Detailed Action
This Office action is made in response to Amendment, filed 09 June 2026 (“Reply”). Applicant has amended Claims 1 – 6, 8, 10 – 12, 14 – 16, 18 and 20; cancelled Claim 13 and added new Claim 51. As amended, Claims 1 – 12, 14 – 20 and 51 are presented for examination.
In Office action of 11 March 2026 (“Office Action”):
Claims 2, 8, 12 and 18 were objected to because of minor informalities.
Claims 1 – 20 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite.
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6, 9, 11, 13, 16, and 19 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al., US Pub. 2025/0199746 A1 (hereinafter Lee).
Claim(s) 2, 5, 8, 10, 12, 15, 18 and 20 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Lefevre et al., US Pub. 2018/0136950 A1 (hereinafter Lefevre).
Claim(s) 4 and 14 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Won et al., US Pub. 2020/0379715 A1 (hereinafter Won).
Claim(s) 7 and 17 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Ortega Pena et al., US Pub. 2025/0225817 A1 (hereinafter Ortega).
Response to Arguments - Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 and 35 USC § 103
Applicant’s arguments regarding rejections under 35 USC § 102 and 35 USC § 105 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection as presented below.
Response to Arguments - Claim Objections
Applicant has amended Claims 2, 8, 12 and 18 to correct the informalities. Therefore, the objection to Claims 2, 8, 12 and 18 is withdrawn.
Response to Arguments - Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Applicant has amended Claims 1, 4 – 5, 8, 11, 14 – 15, and 18 to correct the antecedent basis. Therefore, the rejection of Claims 1 – 20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, is withdrawn.
Claim Objections
The numbering of claims is not in accordance with 37 CFR 1.126 which requires the original numbering of the claims to be preserved throughout the prosecution. When claims are canceled, the remaining claims must not be renumbered. When new claims are presented, they must be numbered consecutively beginning with the number next following the highest numbered claims previously presented (whether entered or not).
Misnumbered claim 52 has been renumbered 51.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6, 9, 11, 16, 19 and 51 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al., US Pub. 2025/0199746 A1 (hereinafter Lee) in view of Simotas et al., US Pub. 2020/0128056 A1 (hereinafter Simotas).
In regards to Claim 1, Lee discloses a computer-implemented method, comprising:
based at least in part on received input, determining to use a temporary privacy setting for one or more devices during a time period (Lee: [0072], where a first portable device may connect to an external device and begin screen mirroring to share image data with others via the external display device; [0073], while a screen mirroring operation is performed [time period] a blurring module blurs content [temporary privacy setting] that is not to be shared along with the target content; [0075], where the viewer information acquisition module obtains viewer information [received input], e.g. number of viewers, gender of viewers, relationship of viewers to sharer, to determine the degree of blurriness to be used);
during the time period (Lee: [0073], while a screen mirroring operation is performed):
receiving a first request to play a first content item on the one or more devices (Lee: [0072], where first image data corresponding to content to be shared to others via the external display device is provided; Fig. 7A and [0106], may display target content 710 to the external display device);
based at least in part on the temporary privacy setting for the one or more devices and a characteristic of the first content item, preventing the playing of the at least a portion of the first content item at the one or more devices or playing a modified version of the first content item at the one or more devices (Lee: Fig. 7B and [0108], where unspecified content that has not been specified as content to be shared may be blurred and the blurred image data is transmitted to the external device; Fig. 7B and [0109], where the degree of blurriness for the non-shared content can be set according to button 752);
receiving a second request to play a second content item on the one or more devices (Lee: Fig. 7C and [0110], where unspecified content 730 is received and button 752 being located at the far left side of the slide bar 751 indicates that blurring is deactivated); and
based at least in part on the temporary privacy setting for the device and a characteristic of the second content item, playing the second content item (Lee: Fig. 7C and [0110], where with the button 752 being at the far left side of the slide bar [temporary privacy setting], the external display device may convert the unspecified content 730 [characteristic of the second content item] received from the first portable electronic device into the third content 760 and display the converted image data on the display). But Lee fails to explicitly disclose an input indicating a predetermined time period.
