DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,210,316. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both recite the same limitations except this application does not claim a sheet guide portion in claim 1 and is therefore considered to be broader than claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,210,316. Patent claims 2-15 are anticipated by claims 2-11 of U.S. Patent 12,210,316.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6, 9-11, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakazawa et al. (US Pub. 2015/0010322.)
Regarding claims 1, Nakazawa discloses an image forming apparatus 100 for forming an image on a sheet, the image forming apparatus comprising: a rotatable image bearing member 3 configured to bear a toner image; a transfer roller 61 configured to transfer the toner image from the rotatable image bearing member onto the sheet (par. 0063, fig. 1); a fan 350; and a duct 430 extending in a parallel direction to a shaft direction of the transfer roller (see fig. 2), wherein the duct includes an inflow port (see W1 inflow to duct 430a, fig. 2) on a first end side (front side) of the duct in the parallel direction and is configured to guide, from the first end side (front side) to a second end side (rear side) of the duct, air that has flowed into the duct through the inflow port, wherein the duct further includes, in an area 40a opposing the transfer roller (see fig. 14), a first opening portion 40a that is provided at a position closer to the first end side (opening 40a near the right end side, fig. 9) than to the second end side (left end side), and a second opening portion 40a that is provided at a position closer to the second end side (opening 40a near the left end side, fig. 9) than to the first end side (right end side), in the parallel direction (Y1 to Y2 direction, fig. 9) , and wherein the air supplied to the duct by the fan through the inflow port passes through the first opening portion and the second opening portion (fig. 13), and is supplied to the transfer roller (fig. 14.)
Regarding claims 2 and 10, Nakazawa discloses wherein the transfer roller is rotatable while being in contact with the rotatable image bearing member (par. 0073.)
Regarding claims 3 and 11, Nakazawa discloses wherein a first end of the duct 405 (fig. 9) is located at a position farther from a second end of the duct 406 (fig. 9) than a first end of the transfer roller (405 is closer to transfer roller 61 than second end 406, fig. 9, fig. 14) in the parallel direction, and the second end of the duct 406 is located at a position farther from the first end 405 of the duct than a second end of the transfer roller 61 in the parallel direction (fig. 9, fig. 14.)
Regarding claims 6 and 14, Nakazawa discloses wherein each of the first opening portion and the second opening portion has two or more holes 40a (fig. 9.)
Regarding claim 9, Nakazawa further discloses wherein air supplied into the image forming apparatus by the fan passes the transfer roller and enters into the duct through the first opening (air is supplied from image forming unit to the first duct, par. 0011.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakazawa et al. in view of Yabuki et al. (US Pub. 2018/0239298.)
Nakazawa does not disclose the duct further includes a sheet guide portion of which an outer surface forms a part of a conveyance path for conveying the sheet.
Yabuki discloses an image forming apparatus 100 (fig. 1A) having a duct 413 with an outer surface 411 to form as a part for conveying a sheet (par. 0024, fig. 2A, 2B.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the claimed outer surface, as disclosed by Yabuki, since such use of the duct outer surface configuration for conveying the sheet is well known in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 7-8, 13, and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 5 and 13, the prior art does not disclose or suggest the image forming apparatus of claims 4 and 12, respectively, and wherein the sheet guide portion is located upstream of the transfer roller in a conveyance direction of the sheet.
Regarding claims 7 and 15, the prior art does not disclose or suggest the image forming apparatus of claims 6 and 14, respectively, and wherein a total area of the two or more holes of the second opening portion is larger than a total area of the two or more holes of the first opening portion.
Regarding claim 8, the prior art does not disclose or suggest the image forming apparatus of claim 1 and wherein the duct further includes a slope portion configured to guide, toward the second opening portion or the first opening portion, the air that has flowed into the duct through the inflow port.
Conclusion
/HOANG X NGO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852