DETAILED ACTION
________________________________________
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed December 13, 2024, and March 2, 2026, have been reviewed. Citation of a reference on an information disclosure statement is not a determination that the reference is prior art or that it is material to patentability.
________________________________________
References Used
Reference 1 (Primary) - JPS6329813A.
Reference 2 - US20210139250A1.
Reference 3 - JP2003345439A.
Reference 4 - JP2012133760A.
________________________________________
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. 103
The factual inquiries set forth in Graham v. John Deere Co., 383 U.S. 1, 148 USPQ 459 (1966), are: (1) determining the scope and content of the prior art; (2) ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue; (3) resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art; and (4) considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim 1 - Reference 1 in view of Reference 4
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 4.
Claim Text
(L1) An article transport facility, comprising: a plurality of transport vehicles each configured to move along a predetermined path and transport an article; and a control system configured to control the plurality of transport vehicles, and
(L2) wherein: the path comprises a junction at which two pre-junction sections are merged into one post-junction section,
(L3) the two pre-junction sections comprise a first pre-junction section and a second pre-junction section, the first pre-junction section having more entry-waiting transport vehicles waiting to enter the junction than the second pre-junction section, and
(L4) the control system is configured to perform an entry permission issuing process of giving an entry permission to enter the junction to X entry-waiting transport vehicles among the entry-waiting transport vehicles in the first pre-junction section,
(L5) wherein X = N1 - N2 + M, where X is the number of entry-waiting transport vehicles receiving the entry permission, N1 is a first number indicative of the number of the entry-waiting transport vehicles in the first pre-junction section, N2 is a second number indicative of the number of entry-waiting transport vehicles in the second pre-junction section, and M is an adjustment number as a numeral of 0 or more.
Analysis
(L1) Reference 1 discloses a factory-automation transport facility having guided transport vehicles 102 and a ground computer 105 that controls the vehicles. (L2) Figure 3 shows incoming tracks 301 and 302 merging at junction 303 into merging area 310 and continuing through exit 311. (L3) Reference 1's traffic-volume calculation and storage means 106 calculates traffic on each incoming track during a latest fixed time period, and main-line/branch-line determination means 107 designates the higher-traffic track as the main line when the traffic ratio or difference exceeds a threshold. Reference 1 does not determine that designation from the current numbers of entry-waiting vehicles N1 and N2. Reference 4 is Sumitomo Electric Industries, Ltd.'s road traffic-signal lag-phase control at a four-way intersection. It compares opposing eastbound and westbound right-turn waiting counts, not counts in two pre-junction sections merging into one post-junction path. Using Me for the eastbound right-turn waiting count and Mw for the westbound right-turn waiting count, S15 tests Me - Mw and S18 tests Mw - Me. (L4) Reference 1's progress-control instruction determining means 108 sequentially gives proceed instructions to vehicles on the selected main line while holding the branch line, and its merge-area lock admits vehicles one at a time through merging area 310. Reference 4's S16 and S19 determine the applicable added lag-phase green time as (Me - Mw) * C or (Mw - Me) * C, where C corresponds approximately to the time for one vehicle to turn through the intersection. Its output is added green time, not a discrete automated guided vehicle permission count. Using that directional difference as the number of Reference 1 sequential proceed instructions is an analogous-art combination from road-signal right-turn lag control to a factory two-into-one merge lock. (L5) In the combined system, the applicable larger-minus-smaller current count difference supplies D = N1 - N2. Implementing that difference as the number of Reference 1's sequential proceed instructions yields X = D. This is the claimed permitted embodiment X = N1 - N2 + M with M set to 0. The conversion from Reference 4's added green-time calculation to Reference 1's discrete sequential permission quota is an obviousness inference rather than an express disclosure or anticipation.
Motivation
It would have been obvious, as an analogous-art combination, to use Reference 4's opposing-right-turn waiting-count difference to control the number of sequential proceed instructions issued by Reference 1. Both controls allocate vehicle access through a conflict region in response to competing inflows. Reference 1 selects a preferred factory inflow from traffic accumulated during a recent time window, but that historical measure can differ from the vehicles presently waiting at the merge. Reference 4 teaches responding to a current road-intersection right-turn imbalance and assigning added green time in proportion to the number of excess waiting vehicles. Applying that difference calculation to Reference 1's existing one-vehicle-at-a-time factory merge lock would predictably reduce the larger current queue while retaining Reference 1's collision-avoidance control. The combination uses the count difference, not Reference 4's road geometry or its time output, as the input to Reference 1's sequential permission mechanism.
Claim 2 - Reference 1 in view of Reference 4 and further in view of Reference 3
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 4 and further in view of Reference 3.
Claim Text
(L6) The article transport facility according to claim 1, wherein: the control system is configured to, if N1 = N2 in performing the entry permission issuing process, add at least 1 to M and give the entry permission to X entry-waiting transport vehicles among the entry-waiting transport vehicles in that one of the two pre-junction sections which satisfies a predetermined condition.
