DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/25/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-18 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12189734. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No. 12189734
Claim 1
Claim 10
A security control system, comprising: at least one storage device storing a set of instructions; and one or more processors in communication with the at least one storage device, wherein when executing the set of instructions, the one or more processors are configured to direct the system to:
The system of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to direct the system to:
obtain a first sensing signal through one or more first sensing units, the first sensing signal being configured to indicate whether there is any person within a preset range of a first device;
obtain a first sensing signal through one or more first sensing units, the first sensing signal being configured to indicate whether there is any person within a preset range of the first device;
control the first device to obtain first data based on the first sensing signal;
control the first device to obtain the first data based on the first sensing signal;
obtain a second sensing signal through one or more second sensing units, the second sensing signal being configured to indicate whether there is any person within a preset range of a display unit;
obtain a second sensing signal through one or more second sensing units, the second sensing signal being configured to indicate whether there is any person within a preset range of a display unit;
and control the display unit to be turned on or off based on the first sensing signal and the second sensing signal, wherein the first data is displayed when the display unit is turned on.
and control the display unit to be turned on or off based on the first sensing signal and the second sensing signal, wherein the first data is displayed when the display unit is turned on.
All limitations of claim 1 in the instant application are anticipated by claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12189734
Regarding claims 2-18 of the instant application, they are anticipated by claims 2-9 and 11-18 (dependent claims containing all the limitations of the respective parent claim) of the us patent application number respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Siminoff et al. US PG-Pub(US 20180220108 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Siminoff teaches a security control system, comprising: at least one storage device storing a set of instructions(¶[0239] discloses a memory and storage device); and one or more processors in communication with the at least one storage device, wherein when executing the set of instructions, the one or more processors are configured to direct the system to(¶[0237], “The memory 854 may store instructions for communicating with other systems, such as a computer. The memory 854 may store, for example, a program (e.g., computer program code) adapted to direct the processor 852 in accordance with the present embodiments. The instructions also may include program elements, such as an operating system. While execution of sequences of instructions in the program causes the processor 852 to perform the process steps described herein,”, ¶[0237], discloses a memory that stores a program that a processor uses to execute.): obtain a first sensing signal through one or more first sensing units((¶[0273], “the first A/V recording and communication device 1002 may do some initial analysis, e.g., to identify an entity in first image data 1060 in the field of view of the first A/V recording and communication device 1002, but the first image data 1060 may be further processed by the backend server 1030, e.g., to determine additional attributes of the first image data 1060 and/or to compare the first image data 1060 to the second image data 1090, the additional image data 1160, and/or other data”, ¶[0273] discloses obtaining data from a recording device of a person of interest.), the first sensing signal being configured to indicate whether there is any person within a preset range of a first device; (¶[0198] discloses “ At block B564, the network device(s) receive a share signal from the first client device. At block B566, the network device(s) determine at least one second A/V doorbell within at least one predefined distance from the first A/V doorbell. At block B568, the network device(s) transmit a share notification signal to the at least one second client device corresponding to the at least one determined second A/V doorbell. At block B670, the network device(s) receive a playback request signal from the second client device. At block B672, the network device(s) transmits a third video signal to the second client device.”, determining if an person is within a predefined distance from the doorbell.)control the first device to obtain first data based on the first sensing signal(¶[0264] discloses allowing the user to obtain data from the sensing device.); obtain a second sensing signal through one or more second sensing units(¶0009], a request to analyze additional image data for the entity of interest, wherein the additional image data comprises the second data and is captured by a camera of a second A/V recording and communication device of the plurality of A/V recording and communication devices associated with the third client device.), the second sensing signal being configured to indicate whether there is any person within a preset range of a display unit(¶[0198] discloses determine a distance between the entity of interest and any of the sensing device.); and control the display unit to be turned on or off based on the first sensing signal and the second sensing signal, wherein the first data is displayed when the display unit is turned on. (¶[0044] discloses displaying data onto a graphical interface based on a request generated from the client device.)
