DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 01/30/2025 and 06/23/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Contactless Peer-to-Peer Wireless Charging.
The use of the term “Bluetooth” (see, e.g., ¶0086), “WiFi”, “IoT”, “Blu-Ray”, “Linux”, “Microsoft”, and “Unix”, which are trade names or marks used in commerce, have been noted in this application. The terms should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Elshafie, (U.S. P.G. Publication No. 20230141393 A1), [hereinafter Elshafie].
Regarding claim 1, Elshafie discloses a client device (UE -user equipment- 120, like smartphone 120e of Fig. 1 and third sentence of par. [0043]), comprising:
a processor ("processor (e.g. the controller/processor 280)", last sentence of
par. [0058]);
a memory ("memory", last sentence of par. [0058]) communicatively coupled to the processor (a processor (e.g., the controller/processor 280) and the memory 282 to perform aspects of any of the methods described herein [0058]), wherein the memory comprises
a charging management logic that is configured to (a processor (e.g., the controller/processor 280) and the memory 282 to perform aspects of any of the methods described herein [0058]):
transmit a charging ability indication (the nodes which will act as transmitters must be identified, said identification based on e.g. capability for transferring a certain amount of energy, third sentence of par. [0123], first sentence of par. [0126] and whole par. [0129]; this requires that the potential transmitter devices must transfer data about said capability, as confirmed by par. [0127], which indicates another UE as potential receiver of said capability information);
receive a charging association request from a peer device based on the charging ability indication (after the UE has sent the capability according to the previous parenthesis, the cluster of nodes to be used as transmitters can be identified by the node UE to act as receiver, see first sentence of par. [0134]; it is implicitly required that the UE to act as receiver and which selects other UE(s) to act as transmitter(s), indicate said other UE(s) the command that they are going to act -or the request of whether they can act- as transmitters; also the last sentence of par. [0135] explicitly refers to a request to the cluster of UEs to act as transmitters, and whole par. [0137] to an instruction in the same direction, in both cases request and instruction issued from the network node -equivalent to the access point of the present application-, but it must be kept in mind that the management of the power transmission can be performed by said network node or by the receiving UE too as mentioned with respect to the first sentence of par. [0133]; in case said management is performed by the receiving UE, then it is implicit that the request to the transmitting UEs must be issued by said receiving UE);
establish a charging session with the peer device based on the charging association request (the UE may transmit, to the network node, an indication of a best node from the list of different combinations of nodes, where the best node may be capable of providing a best target power, charging rate, charging time, maximum charging transmit power, etc., as compared to other nodes. The network node may select the cluster of nodes based at least in part on the indication of potential clusters of nodes, as received from the UE; [0134]); and
transmit, based on the established charging session, one or more charging frames to the peer device ([0139] As shown by reference number 1206, the UE may harvest energy from the signals for charging a battery of the UE. For example, the UE may generate energy from the signals received from the cluster of nodes. The UE may use the energy to charge a battery of the UE. As a result, the UE may harvest energy from the cluster of nodes, which may be located relatively close to the UE and capable of charging the UE. See also, [0081] and [0088]).
Regarding claim 2, Elshafie discloses all the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. Elshafie also discloses wherein the charging management logic is further configured to:
detect whether a power level of the client device is greater than or equal to a power level threshold value ([0127] In some aspects, the UE and/or the network node may receive, from a node in the cluster of nodes, an indication of a capability of the node (i.e., a threshold). The UE and/or the network node may receive the indication of the capability of the node via L1, L2, or L3 signaling. The indication of the capability of the node may indicate an offer of a target power for the UE, an offer of a charging rate, an offer of a charging time, and/or an offer of a maximum charging transmit power within a time period.);
switch the client device to a charge provider mode based on the power level of the client device being greater than or equal to the power level threshold value, wherein the charging ability indication is transmitted based on the switching to the charge provider mode ([0131] Further, the node may continually update the maximum power offered for energy harvesting, based at least in part on changes to a power headroom of the node. [0139] As shown by reference number 1206, the UE may harvest energy from the signals for charging a battery of the UE. For example, the UE may generate energy from the signals received from the cluster of nodes. The UE may use the energy to charge a battery of the UE. As a result, the UE may harvest energy from the cluster of nodes, which may be located relatively close to the UE and capable of charging the UE).
