DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 15, and 20 recites the limitation "in a case where K1 is greater than 1, the first SRS resource set is associated with a first TCI state of the K1 TCI states, and the second SRS resource set is associated with a second TCI state of the K1 TCI states; and/or in a case where the K1 TCI states only include a first TCI state,". The use of “and/or” here is illogical and obscures the scope of the claim. K1 cannot simultaneously be greater than 1 and exactly equal to 1. Because these are mutually exclusive conditions, they cannot be joined by “and”. Please amend the “and/or” to “or”.
Claims 2 and 16 recites the limitation "position information of the K1 TCI states in second indication information…wherein the second information is indication information transmitted by a network device and used at least to indicate or activate TCI states…". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. “the second information” of these two claim lacks antecedent basis because it was previously disclosed as second indication information.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-13 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhu et al. (US 20240372679 A1)
Regarding claims 1, 15 and 20 Zhu discloses:
receiving first indication information, wherein the first indication information is used to indicate a first sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set and a second SRS resource set, wherein both the first SRS resource set and the second SRS resource set are used for a codebook based or non-codebook based physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH); (Paragraph [0422], “when a UE (e.g., the UE 116) is configured with dl-OrJointTCI-StateList or TCI-UL-State and is having two indicated TCI-States or TCI-UL-States, and/or two SRS resource sets are configured in srs-ResourceSetToAddModList or srs-ResourceSetToAddModListDCI-0-2 with higher layer parameter usage in SRS-ResourceSet set to ‘codebook’ or ‘noncodebook’, the UE configured with a PUSCH transmission…”)
wherein the first SRS resource set is associated with one of K1 transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states, and the second SRS resource set is associated with one of the K1 TCI states; (Paragraph [0422], “If ‘both’ (or ‘both-1’ or ‘both-2’) TCI states are indicated, the UE should apply the first indicated TCI state to the PUSCH transmission occasion(s) or the PUSCH antenna port(s) associated with the first SRS resource set for codebook (CB)/non-codebook (NCB) transmission, and the second indicated TCI state to the PUSCH transmission occasion(s) or the PUSCH antenna port(s) associated with the second SRS resource set for CB/NCB transmission;”)
wherein the K1 TCI states are currently activated TCI states corresponding to uplink transmission, and K1 is a positive integer; (Paragraph [0115], “a UE could be indicated or could apply/use only a single TCI state/pair of TCI states for at least UE-dedicated reception on PDSCH/PDCCH or dynamic-grant/configured-grant based PUSCH or all of dedicated PUCCH resources…The UE could receive from the network a beam indication/activation MAC CE, e.g., unified TCI state activation/deactivation MAC CE, wherein the (unified) TCI states activated/provided/indicated in the MAC CE” and paragraph [0422], “when the higher layer parameter multipanelScheme is set to ‘SDMscheme’ or ‘SFNscheme’) is expected to be configured with the higher layer parameter applyIndicatedTCIState indicating the first, the second or both (or both-1 or both-2) of the indicated TCI states to be applied for the PUSCH transmission.” K1 is just an integer representing the amount of tci states involved. Therefore if multiple TCI states are involved K1 must be greater than 1.)
in a case where K1 is greater than 1, the first SRS resource set is associated with a first TCI state of the K1 TCI states, and the second SRS resource set is associated with a second TCI state of the K1 TCI states; (Paragraph [0422], “If ‘both’ (or ‘both-1’ or ‘both-2’) TCI states are indicated, the UE should apply the first indicated TCI state to the PUSCH transmission occasion(s) or the PUSCH antenna port(s) associated with the first SRS resource set for codebook (CB)/non-codebook (NCB) transmission, and the second indicated TCI state to the PUSCH transmission occasion(s) or the PUSCH antenna port(s) associated with the second SRS resource set for CB/NCB transmission;”)
and/or in a case where the K1 TCI states only include a first TCI state, the first SRS resource set and the second SRS resource set are associated with the first TCI state.