Regarding Claim 2, Siminoff teaches the system of claim 1, wherein to control the display unit to be turned on or off based on the first sensing signal and the second sensing signal(¶[0044] discloses a request to control the display of the device.), the one or more processors are further configured to direct the system to: in response to a determination that the first sensing signal indicates that there is a person within the preset range of the first device, and the second sensing signal indicates that there is a person within the preset range of the display unit, turn on the display unit. (¶[0130], “In response to the detection of the visitor, the A/V recording and communication doorbell 100 sends an alert to the user's client device 114 (FIG. 1) via the user's network 110 and the network 112. The A/V recording and communication doorbell 100 also sends streaming video, and may also send streaming audio, to the user's client device 114. If the user answers the alert, two-way audio communication may then occur between the visitor and the user through the A/V recording and communication doorbell 100 and the user's client device 114.”, discloses displaying the person of interest when the person is nearby the doorbell)
Regarding Claim 3, Siminoff teaches the system of claim 2, wherein to control the display unit to be turned on or off based on the first sensing signal and the second sensing signal, the one or more processors are further configured to direct the system to: time a screen-on duration of the display unit when the display unit is turned on; and turn off the display unit when the display unit is in a screen-on state and the screen-on duration reaches a duration threshold. (¶[0161], at block B310a the live audio/video data may be displayed on the user's client device 114, thereby allowing the user surveillance from the perspective of the doorbell 130. When the user is satisfied with this function, the user may sever the connection at block B312, whereby the session ends. If, however, at block B308 the user denies the notification, or ignores the notification and a specified time interval elapses, then the connection between the doorbell 130 and the user's client device 114 is terminated and the audio/video data is recorded and stored at a cloud server at block B310b, such that the user may view the audio/video data later at their convenience)
Regarding Claim 4, Siminoff teaches the system of claim 3, wherein the duration threshold has an initial value, and the duration threshold is dynamically set. (¶[0162] discloses setting a timing threshold for a certain time period)
Regarding Claim 6, Siminoff teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to direct the system to: obtain the first data from the first device(¶[0008], “receiving, from an A/V recording and communication device of the plurality of A/V recording and communication devices, first data including image data generated by a camera of the A/V recording and communication device”, ¶[0008], discloses image data obtained by a camera of the recording device.); obtain second data from a second device(¶[0008],”receiving, from an additional source, second data.” ¶[0009], “wherein the additional image data comprises the second data and is captured by a camera of a second A/V recording and communication device of the plurality of A/V recording and communication devices.”, ¶[0008]-¶[0009] disclose second data is received from a second recording device.); and associate and process the first data and/or the second data(¶[0281], “the data analysis module 1182 may configure the processor 1172 to analyze the first image data 1060 with the analysis resulting in recognition of a person in the image data. The data analysis module 1182 may then configure the processor 1172 to compare characteristics of the person to the second image data 1090, e.g., to determine whether the person was also included in the second image data 1090 captured by the second A/V recording and communication device 1012.”, ¶[0281], discloses the data analysis module obtains data from the devices and uses the data to determine if a person appears in both devices.).
Regarding Claim 7, Siminoff teaches the system of claim 6, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to direct the system to: send the processed first data and second data to a server and/or a user terminal. (¶[0127,], The A/V recording and communication doorbell 100 may also communicate with one or more remote storage device(s) 116 (may be referred to interchangeably as “cloud storage device(s)”), one or more servers 118, and/or a backend API (application programming interface) 120 via the user's network 110.)
Regarding Claim 8, Siminoff teaches The system of claim 6, wherein the first device includes a monitoring data obtaining device(¶[0126], “The A/V recording and communication doorbell 100 includes a camera 102, a microphone 104, and a speaker 106. The camera 102 may comprise, for example, a high definition (HD) video camera, such as one capable of capturing video images at an image display resolution of 720p or better.”, ¶[0126], discloses obtaining video image data from a doorbell camera security system.), and the second device includes an access switch device or a smart lock. (¶[0256] “The one or more automation devices 1038(b) may include, for example, at least one of an outdoor lighting system, an indoor lighting system, and indoor/outdoor lighting system, a temperature control system (e.g., a thermostat), a shade/blind control system, a locking control system (e.g., door lock, window lock, etc.),” , ¶[0256], discloses the second device includes a locking control system.)
Regarding Claim 9, Siminoff teaches the system of claim 8, wherein the second data includes at least one of operation instructions, execution results of operation instructions, identification information of the second device, identity information, or a password. (¶[0262], “the backend server 1030 may search the output signal 1096 to find a match of the entity of interest identified in the share signal, as further described below. For example, in some embodiments, the backend server 1030 may receive first image data 1060 of an entity of interest and may search and find a match of the entity of interest in the second image data 1090. In a further example, in some embodiments, the backend server 1030 may receive a text-based 1064 description of an entity of interest and may search and find a match of the entity of interest in second image data 1090.”, discloses searching a database for identification of the entity of interest.)