Regarding claim 3, Elshafie discloses all the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. Elshafie also discloses wherein the charging management logic is further configured to allocate a transmission time window to the peer device based on the established charging session, and wherein the one or more charging frames are transmitted to the peer device during the transmission time window ([0065] These tasks may be performed based at least in part on an accumulation of harvested energy over a period of time. The harvested energy may be derived from RF signals transmitted in a network. The device may interact with the network using the harvested energy; [0130] In some aspects, since the node may be busy performing other tasks, the node may offer a certain target power (Po) to the UE, a certain charging rate, a certain charging time (or charging offering time), and/or a maximum charging transmit power within a time interval of X millisecond/slots/symbols/time units.).
Regarding claim 4, Elshafie discloses all the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. Elshafie also discloses wherein the one or more charging frames charge the peer device without a physical contact between the peer device and the client device (pars. [0081] and [0088], and more explicitly par. [0066]).
Regarding claim 5, Elshafie discloses all the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. Elshafie also discloses wherein the one or more charging frames include one-way energy harvesting frames (Fig. 12 shows an absence of an ACK signal, implying one-way energy harvesting frames.).
Regarding claim 6, Elshafie discloses all the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. Elshafie also discloses wherein the one or more charging frames include at least one non-data bearing frame ([0077] Sidelink is a wireless communication link between UEs. Sidelink may be referred to as a PC5 interface. Sidelink may be used for sidelink communication between UEs. The sidelink communication may be a local D2D communication. Sidelink may be used as a relay for a network coverage extension and power saving (e.g., for a reduced capability UE). Some UEs may have a link to a network node (e.g., a base station) in a cellular network, where the link may be referred to as a Uu interface. A UE may perform a sidelink discovery to detect another UE, and sidelink communication may be performed between the two UEs after the sidelink discovery; and [0081] In some aspects, the first UE 505-1 may communicate signals to the second UE 505-2 via the one or more sidelink channels 510, and the second UE 505-2 may harvest energy from the signals [i.e., no data].).
Regarding claim 7, Elshafie discloses all the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. Elshafie also discloses wherein the charging management logic is further configured to: detect whether a power level of the client device is less than or equal to a power level threshold value; and terminate the charging session based on the detection that the power level is less than or equal to the power level threshold value ([0124] The network node may transmit, to the UE, the indication of the cluster of nodes to be used for energy harvesting at the UE based at least in part on the ordering and/or updating of the clusters of nodes. [i.e., terminate after update]).
Regarding claim 8, Elshafie discloses all the limitations of claim 7, as discussed above. Elshafie also discloses wherein the charging management logic is further configured to transmit, to the peer device, a dissociation message indicating the termination of the charging session ([0124] The network node may transmit, to the UE, the indication of the cluster of nodes to be used for energy harvesting at the UE based at least in part on the ordering and/or updating of the clusters of nodes. [i.e., terminate after update, where the update indicates termination]).
Regarding claim 9, Elshafie discloses all the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. Elshafie also discloses wherein the charging management logic is further configured to: receive a dissociation message from the peer device; and terminate the charging session based on the received dissociation message ([0124] The network node may transmit, to the UE, the indication of the cluster of nodes to be used for energy harvesting at the UE based at least in part on the ordering and/or updating of the clusters of nodes. [i.e., terminate after update, where the update indicates termination]).
Regarding claim 10, Elshafie discloses all the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. Elshafie also discloses wherein the charging ability indication is configured to indicate at least one of: a peer-to-peer charge providing capability of the client device, an amount of power the client device is capable of providing, or a channel bandwidth to establish the charging session ([0125] The transmit BWP may be associated with an uplink BWP, a sidelink BWP, a sidelink bandwidth, or energy transmit band(s) or bandwidths or BWPs, which may be different from uplink or sidelink bands or BWPs, or may overlap with the uplink or sidelink bands or BWPs. For example, an energy providing UE may have certain dedicated bands or BWPs or bandwidths to provide energy, which may be based at least in part on a capability reported over time via layer 1 (L1), layer 2 (L2), or layer 3 (L3) signaling. The dedicated bands or BWPs or bandwidths to provide energy may change a cluster of UEs, or may determine whether a particular UE is allowed to be part of a certain cluster. In some aspects, a priority/order given to different power providing UEs or clusters may be assigned/given to power/energy providing UEs or clusters based at least in part on an overlap between the energy transmit band (e.g., assuming the energy will be transmitted on certain bands/BWPs/bandwidths by such UEs), or BWP or bandwidth (of UEs within cluster), and a receive energy band or BWP or bandwidth of an energy harvesting UE. The amount of power is also covered in ¶¶ [0123], [0126] and [0129]. Further, any of the former imply acknowledgement of implicit support for P2P power transfer.).