Specifically regarding claim 20 Zhu discloses:
Terminal device with processor and memory (Paragraph [0051], “the UE 116 includes antenna(s) 305, a transceiver(s) 310, and a microphone 320. The UE 116 also includes a speaker 330, a processor 340, an input/output (I/O) interface (IF) 345, an input 350, a display 355, and a memory 360.”)
Regarding claims 2 and 16 Zhu disclose:
wherein in a case where K1 is greater than 1, the first TCI state is determined based on position information of the K1 TCI states in second indication information, and/or the second TCI state is determined based on the position information of the K1 TCI states in the second indication information; (Paragraph [0165], “the UE could receive from the network, for the first time, a/the first beam indication/activation MAC CE, e.g., unified TCI state activation/deactivation MAC CE, wherein the (unified) TCI states activated/provided/indicated in the first MAC CE…each TCI state(s)/pair(s) of TCI states in the first MAC CE could be associated with an indicator, wherein the indicator could indicate whether the TCI state(s)/pair(s) of TCI states could correspond to the first TCI state/pair of TCI states, the second TCI state/pair of TCI states, and/or etc…the UE could determine/identify, based on the TCI state(s)/pair(s) of TCI states activated/indicated by/in the first MAC CE and/or the first DCI, a first applicable TCI state(s) and/or a second applicable TCI state(s) to use…” If there are multiple TCI states the indication information helps the UE determine the first appliable TCI.)
wherein the second information is indication information transmitted by a network device and used at least to indicate or activate TCI states, and TCI states indicated or activated by the second indication information include at least the K1 TCI states. (Paragraph [0165], “the UE could receive from the network, for the first time, a/the first beam indication/activation MAC CE, e.g., unified TCI state activation/deactivation MAC CE, wherein the (unified) TCI states activated/provided/indicated in the first MAC CE…each TCI state(s)/pair(s) of TCI states in the first MAC CE could be associated with an indicator, wherein the indicator could indicate whether the TCI state(s)/pair(s) of TCI states could correspond to the first TCI state/pair of TCI states, the second TCI state/pair of TCI states, and/or etc…the UE could determine/identify, based on the TCI state(s)/pair(s) of TCI states activated/indicated by/in the first MAC CE and/or the first DCI, a first applicable TCI state(s) and/or a second applicable TCI state(s) to use…” If there are multiple TCI states the indication information helps the UE determine the first appliable TCI.)
Regarding claims 3 and 17 Zhu discloses:
wherein the first TCI state is a TCI state among the K1 TCI states with a most forward position in the second indication information, (Paragraph [0166], “UE is indicated, for the first time, e.g., via the TCI field(s) in the first TCI state(s) indication DCI as specified herein in the present disclosure, a TCI codepoint comprising a single TCI state/pair of TCI states, and the indicator associated to the TCI state/pair of TCI states indicates that the TCI state/pair of TCI states corresponds to the first TCI state/pair of TCI states among all the TCI states/pairs of TCI states mapped to the same TCI codepoint…”the most forward position is the first state or pairs of TCI state.)
and/or the second TCI state is a TCI state among the K1 TCI states with a most rearward position in the second indication information;
or the first TCI state is the TCI state among the K1 TCI states with the most rearward position in the second indication information,
and/or the second TCI state is the TCI state among the K1 TCI states with the most forward position in the second indication information.
Regarding claims 4 and 18 Zhu discloses:
wherein in a case where K1 is greater than 1, an uplink transmit spatial filter or a spatial relation corresponding to the first SRS resource set is determined based on the first TCI state, (Paragraph [0345], “The UE could assume that at least the UL TX spatial filter, if applicable, for one or more applicable uplink channels including at least dynamic-grant and configured-grant based PUSCH and PUCCH, and for one or more applicable uplink signals including at least SRS applying the indicated TCI state(s), is determined/identified according to source RS(s) in one or more TCI states determined/identified according to those specified herein in the present disclosure—e.g., the initial TCI state(s) and/or the first/second (applicable) TCI state(s) determined/identified”)
and/or an uplink transmit spatial filter or spatial relation corresponding to the second SRS resource set is determined based on the second TCI state;
and/or in the case where K1 is greater than 1, an uplink transmit spatial filter or a spatial relation corresponding to a PUSCH associated with the first SRS resource set is determined based on the first TCI state and/or the first SRS resource set,
and/or an uplink transmit spatial filter or spatial relation corresponding to a PUSCH associated with the second SRS resource set is determined based on the second TCI state and/or the second SRS resource set.