Simotas from a similar endeavor teaches in input indicating a predetermined time period, (Simotas: [0225], where a user is allowed to cast and create a streaming channel for a limited time period by controlling access to a target device. Once authorized, the user can use his source device to stream to a single device or to multiple devices in public or private spaces).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee in view of Simotas such that the screen mirroring as disclosed by Lee, (Lee: [0072]) could be allowed for a limited time period in public or private spaces, (Simotas: [0225]). This will provide improved techniques for managing media casting in a variety of environments, including public settings, (Simotas: [0070]).
Regarding Claim 3, the combined teaching of Lee and Simotas discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more devices are located in a location, and the temporary privacy setting is applicable to each of a plurality of devices present in the location during the predetermined time period (Lee: Fig. 3 and [0078], where the system may include a first portable electronic device and a portable electronic device for each viewer which may communicate via short-range wireless communication; Simotas: [0225], where a user is allowed to cast and create a streaming channel for a limited time period by controlling access to a target device).
Regarding Claim 6, the combined teaching of Lee and Simotas discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the predetermined time period associated with the temporary privacy setting corresponds to a particular event being held at a location associated with the one or more devices (Lee: [0073], where the time period occurs while a screen mirroring operation is performed; Simotas: [0225], where a user is allowed to cast and create a streaming channel for a limited time period by controlling access to a target device).
Regarding Claim 9, the combined teaching of Lee and Simotas discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the temporary privacy setting comprises a setting to treat the one or more devices as being in a public environment or as being in a private environment (Lee: Figs. 7A-7C and [0105]-[0118], where the blurriness of the unspecified content is determined by the position of button 752. If it is located on the far left side of the slide bar, then blurring for unspecified content is deactivated [being in a private environment] but as the button moves farther to the right, more blurriness is applied to the image depending on how many viewers [a public environment]).
In regards to Claim 11, Lee discloses a system comprising:
control circuitry (Lee: [0007], processing circuitry) configured to:
based at least in part on received input, determine to use a temporary privacy setting for one or more devices during a time period (Lee: [0072], where a first portable device may connect to an external device and begin screen mirroring to share image data with others via the external display device; [0073], while a screen mirroring operation is performed [time period] a blurring module blurs content [temporary privacy setting] that is not to be shared along with the target content; [0075], where the viewer information acquisition module obtains viewer information [received input], e.g. number of viewers, gender of viewers, relationship of viewers to sharer, to determine the degree of blurriness to be used);
during the time period (Lee: [0073], while a screen mirroring operation is performed):
receive a first request to play a first content item on the one or more devices (Lee: [0072], where first image data corresponding to content to be shared to others via the external display device is provided; Fig. 7A and [0106], may display target content 710 to the external display device);
based at least in part on the temporary privacy setting for the one or more devices and a characteristic of the first content item, prevent the playing of the at least a portion of the first content item at the one or more devices or playing a modified version of the first content item at the one or more devices (Lee: Fig. 7B and [0108], where unspecified content that has not been specified as content to be shared may be blurred and the blurred image data is transmitted to the external device; Fig. 7B and [0109], where the degree of blurriness for the non-shared content can be set according to button 752);
receive a second request to play a second content item on the one or more devices (Lee: Fig. 7C and [0110], where unspecified content 730 is received and button 752 being located at the far left side of the slide bar 751 indicates that blurring is deactivated); and
based at least in part on the temporary privacy setting for the device and a characteristic of the second content item, play the second content item (Lee: Fig. 7C and [0110], where with the button 752 being at the far left side of the slide bar [temporary privacy setting], the external display device may convert the unspecified content 730 [characteristic of the second content item] received from the first portable electronic device into the third content 760 and display the converted image data on the display). But Lee fails to explicitly disclose an input indicating a predetermined time period.
Simotas from a similar endeavor teaches in input indicating a predetermined time period, (Simotas: [0225], where a user is allowed to cast and create a streaming channel for a limited time period by controlling access to a target device. Once authorized, the user can use his source device to stream to a single device or to multiple devices in public or private spaces).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee in view of Simotas such that the screen mirroring as disclosed by Lee, (Lee: [0072]) could be allowed for a limited time period in public or private spaces, (Simotas: [0225]). This will provide improved techniques for managing media casting in a variety of environments, including public settings, (Simotas: [0070]).
Regarding Claim 16, the combined teaching of Lee and Simotas discloses the system of claim 11, wherein the predetermined time period associated with the temporary privacy setting corresponds to a particular event being held at a location associated with the one or more devices (Lee: [0073], where the time period occurs while a screen mirroring operation is performed; Simotas: [0225], where a user is allowed to cast and create a streaming channel for a limited time period by controlling access to a target device).
