DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 17, 29 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryoo et al (US 2014/0,329,551; hereinafter Ryoo) in view of Vajapeyam et al (US 2017/0,013,570; hereinafter Vajapeyam).
Regarding claim 1 and 29, Ryoo disclose a user equipment (UE 300/1200; Fig. 12) and method, comprising:
one or more inherent memories storing processor executable code; and one or more inherent processors (e.g. controller; ¶ [0198]) coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
receive first control signaling (e.g. RRC message) that indicates a plurality of power headroom parameters comprising one or more power headroom thresholds (e.g. Ch-PH-Threshold), one or more power headroom variation thresholds, one or more timer values (Ch-PH-Timer) associated respectively with one or more power headroom values, or any combination thereof (paras. [0014], [0076]-[0077], table 1; Figs. 3A, 3B); and
transmit, to a network entity (302, 304), a power headroom report based at least in part on a first power headroom satisfying a trigger condition associated one of the plurality of power headroom parameters (paras. [0017], [0078]-[0079], clm. 11). Ryoo do not explicitly disclose
one or more memories storing processor executable code; and one or more inherent processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to perform the method steps. In the same field of endeavor, Vajapeyam disclose a UE (115-b) one or more memories (915) storing processor executable code; and one or more processors (905) coupled with the one or more memories (915) and individually or collectively operable to execute the code (Fig. 9; paras. [0126]-[0127]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so in order to provide the notoriously old and well-known structure components of a UE that store a program which execute the program by a generic processor to cause the user equipment to perform the method steps.
Regarding claim 17 and 30, Ryoo disclose a network entity and method comprising: an inherent processor (e.g. controller; ¶ [0198]) to
output first control signaling that indicates a plurality of power headroom parameters comprising one or more power headroom thresholds, one or more power headroom variation thresholds, one or more timer values associated respectively with one or more power headroom values, or any combination thereof (paras. [0014], [0076]-[0077], table 1; Figs. 3A, 3B); and obtain a power headroom report based at least in part on a first power headroom satisfying a trigger condition associated with one of the plurality of power headroom parameters (paras. [0017], [0078]-[0079], clm. 9, 19). Ryoo do not explicitly disclose the network entity comprising: one or more memories storing processor executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to perform the above method steps. In the same field of endeavor, Vajapeyam disclose a network entity (105-c; Fig. 11), comprising: one or more memories (1115) storing processor executable code; and one or more processors (1105) coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to perform the method steps (¶ [0136]-[0138], [0140]; Fig. 11). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so in order to provide the notoriously old and well-known structure components of a base station that store a program which execute the program by a generic processor to cause the base station to perform the above method steps.
Claims 2 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryoo et al (US 2017/0,013,570) in view of Vajapeyam et al (US 2017/0,013,570) further in view of Li et al (US 2026/0,040,233; hereinafter Li).
Regarding claim 2 and 18, Ryoo and Vajapeyam disclose the UE and network entity of claim 1 and 17 respectively, wherein they do not disclose the first power headroom is a predicted power headroom determined by the UE. In the same field of endeavor, Li teach the first power headroom is a predicted power headroom determined by the UE (paras. [0043], [0048], [0090]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so in order for the UE to provide an expected PHR based on a set of conditions, e.g. a path loss calculated using a predicted channel metric of a reference signal (Li; ¶ [0090]).
Claims 3 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryoo et al (US 2017/0,013,570) in view of Vajapeyam et al (US 2017/0,013,570) further in view of Persson et al (CN 102,907,132; hereinafter Persson).
Regarding claim 3 and 19, Ryoo and Vajapeyam disclose the UE and network entity of claim 1 and 17 respectively, wherein they do not disclose each of the one or more power headroom variation thresholds is associated with a respective power headroom value. In the same field of endeavor, Persson teach wherein each of the one or more power headroom variation thresholds is associated with a respective power headroom value (¶ [0015]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so to provide a real integer number/value which corresponds with the power headroom changeable threshold as a well-known and obvious threshold setting feature.
Claims 4 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryoo et al (US 2017/0,013,570) in view of Vajapeyam et al (US 2017/0,013,570) further in view of Pu et al (US 2023/0,101,796; hereinafter Pu).