Regarding claims 5 and 19 Zhu discloses:
the second indication information is carried by first MAC CE signaling; wherein the first MAC CE signaling further includes at least one of the following: serving cell indication information, downlink bandwidth part (BWP) indication information, uplink BWP indication information, one or more TCI number indication fields, one or more TCI type indication fields, or one or more TCI state indication fields. (Paragraph [0390], “the first MAC CE/the first (unified) TCI state(s) activation/deactivation MAC CE or the (unified) TCI state(s) activation/deactivation MAC CE for STRP operation or the (unified) TCI state(s) activation/deactivation MAC CE for MTRP operation as specified herein in the present disclosure could correspond to one of:” and paragraph [0391], “A (unified) TCI state(s) activation MAC CE command, used to map up to 8 TCI states and/or pairs of TCI states, with each pair comprising of one TCI state for DL channels/signals and/or one TCI state for UL channels/signals, to the codepoints of the DCI field ‘Transmission Configuration Indication’ for one or for a set of CCs/DL BWPs;”)
Regarding claim 6 Zhu discloses:
receiving first DCI, wherein the first DCI is used to schedule a first PUSCH; (Paragraph [0334], “A UE could be provided/configured/indicated by the network (e.g., the network 130), e.g., via higher layer RRC signaling/parameter and/or MAC CE command and/or dynamic DCI based L1 signaling” and paragraph [0490], “If the candidate PUSCHs that include first PUSCHs that are scheduled by DCI formats”)
and determining, according to first information, an uplink transmit spatial filter or a spatial relation corresponding to the first PUSCH; (Paragraph [0380], “The UE could also be configured/provided/indicated by the network, e.g., via higher layer RRC signaling/parameter (e.g., in the higher layer configuration of dl-OrJoint-TCIStateList or ul-TCIStateList) and/or MAC CE command and/or dynamic DCI based L1 signaling…The UE could then determine an UL TX spatial filter, if applicable, from the configured first and second TCI states for dynamic-grant and configured-grant based PUSCH and PUCCH, and SRS applying the indicated TCI state(s).” Through the DCI the indicator bit can help UE determine spatial filter for PUSCH.)
or determining, according to the first information, the uplink transmit spatial filter or the spatial relation corresponding to the first PUSCH and transmission of the first PUSCH; wherein the first information is at least one of the following: a first TCI state among the K1 TCI states, a second TCI state among the K1 TCI states, the first SRS resource set, or the second SRS resource set; (Paragraph [0380], “a first (one-bit) indicator associated to the first TCI state/pair of TCI states and a second (one-bit) indicator associated to the second TCI state/pair of TCI states.” According to the first information (the bits) the UE can determine the spatial filter.)
in a case where K1 is greater than 1, the first SRS resource set is associated with the first TCI state, and the second SRS resource set is associated with the second TCI state; (Paragraph [0422], “If ‘both’ (or ‘both-1’ or ‘both-2’) TCI states are indicated, the UE should apply the first indicated TCI state to the PUSCH transmission occasion(s) or the PUSCH antenna port(s) associated with the first SRS resource set for codebook (CB)/non-codebook (NCB) transmission, and the second indicated TCI state to the PUSCH transmission occasion(s) or the PUSCH antenna port(s) associated with the second SRS resource set for CB/NCB transmission;” Again K1 is just the amount of TCI states.)
and in a case where K1 is equal to 1 and the K1 TCI states only include the first TCI state, the first SRS resource set and the second SRS resource set are both associated with the first TCI state; (Paragraph [0422], “otherwise, the UE should apply either the ‘first’ or ‘second’ indicated TCI state to all PUSCH transmission occasions.” The UE can apply only the first indicated TCI state to all the SRS resource set/ the PUSCH antenna port(s) associated with the SRSs.)
or the first SRS resource set is associated with the first TCI state, and the second SRS resource set is not associated with any TCI state.