Analysis
(L6) Claim 2 depends from claim 1 and carries the combination of References 1 and 4 mapped above. When N1 = N2, Reference 4's subtraction does not select between the inflows. Reference 3 supplies a genuine predetermined equal-priority rule in timetable rule 3: when vehicles seek to enter a two-entrance junction zone simultaneously, priority is given to the vehicle entering from the track parallel to the post-merging track. Applying that geometric condition selects one of the equal-count pre-junction sections. It would also have been an obvious control parameterization to assign a positive minimum adjustment M, such as 1, in that tie state, so that X = 0 + M is at least 1 for the section selected by Reference 3's rule. Reference 3 supplies the section-selection condition; the positive minimum adjustment implements the claimed nonzero permission result in the combined controller.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to add Reference 3's deterministic geometric priority to the equal-count state of the References 1 and 4 controller. All three references coordinate automated transport traffic at junctions. A positive minimum permission coupled to Reference 3's express tie rule avoids an unresolved equal-priority state and predictably advances traffic through the same collision-controlled merge.
Claim 3 - Reference 1 in view of Reference 4 and further in view of Reference 2
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 4 and further in view of Reference 2.
Claim Text
(L6) The article transport facility according to claim 1, wherein: the control system performs at least one of determination on which one of the two pre-junction sections corresponds to the first pre-junction section or calculation of X based on corrected numbers of entry-waiting transport vehicles, the corrected numbers comprising N1 and N2 so corrected as to be larger as respective lengths of the two pre-junction sections are smaller.
Analysis
(L6) Claim 3 depends from claim 1 and carries the combination of References 1 and 4 mapped above. Reference 2 does not itself produce corrected N1 and N2 or use them to calculate a merge-permission count. It teaches the narrower length-sensitive congestion measure used in the combination: paragraph 0047 divides the number of article transport vehicles in a link by the maximum number of vehicles that may be present in that link and explains that the resulting density represents congestion while taking path length into account; paragraph 0048 uses that density in control; and paragraph 0058 confirms the inverse relationship between the corrected measure and link length. Applying that count-to-capacity measure to the current waiting counts compared under Reference 4 gives a larger congestion measure for the same number of waiting vehicles on the shorter incoming section. The combined controller uses those length-sensitive measures to determine which pre-junction section has the greater current congestion before Reference 4's difference logic determines the Reference 1 sequential-release quota.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to apply Reference 2's link-capacity density measure when the References 1 and 4 controller compares incoming sections of unequal length. Reference 2 addresses the same automated article-transport network and teaches that raw vehicle counts become comparable congestion measures when normalized by the maximum number of vehicles that fit in a link. Using that known measure for the incoming-section comparison predictably prevents a short, nearly full section from appearing less congested merely because it accommodates fewer vehicles.
Claim 4 - Reference 1 in view of Reference 4 and further in view of Reference 3
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 4 and further in view of Reference 3.
Claim Text
(L6) The article transport facility according to claim 1, wherein: in a case where X has a value exceeding a predetermined entry upper limit value, the control system performs the entry permission issuing process with use of the entry upper limit value instead of X.
Analysis
(L6) Claim 4 depends from claim 1 and carries the combination of References 1 and 4 mapped above. Reference 3 paragraph 0032 assigns each transport-path zone a predetermined allowable number of vehicles. Timetable rule 2 requires that no more than that allowable number enter a zone at the same time and holds an excess entrant in the preceding zone. Applying that express zone cap to the sequential permission quota X calculated by the References 1 and 4 controller uses the predetermined allowable number as the entry upper limit whenever X exceeds it.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to cap the References 1 and 4 release quota at Reference 3's predetermined allowable zone count. The references coordinate multiple automated transport vehicles through controlled junction areas, and Reference 3's express rule predictably prevents over-occupancy while permitting as many prioritized vehicles as the controlled zone can accept.
Claim 5 - Reference 1 in view of Reference 4 and further in view of Reference 3
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 4 and further in view of Reference 3.
Claim Text
(L6) The article transport facility according to claim 1, wherein: the control system acquires information on an entry-permittable number indicative of the number of transport vehicles allowed to enter the post-junction section, and in a case where X has a value exceeding the entry-permittable number, the control system performs the entry permission issuing process with use of a value equal to or less than the entry-permittable number instead of X.
Analysis
(L6) Claim 5 depends from claim 1 and carries the combination of References 1 and 4 mapped above. Reference 3 paragraph 0032 and timetable rule 2 establish the allowable vehicle number for a downstream control zone and prohibit admissions that would exceed it. In the combined controller, subtracting the vehicles already present or committed to the post-junction zone from that allowable number provides the entry-permittable number. If the References 1 and 4 quota X is larger, the controller issues no more permissions than the remaining allowable number and holds the balance upstream as Reference 3 directs. The remaining-capacity calculation is inferential from Reference 3's express occupancy cap and admission rule.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to condition the References 1 and 4 releases on Reference 3's downstream-zone availability. Reference 3 teaches holding vehicles upstream when admitting them would exceed the next zone's permitted occupancy. Applying that known capacity check predictably avoids transferring a queue into the post-junction section and preserves flow through the merge.
________________________________________
Claim Disposition
Canceled Claims: None.
Rejected Claims - 35 U.S.C. 103: 1-5.
Objected-to Claims: None.
Allowed Claims: None in present form.
________________________________________
Conclusion
WO2010035411A1 was reviewed but not used because it teaches alternating predetermined-count batch release at a guided-vehicle merge without comparing the two current waiting counts or calculating the claimed count difference.
JPH11161331A was reviewed but not used because it senses current vehicle counts on multiple inflow routes and controls merge permission, but it does not compute a difference-based permission quota and is less complete than the References 1 and 4 combination.
/Jason C Smith/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615