Regarding Claim 19, the combined teaching of Lee and Simotas discloses the system of claim 11, wherein the temporary privacy setting comprises a setting to treat the one or more devices as being in a public environment or as being in a private environment (Lee: Figs. 7A-7C and [0105]-[0118], where the blurriness of the unspecified content is determined by the position of button 752. If it is located on the far left side of the slide bar, then blurring for unspecified content is deactivated [being in a private environment] but as the button moves farther to the right, more blurriness is applied to the image depending on how many viewers [a public environment]).
In regards to Claim 52, Lee discloses a computer-implemented method, comprising:
receiving data comprising an electronic message indicating a scheduled event in an environment (Lee: Fig. 3 and [0078], where the system may include a first portable electronic device and a portable electronic device for each viewer which may communicate via short-range wireless communication);
based at least in part on the data, determining to use a temporary privacy setting for one or more devices in the environment during a time period of the scheduled event (Lee: [0072], where a first portable device may connect to an external device and begin screen mirroring to share image data with others via the external display device; [0073], while a screen mirroring operation is performed [time period] a blurring module blurs content [temporary privacy setting] that is not to be shared along with the target content; [0075], where the viewer information acquisition module obtains viewer information [received input], e.g. number of viewers, gender of viewers, relationship of viewers to sharer, to determine the degree of blurriness to be used);
during the time period (Lee: [0073], while a screen mirroring operation is performed):
receiving a first request to play a first content item on the one or more devices (Lee: [0072], where first image data corresponding to content to be shared to others via the external display device is provided; Fig. 7A and [0106], may display target content 710 to the external display device);
based at least in part on the temporary privacy setting for the one or more devices and a characteristic of the first content item, preventing play of at least a portion of the first content item at the one or more devices or playing a modified version of the first content item at the one or more devices (Lee: Fig. 7B and [0108], where unspecified content that has not been specified as content to be shared may be blurred and the blurred image data is transmitted to the external device; Fig. 7B and [0109], where the degree of blurriness for the non-shared content can be set according to button 752);
receiving a second request to play a second content item on the one or more devices (Lee: Fig. 7C and [0110], where unspecified content 730 is received and button 752 being located at the far left side of the slide bar 751 indicates that blurring is deactivated); and
based at least in part on the temporary privacy setting for the one or more devices and a characteristic of the second content item, playing the second content item (Lee: Fig. 7C and [0110], where with the button 752 being at the far left side of the slide bar [temporary privacy setting], the external display device may convert the unspecified content 730 [characteristic of the second content item] received from the first portable electronic device into the third content 760 and display the converted image data on the display). But Lee fails to explicitly disclose a scheduled event in an environment.
Simotas from a similar endeavor teaches a scheduled event in an environment (Simotas: [0019], where in public spaces, a user can pair his device with media playback devices in a conference hall or exhibition area for casting a presentation, where the casting is controlled by network rules constructed in accordance with a presentation schedule).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee in view of Simotas such that the screen mirroring as disclosed by Lee, (Lee: [0072]) could be allowed for a limited time period in public or private spaces, (Simotas: [0225]). This will provide improved techniques for managing media casting in a variety of environments, including public settings, (Simotas: [0070]).
Claim(s) 2, 5, 8, 10, 12, 15, 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Simotas as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Lefevre et al., US Pub. 2018/0136950 A1 (hereinafter Lefevre).
Regarding Claim 2, the combined teaching of Lee and Simotas discloses the method of claim 1. But the combined teaching of Lee and Simotas fails to explicitly disclose, wherein one or more devices are included in a plurality of devices located in a home network, and the temporary privacy setting is applicable to each of the plurality of devices connected to the home network during the time period.
Lefevre from a similar endeavor teaches wherein one or more devices are included in a plurality of devices located in a home network, and the temporary privacy setting is applicable to each of the plurality of devices connected to the home network during the time period (Lefevre: [0044], where the settings include parental controls and relationships of users can be determined including, for example, a parental relationship of Steve to Cathy. The time period includes a period when children and/or adults and children are in the room).
