Detailed Action
This is a Final Office action in response to communications received on 6/22/2026. Claims 3 and 11 were amended. Claim 12 was added. Claims 1-12 are pending and are examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments, filed 6/22/2026, to claim(s) 3 correcting the claim to recite “longer time” are sufficient to overcome the rejection to the aforementioned claim(s). Accordingly, the rejection of claim(s) 3 under 112, second paragraph, as filed in (8) of the Non-Final Office action filed 3/25/2026 is withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 of the claims under Urakawa have been considered, and are found unpersuasive.
Applicant argues on page(s) 7-9 of the Remarks, filed 6/22/2026, the cited prior art fail to teach or suggest “a disclosure mode for information disclosure in a remote operation image that includes a first mode in which registration information, that is information registered by a user, is included in display information, and the registration information is included in part of an operation image” because “Urakawa merely describes the display of the screen without input buttons on the panel 105 included in the user interface”. However, Examiner respectfully disagrees. Urakawa teaches, in [0116], that when a display screen is in focus mode (i.e. second mode), key presses are hidden in the remote display. This is useful, for example, when an administrator needs to enter a password without a third party seeing. In regards to arguments that this does not constitute “registration information” as claimed, Applicant’s specification offers a broad definition, at least in paragraphs 0037-0040. One such example is that registration information can include user setting information (0037). User setting information may include information indicating a password registered by the user (0040). Notably, this user setting information need not be the password itself, but includes information that indicates the password as well (e.g., visible effects indicating input of a password). Therefore a display mode which restricts the display of such information satisfies the second mode described.
The remaining arguments fail to comply with 37 C.F.R. 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
Consequently, the rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 102 is sustained.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
“display unit” in claim 1.
“transmission processing unit” in claim 1.
“switching unit” in claim 1.
The corresponding structures interpreted from the specification for the above limitations are as follows:
“display unit” ([0034]).
“transmission processing unit” ([0034]).
“switching unit” ([0034]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4 and 6-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Urakawa (US 20210306485 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Urakawa teaches the limitations of claim 1 substantially as follows:
An image forming apparatus comprising:
a communication unit; an operation unit; (Urakawa; [0042]: The network I/F is configured to connect the PC with a communication network (i.e., communication unit); the communication network is connected with the router and the MFP; The MFP includes a CPU (i.e., operation unit))
a display unit displaying an operation image operable from the operation unit; (Urakawa; [0046]: The MFP further includes a panel and keys. In the first illustrative embodiment, the panel is a touch panel. The panel is configured to display thereon various screens depending on states of the MFP (i.e., a display unit displaying an operation image))
a transmission processing unit transmitting, via the communication unit, display information for displaying a remote operation image based on the operation image to an external device; and (Urakawa; [0056]: The “Remote Panel” in the illustrated example includes a panel display that is the same as displayed on the panel of the MFP and a key display that virtually shows the keys of the MFP (i.e., display information for displaying a remote operation image based on the operation image to an external device). Display data for displaying the “Remote Panel” is obtained from the EWS)
a switching unit for switching a disclosure mode for information disclosure in the remote operation image, (Urakawa; [0136]: When the MFP is remotely connected with the PC via the network IF, the CPU transmits to the PC screen data for causing the PC to display substantially the same screen as the panel display being displayed on the panel; when the MFP is not remotely connected with the PC via the network I/F, the CPU displays on the panel the panel display that is the particular screen (i.e., switching based on mode))
wherein the disclosure mode includes a first mode in which prescribed information included in part of the operation image is included in the display information and registration information that is information registered by a user is included in the display information, the registration information being included in part of the operation image, and a second mode in which the prescribed information is included in the display information and the registration information is not included in the display information. (Urakawa; [0133]: when the particular screen is being displayed on the panel of the MFP , the screen is switched to the same screen as the panel display′ without input buttons (i.e., a second mode in which the prescribed information is included in the display information and the registration information is not included in the display information), on the panel as well as in the detail pane . Therefore, it is impossible for the third party other than the administrator to follow a change in the display mode for each of the operated keys and know the password)
Regarding claim 2, Urakawa teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Urakawa teaches the limitations of claim 2 as follows:
The image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the disclosure mode further includes a third mode in which the prescribed information is not included in the display information and the registration information is not included in the display information. (Urakawa; [0148]: when determining that the setting for putting the main body panel in the non-display mode while the “Remote Panel” is in use is valid, the CPU turns off the backlight of the panel (i.e., a third mode in which the prescribed information is not included in the display information and the registration information is not included in the display information))
Regarding claim 4, Urakawa teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Urakawa teaches the limitations of claim 4 as follows:
The image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the registration information includes at least one of a background image that serves as a background in the operation image and an icon image indicating a selectable icon. (Urakawa; [0133]: when the particular screen is being displayed on the panel of the MFP , the screen is switched to the same screen as the panel display′ without input buttons (i.e., selectable icon), on the panel as well as in the detail pane . Therefore, it is impossible for the third party other than the administrator to follow a change in the display mode for each of the operated keys and know the password)
Regarding claim 6, Urakawa teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Urakawa teaches the limitations of claim 6 as follows:
The image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the registration information includes information indicating a password registered by the user. (Urakawa; [0055]: a user (e.g., an administrator) who attempts to log in to the “Remote Panel” is required to input an administrator name (e.g., “Administrator”) in a user name entry field on the login authentication screen and input an administrator password in a password entry field (i.e., indicating a password registered by the user))
Regarding claim 7, Urakawa teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Urakawa teaches the limitations of claim 7 as follows:
The image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the operation image includes a switching button for switching the disclosure mode, and wherein the display information includes the switching button in a non-selectable state or does not include the switching button. (Urakawa; [0136]: when the MFP is remotely connected with the PC via the network I/F, instead of the first screen, the CPU displays on the panel the panel display′ for which a display mode is different from a display mode for the first screen (i.e., alternate display of UI elements based on mode).
Regarding claim 8, Urakawa teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Urakawa teaches the limitations of claim 8 as follows:
The image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the display unit displays the operation image with the registration information having a different display form according to the disclosure mode. (Urakawa; [0136]: when the MFP is remotely connected with the PC via the network I/F, instead of the first screen, the CPU displays on the panel the panel display′ for which a display mode is different from a display mode for the first screen (i.e., alternate display of UI elements based on mode).
Regarding claim 9, Urakawa teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Urakawa teaches the limitations of claim 9 as follows:
The image forming apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the switching unit sets the disclosure mode to the second mode when the transmission processing unit starts transmitting the display information. (Urakawa; [0136]: when the MFP is remotely connected with the PC via the network I/F, instead of the first screen, the CPU displays on the panel the panel display′ for which a display mode is different from a display mode for the first screen (i.e., disclosure mode to the second mode when the transmission processing unit starts transmitting the display information).
Regarding claim 10, Urakawa teaches the limitations of claim 2.
Urakawa teaches the limitations of claim 10 as follows:
The image forming apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the switching unit sets the disclosure mode to the third mode when the transmission processing unit starts transmitting the display information. (Urakawa; [0148]: when determining that the setting for putting the main body panel in the non-display mode while the “Remote Panel” is in use is valid, the CPU turns off the backlight of the panel (i.e., sets the disclosure mode to the third mode when the transmission processing unit starts transmitting the display information))
Regarding claim 11, Urakawa teaches the limitations of claim 11 substantially as follows:
An information transmission method comprising: an image forming apparatus transmitting, via a communication unit, display information for displaying a remote operation image based on the operation image to an external device, (Urakawa; [0056]: The “Remote Panel” in the illustrated example includes a panel display that is the same as displayed on the panel of the MFP and a key display that virtually shows the keys of the MFP (i.e., display information for displaying a remote operation image based on the operation image to an external device). Display data for displaying the “Remote Panel” is obtained from the EWS)
the image forming apparatus including the communication unit, an operation unit, and (Urakawa; [0042]: The network I/F is configured to connect the PC with a communication network (i.e., communication unit); the communication network is connected with the router and the MFP; The MFP includes a CPU (i.e., operation unit))
a display unit displaying an operation image operable from the operation unit; and (Urakawa; [0046]: The MFP further includes a panel and keys. In the first illustrative embodiment, the panel is a touch panel. The panel is configured to display thereon various screens depending on states of the MFP (i.e., a display unit displaying an operation image))