Regarding claim 7 Zhu discloses:
wherein determining, according to the first information, the uplink transmit spatial filter or spatial relation corresponding to the first PUSCH in the case where K1 is greater than 1 comprises: in a case where the first DCI is DCI format 0_0, determining, according to a preset TCI state in the first TCI state and the second TCI state, the uplink transmit spatial filter or spatial relation corresponding to the first PUSCH; or in the case where the first DCI is DCI format 0_0, determining, according to a TCI state indicated by a network device from the first TCI state and the second TCI state, the uplink transmit spatial filter or spatial relation corresponding to the first PUSCH. (Paragraph [0107], “For PUSCH transmission in a (single-DCI based) multi-TRP system, a UE could be configured/provided/indicated by the network via higher layer RRC signaling/parameter and/or MAC CE command and/or dynamic DCI based L1 signaling—e.g., in an UL DCI (e.g., DCI format 0_0/0_1/0_2) that schedules the PUSCH—a fourth indicator to indicate which one or more of the set of TCI states/pairs of TCI states indicated, e.g., by a TCI codepoint, in a beam indication DCI or MAC CE as specified herein in the present disclosure, to use/apply for transmitting the PUSCH(s)” and paragraph [0370], “the UE could use/apply the configured TCI state(s) as the first applicable TCI state(s), and determine an UL TX spatial filter”)
Regarding claim 8 Zhu discloses:
according to the first information, the uplink transmit spatial filter or spatial relation corresponding to the first PUSCH and the transmission of the first PUSCH in a case where K1 is greater than 1 comprises: in a case where the first DCI is DCI format 0_1 or DCI format 0_2, determining, according to the first TCI state, the first SRS resource set, the second TCI state and the second SRS resource set, the uplink transmit spatial filter or spatial relation corresponding to the first PUSCH and the transmission of the first PUSCH. (Paragraph [0107], “For PUSCH transmission in a (single-DCI based) multi-TRP system, a UE could be configured/provided/indicated by the network via higher layer RRC signaling/parameter and/or MAC CE command and/or dynamic DCI based L1 signaling—e.g., in an UL DCI (e.g., DCI format 0_0/0_1/0_2) that schedules the PUSCH—a fourth indicator to indicate which one or more of the set of TCI states/pairs of TCI states indicated, e.g., by a TCI codepoint, in a beam indication DCI or MAC CE as specified herein in the present disclosure, to use/apply for transmitting the PUSCH(s)” and paragraph [0422], “the UE should apply the first indicated TCI state…the PUSCH antenna port(s) associated with the first SRS resource set for codebook (CB)/non-codebook (NCB) transmission, and the second indicated TCI state to…the PUSCH antenna port(s) associated with the second SRS resource set for CB/NCB transmission;” and paragraph [0370], “the UE could use/apply the configured TCI state(s) as the first applicable TCI state(s), and determine an UL TX spatial filter” Through the disclosure the DCI format 0_1 and 0_2 have been used alongside the fourth indicator to help the UE determine the spatial filter corresponding to the PUSCH transmission.)
