DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10, 13-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 6-9, 11, 12, 20, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by DiGianfilippo et al. US 4789014 (“DiGianfilippo”).
Regarding Claim 1, DiGianfilippo discloses a valve unit for an installation (10) for producing a medical preparation, the valve unit comprising: a valve node (44, figs. 1 and 2) configured to be operatively mounted on the installation (10), the valve node (44) comprising a plurality of hose connections (hose connections 46); and a plurality of hoses (16), each of the plurality of hoses (16) comprising a first end (fig. 3b at line 42 in fig. 2) that is irremovably connected to a respective one of the plurality of hose connections (hose connections 46).
DI GIANFILIPPO - FIGURES 2, 8, and 9
Regarding Claim 2, DiGianfilippo discloses each of the plurality of hoses (16) further comprises a second end (40) that comprises a source container connection (connection 40 at source container 12) that is configured to connect to a source container (12) containing ingredients for the medical preparation.
Regarding Claim 6, DiGianfilippo discloses the plurality of hose connections (hose connections 46) comprises between 4 and 20 hose connections (see fig. 3 illustrates 11 hose connections 46), inclusive.
Regarding Claim 7, DiGianfilippo discloses the valve unit comprises a lock that is configured to lock on a seat of the installation (see figs. 8 and 9; col. 10 lines 38-52 describes the locking mechanism; “ This sensing means may include a series of spring-loaded switches in the door 114 of the frame. Typically, these switches may be two-position switches which would detect the presence of an occlusion force on each of the individual fluid conduits when the door 114 is closed over the conduits. If a conduit is not in its appropriate position, or if an occlusion arm is not properly biased to include its respective conduit, a relatively low force would be detected by the two-position sensors indicating a possible malfunction of the device.”).
Regarding Claim 8, DiGianfilippo discloses the lock is configured to snap-fit on the seat of the installation (see figs. 8 and 9; col. 10 lines 38-52 describes the locking mechanism; “ This sensing means may include a series of spring-loaded switches in the door 114 of the frame. Typically, these switches may be two-position switches which would detect the presence of an occlusion force on each of the individual fluid conduits when the door 114 is closed over the conduits. If a conduit is not in its appropriate position, or if an occlusion arm is not properly biased to include its respective conduit, a relatively low force would be detected by the two-position sensors indicating a possible malfunction of the device.”).
Regarding Claim 9, DiGianfilippo discloses the valve unit comprises a housing (28), and the lock comprises an edge, at a bottom of the housing, that is configured to snap-fit on the edge of the seat of the installation to lock the valve unit to the seat of the installation (see figs. 8 and 9; col. 10 lines 38-52 describes the locking mechanism; “ This sensing means may include a series of spring-loaded switches in the door 114 of the frame. Typically, these switches may be two-position switches which would detect the presence of an occlusion force on each of the individual fluid conduits when the door 114 is closed over the conduits. If a conduit is not in its appropriate position, or if an occlusion arm is not properly biased to include its respective conduit, a relatively low force would be detected by the two-position sensors indicating a possible malfunction of the device.”).
Regarding Claim 11, DiGianfilippo discloses the valve node (44) is one of a plurality of valve nodes (44, 62, fig. 5b, and 67 fig. 6a and 6b; valve node as disclosed in claim 1 is broadly interpreted as a connector for hoses), and the plurality of valve nodes comprises between two and four valve nodes (three), inclusive.
Regarding Claim 12, DiGianfilippo discloses the plurality of valve nodes comprises three valve nodes (44, 62, fig. 5b, and 67 fig. 6a and 6b; valve node as disclosed in claim 1 is broadly interpreted as a connector for hoses).
Regarding Claim 20, DiGianfilippo discloses the valve unit is disposable (the tubes are made from material that will need to be replaced over time, thus it is disposable).
Regarding Claim 21, DiGianfilippo discloses an installation for producing a medical preparation (background), the installation comprising: a main module comprising a seat (see fig. 8, occlusion means); and the valve node (44) of claim 1 removably connectable to the seat.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DiGianfilippo et al. US 4789014 (“DiGianfilippo”) in view of Heinz et al. US 8231585 (“Heinz”).
Regarding Claim 3, DiGianfilippo discloses the source container connection of each second end of each of the plurality of hoses and a spike.
HEINZ – FIGURE 3
DiGianfilippo comprises the claimed invention, except a Luer lock and the spike connected to the Luer lock.
Heinz teaches a Luer lock and a spike connected to the Luer lock (see fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at a time prior to the effective filing date to have substituted the spike at the hose, as disclosed by DiGianfilippo, with a spike connected to a Luer lock, as taught by Heinz, for the purpose of allowing a tube to be closed until initial use.
Regarding Claim 4, Heinz teaches each spike is pre-assembled to the respective Luer lock (see fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 5, Heinz teaches each spike is covered by a cap (see fig. 3).
Conclusion
/DAPHNE M BARRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753