Because people have different preferences when it comes to settings on their device and those preferences may change, there is a need for a device that will automatically change settings depending on the user, (Lefevre: [0003] and [0005]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined teaching of Lee and Simotas in view of Lefevre such that the settings of a home appliance, such as a TV will be automatically adjusted based on who is present in the room, (Lefevre: [0005]).
Regarding Claim 5, the combined teaching of Lee and Simotas discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first request is received from a second device of the one or more devices based on the second device attempting to cast or stream the first content item to a first device of the one or more devices (Lee: [0072], where a first portable device may connect to an external device and begin screen mirroring to share image data with others via the external display device). But the combined teaching of Lee and Simotas fails to explicitly disclose the method comprises preventing the at least a portion of the first content item from being played at the first device via the casting or streaming based on comparing a parental control rating of the first content item to a parental control rating associated with the temporary privacy setting.
Lefevre from a similar endeavor teaches the method comprises preventing the at least a portion of the first content item from being played at the first device via the casting or streaming based on comparing a parental control rating of the first content item to a parental control rating associated with the temporary privacy setting (Lefevre: [0044], where if there is a child in the room, parental controls settings are automatically applied and objectionable content is blocked and prevented from being played).
Because people have different preferences when it comes to settings on their device and those preferences may change, there is a need for a device that will automatically change settings depending on the user, (Lefevre: [0003] and [0005]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined teaching of Lee and Simotas in view of Lefevre such that the settings of a home appliance, such as a TV will be automatically adjusted based on who is present in the room, (Lefevre: [0005]).
Regarding Claim 8, the combined teaching of Lee and Simotas discloses the method of claim 1, wherein, during the time period, the first request comprises requesting to access the stored first content item (Lee: [0072], where first image data corresponding to content to be shared to others via the external display device is provided; Fig. 7A and [0106], may display target content 710 to the external display device), the method further comprising:
prior to the time period, receiving a third request to store the first content item (Lee: [0014], where content can be stored in memory as the unspecified content is stored in memory);
playing the modified version of the first content item at the one or more devices by retrieving a first subset of a plurality of portions of the first content item stored content associated with the temporary privacy setting (Lee: Fig. 7B and [0108], where unspecified content that has not been specified as content to be shared may be blurred and the blurred image data is transmitted to the external device; Fig. 7B and [0109], where the degree of blurriness for the non-shared content can be set according to button 752). But the combined teaching of Lee and Simotas fails to explicitly teach that complies with a parental control rating and preventing retrieval of a second subset of the plurality of portions of the first content item that do not comply with the parental control rating associated with the temporary privacy setting.
Lefevre from a similar experience teaches that complies with a parental control rating (Lefevre: [0044], where if there is a child in the room, parental controls settings are automatically applied and objectionable content is blocked and prevented from being played) and
preventing retrieval of a second subset of the plurality of portions of the first content item that do not comply with the parental control rating associated with the temporary privacy setting (Lefevre: [0044], where if there is a child in the room, parental controls settings are automatically applied and objectionable content is blocked and prevented from being played).
Because people have different preferences when it comes to settings on their device and those preferences may change, there is a need for a device that will automatically change settings depending on the user, (Lefevre: [0003] and [0005]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined teaching of Lee and Simotas in view of Lefevre such that the settings of a home appliance, such as a TV will be automatically adjusted based on who is present in the room, (Lefevre: [0005]).
Regarding Claim 10, the combined teaching of Lee and Simotas discloses the method of claim 1. But the combined teaching of Lee and Simotas fails to explicitly disclose, wherein the received input indicates a type of event is to occur during the time period, and the temporary privacy setting is set during the time period based on the type of event indicated in the received input.
Lefevre from a similar endeavor teaches wherein the received input indicates a type of event is to occur during the time period, and the temporary privacy setting is set during the time period based on the type of event indicated in the received input (Lefevre: [0044], where if there is a child in the room [type of event], parental controls settings are automatically applied and objectionable content is blocked and prevented from being played).
Because people have different preferences when it comes to settings on their device and those preferences may change, there is a need for a device that will automatically change settings depending on the user, (Lefevre: [0003] and [0005]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined teaching of Lee and Simotas in view of Lefevre such that the settings of a home appliance, such as a TV will be automatically adjusted based on who is present in the room, (Lefevre: [0005]).
Regarding Claim 12, the combined teaching of Lee and Simotas discloses the system of claim 11. But the combined teaching of Lee and Simotas fails to explicitly disclose, wherein one or more devices are included in a plurality of devices located in a home network, and the temporary privacy setting is applicable to each of the plurality of devices connected to the home network during the time period.