Regarding claim 9 Zhu discloses:
determining, according to second information, an uplink transmit spatial filter or a spatial relation corresponding to a second PUSCH and transmission of the second PUSCH; wherein the second PUSCH is a configured grant (CG) Type1 PUSCH, the second PUSCH corresponds to a first SRS resource and/or a second SRS resource, the first SRS resource is one of the two SRS resources, and the second SRS resource is another of the two SRS resources; and the second information is at least one of the following: a TCI state associated with the first SRS resource, a TCI state associated with the second SRS resource, the first SRS resource, or the second SRS resource. (Paragraph [0107], “For PUSCH transmission in a (single-DCI based) multi-TRP system, a UE could be configured/provided/indicated by the network via higher layer RRC signaling/parameter and/or MAC CE command and/or dynamic DCI based L1 signaling—e.g., in an UL DCI (e.g., DCI format 0_0/0_1/0_2) that schedules the PUSCH—a fourth indicator to indicate which one or more of the set of TCI states/pairs of TCI states indicated, e.g., by a TCI codepoint, in a beam indication DCI or MAC CE as specified herein in the present disclosure, to use/apply for transmitting the PUSCH(s)” and paragraph [0422], “UE configured with a PUSCH transmission corresponding to a Type 1 configured grant…is expected to be configured with the higher layer parameter applyIndicatedTCIState…the UE should apply the first indicated TCI state…the PUSCH antenna port(s) associated with the first SRS resource set for codebook (CB)/non-codebook (NCB) transmission, and the second indicated TCI state to…the PUSCH antenna port(s) associated with the second SRS resource set for CB/NCB transmission;” and paragraph [0370], “the UE could use/apply the configured TCI state(s) as the first applicable TCI state(s), and determine an UL TX spatial filter” first or second PUSCH has no patentable weight or significance. This discloses UE receiving information such as the SRS resources and TCI states to determine a spatial filter “use/apply for transmitting the PUSCH(s)” as described above).
Regarding claim 10 Zhu discloses:
wherein if the second PUSCH corresponds to the first SRS resource and the second SRS resource, the first SRS resource is associated with a first TCI state of the K1 TCI states, and the second SRS resource is associated with a second TCI state of the K1 TCI states; (Paragraph [0107], “For PUSCH transmission in a (single-DCI based) multi-TRP system, a UE could be configured/provided/indicated by the network via higher layer RRC signaling/parameter and/or MAC CE command and/or dynamic DCI based L1 signaling—e.g., in an UL DCI (e.g., DCI format 0_0/0_1/0_2) that schedules the PUSCH—a fourth indicator to indicate which one or more of the set of TCI states/pairs of TCI states indicated, e.g., by a TCI codepoint, in a beam indication DCI or MAC CE as specified herein in the present disclosure, to use/apply for transmitting the PUSCH(s)” and paragraph [0422], “the UE should apply the first indicated TCI state…the PUSCH antenna port(s) associated with the first SRS resource set for codebook (CB)/non-codebook (NCB) transmission, and the second indicated TCI state to…the PUSCH antenna port(s) associated with the second SRS resource set for CB/NCB transmission;” and paragraph [0370], “the UE could use/apply the configured TCI state(s) as the first applicable TCI state(s), and determine an UL TX spatial filter” first or second PUSCH has no patentable weight or significance. This discloses UE receiving information such as the SRS resources and TCI states to determine a spatial filter “use/apply for transmitting the PUSCH(s)” as described above).
or if the second PUSCH corresponds to the first SRS resource and the second SRS resource, the first SRS resource belongs to the first SRS resource set, the second SRS resource belongs to the second SRS resource set, the first SRS resource set is associated with a first TCI state of the K1 TCI states, and the second SRS resource set is associated with a second TCI state of the K1 TCI states, then the first SRS resource is associated with the first TCI state, and the second SRS resource is associated with the second TCI state;
or if the second PUSCH corresponds to the first SRS resource and the second SRS resource, the first SRS resource belongs to the second SRS resource set, the second SRS resource belongs to the first SRS resource set, the first SRS resource set is associated with a first TCI state of the K1 TCI states, and the second SRS resource set is associated with a second TCI state of the K1 TCI states, then the first SRS resource is associated with the second TCI state, and the second SRS resource is associated with the first TCI state.
