DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority (JAPAN 2024-003893) based on an application filed in Japan on 01/15/2024. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the JAPAN 2024-003893 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “flat portion” of claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 1 recites in lines 11-12 that “a flat portion” is present between the plurality of recessed parts and the outer peripheral part on the front surface. However, the specification as filed is silent as to any “flat” portion being between the plurality of recessed parts and the outer peripheral part of the front surface. The Examiner also notes that the specification is silent as to any disclosure stating that the drawings are to scale. Thus, the claim has new matter pertinent to the term “flat”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Arvidsson US 6,595,727.
In regards to claim 1, Arvidsson discloses a tool body (1) that is rotated around a central axis (C), with a central part (7) of the tool body being assembled onto an arbor (via 3), the tool body (1) comprising: a rear surface which is an assembly side with respect to the arbor (see Figure 1), a front surface opposite to the rear surface (see Figure 2), and a plurality of recessed parts (12) provided circumferentially between the central part and an outer peripheral part (refer to the part of tool body 1, located at a radially outermost portion), as viewed from the front surface (Figure 2), wherein each of the recessed parts (36) is formed so as to open on the front surface and has a cross-sectional shape that is gradually narrowed in a depth direction from the front surface toward the rear surface (see Figure 1, a depth direction taken from the front surface to the rear surface), and wherein a flat portion is present between the plurality of recessed parts (36) and the outer peripheral part on the front surface (see Figures 2-4 below, and refer to either one flat portion as annotated below).
In regards to claim 2, Arvidsson discloses the tool body according to claim 1, Arvidsson also discloses that a bottom part of each recessed part (Figure 4), a front side-end of the central part (where shoulder portion of 24 is disposed at in Figure 4), and a front side-end (axially outer most end of outer peripheral part in Figure 4) of the outer peripheral part are arranged, in such order, in an axial direction from the assembly side with respect to the arbor toward the front surface (in the same way as presented by Applicant).
In regards to claim 6, Arvidsson discloses the tool body according to claim 1, Arvidsson also discloses that in a cross-sectional view, the recessed parts each have a V-shaped portion (see Figure 13).
In regards to claim 8, Arvidsson discloses the tool body according to claim 1, Arvidsson also discloses that as viewed from the front side (Figure 2, 6b and 11), the recessed parts each have a tapered part that is gradually tapered toward the outer peripheral part (see column 6, lines 36-42).
In regards to claim 9, Arvidsson discloses the tool body according to claim 1, Arvidsson also discloses a cutting edge provided on the outer peripheral part of the tool body.
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6-8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DE 103 54 530 (hereafter—DE’530--).
In regards to claim 1, DE’530 discloses a tool body (2, 202) that is rotated around a central axis, with a central part (14, 214) of the tool body being assembled onto an arbor (via shank portion opposite to machining end), the tool body (2, 202) comprising: a rear surface which is an assembly side with respect to the arbor, a front surface opposite to the rear surface, and a plurality of recessed parts (16, 216) provided circumferentially between the central part and an outer peripheral part (refer to the part of tool body 2, 202, located at a radially outermost portion), as viewed from the front surface (Figures 1 and 4), wherein each of the recessed parts (16, 216) is formed so as to open on the front surface and has a cross-sectional shape (due to the concave overall shape) that is gradually narrowed in a depth direction from the front surface toward the rear surface, and (see Figures 1 and 4, a depth direction taken from the front surface toward the rear surface) wherein a flat portion is present between the plurality of recessed parts and the outer peripheral part on the front surface (see Figures 3 and 4 below, and refer to either one flat portion as annotated below).
In regards to claim 3, DE’530 discloses the tool body according to claim 1, DE’530 also discloses that the recessed parts (16, 216) each have an outer circumferential-side inclined surface (inclined surface close to 20 in Figure 1 or inclined surface close to 220 in Figure 3) that is inclined so as to gradually approach the front side as it extends outward in a radial direction (in the same way as presented by Applicant, see Figures 1 and 3).
In regards to claim 6, DE’530 discloses the tool body according to claim 1, DE’530 also discloses that in a cross-sectional view, the recessed parts each have a V-shaped portion (see Figure 4).
In regards to claim 8, DE’530 discloses the tool body according to claim 1, DE’530 also discloses that as viewed from the front side (Figure 2 and 3), the recessed parts (16, 216) each have a tapered part that is gradually tapered toward the outer peripheral part.
In regards to claim 9, DE’530 discloses the tool body according to claim 1, DE’530 also discloses a cutting edge provided on the outer peripheral part of the tool body.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, and 7 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3 and 9 and the Semnisky et al. US 2023/0302554 reference have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed 08/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 6 of the Remarks, that neither Arvidsson nor DE’530 disclose “a flat portion is present between the plurality of recessed parts and the outer peripheral part on the front surface. The Examiner disagrees and points Applicant to the rejection above.
Regarding the Arvidsson, Arvidsson discloses that each of the recessed parts (36) is formed so as to open on the front surface and has a cross-sectional shape that is gradually narrowed in a depth direction from the front surface toward the rear surface (see Figure 1, a depth direction taken from the front surface to the rear surface), and wherein a flat portion is present between the plurality of recessed parts (36) and the outer peripheral part on the front surface (see Figures 2-4 above, and refer to either one flat portion as annotated in the rejection above). Therefore, the Examiner’s interpretation is not precluded.
Regarding the DE’530, DE’530 discloses that each of the recessed parts (16, 216) is formed so as to open on the front surface and has a cross-sectional shape (due to the concave overall shape) that is gradually narrowed in a depth direction from the front surface toward the rear surface, and (see Figures 1 and 4, a depth direction taken from the front surface toward the rear surface) wherein a flat portion is present between the plurality of recessed parts and the outer peripheral part on the front surface (see Figures 3 and 4 above, and refer to either one flat portion as annotated in the rejection above). Therefore, the Examiner’s interpretation is not precluded.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICOLE N RAMOS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722