DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terazawa et al. (US 2005/0057388), in view of Roy et al. (US 2021/0173006).
In regard to Claim 1:
Terazawa discloses, in Figure 1, a circuit comprising: one or more delay line units (NAND, INVa1-INVan), wherein each of the delay line units comprises: a first portion (NAND) and one or more second portions (INVa1-INVan), the first portion (NAND) and each of the one or more second portions (INVa1-INVan) are coupled to a common supply voltage (10a, ¶ 0059), wherein: the first portion comprises a NAND gate (NAND), but does not disclose each of the one or more second portions comprises a PMOS device and first, second, and third NMOS devices, and wherein: each of the one or more delay line units is configured for an AND gate logic operation.
Roy discloses, in Figure 3B, each of the one or more second portions (314) comprises a PMOS device (314a) and first (314d), second (314f), and third (314e) NMOS devices, and wherein: each of the one or more delay line units (314) is configured for an AND gate logic operation (¶ 0093).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to use the OR-AND-Ivert logic taught by Roy with the delay line second portion inverters taught by Terazawa, since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. (KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385).
In regard to Claim 3:
All of the claim limitations have been discussed with respect to Claim 1 above, except for wherein for a respective delay line unit: a gate input of the PMOS device is coupled to a gate input of the second NMOS device.
Roy further discloses, in Figure 3B, wherein for a respective delay line unit (314): a gate input of the PMOS device (314a gate) is coupled to a gate input of the second NMOS device (314f gate is connected to 314a gate).
In regard to Claim 4:
All of the claim limitations have been discussed with respect to Claim 1 above, except for wherein for a respective delay line unit: the second and the third NMOS devices are coupled in series.
Roy further discloses, in Figure 3B, wherein for a respective delay line unit (314): the second (314f) and the third (314d) NMOS devices are coupled in series (314f and 314d are in series).
In regard to Claim 18:
Terazawa discloses, in Figure 1, a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer- readable code for fabrication of a circuit, comprising: one or more delay line units (NAND, INVa1-INVan), wherein each of the delay line units comprises: a first portion (NAND) and one or more second portions (INVa1-INVan), the first portion (NAND) and each of the one or more second portions (INVa1-INVan) are coupled to a common supply voltage (10a, ¶ 0059), wherein: the first portion comprises a NAND gate (NAND), but does not disclose each of the one or more second portions comprises a PMOS device and first, second, and third NMOS devices, and wherein: each of the one or more delay line units is configured for an AND gate logic operation.
Roy discloses, in Figure 3B, each of the one or more second portions (314) comprises a PMOS device (314a) and first (314d), second (314f), and third (314e) NMOS devices, and wherein: each of the one or more delay line units (314) is configured for an AND gate logic operation (¶ 0093).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to use the OR-AND-Ivert logic taught by Roy with the delay line second portion inverters taught by Terazawa, since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. (KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385).
In regard to Claim 20:
All of the claim limitations have been discussed with respect to Claim 18 above, except for wherein for a respective delay line unit: a gate input of the PMOS device is coupled to a gate input of the second NMOS device; and the second and the third NMOS devices are coupled in series.
Roy further discloses, in Figure 3B, wherein for a respective delay line unit (314): a gate input of the PMOS device (314a gate) is coupled to a gate input of the second NMOS device (314f gate is connected to 314a gate); and the second (314f) and the third (314d) NMOS devices are coupled in series (314f and 314d are in series).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 5-11, 17, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In regard to Claims 2 and 19:
None of the prior art or combination thereof teaches or fairly suggests the following features in combination with the other limitations of the claims:
wherein for a respective delay line unit: the first NMOS device is coupled between an output of the respective delay line unit and a reset input.
In regard to Claim 5:
None of the prior art or combination thereof teaches or fairly suggests the following features in combination with the other limitations of the claims:
wherein for a respective delay line unit: first and second input signals are provided to the NAND gate; and the first input signal is configured to activate the first NMOS device.
In regard to Claim 6:
None of the prior art or combination thereof teaches or fairly suggests the following features in combination with the other limitations of the claims:
wherein for a respective delay line unit: in response to activation of the first NMOS device, the first NMOS device is configured to provide conduction to an output of the respective delay line unit.
In regard to Claim 8:
None of the prior art or combination thereof teaches or fairly suggests the following features in combination with the other limitations of the claims:
wherein for a respective delay unit: first and second input signals are provided to the NAND gate; an inverse of the second input signal is configured to activate the third NMOS device; and in response to an activation of the third NMOS device, the third NMOS device is configured to reset the respective delay line unit.
In regard to Claim 9:
None of the prior art or combination thereof teaches or fairly suggests the following features in combination with the other limitations of the claims:
wherein for a respective delay line unit: first and second input signals are provided to the NAND gate; the first input signal corresponds to an output signal of a preceding delay line unit of two or more delay line units; the second input signal is a reset signal; and an inverse of the second input signal is configured to concurrently reset the two or more delay line units.
In regard to Claim 10:
None of the prior art or combination thereof teaches or fairly suggests the following features in combination with the other limitations of the claims:
wherein the first NMOS device is a same or lower VT-type device than the second and third NMOS devices.
In regard to Claim 11:
None of the prior art or combination thereof teaches or fairly suggests the following features in combination with the other limitations of the claims:
wherein the circuit is comprised within a time-digital- conversion (TDC) circuit.
In regard to Claim 17:
None of the prior art or combination thereof teaches or fairly suggests the following features in combination with the other limitations of the claims:
a clock generator circuit; a pulse generator circuit; and the circuit as claimed in claim 1, wherein the circuit is coupled to the clock generator circuit and the pulse generator circuit, and wherein the system is configured to predict a voltage droop of a processing unit.
Claims 12-16 are allowed.
In regard to Claim 12:
None of the prior art or combination thereof teaches or fairly suggests the following features in combination with the other limitations of the claims:
wherein: at a second portion among the one or more second portions of the delay line unit, the first NMOS device is coupled between a reset input and the output; and Page 3the first NMOS device is activated upon receiving the first input signal.
However, Terazawa et al. (US 2005/0057388), in view of Roy et al. (US 2021/0173006) disclose receiving first and second input signals at a first portion of a delay line unit having the first portion (Terazawa Figure 1: NAND) and one or more second portions (Terazawa Figure 1: INVa1-INVan), wherein the first portion (Terazawa Figure 1: NAND) and each of the one or more second portions (Terazawa Figure 1: INVa1-INVan) are coupled to a common supply voltage (Terazawa Figure 1: 10a, ¶ 0059); and activating a first NMOS device (Roy Figure 3B: 314f) to provide conduction to an output of the delay line unit (314 output).
Conclusion
/JOHN W POOS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2843