Regarding Claim 10, Siminoff teaches the system of claim 6, wherein to associate and process the first data and/or the second data, the one or more processors are further configured to direct the system to: in response to a determination that the second device detects the second data, control the first device to collect the first data and integrate an association identifier related to the second data into the first data(¶[0281], the data analysis module 1182 may configure the processor 1172 to analyze the first image data 1060 with the analysis resulting in recognition of a person in the image data. The data analysis module 1182 may then configure the processor 1172 to compare characteristics of the person to the second image data 1090, e.g., to determine whether the person was also included in the second image data 1090 captured by the second A/V recording and communication device 1012.); or in response to a determination that the first device detects the first data, obtain an association identifier related to the first data, and in response to a determination that the second device detects the second data within a preset time, integrate the association identifier related to the first data into the second data. (¶[0311], In some embodiments, a match (block B1312) of the person of interest in the second image data 1090 may be confirmed by a human operator. In addition, searching (block B1310) the second image data 1090 for the match (block B1314) of the person of interest may be restricted to a subset of the second image data 1090, such as a subset of the second image data captured during a predetermined length of time before and/or the capture of the first image data 1060 that includes the person of interest)
Regarding Claim 11, , Siminoff teaches the system of claim 6, wherein to associate and process the first data and/or the second data, the one or more processors are further configured to direct the system to: establish an association relationship between the first data and the corresponding second data based on the association identifier carried by the first data and/or the second data. ([0311] In further reference to FIG. 53, the process 1300 may include searching (block B1310) the second image data 1090 for a match (block B1312) of the person of interest in the first image data 1060. In many embodiments, the search (block B1310) of the second image data 1090 for a match (block B1312) of the person of interest in the first image data 1060 may be automated using various imaging processing techniques and/or machine learning processes. For example, in some embodiments, searching (block B1310) the second image data 1090 for the match (block B1312) of the person of interest may be performed using facial recognition processes, color matching schemes, and/or using a body build score. In some embodiments, a match (block B1312) of the person of interest in the second image data 1090 may be confirmed by a human operator. In addition, searching (block B1310) the second image data 1090 for the match (block B1314) of the person of interest may be restricted to a subset of the second image data 1090, such as a subset of the second image data captured during a predetermined length of time before and/or the capture of the first image data 1060 that includes the person of interest. As described in ¶[0311], the prior art is determining a relationship between the first and second image data and determining if a person of interest is in both images.)
Regarding Claim 12, Siminoff teaches the system of claim 6, wherein to associate and process the first data and/or the second data, the one or more processors are further configured to direct the system to: integrate an obtaining time of the first data and an obtaining time of the second data into the first data and the second data, respectively. (0038] In another embodiment of the second aspect, the method further includes receiving at least one of a time or a location associated with the image data. As described in further detail in ¶[0161], the prior art is able to determine a time in which the image data is captured and records that data and uploads it onto a cloud server.).
Regarding Claim 13, Siminoff teaches the system of claim 6, wherein to associate and process the first data and/or the second data, the one or more processors are further configured to direct the system to: determine, based on the obtaining time carried by the second data([0038] In another embodiment of the second aspect, the method further includes receiving at least one of a time or a location associated with the image data), whether the obtaining time carried by the first data from a same security device includes the obtaining time carried by the second data; and in response to a determination that the obtaining time carried by the first data includes the obtaining time carried by the second data, establish an association relationship between the first data and the corresponding second data. (¶0247], the realization that users of audio/video (A/V) recording and communication devices may from time to time desire to share video footage recorded by their devices. For example, when an A/V recording and communication device records video footage of suspicious activity, or even criminal activity, a user viewing the footage may desire to alert his or her neighbors to the possible danger posed by the person(s) involved in the suspicious or criminal activity. As described in ¶[0247], the prior art is able to determine a timing between the devices and if the user desires they can share the images and times captured to different users to report suspicious activities.)
Regarding Claim 14, Siminoff teaches the system of claim 6, wherein to associate and process the first data and/or the second data, the one or more processors are further configured to direct the system to: recognize an operator image from the first data using an image recognition algorithm(¶[0274] In addition to determining whether the first image data 1060, the second image data 1090, and/or the additional image data 1160 contains an object, in any of the present embodiments, the data may be analyzed to determine object data 1196. In some of the present embodiments, one or more of the image data 1060, 1090, 1160, the audio data 1062, 1092, 1162, the text data 1064, 1094, 1164, and/or motion data may be used to determine the object data 1196. The computer vision and/or image processing may be executed using computer vision and/or image processing algorithms); obtain identity information in the second data associated with the first data(¶[0311], In addition, searching (block B1310) the second image data 1090 for the match (block B1314) of the person of interest may be restricted to a subset of the second image data 1090, such as a subset of the second image data captured during a predetermined length of time before and/or the capture of the first image data 1060 that includes the person of interest.);; and obtain the operator image marked with the identity information by establishing an association relationship between the identity information and the operator image in the first data. ([0311] In further reference to FIG. 53, the process 1300 may include searching (block B1310) the second image data 1090 for a match (block B1312) of the person of interest in the first image data 1060. In many embodiments, the search (block B1310) of the second image data 1090 for a match (block B1312) of the person of interest in the first image data 1060 may be automated using various imaging processing techniques and/or machine learning processes. For example, in some embodiments, searching (block B1310) the second image data 1090 for the match (block B1312) of the person of interest may be performed using facial recognition processes, color matching schemes, and/or using a body build score. In some embodiments, a match (block B1312) of the person of interest in the second image data 1090 may be confirmed by a human operator.).
