video game recordings 120a, …including official information (scoresheet data) 210, game clock scoreboard data 230 (i.e., interpreted as being equivalent to a scoreboard) and other game activities 250, such as hits, turnovers, etc. in the sport of ice hockey. It is likewise desirable to detect or accept the related information of referee game control signals 400, including data from manually operated game officiating devices 410, such as an umpire's ball/strike/out clicker, and data representing manual game officiating movements 430, such as hand signals and penalty flags. Paragraphs [0284-0285, 0289] further discloses FIG. 11a is exemplary, and as such the session console 14 is being referred to as the scorekeeper's session console 14. … FIG. 11a, the scorekeeper ideally begins the recording and contextualization of session 1 by using screen 14-s1 to select the appropriate game from schedule).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine the teaching of Cronin-Tejani with teaching of Amen provides a method for platforms of this type are unified to act as the central hub for stadium or live-event engagement. Their primary advantage is the ability to integrate live production, scoring, and data, providing real-time synchronization to enhance the viewer experience, optimize crowd atmosphere, and generate new sponsorship revenue.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over of Cronin et al. (US 20160012810 hereinafter Cronin) in view of Tejani et al. (US 20050266859 hereinafter Tejani) further in view of Dibenedetto et al. (US 20150379351 hereinafter Dibenedetto).
With respect to claim 7, Cronin-Tejani teaches the method, yet fails explicitly to disclose wherein the local alert subsystem includes one or more devices of a type from the group consisting of: light-emitting diodes (LEDs), a haptic motor to cause physical vibration of the signal generator, and a speaker to emit audible sounds.
However, Dibenedetto discloses wherein the local alert subsystem includes one or more devices of a type from the group consisting of: light-emitting diodes (LEDs), a haptic motor to cause physical vibration of the signal generator, and a speaker to emit audible sounds (Dibenedetto, see paragraph [0060] the visual display output module 116 may include, for example, a liquid crystal display (LCD), a light-emitting diode (LED) display, or an organic light-emitting diode (OLED) display. In one embodiment, the output module 116 may be adapted to provide audio (e.g. via a speaker) and/or tactile (e.g. vibration) output in addition to or instead of visual display output).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine the teaching of Cronin-Tejani with teaching of Dibenedetto provides a method for combining LEDs, haptic motors, and speakers in a local alert subsystem is guaranteed perceptibility through sensory redundancy. Because the system engages multiple human senses sight, touch, and hearing it prevents users from missing vital alerts due to environmental distractions or sensory impairments.
Claims 9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over of Cronin et al. (US 20160012810 hereinafter Cronin) in view of Tejani et al. (US 20050266859 hereinafter Tejani) further in view of Dahlstedt (US 20220111253 hereinafter Dahlstedt).
With respect to claim 9, Cronin-Tejani teaches the method, yet fails explicitly to disclose further including establishing a connection with the data network wherein the connection includes a BluetoothTM Low Energy (BLE) wireless data connection.
However, Dahlstedt discloses further including establishing a connection with the data network wherein the connection includes a BluetoothTM Low Energy (BLE) wireless data connection (Dahlstedt, see paragraph [0071] the wireless transceiver 208 utilizes an ultra-wide band chip in order to identify precise location in a sports field using trilateration to an accuracy level greater than that which typical GPS, Bluetooth or Wifi trilateration is able to accomplish).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine the teaching of Cronin-Tejani with teaching of Dahlstedt provides a method for Establishing a connection with a data network using a Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) wireless data connection offers significant advantages. The primary benefits include exceptional energy efficiency, cost-effective hardware, simplified device discovery, and seamless mobile/IoT ecosystem integration.
With respect to claim 15, Cronin-Tejani teaches the method, yet fails explicitly to disclose including determining a physical location of the signal generator using trilateration.
However, Eisner discloses including determining a physical location of the signal generator using trilateration (Dahlstedt, see paragraph [0077] an antenna 406 is used both to send and receive signals from the tracking chip 204 or edge computing device 106 and send to the wireless transceiver 408. The signals sent between the stick devices 102 and the wireless data receivers 104 are used to determine position using a trilateration algorithm. The preferred embodiment uses identifies location using time-of-flight signal processing from ultra-wide-band transmitted signal.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine the teaching of Cronin-Tejani with teaching of Dahlstedt to provide the method for using trilateration to determine a signal generator's physical location offers massive advantages in cost, speed, and accuracy over angle-based methods like triangulation. By relying purely on distance measurements, it eliminates the need to measure precise angles, significantly lowering computational complexity and simplifying fieldwork.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cronin et al. (US 20160012810 hereinafter Cronin) in view of Tejani et al. (US 20050266859 hereinafter Tejani) further in view of Chen et al. (US 20190045207 hereinafter Chen).
With respect to claim 14, Cronin-Tejani teaches the method, yet fails explicitly to disclose wherein the signal message includes information corresponding to a quality of service.
However, Chen discloses wherein the signal message includes information corresponding to a quality of service (Chen, see paragraphs [0575-0576], the relevant sensor data may be preserved, such as by designating it with a high priority and/or quality of service (QoS) designation, and storing it on a suitable memory or storage device. Paragraphs [0612-0613] further discloses this technology could be used for a soccer sporting event to identify and/or distinguish the game ball from other nearby balls (e.g., balls that are out of play, on the sidelines, and/or in the stands), analyze the field, goal, ball in play, and player positions, and/or detect rule violations (e.g., fouls and penalties, such as an offsides player)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine the teaching of Cronin-Dahlstedt with teaching of Chen to provide the method for network signaling message includes Quality of Service (QoS) information, the primary advantage is that the network can proactively identify and prioritize critical data. This ensures real-time traffic like voice and video calls receives the necessary resources, even during congestion.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. This includes:
PG. Pub. US 20120002509 Portable system for acquisition and detection of whistle type refereeing acoustic signal for sporting event playing time control installation, has processor delivering digital refereeing signal in response to detection of refereeing signal.
PG. Pub. US 20150124568 Method for field referee officiating timed sports event, involves transmitting signal from referee to event clock controller signaling to stop event clock.
PG. Pub. US 20100102938 System for signaling users in sport event tournament with multiple alert signals, has secondary alert devices in selected field or play area in multiple field areas that receive activation signals in response to activation of whistle.
06/27/2026
/ELIZABETH KASSA/Examiner, Art Unit 2457
/ARIO ETIENNE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2457