Lefevre from a similar endeavor teaches wherein one or more devices are included in a plurality of devices located in a home network, and the temporary privacy setting is applicable to each of the plurality of devices connected to the home network during the time period (Lefevre: [0044], where the settings include parental controls and relationships of users can be determined including, for example, a parental relationship of Steve to Cathy. The time period includes a period when children and/or adults and children are in the room).
Because people have different preferences when it comes to settings on their device and those preferences may change, there is a need for a device that will automatically change settings depending on the user, (Lefevre: [0003] and [0005]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined teaching of Lee and Simotas in view of Lefevre such that the settings of a home appliance, such as a TV will be automatically adjusted based on who is present in the room, (Lefevre: [0005]).
Regarding Claim 15, the combined teaching of Lee and Simotas discloses the system of claim 11, wherein the first request is received from a second device of the one or more devices based on the second device attempting to cast or stream the first content item to a first device of the one or more devices (Lee: [0072], where a first portable device may connect to an external device and begin screen mirroring to share image data with others via the external display device). But the combined teaching of Lee and Simotas fails to explicitly disclose the control circuitry is further configured to prevent the at least a portion of the first content item from being played at the first device via the casting or streaming based on comparing a parental control rating of the first content item to a parental control rating associated with the temporary privacy setting.
Lefevre from a similar endeavor teaches the control circuitry is further configured to prevent the at least a portion of the first content item from being played at the first device via the casting or streaming based on comparing a parental control rating of the first content item to a parental control rating associated with the temporary privacy setting (Lefevre: [0044], where if there is a child in the room, parental controls settings are automatically applied and objectionable content is blocked and prevented from being played).
Because people have different preferences when it comes to settings on their device and those preferences may change, there is a need for a device that will automatically change settings depending on the user, (Lefevre: [0003] and [0005]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined teaching of Lee and Simotas in view of Lefevre such that the settings of a home appliance, such as a TV will be automatically adjusted based on who is present in the room, (Lefevre: [0005]).
Regarding Claim 18, the combined teaching of Lee and Simotas discloses the system of claim 11, wherein during the time period, the first request comprises requesting to access the stored first content item (Lee: [0072], where first image data corresponding to content to be shared to others via the external display device is provided; Fig. 7A and [0106], may display target content 710 to the external display device), and the control circuitry is further configured to:
prior to the time period, receive a third request to store the first content item (Lee: [0014], where content can be stored in memory as the unspecified content is stored in memory); and
play the modified version of the first content item at the one or more devices by retrieving a first subset of a plurality of portions of the first content item stored content associated with the temporary privacy setting (Lee: Fig. 7B and [0108], where unspecified content that has not been specified as content to be shared may be blurred and the blurred image data is transmitted to the external device; Fig. 7B and [0109], where the degree of blurriness for the non-shared content can be set according to button 752). But the combined teaching of Lee and Simotas fails to explicitly teach that complies with a parental control rating and prevent retrieval of a second subset of the plurality of portions of the first content item that do not comply with the parental control rating associated with the temporary privacy setting.
Lefevre from a similar experience teaches that complies with a parental control rating (Lefevre: [0044], where if there is a child in the room, parental controls settings are automatically applied, and objectionable content is blocked and prevented from being played) and
prevent retrieval of a second subset of the plurality of portions of the first content item that do not comply with the parental control rating associated with the temporary privacy setting (Lefevre: [0044], where if there is a child in the room, parental controls settings are automatically applied and objectionable content is blocked and prevented from being played).
Because people have different preferences when it comes to settings on their device and those preferences may change, there is a need for a device that will automatically change settings depending on the user, (Lefevre: [0003] and [0005]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined teaching of Lee and Simotas in view of Lefevre such that the settings of a home appliance, such as a TV will be automatically adjusted based on who is present in the room, (Lefevre: [0005]).
Regarding Claim 20, the combined teaching of Lee and Simotas discloses the system of claim 11. But the combined teaching of Lee and Simotas fails to explicitly disclose, wherein the received input indicates a type of event is to occur during the time period, and the temporary privacy setting is set during the time period based on the type of event indicated in the received input.
