Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 8 and 15 recite the limitation "first indication information”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The word “a” should be added in front of the term.
Claims 2-7, 9-14 and 16-20 depend on claims 1, 8 or 15, they are rejected for the same basis as claims 1, 8 and 15 set forth above.
Corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Centonza et a. (US PUB 2023/0231779 A1).
As per claim 1, Centonza teaches the invention as claimed including a communication method performed by a first access network device [eNB 105 or eNB 110 or eNB 115, Fig. 1], comprising:
sending first indication information [QoE measurement report segments, par. 0013, 0017-0018, 0308] to a measurement collection entity [MCE, 2050, Fig. 20] wherein the first indication information indicates to associate an application layer measurement result from a terminal device [UE 120, Fig. 1] with a radio side measurement result of the first access network device, or to associate the application layer measurement result with a radio side measurement result of a second access network device, wherein the terminal device is separately connected to the first access network device and the second access network device [Fig. 1, par. 0094,0169, 0177, 0201, 0237, 0244].
As per claim 2, Centonza teaches wherein before the step of sending the first indication information to the measurement collection entity, the method further comprises:
obtaining from the terminal device identification information of a service corresponding to the application layer measurement result [par. 0307], wherein the identification information of the service comprises an identifier of a protocol data unit (PDU) session or an identifier of at least one quality of service (QoS) flow in the PDU session [par. 0225-0228]; and determining the first indication information based on the identification information of the service [par. 0151-0155, 0169-0177, 0308].
As per claim 3, Centonza teaches wherein before the step of sending the first indication information to the measurement collection entity, the method further comprises:
obtaining a radio bearer type of a service corresponding to the application layer measurement result [0099-0101]; and determining the first indication information based on the radio bearer type [par. 0073, 0100-0104, 0124-0125].
As per claim 4, Centonza teaches wherein the step of sending the first information comprises: including the first indication information in a first message, wherein the first message comprises a quality of experience (QoE) reference configured by a core network device or a network management device [6, Fig. 20, par. 2330-2340, Fig. 23, par. 0094, 0177-0178, 0306-0307, 0337]; sending the first message to the measurement collection entity [13, Fig. 20, par. 0177].
As per claim 5, Centonza teaches wherein the first indication information indicates to separately associate the application layer measurement result with the radio side measurement result of the first access network device and the radio side measurement result of the second access network device, and wherein the first message further comprises a radio side measurement identifier of the radio side measurement result of the first access network device [par. 0169-0177].
As per claim 6, Centonza teaches wherein the first indication information comprises a radio bearer type of a service corresponding to the application layer measurement result, and the radio bearer type comprises a master cell group bearer, a secondary cell group bearer, or a split bearer [Fig. 9-12, par. 99-101].
As per claim 7, Centonza teaches wherein the first indication information comprises an identifier of the first access network device or an identifier of the second access network device [par. 0177-0179].
As per claims 8-14, since they are apparatus claim of claims 1-7, they are rejected for the same basis as claims 1-7 set forth above.
As per claims 15-20, since they are device claim of claims 1-7, they are rejected for the same basis as claims 1-7 set forth above.
Conclusion
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http:/Awww.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https:/Awww.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent- center for more information about Patent Center and https:/Awww.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format.
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JINSONG HU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2643