Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the motor of claim 1, the means of temporary attachment of claim 3, the magnet of claim 3, and the vacuum pump of claim 5, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The specification does not disclose how or where the attachment means (109) of figure 2 attach the package picking unit to the elevating platform. Further in claim 3, the specification and figures do not show or disclose how either of the magnetic or flexible attachment means attach the stiff body (103) to the package picking unit (100).
Claim Objections
Claims 1-5 are objected to because of the following informalities:
“characterised” should read “characterized”.
The “stiff body” of claim 3 should read “stiff hose”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, and 5, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tawi – mobile order picker demonstration video in view of Keenan (US 5119843).
Regarding claim 1, Tawi teaches, a Mobile elevating platform,
comprising a base chassis (base of forklift) comprising a motor and a vertical lifting system (electric motor for lifting),
said chassis having a lifting platform (forks serve as lifting platform,
an operator station (platform where operator is standing) ,
controls (steering console),
a frame (raised frame for forklift tines),
and one or more surfaces for temporary support (fork arms);
characterized in that it also includes a vacuum pump (pump disposed in order picker), connected to a package picking unit (order picker) comprising a suction cup (end unit that grasps box) having a hole axially aligned with a stiff hose (metal pipe unit attached to suction cup serves as stiff hose);
said suction cup is connected through a joint (connecting mechanism between suction cup and stiff hose) to said stiff hose (yellow pipe member) ending with a handle including a button (user grips handle to lift packages);
said handle is connected to a flexible hose (handle attaches to flexible moveable hose),
wherein said button activates said vacuum pump (buttons and hand rails on handle to operate suction mechanism) sucking air from the hole of said suction cup.
Tawi fails to teach,
That the flexible hose is wound in a hose reel.
However, Keenan teaches,
that the flexible hose (22) is wound in a hose reel (16).
Tawi and Keenan are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the field of article handling, and vacuum apparatuses. Therefore, it would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tawi’s mobile order picking unit to include the reel mechanism taught by Keenan to increase the reach and usable range of the suction lifting mechanism.
Regarding claim 2, Tawi teaches, Mobile elevating platform according to claim 1,
characterized in that said package picking unit also includes attachment means, suitable for attaching said unit to said mobile elevating platform (Package picking unit attaches slidably to mobile elevating platform’s forks).
Regarding claim 4, Tawi teaches, Mobile elevating platform according to claim 1,
characterized in that said joint is spherical (joint connecting suction cup to stiff pipe Is circular and spherical)
Tawi fails to teach,
That the flexible hose is equipped with a stop
Keenan teaches,
and the flexible hose is equipped with a stop (ratchet mechanism serves as stop for winding/unwinding).
Tawi and Keenan are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the field of article handling. Therefore, it would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tawi’s mobile order picking unit to include the reel and stop taught by Keenan, doing so prevents the reel from over winding or underwinding and keeps the hose from exerting a constant force to rewind itself.
Regarding claim 5, Tawi teaches, the Mobile elevating platform according to claims 1,
characterized in that said vacuum pump is integrated in said base chassis (when mounted – vacuum pump system is integrated into chassis).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tawi – mobile order picker demonstration video in view of Keenan (US 5119843) as applied to claims 1, 2, 4, and 5 above, and further in view of Hurley (US 11938613 B2).
Regarding claim 3, Tawi and Keenan fail to teach, that Mobile elevating platform according to claim 2,
characterized in that the frame and the surfaces for temporary support and the stiff body of the package picking unit are equipped with means of temporary attachment, chosen between means of magnetic temporary attachment or flexible elements
However, Hurley teaches,
Including magnetic temporary attachment means (12) to for the stiff body and the package
picking unit (fig. 1 – shows tools (14) temporarily mounted on magnetic attachment means (12))
Tawi, Keenan and Hurley are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are all in the field of article handling and organizing technologies. Therefore, it would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tawi’s mobile order picking unit and the reel taught by Keenan to include the magnetic temporary attachment means taught by Hurley. Doing provides a fastening point for the stiff hose, allowing the unit to travel faster without damaging the hose.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record but not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure
Juergen (US 20220144610 A1) - discloses an industrial truck with a suction mechanism for raising loads.
/SAUL RODRIGUEZ/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3652
/J.S.M./ Examiner, Art Unit 3652