Detailed Action
This is a Final Office action in response to communications received on 6/25/2026. Claims 1, 7 and 8 were amended. Claims 9 and 10 were added. Claims 1-10 are pending and are examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments, filed 6/25/2026, to claim(s) 1, 7 and 8 correcting the claims to recite “the algorithm” is sufficient to overcome the rejection to the aforementioned claim(s). Accordingly, the rejection of claim(s) 1-8 under 112, second paragraph, as filed in (5) of the Non-Final Office action filed 3/25/2026 is withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 of the claims under Andrew (US 20020019935 A1), in view of Baptist (US 20170034273 A1) have been considered, and are found unpersuasive.
Applicant argues on page(s) 11-13 of the Remarks, filed 6/25/2026, the cited prior art fail to teach or suggest the claimed invention. However, Examiner respectfully disagrees. Andrew teaches offering a selection of encryption methods ([0074]) for communicating information in a network device ([0040]) (i.e., plurality of choices for an algorithm used for cryptographic communication). Baptist teaches, in [0033], that “compliance with certain regulations may drive which algorithms are used, for example, when running in a FIPS-140-2 complaint mode, certain hash functions may be mandated over others”. A person of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to require or mandate certain cryptographic algorithms depending on the FIPS compliancy mode of the system.
The remaining arguments fail to comply with 37 C.F.R. 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
Consequently, the rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 103 is sustained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andrew (US 20020019935 A1), in view of Baptist (US 20170034273 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Andrew teaches the limitations of claim 1 substantially as follows:
An information processing apparatus in which an application for managing information of a network device and an operating system are executed, the information processing apparatus comprising: one or more memories storing instructions, and one or more processors capable of executing the instructions causing the information processing apparatus: (Andrew; [0032]: the computer system includes a processor connected to a memory having an operating system)
to cause the application to perform a process for providing a plurality of choices for an algorithm used for cryptographic communication; and (Andrew; [0074]: the user is able to choose from among available algorithms to select an algorithm having greater or less security (i.e., providing a plurality of choices for an algorithm used for cryptographic communication))
to cause the application to set the algorithm selected in response to the provision as at least one setting of communication with the network device of a plurality of settings of the application, (Andrew; [0075]: the user (or an administrator) can choose a given encryption/decryption algorithm for all files by default, on a per-file or per-directory basis, and so on. (i.e., set an algorithm selected in response to the provision as settings of communication with the network device) Once saved, information stored with the encrypted file can identify which algorithm was used to encrypt the data)
Andrew does not teach the limitations of claim 1 as follows:
wherein a combination of the plurality of choices provided in the process by the application differs between when the operating system is not operating in an FIPS 140 mode and when the operating system is operating in the FIPS 140 mode of FIPS 140-3.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Baptist discloses the limitations of claim 1 as follows:
wherein a combination of the plurality of choices provided in the process by the application differs between when the operating system is not operating in an FIPS 140 mode and when the operating system is operating in the FIPS 140 mode of FIPS 140-3. (Baptist; [0033]: the selection of the algorithm may be based on which is most optimized for the computing architecture used by the DST execution unit to perform the encoding. At other times, external policies, such as compliance with certain regulations may drive which algorithms are used, for example, when running in a FIPS-140-2 complaint mode, certain hash functions may be mandated over others (i.e., a combination of the plurality of choices provided in the process by the application differs between when the operating system is not operating in an FIPS 140 mode and when the operating system is operating in the FIPS 140 mode of FIPS 140-3))
Baptist is combinable with Andrew because all are from the same field of endeavor of encryption algorithm selection. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Andrew to incorporate operating mode compliant encryption algorithm selection as in Baptist in order to improve the system by restricting available encryption algorithms to those which are compliant with the mode of operation for predictable results.
Regarding claim 2, Andrew and Baptist teach the limitations of claim 1.
Andrew and Baptist teach the limitations of claim 2 as follows:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of choices provided in the process by the application does not include SHA1 when the operating system is operating in the FIPS 140 mode of FIPS 140-3, and wherein the plurality of choices provided in the process by the application includes SHA1 when the operating system is not operating in the FIPS 140 mode of FIPS 140-3. (Andrew; [0078]: A preferred FIPS cryptographic module runs as a kernel mode export driver and encapsulates several different cryptographic algorithms in a cryptographic module that is accessible by other kernel mode drivers and can be linked into other kernel mode services (e.g., to permit the use of FIPS 140-1 Level 1 compliant cryptography) (i.e., FIPS compliance of cryptographic algorithms depending on FIPS level))
Regarding claim 3, Andrew and Baptist teach the limitations of claim 2.