Regarding Claim 15, Siminoff teaches the system of claim 14, wherein the one or more processors are further configured direct the system to: receive the first data obtained by the first device; recognize a current operator image from the first data using the image recognition algorithm(¶[0274] In addition to determining whether the first image data 1060, the second image data 1090, and/or the additional image data 1160 contains an object, in any of the present embodiments, the data may be analyzed to determine object data 1196. In some of the present embodiments, one or more of the image data 1060, 1090, 1160, the audio data 1062, 1092, 1162, the text data 1064, 1094, 1164, and/or motion data may be used to determine the object data 1196. The computer vision and/or image processing may be executed using computer vision and/or image processing algorithms); and determine an identity of a current operator based on the current operator image and the operator image marked with the identity information. ([0311] In further reference to FIG. 53, the process 1300 may include searching (block B1310) the second image data 1090 for a match (block B1312) of the person of interest in the first image data 1060. In many embodiments, the search (block B1310) of the second image data 1090 for a match (block B1312) of the person of interest in the first image data 1060 may be automated using various imaging processing techniques and/or machine learning processes. For example, in some embodiments, searching (block B1310) the second image data 1090 for the match (block B1312) of the person of interest may be performed using facial recognition processes, color matching schemes, and/or using a body build score. In some embodiments, a match (block B1312) of the person of interest in the second image data 1090 may be confirmed by a human operator.).
Regarding Claim 16, Siminoff teaches the system of claim 15, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to direct the system to: take corresponding measures based on the identity of the current operator(¶[0172], a first user may view video footage that was recorded by his or her doorbell and determine that the person or persons in the video footage are, or may be, engaged in criminal activity. The first user may then share that video footage with other users who, after viewing the shared video footage, may be alerted to be on the lookout for the person or persons in the shared video footage and, if one or more such other users observe the person or persons in the shared video footage engaged in further suspicious activity, they may be more likely to report the person or persons to law enforcement.); wherein the measures include at least one of: sending at least a portion of the first data and/or at least a portion of the second data to a user terminal associated with the first device for confirmation(¶[0029], the method further includes transmitting, to the first client device, the additional image data and a request to confirm that the additional image data includes the person of interest.), switching a state of the second device, or generating alarm information(¶[0172], a first user may view video footage that was recorded by his or her doorbell and determine that the person or persons in the video footage are, or may be, engaged in criminal activity. The first user may then share that video footage with other users who, after viewing the shared video footage, may be alerted to be on the lookout for the person or persons in the shared video footage and, if one or more such other users observe the person or persons in the shared video footage engaged in further suspicious activity, they may be more likely to report the person or persons to law enforcement.).
Regarding Claim 20, claim 20 is considered a method claim substantially corresponding to claim 1. Please see the discussion of claim 1 above for a discussion of similar limitations. Furthermore, Siminoff teaches in response to a determination that a passive infrared sensor (PIR) is triggered, turning on a camera installed outside a door for videoing(See ¶[0140]); determining whether there is any person within a preset range inside the door (See, ¶[0198])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siminoff et al. US PG-Pub(US 20180220108 A1) in view of Han et al. US PG-Pub (US 20180181797 A1)
Regarding Claim 17, while Siminoff teaches The system of claim 6, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to direct the system to: in response to a determination that an alarm button is triggered, send alarm information to an associated user terminal; or in response to a determination on a basis of the first data that there is an abnormal condition, send alarm information to the associated user terminal.
Siminoff does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more processors are further configured to direct the system to: in response to a determination that an alarm button is triggered, send alarm information to an associated user terminal; or in response to a determination on a basis of the first data that there is an abnormal condition, send alarm information to the associated user terminal.