Regarding claim 4 and 20, Ryoo and Vajapeyam disclose the UE and network entity of claim 1 and 17 respectively, wherein they do not disclose the one or more power headroom variation thresholds comprise a relative power headroom variation threshold. In the same field of endeavor, Pu teach the one or more power headroom variation thresholds comprise a relative power headroom variation threshold (¶ [0154]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so in order to have one of the power headroom variation threshold provide a preset/reference power headroom variation threshold to compare to each of the other power headroom variation thresholds since coding relative thresholds is common knowledge in the art.
Claims 6-8 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryoo et al (US 2017/0,013,570) in view of Vajapeyam et al (US 2017/0,013,570) further in view of Jung et al (US 2012/0,184,221; hereinafter Jung).
Regarding claim 6 and 21, Ryoo and Vajapeyam disclose the UE and network entity of claim 1 and 17 respectively, wherein they do not disclose the one or more timer values associated respectively with the one or more power headroom values comprise one or more periodic timer values associated respectively with the one or more power headroom values or one or more prohibit timer values associated respectively with the one or more power headroom values. In the same field of endeavor, Jung disclose the one or more timer values associated respectively with the one or more power headroom values comprise one or more periodic timer values associated respectively with the one or more power headroom values or one or more prohibit timer values associated respectively with the one or more power headroom values (prohibit timer values t1 and t2 are associated respectively with current power headroom values; steps 806, 807, 809, and 810; Figs. 8, 9; paras. [0044]-[0051]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so in order to provide adaptation of timers based on the power headroom number/value in the triggered power headroom report.
Regarding claim 7 and 22, Ryoo and Vajapeyam disclose the UE and network entity of claim 1 and 17 respectively, wherein they do not disclose the one or more timer values associated respectively with the one or more power headroom values comprise a look up table or a mapping function. In the same field of endeavor, Jung disclose the power headroom values comprise a look up table or a mapping function (mapping timer values t1, t2, or t to respective current power headroom values; steps 806, 807, 809, 810, 904, 905, 908, 909; Figs. 8, 9). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so in order to correspond the timer value with the respective current power headroom value in the PHR for more accurate results.
Regarding claim 8, Ryoo and Vajapeyam disclose the UE and network entity of claim 1 and 17 respectively, wherein, they do not disclose to transmit the power headroom report, the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: determine one of the one or more timer values based at least in part on the first power headroom; and transmit the power headroom report based at least in part on the trigger condition comprising an expiration of the one of the one or more timer values. In the same field of endeavor, Jung teach determine one of the one or more timer values based at least in part on the first power headroom; and transmit the power headroom report based at least in part on the trigger condition comprising an expiration of the one of the one or more timer values (Fig. 8, paras. [0018]-[0019]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so in order to activate the condition of when to send the PHR to the network, e.g. as a result of the end the timers, wherein the timers are calculated in accordance with the power headroom values.
Claims 9 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryoo et al (US 2017/0,013,570) in view of Vajapeyam et al (US 2017/0,013,570) further in view of El Hamss et al (US 2023/0,327,934).
Regarding claim 9 and 23, Ryoo and Vajapeyam disclose the UE and network entity of claim 1 and 17 respectively, wherein they do not disclose the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive second control signaling that indicates one or more parameters for prediction of an uplink grant. In the same field of endeavor, El Hamss disclose receive second control signaling that indicates one or more parameters for prediction of an uplink grant (¶ [0134]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so in order to establish prior uplink grant allocation.
Claims 13-14 and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryoo et al (US 2017/0,013,570) in view of Vajapeyam et al (US 2017/0,013,570) further in view of Raghavan (US 2022/0,408,376).
Regarding claim 13 and 24, Ryoo and Vajapeyam disclose the UE and network entity of claim 1 and 17 respectively, wherein they do not disclose the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit assistance information that indicates a prediction capability or a set of UE power headroom parameters associated with the power headroom report. In the same field of endeavor, Raghavan disclose a UE transmit assistance information that indicates a prediction capability or a set of UE power headroom parameters associated with the power headroom report (¶ [0005]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so in order for the user equipment and base station to perform a communication based on the PHR parameter (Raghavan, ¶ [0088]).