Regarding claim 11 Zhu discloses:
according to the second information, the uplink transmit spatial filter or spatial relation corresponding to the second PUSCH and the transmission of the second PUSCH comprises: determining, according to the first TCI state, the first SRS resource, the second TCI state and the second SRS resource, the uplink transmit spatial filter or spatial relation corresponding to the second PUSCH and the transmission of the second PUSCH. (Paragraph [0107], “For PUSCH transmission in a (single-DCI based) multi-TRP system, a UE could be configured/provided/indicated by the network via higher layer RRC signaling/parameter and/or MAC CE command and/or dynamic DCI based L1 signaling—e.g., in an UL DCI (e.g., DCI format 0_0/0_1/0_2) that schedules the PUSCH—a fourth indicator to indicate which one or more of the set of TCI states/pairs of TCI states indicated, e.g., by a TCI codepoint, in a beam indication DCI or MAC CE as specified herein in the present disclosure, to use/apply for transmitting the PUSCH(s)” and paragraph [0422], “the UE should apply the first indicated TCI state…the PUSCH antenna port(s) associated with the first SRS resource set for codebook (CB)/non-codebook (NCB) transmission, and the second indicated TCI state to…the PUSCH antenna port(s) associated with the second SRS resource set for CB/NCB transmission;” and paragraph [0370], “the UE could use/apply the configured TCI state(s) as the first applicable TCI state(s), and determine an UL TX spatial filter” first or second PUSCH has no patentable weight or significance. This discloses UE receiving information such as the SRS resources and TCI states to determine a spatial filter “use/apply for transmitting the PUSCH(s)” as described above).
Regarding claim 12 Zhu discloses:
transmitting first terminal capability information; (Paragraph [0114], “the UE could report to the network a capability signaling indicating that whether the UE could be capable of supporting configuration-1 and/or configuration-2 as specified herein in the present disclosure.”)
wherein the first terminal capability information is used to indicate that the terminal device supports that Z1 unified TCI states are used for uplink transmission or uplink repeated transmission, (Paragraph [0114], “a UE could be configured/provided/indicated by the network, e.g., via higher layer RRC signaling/parameter (via/in dl-OrJoint-TCIStateList or ul-TCIStateList) and/or MAC CE command and/or dynamic DCI based L1 signaling, configuration-1: a single list/group of TCI state(s) or TCI state ID(s), and configuration-2: multiple lists/groups of TCI states or TCI state IDs…the UE could report to the network a capability signaling indicating that whether the UE could be capable of supporting configuration-1 and/or configuration-2 as specified herein in the present disclosure.” And paragraph [0116], “The UE could receive from the network a beam indication/activation MAC CE, e.g., unified TCI state activation/deactivation MAC CE, wherein the (unified) TCI states activated/provided/indicated in the MAC CE…”)
or the first terminal capability information is used to indicate that the terminal device supports that one codepoint in a transmission configuration indication field activates
or indicates at most Z1 unified TCI states for uplink transmission or uplink repeated transmission,
or the first terminal capability information is used to indicate that the terminal device supports Z1 unified TCI states for uplink transmission or uplink repeated transmission on a CG PUSCH;
and Z1 is a positive integer greater than 1. (Paragraph [0116], “The UE could receive from the network a beam indication/activation MAC CE, e.g., unified TCI state activation/deactivation MAC CE, wherein the (unified) TCI states activated/provided/indicated in the MAC CE…”)
Regarding claim 13 Zhu discloses:
wherein the first terminal capability information is reported according to at least one of the following granularities: a per band granularity, a per band combination granularity, a per band per band combination granularity, a per carrier per band per band combination granularity, a per frequency range granularity, or a per terminal granularity. (Paragraph [0114], “the capability signaling/report could indicate that the UE could not support configuration-2. Or equivalently, the UE could only support configuration-1. For another example, the capability signaling/report could indicate that the UE could support configuration-1 and/or configuration-2 as specified herein in the present disclosure.” Per terminal granularity.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu in view of Go et al. (US 20230147639 A1)
Regarding claim 14 Zhu does not disclose:
wherein the first terminal capability information is carried by one of the following: RRC signaling, and MAC CE signaling.
Go discloses:
wherein the first terminal capability information is carried by one of the following: RRC signaling, and MAC CE signaling. (Paragraph [0245], “a terminal may report terminal capability information (i.e., UE Capability information element (IE) to a base station through higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC message ‘UECapabilityInformation’).”)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhu’s UE capability report with Go. One would have been motivated to do this to increase the reliability of the information getting transmitted.
Conclusion
/NAM P. CAO/Examiner, Art Unit 2479 /JAE Y LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2479