Han teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to direct the system to: in response to a determination that an alarm button is triggered, send alarm information to an associated user terminal; or in response to a determination on a basis of the first data that there is an abnormal condition, send alarm information to the associated user terminal. (¶[0162] For example, the recognition result providing unit 1440 may display information regarding a recognized user, or may output an alarm or a warning message when the recognized user is not a fair user. Alternatively, when the recognized user is a fair user, a predetermined service may be provided.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the claimed invention as taught by Siminoff and Kim with Han in order to generate an alarm once an unauthorized person is detected. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to modify Siminoff and Kim in this manner in order to search for a criminal suspect and surveillance of a crime-ridden district. (Han, ¶[0005])
Regarding Claim 18, the combination of Siminoff and Kim teach the system of claim 17, where Siminoff further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to direct the system to: receive a data request sent by the associated user terminal; and provide the first data and/or the second data to the associated user terminal. ([0027] In another embodiment of the second aspect, the additional source comprises a second A/V recording and communication device, and the method further comprising: transmitting, to a third client device associated with the second A/V recording and communication device, a request to at least one of receive or access the additional image data, wherein the additional image data is captured by a camera of the second A/V recording and communication device.)
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto et al. US PG-Pub (US 20160295174 A1) in view of Siminoff et al. US PG-Pub(US 20180220108 A1).
Regarding Claim 19, Yamamoto teaches a security control system(Fig. 1), comprising: a monitoring device including a slave machine installed outside a door(in FIG. 1, video intercom device 10 includes front door slave unit 100) and a master machine installed inside the door(Fig. 1 indoor master unit 200.), the master machine being communicatively connected with the slave machine(¶[0023], “Wireless communicator 101 transmits a captured image to indoor master unit 200. With this, indoor residents can recognize the visitors present in the vicinity of the entrance door. In addition, wireless communicator 101 transmits voice information including a voice of the visitors that is collected by audio input and output section 106 of front door slave unit 100 to indoor master unit 200.”, discloses the slave machine is communication with the master machine.); wherein the slave machine includes a camera([0028] Imaging section 105 captures a predetermined area outdoors. An image (captured image) captured by imaging section 105, for example, includes video and still images, and the captured image includes image of visitors, passersby, suspicious persons, objects other than a human, or the like.) and the master machine includes a controller([0034] Indoor master unit 200 includes wireless communicator 201, controller 202,), and a display screen(Fig 1, 206);
Yamamoto does not explicitly teach wherein the slave machine includes a passive infrared sensor (PIR) and the master machine includes at least one infrared ranging sensor and the controller is communicatively connected with the PIR, the camera, the infrared ranging sensor, and the display screen, respectively.
Siminoff teaches wherein the slave machine includes a passive infrared sensor (PIR) and the master machine includes at least one infrared ranging sensor(¶[0135], The doorbell 130 further includes a lens 132. In some embodiments, the lens may comprise a Fresnel lens, which may be patterned to deflect incoming light into one or more infrared sensors located within the doorbell 130) and the controller is communicatively connected with the PIR, the camera, the infrared ranging sensor, and the display screen, respectively.(¶[0164] “FIG. 14 is a flowchart illustrating another embodiment of a process according to an aspect of the present disclosure. At block B300, an object may move into the field of view of one or more of the PIR sensors 144. At block B302, the PIR sensors 144 may trigger the microcontroller 163, which may then trigger the communication module 164 to send a request to a network device. .”, discloses the controller is in communication with the PIR sensors and image sensors to transmit the data to the client device)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the claimed invention as taught by Yamamoto with Siminoff in order to have a passive infrared sensors within the security system. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to modify Yamamoto in this manner in order to improve the functionality of A/V recording and communication devices by facilitating easy sharing of video footage recorded by such devices. (Siminoff, ¶[0002])
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 5, the primary reason for the allowance of the claims is the inclusion of the limitations, “wherein to set the duration threshold, the one or more processors are further configured to direct the system to: obtain the first sensing signal again when the display unit is in a screen-on state; in response to a determination that the first sensing signal indicates there is a person within the preset range of the first device, add a delay increment to a timing result of the screen-on duration of the display unit, and in response to a determination that the timing result plus the delay increment is greater than the initial value of the duration threshold, determine the timing result plus the delay increment as an updated duration threshold.”, in all the claim which is not found in the prior art references. It is noted that the examiner has not found any other prior art to anticipate or obviate the quoted claim limitations supra, when read in light/combination of the other claimed limitations within the cited claim. Also, it is noted that the quoted limitations, in combination with the other claim limitations of the cited claim, deem the claim patentable, not just the consideration of the quoted limitations by themselves.
Conclusion
/HAN HOANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2661