Regarding claim 14 and 25, Ryoo, Vajapeyam, and Raghavan disclose the UE and network entity of claim 1 and 17 respectively, wherein the plurality of power headroom parameters are based at least in part on the prediction capability or the set of UE power headroom parameters (the UE also receive power headroom parameters sent from the base station; Raghavan; ¶ [0048]).
Claims 14 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryoo et al (US 2017/0,013,570) in view of Vajapeyam et al (US 2017/0,013,570) in view of Raghavan (US 2022/0,408,376) further in view of Liu et al (WO 2024,067,507).
Regarding claim 14 and 25, Ryoo, Vajapeyam, and Raghavan disclose the UE and network entity of claim 1 and 17 respectively, wherein they do not explicitly disclose the plurality of power headroom parameters are based at least in part on the prediction capability or the set of UE power headroom parameters. In the same field of endeavor, Liu disclose the plurality of power headroom parameters are based at least in part on the prediction capability or the set of UE power headroom parameters (Fig. 5A; pg. 23, lines 6-43). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so in order for the network device to provide power headroom parameters based on the power headroom report capability reporting.
Claims 15-16 and 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryoo et al (US 2017/0,013,570) in view of Vajapeyam et al (US 2017/0,013,570) further in view of Ahn et al (2013/0,100,925; hereinafter Ahn).
Regarding claim 15 and 26, Ryoo and Vajapeyam disclose the UE and network entity of claim 1 and 17 respectively, wherein they do not disclose the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive second control information that indicates a request for the power headroom report. In the same field of endeavor, Ahn disclose the UE receive second control information that indicates a request for the power headroom report (Fig. 12; ¶ [0016]-[0017], [0150]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so in order for the base station to ask for the PHR based on a triggering condition at the base station (Ahn; ¶ [0020], [0131]).
Regarding claim 16 and 27, Ryoo and Vajapeyam disclose the UE and network entity of claim 1 and 17 respectively, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive second control information that indicates a request to enable a predicted power headroom. In the same field of endeavor, Ahn disclose the UE receive second control information that indicates a request to enable a predicted power headroom (¶ [0016], [0109]; Fig. 12). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so in order for the network device to send a request for the UE to calculate the power headroom based on the received request.
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryoo et al (US 2017/0,013,570) in view of Vajapeyam et al (US 2017/0,013,570) further in view of Kwon et al (US 2012/0,083,309).
Regarding claim 28, Ryoo and Vajapeyam disclose the network entity of claim 17, wherein they do not explicitly disclose the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to: output second control information that indicates a modification to the plurality of power headroom parameters based at least in part on the power headroom report. In the same field of endeavor, Kwon disclose the base station output second control information that indicates a modification to the plurality of power headroom parameters based at least in part on the power headroom report (¶ [0230]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so in order to transmit control information for power coordination based on the UE PHR (Kwon; abstract).
Allowable Subject Matter
4. Claims 5 and 10-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 5, Ryoo and Vajapeyam disclose the UE of claim 1, wherein, to transmit the power headroom report, the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit the power headroom report based at least in part on the trigger condition comprising a power headroom variation satisfying the one or more power headroom variation thresholds, wherein the power headroom variation is based at least in part on the first power headroom determined at a first time and a second power headroom determined at a second time.
Regarding claim 10, Ryoo and Vajapeyam disclose the UE of claim 1, wherein the cited prior art fails to further disclose or fairly suggest to transmit the power headroom report, the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: predict an uplink grant; and transmit the power headroom report based at least in part on the trigger condition associated with the uplink grant.
Regarding claim 11, the cited prior art fails to further disclose or fairly suggest the UE of claim 10, wherein the trigger condition comprises the uplink grant being associated with the first power headroom being less than the one or more power headroom thresholds.
Regarding claim 12, the cited prior art fails to further disclose or fairly suggest the UE of claim 10, wherein the trigger condition comprises the uplink grant being associated with a power headroom variation being greater than the one or more power headroom variation thresholds and the power headroom variation is based at least in part on the first power headroom determined at a first time and a second power headroom determined at a second time.
Conclusion
/LANA N LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648