DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites in line 1 the term “thereof” which renders the claim indefinite as it is unclear to what part “thereof” it is referring to. Further clarification is needed.
Claim 1 recites in line 7 a cross- sectional “shape that is gradually narrowed in a depth direction”. It is unclear from where to where this shape is being gradually narrowed. Where is this depth direction defined at? Further clarification is needed.
Claim 2 recites in lines 3-4 “in such order, in an axial direction from the assembly side with respect to the arbor” which renders the claim indefinite as it is unclear from where to where the “such order” is taken from. From the assembly side to where? Further clarification is needed.
Claim 7 recites in lines 1-2 “in the recessed part”. However, it is unclear to which recessed part it is referring to, as in claim 6 from which claim 7 directly depends on sets forth “recessed parts” plural. Further clarification is needed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Semnisky et al. US 2023/0302554 (hereafter—Semnisky--).
In regards to claim 1, Semnisky discloses a tool body (10) that is rotated around a central axis (CL), with a central part (22b) thereof being assembled onto an arbor (adapter, see paragraph [0040]), the tool body (10) comprising: a plurality of recessed parts (36) provided circumferentially between the central part and an outer peripheral part (refer to the part of tool body 10, located at a radially outermost portion), as viewed from a front side opposite to an assembly side with respect to the arbor (Figure 5), wherein the recessed parts (36) are each formed so as to have a cross-sectional shape that is gradually narrowed in a depth direction (see Figure 5, a depth direction taken from the front side to the assembly side).
In regards to claim 2, Semnisky discloses the tool body according to claim 1, Semnisky also discloses that a bottom part of each recessed part (Figure 5), a front side-end of the central part (at 22b Figure 5), and a front side-end (axially outer most end of outer peripheral part in Figure 5) of the outer peripheral part are arranged, in such order, in an axial direction from the assembly side with respect to the arbor (in the same way as presented by Applicant).
In regards to claim 3, Semnisky discloses the tool body according to claim 1, Semnisky also discloses that the recessed parts (36) each have an outer circumferential-side inclined surface (42) that is inclined so as to gradually approach the front side as it extends outward in a radial direction (in the same way as presented by Applicant, see Figure 5).
In regards to claim 6, Semnisky discloses the tool body according to claim 1, Semnisky also discloses that in a cross-sectional view, the recessed parts (36) each have a V-shaped portion.
In regards to claim 9, Semnisky discloses the tool body according to claim 1, Semnisky also discloses that the tool body is disposed on a rotary cutting tool (when assembled to an adapter as in paragraph [0040], and a cutting edge provided on the outer peripheral part (where cutting insert pockets 30 are disposed) of the tool body (10).
Claim(s) 1-2, 6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Arvidsson US 6,595,727.
In regards to claim 1, Arvidsson discloses a tool body (1) that is rotated around a central axis (C), with a central part (7) thereof being assembled onto an arbor (via 3), the tool body (1) comprising: a plurality of recessed parts (12) provided circumferentially between the central part and an outer peripheral part (refer to the part of tool body 1, located at a radially outermost portion), as viewed from a front side opposite to an assembly side with respect to the arbor (Figure 5), wherein the recessed parts (36) are each formed so as to have a cross-sectional shape that is gradually narrowed in a depth direction (see Figure 1, a depth direction taken from the front side to the assembly side).
In regards to claim 2, Arvidsson discloses the tool body according to claim 1, Arvidsson also discloses that a bottom part of each recessed part (Figure 4), a front side-end of the central part (where shoulder portion of 24 is disposed at in Figure 4), and a front side-end (axially outer most end of outer peripheral part in Figure 4) of the outer peripheral part are arranged, in such order, in an axial direction from the assembly side with respect to the arbor (in the same way as presented by Applicant).
In regards to claim 6, Arvidsson discloses the tool body according to claim 1, Arvidsson also discloses that in a cross-sectional view, the recessed parts each have a V-shaped portion (see Figure 13).
In regards to claim 8, Arvidsson discloses the tool body according to claim 1, Arvidsson also discloses that as viewed from the front side (Figure 2, 6b and 11), the recessed parts each have a tapered part that is gradually tapered toward the outer peripheral part (see column 6, lines 36-42).
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6-8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DE 103 54 530 (hereafter—DE’530--).
In regards to claim 1, DE’530 discloses a tool body (2, 202) that is rotated around a central axis, with a central part (14, 214) thereof being assembled onto an arbor (via shank portion opposite to machining end), the tool body (2, 202) comprising: a plurality of recessed parts (16, 216) provided circumferentially between the central part and an outer peripheral part (refer to the part of tool body 2, 202, located at a radially outermost portion), as viewed from a front side opposite to an assembly side with respect to the arbor (Figures 1 and 4), wherein the recessed parts (16, 216) are each formed so as to have a cross-sectional shape (due to the concave overall shape) that is gradually narrowed in a depth direction (see Figures 1 and 4, a depth direction taken from the front side to the assembly side).
In regards to claim 3, DE’530 discloses the tool body according to claim 1, DE’530 also discloses that the recessed parts (16, 216) each have an outer circumferential-side inclined surface (inclined surface close to 20 in Figure 1 or inclined surface close to 220 in Figure 3) that is inclined so as to gradually approach the front side as it extends outward in a radial direction (in the same way as presented by Applicant, see Figures 1 and 3).
In regards to claim 6, DE’530 discloses the tool body according to claim 1, DE’530 also discloses that in a cross-sectional view, the recessed parts each have a V-shaped portion (see Figure 4).
In regards to claim 8, DE’530 discloses the tool body according to claim 1, DE’530 also discloses that as viewed from the front side (Figure 2 and 3), the recessed parts (16, 216) each have a tapered part that is gradually tapered toward the outer peripheral part.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, and 7 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/NICOLE N RAMOS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722