Andrew and Baptist teach the limitations of claim 3 as follows:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the plurality of choices provided in the process by the application includes at least two of SHA2-256, SHA2-384, and SHA2-512 when the operating system is operating in the FIPS 140 mode of FIPS 140-3. (Andrew; [0078]: A preferred FIPS cryptographic module runs as a kernel mode export driver and encapsulates several different cryptographic algorithms in a cryptographic module that is accessible by other kernel mode drivers and can be linked into other kernel mode services (e.g., to permit the use of FIPS 140-1 Level 1 compliant cryptography) (i.e., FIPS compliance of cryptographic algorithms depending on FIPS level and selection of stronger/weaker encryption algorithms))
Regarding claim 4, Andrew and Baptist teach the limitations of claim 1.
Andrew and Baptist teach the limitations of claim 4 as follows:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the case in which the operating system is not operating in the FIPS 140 mode of FIPS 140-3 includes a case in which the operating system is operating in the FIPS 140 mode of FIPS 140-2. (Andrew; [0078]: A preferred FIPS cryptographic module runs as a kernel mode export driver and encapsulates several different cryptographic algorithms in a cryptographic module that is accessible by other kernel mode drivers and can be linked into other kernel mode services (e.g., to permit the use of FIPS 140-1 Level 1 compliant cryptography) (i.e., permit use of different FIPS levels))
Regarding claim 5, Andrew and Baptist teach the limitations of claim 4.
Andrew and Baptist teach the limitations of claim 5 as follows:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the plurality of choices provided in the process by the application includes at least one of SHA2-256, SHA2-384, and SHA2-512 in addition to SHA1 when the operating system is operating in the FIPS 140 mode of FIPS 140-2. (Andrew; [0078]: A preferred FIPS cryptographic module runs as a kernel mode export driver and encapsulates several different cryptographic algorithms in a cryptographic module that is accessible by other kernel mode drivers and can be linked into other kernel mode services (e.g., to permit the use of FIPS 140-1 Level 1 compliant cryptography) (i.e., FIPS compliance of cryptographic algorithms depending on FIPS level and selection of stronger/weaker encryption algorithms))
Regarding claim 6, Andrew and Baptist teach the limitations of claim 1.
Andrew and Baptist teach the limitations of claim 6 as follows:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the instructions further cause the information processing apparatus to cause the application to determine whether the operating system is operating in the FIPS 140 mode of FIPS 140-3, and wherein it is determined that the operating system is operating in the FIPS 140 mode of FIPS 140-3 when an exception occurs at the time of performing a process of a predetermined algorithm using a library of the operating system. (Baptist; [0033]: external policies, such as compliance with certain regulations may drive which algorithms are used (i.e., appropriate algorithms are enforced based on the mode of compliance))
The same motivation to combine as in claim 1 is applicable to the instant claim.
Regarding claim 7, Andrew teaches the limitations of claim 7 substantially as follows:
A method that is performed by an information processing apparatus in which an application for managing information of a network device and an operating system are executed, the method comprising: (Andrew; [0032]: the computer system includes a processor connected to a memory having an operating system)
causing the application to perform a process for providing a plurality of choices for an algorithm used for cryptographic communication; and (Andrew; [0074]: the user is able to choose from among available algorithms to select an algorithm having greater or less security (i.e., providing a plurality of choices for an algorithm used for cryptographic communication))
causing the application to set the algorithm selected in response to the provision as at least one setting of communication with the network device of a plurality of settings of the application, (Andrew; [0075]: the user (or an administrator) can choose a given encryption/decryption algorithm for all files by default, on a per-file or per-directory basis, and so on. (i.e., set an algorithm selected in response to the provision as settings of communication with the network device) Once saved, information stored with the encrypted file can identify which algorithm was used to encrypt the data)
Andrew does not teach the limitations of claim 7 as follows:
wherein a combination of the plurality of choices provided in the process by the application differs between when the operating system is not operating in an FIPS 140 mode and when the operating system is operating in the FIPS 140 mode of FIPS 140-3.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Baptist discloses the limitations of claim 7 as follows:
wherein a combination of the plurality of choices provided in the process by the application differs between when the operating system is not operating in an FIPS 140 mode and when the operating system is operating in the FIPS 140 mode of FIPS 140-3. (Baptist; [0033]: the selection of the algorithm may be based on which is most optimized for the computing architecture used by the DST execution unit to perform the encoding. At other times, external policies, such as compliance with certain regulations may drive which algorithms are used, for example, when running in a FIPS-140-2 complaint mode, certain hash functions may be mandated over others (i.e., a combination of the plurality of choices provided in the process by the application differs between when the operating system is not operating in an FIPS 140 mode and when the operating system is operating in the FIPS 140 mode of FIPS 140-3))
Baptist is combinable with Andrew because all are from the same field of endeavor of encryption algorithm selection. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Andrew to incorporate operating mode compliant encryption algorithm selection as in Baptist in order to improve the system by restricting available encryption algorithms to those which are compliant with the mode of operation for predictable results.