Regarding claim 11, Elshafie discloses all the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. Elshafie also discloses wherein the charging ability indication is transmitted to the peer device ([0127] In some aspects, the UE and/or the network node may receive, from a node in the cluster of nodes, an indication of a capability of the node).
Regarding claim 12, Elshafie discloses all the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. Elshafie also discloses indicate a signal strength threshold value, and wherein the charging association request is received from the peer device based on a signal strength ([0055] a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) parameter) of the charging ability indication received at the peer device being greater than or equal to the signal strength threshold value ([0132] In some aspects, the cluster of nodes may be based at least in part on CSI associated with the cluster of nodes. For example, the network node may determine an instantaneous CSI or an average CSI associated with links between the UE and the cluster of nodes, which may enable the network node to determine that the cluster of nodes is well suited to provide power to the UE.).
Regarding claim 13, Elshafie discloses all the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. Elshafie also discloses wherein the charging ability indication is transmitted to an access point to register the client device in a charging database of the access point (0127] In some aspects, the UE and/or the network node may receive, from a node in the cluster of nodes, an indication of a capability of the node. The UE and/or the network node may receive the indication of the capability of the node via L1, L2, or L3 signaling. The indication of the capability of the node may indicate an offer of a target power for the UE, an offer of a charging rate, an offer of a charging time, and/or an offer of a maximum charging transmit power within a time period.).
Regarding claim 14, Elshafie discloses all the limitations of claim 13, as discussed above. Elshafie also discloses wherein the charging management logic is further configured to: detect whether a power level of the client device is less than or equal to a power level threshold value; and transmit, to the access point, a de-registration request to remove the client device from the charging database based on the detection that the power level is less than or equal to the power level threshold value ([0124] The network node may transmit, to the UE, the indication of the cluster of nodes to be used for energy harvesting at the UE based at least in part on the ordering and/or updating of the clusters of nodes. [i.e., terminate after update, where the update indicates termination]).
Regarding claim 15, Elshafie discloses all the limitations of claim 13, as discussed above. Elshafie also discloses wherein the charging session between the client device and the peer device is established with an assistance from the access point ([0133] In some aspects, the UE, rather than the network node, may determine the cluster of nodes to be used for energy harvesting. The UE may determine the cluster of nodes based at least in part on positions associated with nodes in relation to the UE, zone identifiers associated with the nodes, path losses associated with the nodes, capabilities associated with the nodes with respect to charging the UE, and/or CSI associated with the nodes. The UE may determine the cluster of nodes based at least in part on indications of offers received from the nodes, as well as power headroom reports received from the nodes. In some aspects, the UE may be a decision maker with regards to forming the cluster of nodes, as opposed to the network node.).
Regarding Claim 16, Elshafie discloses all the limitations of claim 1 in client form rather than peer form. Elshafie discloses both client and peer devices ([0046] the UEs 120 may communicate using peer-to-peer (P2P) communications, device-to-device (D2D) communications, a vehicle-to-everything (V2X) protocol (e.g., which may include a vehicle-to-vehicle (V2V) protocol, a vehicle-to-infrastructure (V2I) protocol, or a vehicle-to-pedestrian (V2P) protocol), and/or a mesh network. In such examples, a UE 120 may perform scheduling operations, resource selection operations, and/or other operations described elsewhere herein as being performed by the base station 110; and Fig. 12). Therefore, the rejection of claim 1 applies equally as well to the limitations of claim 1.
Regarding claim 17, Elshafie discloses all the limitations of claim 16, as discussed above. Elshafie also discloses an energy harvesting circuit that is configured to charge the peer device based on the received one or more charging frames (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 18, Elshafie discloses all the limitations of claims 2 and 16, as discussed above. Therefore, the rejection of claims 2 and 16 apply equally as well to the limitations of claim 18.
Regarding claim 19, Elshafie discloses all the limitations of claims 14 and 16, as discussed above. Therefore, the rejection of claims 14 and 16 apply equally as well to the limitations of claim 19.
Regarding Claim 20, Elshafie suggests all the limitations of claim 1 in apparatus form rather than method form. Therefore, the rejection of claim 1 applies equally as well to the limitations of claim 20.
Conclusion
/Alison Slater/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2647