DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the ”upper portion” lower portion” “extension adapted interface” “bottom surface” “extension” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 (claim 3 by dependency), claim 5 (claims 6 and 7 by dependency) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, it is unclear what the applicant intends as “an extension adapted interface”. Some structure is present int the in the slot 107 is a latch stop 106, it is unclear if the latch stop is the extension as claimed as there is no reference to “extension” anywhere in the specification. As written there is no clear disclosure as to what structure is required as the extension. Positive recitation supported in the specification is at least incomplete if not confused. Recitation will be taken broadly until otherwise clarified or corrected by the applicant.
Regarding claim 5, it is unclear if “an extension” of claim 5 is the same or an additional “an extension” as in claim 2. Clarification is required.
In view of the rejections above under 35 USC § 112, the claims referred to in any and all rejections below are rejected as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Motahari ASL (US 11,066,858).
Regarding claim 1, Motahari ASL discloses a cassette latch for securing the hatch of a canopy, comprising:
a) a body (100) comprising a pair of opposing sidewall members (102,101);
b) a latch member (104, 105) slidably disposed between the sidewall members; and
c) a spring (113) in mechanical communication with the latch member.
Regarding claim 2, Motahari ASL discloses the cassette latch of claim 1, wherein the latch member has an upper portion and a lower portion (Fig.1), and the lower portion comprises an extension adapted interface (104, 105) with a tailgate of pickup truck.
Regarding claim 3, Motahari ASL discloses the cassette latch of claim 2, wherein the extension is arranged at an angle (105) with respect to a bottom surface of the lower portion of the latch member (Fig.1).
Regarding claim 4, Motahari ASL discloses the cassette latch of claim 1, wherein at least one of the opposing sidewall members comprises an opening (108).
Regarding claim 5, Motahari ASL discloses the cassette latch of claim 4, wherein the latch member comprises an extension (107) positioned within the opening.
Regarding claim 6, Motahari ASL discloses the cassette latch of claim 5, wherein the extension abuts a bottom of the opening to maintain the latch member in an extended position (114).
Regarding claim 7, Motahari ASL discloses the cassette latch of claim 6, wherein the extension abuts the bottom of the opening (Fig.1) under the force of the spring (113).
Regarding claim 8, Motahari ASL discloses the cassette latch of claim 1, wherein (i) the latch member comprises a first portion and a second portion, and (ii) the first portion(104) is arranged at about a 90-degree angle (Fig.1)with respect to the second portion(114).
Regarding claim 9, Motahari ASL discloses the cassette latch of claim 8, wherein the spring(113) has a longitudinal axis that is substantially parallel to a longitudinal axis of the first portion (Fig.1).
Regarding claim 10, Motahari ASL discloses the cassette latch of claim 8, wherein the spring (113) occupies a hole (space around spring 113, within walls 101,102) in an upper surface of the second portion.
Regarding claim 11, Motahari ASL discloses the cassette latch of claim 1, wherein an elongate guide member (112) is positioned within the spring (Fig.1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure as it may affect the patentability of applicant’s claimed invention is listed on the attached PTO-892.
/T. L. N./
Examiner, Art Unit 3675
/KRISTINA R FULTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675