Regarding claim 8, Andrew teaches the limitations of claim 8 substantially as follows:
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium configured to store a computer program to control an information processing apparatus in which an application for managing information of a network device and an operating system are executed, wherein the computer program comprises instructions for executing the following processes: (Andrew; [0032]: the computer system includes a processor connected to a memory having an operating system)
causing the application to perform a process for providing a plurality of choices for an algorithm used for cryptographic communication; and (Andrew; [0074]: the user is able to choose from among available algorithms to select an algorithm having greater or less security (i.e., providing a plurality of choices for an algorithm used for cryptographic communication))
causing the application to set the algorithm selected in response to the provision as at least one setting of communication with the network device of a plurality of settings of the application, (Andrew; [0075]: the user (or an administrator) can choose a given encryption/decryption algorithm for all files by default, on a per-file or per-directory basis, and so on. (i.e., set an algorithm selected in response to the provision as settings of communication with the network device) Once saved, information stored with the encrypted file can identify which algorithm was used to encrypt the data)
Andrew does not teach the limitations of claim 8 as follows:
wherein a combination of the plurality of choices provided in the process by the application differs between when the operating system is not operating in an FIPS 140 mode and when the operating system is operating in the FIPS 140 mode of FIPS 140-3.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Baptist discloses the limitations of claim 8 as follows:
wherein a combination of the plurality of choices provided in the process by the application differs between when the operating system is not operating in an FIPS 140 mode and when the operating system is operating in the FIPS 140 mode of FIPS 140-3. (Baptist; [0033]: the selection of the algorithm may be based on which is most optimized for the computing architecture used by the DST execution unit to perform the encoding. At other times, external policies, such as compliance with certain regulations may drive which algorithms are used, for example, when running in a FIPS-140-2 complaint mode, certain hash functions may be mandated over others (i.e., a combination of the plurality of choices provided in the process by the application differs between when the operating system is not operating in an FIPS 140 mode and when the operating system is operating in the FIPS 140 mode of FIPS 140-3))
Baptist is combinable with Andrew because all are from the same field of endeavor of encryption algorithm selection. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Andrew to incorporate operating mode compliant encryption algorithm selection as in Baptist in order to improve the system by restricting available encryption algorithms to those which are compliant with the mode of operation for predictable results.
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andrew (US 20020019935 A1), in view of Baptist (US 20170034273 A1), as applied to independent claims, further in view of Nakai (US 10073663 B2).
Regarding claim 9, Andrew and Baptist teach the limitations of claim 1.
Andrew and Baptist do not teach the limitations of claim 9 as follows:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the process for providing the plurality of choices includes providing a plurality of choices for an authentication algorithm used for SNMPv3 communication with the network device.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Nakai discloses the limitations of claim 9 as follows:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the process for providing the plurality of choices includes providing a plurality of choices for an authentication algorithm used for SNMPv3 communication with the network device. (Nakai; Col. 12, Line 61 – Col. 13, Line 2: A setting item 507 is used for setting up an authentication algorithm for authenticating in SNMPv3 communication corresponding to the user name in the setting item 506. The user is able to select it from “No setting”, “MD5”, and “SHA1” in a pulldown setting)
Nakai is combinable with Andrew and Baptist because all are from the same field of endeavor of encryption algorithm selection. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified system of Andrew and Baptist to incorporate provision of SNMPv3 communication as in Nakai in order to expand to functionality of the system to incorporate multiple authentication and encryption methods.
Regarding claim 10, Andrew and Baptist teach the limitations of claim 6.
Andrew and Baptist do not teach the limitations of claim 10 as follows:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the predetermined algorithm is SHA1, and wherein the information processing apparatus determines that the operating system is operating in the FIPS 140 mode of FIPS 140-3 when an exception occurs in response to performing a SHA1 hash calculation using the library of the operating system.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Nakai discloses the limitations of claim 10 as follows:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the predetermined algorithm is SHA1, and wherein the information processing apparatus determines that the operating system is operating in the FIPS 140 mode of FIPS 140-3 when an exception occurs in response to performing a SHA1 hash calculation using the library of the operating system. (Nakai; Col. 12, Line 61 – Col. 13, Line 2: A setting item 507 is used for setting up an authentication algorithm for authenticating in SNMPv3 communication corresponding to the user name in the setting item 506. The user is able to select it from “No setting”, “MD5”, and “SHA1” in a pulldown setting)
Nakai is combinable with Andrew and Baptist because all are from the same field of endeavor of encryption algorithm selection. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified system of Andrew and Baptist to incorporate provision of SNMPv3 communication as in Nakai in order to expand to functionality of the system to incorporate multiple authentication and encryption methods.
Prior Art Considered But Not Relied Upon
Kettlewell (US 20250217519 A1) which teaches configuration settings of an HSM can control which cryptographic algorithms can be executed by the HSM.
Cordray (US 9077611 B2) which teaches an applicable management policy which is identified by a device; and the identified policy is used to manage at least one aspect of the network's operation.
Conclusion
For the above-stated reasons, claims 1-10 are rejected.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BLAKE I NARRAMORE/Examiner, Art Unit 2438