Lefevre from a similar endeavor teaches wherein the received input indicates a type of event is to occur during the time period, and the temporary privacy setting is set during the time period based on the type of event indicated in the received input (Lefevre: [0044], where if there is a child in the room [type of event], parental controls settings are automatically applied and objectionable content is blocked and prevented from being played).
Because people have different preferences when it comes to settings on their device and those preferences may change, there is a need for a device that will automatically change settings depending on the user, (Lefevre: [0003] and [0005]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee in view of Lefevre such that the settings of a home appliance, such as a TV will be automatically adjusted based on who is present in the room, (Lefevre: [0005]).
Claim(s) 4 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Simotas as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Won et al., US Pub. 2020/0379715 A1 (hereinafter Won).
Regarding Claim 4, the combined teaching of Lee and Simotas discloses the method of claim 1. But the combined teaching of Lee and Simotas does not explicitly disclose, wherein the first request is a request to play audio at a first device of the one or more devices via a Bluetooth connection with a second device of the one or more devices, and the method comprises preventing the at least a portion of the first content item from being played at the first device via the Bluetooth connection with the second device based on comparing a parental control rating of the first content item to a parental control rating associated with the temporary privacy setting.
Won from a similar endeavor teaches wherein the first request is a request to play audio at a first device of the one or more devices via a Bluetooth connection with a second device of the one or more devices, and the method comprises preventing the at least a portion of the first content item from being played at the first device via the Bluetooth connection with the second device based on comparing a parental control rating of the first content item to a parental control rating associated with the temporary privacy setting (Won: [0288], where with a determination that a parental control setting on the electronic device is a first setting, the electronic device replaces one or more portions of lyrics with one or more visual indications that the one or more portions of the lyrics are not permitted to be displayed pursuant to parental controls indicating to block explicit lyrics; Fig. 5B and [0170], where personal electronic devices are connected to components in the system by using, for example, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, NFC, an/or other wireless communication techniques).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined teaching of Lee and Simotas in view of Won such that users are able to view information about content playing on an electronic device which improves the user’s experience with the device, (Won: [0004]). Won also allows parental control settings to personalize the user experience, (Won: [0238]).
Regarding Claim 14, the combined teaching of Lee and Simotas discloses the system of claim 11. But the combined teaching of Lee and Simotas does not explicitly disclose, wherein the first request is a request to play audio at a first device of the one or more devices via a Bluetooth connection with a second device of the one or more devices, and the control circuitry is further configured to prevent the at least a portion of the first content item from being played at the first device via the Bluetooth connection with the second device based on comparing a parental control rating of the first content item to a parental control rating associated with the temporary privacy setting.
Won from a similar endeavor teaches wherein the first request is a request to play audio at a first device of the one or more devices via a Bluetooth connection with a second device of the one or more devices, and the control circuitry is further configured to prevent the at least a portion of the first content item from being played at the first device via the Bluetooth connection with the second device based on comparing a parental control rating of the first content item to a parental control rating associated with the temporary privacy setting (Won: [0288], where with a determination that a parental control setting on the electronic device is a first setting, the electronic device replaces one or more portions of lyrics with one or more visual indications that the one or more portions of the lyrics are not permitted to be displayed pursuant to parental controls indicating to block explicit lyrics; Fig. 5B and [0170], where personal electronic devices are connected to components in the system by using, for example, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, NFC, an/or other wireless communication techniques).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined teaching of Lee and Simotas in view of Won such that users are able to view information about content playing on an electronic device which improves the user’s experience with the device, (Won: [0004]). Won also allows parental control settings to personalize the user experience, (Won: [0238]).
Claim(s) 7 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Simotas as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Ortega Pena et al., US Pub. 2025/0225817 A1 (hereinafter Ortega).
Regarding Claim 7, the combined teaching of Lee and Simotas discloses the method of claim 1. But the combined teaching of Lee and Simotas does not explicitly disclose, further comprising, based on receiving the first request from a requesting device of the one or more devices and comparing a parental control rating of the first content item to a parental control rating associated with the temporary privacy setting, providing a notification to the requesting device indicating that the parental control rating of the first content item exceeds the parental control rating associated with the temporary privacy setting, and recommending one or more content items compatible with the parental control rating associated with the temporary privacy setting.