the image forming apparatus switching a disclosure mode regarding information disclosure in the remote operation image, (Urakawa; [0136]: When the MFP is remotely connected with the PC via the network IF, the CPU transmits to the PC screen data for causing the PC to display substantially the same screen as the panel display being displayed on the panel; when the MFP is not remotely connected with the PC via the network I/F, the CPU displays on the panel the panel display that is the particular screen (i.e., switching based on mode))
wherein the disclosure mode includes a first mode in which prescribed information included in part of the operation image is included in the display information and registration information that is information registered by a user is included in the display information, the registration information being included in part of the operation image, and a second mode in which the prescribed information is included in the display information and the registration information is not included in the display information. (Urakawa; [0133]: when the particular screen is being displayed on the panel of the MFP , the screen is switched to the same screen as the panel display′ without input buttons (i.e., a second mode in which the prescribed information is included in the display information and the registration information is not included in the display information), on the panel as well as in the detail pane . Therefore, it is impossible for the third party other than the administrator to follow a change in the display mode for each of the operated keys and know the password)
Regarding claim 12, Urakawa teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Urakawa teaches the limitations of claim 12 as follows:
The image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the prescribed information includes default information related to the image forming apparatus. (Urakawa; [0119]: Thus, when the particular screen is being displayed in the detail pane 184 as shown in FIG. 3B, if the administrator presses the software keyboard 105d2 in an attempt to enter the password in the password entry field 105d1, the display mode for each pressed key is not switched to the pressed mode. This is because the CPU 101 makes an affirmative determination in S91 (i.e., S91: Yes) and skips S93, in the screen pressing process (see FIG. 12). On the panel 105 of the MFP 100 as well, the same display as in the detail pane 184 is shown. Therefore, the display mode for each pressed key is not switched to the pressed mode (i.e., the display is the same save for the restricted elements))
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urakawa (US 20210306485 A1), in view of Iwamoto (US 20130235414 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Urakawa teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Urakawa does not teach the limitations of claim 3 as follows:
The image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the operation image includes a switching button for switching the disclosure mode, and wherein an operation for switching from the second mode to the first mode is set so that the operation unit takes longer time to operate the switching button, compared with an operation for switching from the first mode to the second mode.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Iwamoto discloses the limitations of claim 3 as follows:
The image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the operation image includes a switching button for switching the disclosure mode, and wherein an operation for switching from the second mode to the first mode is set so that the operation unit takes longer time to operate the switching button, compared with an operation for switching from the first mode to the second mode. (Iwamoto; [0136]: The image forming apparatus may be brought into a state for awaiting a command by long press (i.e., longer time) of a stop button on an operation panel, for example (i.e., switching button for switching the disclosure mode))
Iwamoto is combinable with Urakawa because all are from the same field of endeavor of image forming apparatuses. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Urakawa to incorporate a long press as a control to activate a different mode as in Iwamoto in order to change display settings based using a command, such as a button press.
Regarding claim 5, Urakawa teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Urakawa does not teach the limitations of claim 5 as follows:
The image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the registration information includes information indicating a contact registered by the user.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Iwamoto discloses the limitations of claim 5 as follows:
The image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the registration information includes information indicating a contact registered by the user. (Iwamoto; [0218]: a key operation to request display of data of a facsimile addressee list (list data) (i.e., contact registered by the user))
Iwamoto is combinable with Urakawa because all are from the same field of endeavor of image forming apparatuses. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Urakawa to incorporate listing registered recipients as in Iwamoto in order to provide the predictable result of displaying/selecting users.
Prior Art Considered But Not Relied Upon
Furuichi (US 8683199 B2) which teaches a system in which whenever a drawing command is executed, a computer system having a graphic user interface such as a multi-window system determines, from the logical operation pattern of the drawing command, what kind of information is inherited by a drawing result from the drawing command.
Henniger (US 20050270372 A1) which teaches a processing device which outputs an informational display that is displayed on the screen and overlays a portion of the images captured by the camera.
Conclusion
For the above-stated reasons, claims 1-12 are rejected.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BLAKE I NARRAMORE/Examiner, Art Unit 2438