Ortega from a similar endeavor teaches based on receiving the first request from a requesting device of the one or more devices and comparing a parental control rating of the first content item to a parental control rating associated with the temporary privacy setting, providing a notification to the requesting device indicating that the parental control rating of the first content item exceeds the parental control rating associated with the temporary privacy setting, and recommending one or more content items compatible with the parental control rating associated with the temporary privacy setting (Ortega: [0118], where the system identifies the presence of an adult an a child and triggers a parental control policy that allows children to use the television during night hours while filtering inappropriate content; [0119], where they system recommends appropriate content according to the parental controls).
Because smart home technology is advancing at a rapid pace, users can interact with smart home devices in many ways, (Ortega: [0002]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined teaching of Lee and Simotas in view of Ortega to allow content suggestions that are in accordance with parental control settings to be verbally communicated to users, (Ortega: [0119]). This increases ease of use and convenience for viewers.
Regarding Claim 17, the combined teaching of Lee and Simotas discloses the system of claim 11. But the combined teaching of Lee and Simotas does not explicitly disclose, wherein the control circuitry is further configured to, based on receiving the first request from a requesting device of the one or more devices and comparing a parental control rating of the first content item to a parental control rating associated with the temporary privacy setting, provide a notification to the requesting device indicating that the parental control rating of the first content item exceeds the parental control rating associated with the temporary privacy setting, and recommend one or more content items compatible with the parental control rating associated with the temporary privacy setting.
Ortega from a similar endeavor teaches based on receiving the first request from a requesting device of the one or more devices and comparing a parental control rating of the first content item to a parental control rating associated with the temporary privacy setting, provide a notification to the requesting device indicating that the parental control rating of the first content item exceeds the parental control rating associated with the temporary privacy setting, and recommend one or more content items compatible with the parental control rating associated with the temporary privacy setting (Ortega: [0118], where the system identifies the presence of an adult an a child and triggers a parental control policy that allows children to use the television during night hours while filtering inappropriate content; [0119], where they system recommends appropriate content according to the parental controls).
Because smart home technology is advancing at a rapid pace, users can interact with smart home devices in many ways, (Ortega: [0002]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined teaching of Lee and Simotas in view of Ortega to allow content suggestions that are in accordance with parental control settings to be verbally communicated to users, (Ortega: [0119]). This increases ease of use and convenience for viewers.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Scherzinger et al., US Pub. 2013/0066962 A1 teach that a server computer may be programmed to provide a public circle for a specific time period, i.e. school graduation ceremonies, TV annual awards ceremonies, sports competitions, etc., such that the public circle is temporary, meaning that posting contents to the circle has a definitive end date. All users share content that is visible to all users, ([0124]).
Hassan et al., US Pub. 2021/0183336 A1 teach that content sharing herein refers to a piece of content on a first device is shared with another device and can include content casting, ([0235]). To cast content from one device to another, the devices may be paired. When pairing devices, the privacy of users is protected via biometric authentication and a temporary biometric template may be used for a short period of time, ([0089]).
Huang, CN 117278789 A teaches a screen picture sharing method such that when displaying the target screen picture on the screen of the target terminal, determining whether the target screen picture is the screen picture to be protected by privacy and if it is determined to be the screen picture to be protected by privacy, encrypting the privacy information in the target screen picture to obtain the encrypted screen picture, (Abstract).
Xiaoxian et al., EP 3190763 A1 teach screen sharing by establishing a connection used for screen sharing and sending the shareable image data to the receiving device by using the connection, where the screen sharing device may send shareable image data to only a receiving device, thereby decreasing security problems caused by screen sharing, (Abstract).
Chowdhury et al., US Pub. 2018/0007433 A1 teach mirroring content from a display which is often used in public or semi-private situations such as a display in a mall, store or other public area, ([0003], [0017] and [0028]). Inappropriate content is not permitted to be displayed thus preventing viewing of undesired content by sensitive viewers/listeners, ([0018]).
Thiyagarajan, EP 3123705 B1 teaches obfuscation of sensitive information during screen sharing of a user’s device with a customer support agent, ([0009]).
Singh et al., US Pub. 2025/0307467 A1 teach that during a screen share session sensitive information depicted on the screen is identified and modifying the video such that the sensitive information is masked, ([0004]).
Lee et al., EP 4564834 A1 teach blurring image of sensitive information during a screen sharing session, ([0004]).
Examiner’s Note: The Examiner has cited paragraphs or columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested by the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/CYNTHIA M FOGG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2421