DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final Office Action on the merits. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and are addressed below.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for priority application No. JP2017-209156 filed on 10/30/2017.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/16/2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 19, and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 19, and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,675,360. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims comprise substantially similar limitations to each limitation of the pending claims, thereby anticipating the pending claims.
Claims 11-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2, 21, 7, 8, 13, 14, 11, 12, respectively of U.S. Patent No. 11,675,360. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims comprise substantially similar limitations to each limitation of the pending claims, thereby anticipating the pending claims.
Claims 1-2, and 11-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,204,338. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims comprise substantially similar limitations to each limitation of the pending claims, thereby anticipating the pending claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 11, 14, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Francis, Jr. et al. (US 8,452,451).
Regarding claim 1:
Francis teaches An information processing apparatus comprising:
circuitry configured to
determine an action based on an action history collected by a first autonomous mobile body (see at least Fig. 4, column 9, line 6-column 10, line 28), and
recommend the action to a second autonomous mobile body (see at least column 2, line 5-42),
wherein the action history includes a movement of the first autonomous mobile body and a reaction from one or more users to the movement (see at least column 7, lines 63-67, column 9, line 25-45, 58-64), and
wherein the reaction is stored as positive feedback or negative feedback (see at least column 7, lines 63-67).
Regarding claim 2:
Francis further teaches wherein the movement of the first autonomous mobile body is taught as a teaching operation (The Examiner notes that any new action learned, broadly interpreted, is a taught operation. see at least column 10, line 13-25).
Regarding claim 11:
Francis further teaches
wherein the circuitry is further configured to provide the second autonomous mobile body with control sequence data for realizing the movement corresponding to the recommended action (see at least column 17, lines 23-47).
Regarding claim 14:
Francis further teaches wherein the circuitry is further configured to recommend the action based on a request from the second autonomous mobile body(see at least column 8, line 30-67).
Regarding claim 17:
Francis further wherein the circuitry is further configured to collect data registered in an object recognition dictionary included in the first autonomous mobile body (see at least Fig. 5, column 11, lines 45-67, column 16, line 33-55.
Regarding claim 18:
Francis further teaches wherein the circuitry is further configured to
collect data registered in an object recognition dictionary included in the second autonomous mobile body, and
register the data registered in the object recognition dictionary included in the first autonomous mobile body into the object recognition dictionary included in the second autonomous mobile body (see at least column 5, line 65- column 9, line 65, column 16, line 33-55).
Regarding claims 19 and 20, Francis teaches a method and computer readable medium as in claim 1 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Francis, Jr. et al. (US 8,452,451)
Regarding claim 3:
Francis further teaches controlling the robot via interaction with a user interface (see at least column 5, line 65- column 6, line 7).
Francis is silent as to the specifics of the user commands.
The Examiner notes that in the context of the robotic task learning and data sharing system and method as taught by Francis, any number of conventional user commands may meet the claim limitations.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the robot task learning system and method as taught by Francis with any conventional robot motion command implemented through the user interface as taught by Francis in order to provide specific motion commands for a particular context that may not have been previously learned by the robots.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Francis as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lin (US 2018/0304460).
Regarding claim 4:
Francis teaches the limitations as in claim 1 above.
Francis is silent as to teaching via physical manipulation of robot joints.
Lin teaches a system and method of teaching a robot including wherein the teaching operation includes physical bending and stretching operations of a joint of the first autonomous mobile body by the user (see at least abstract, ¶0040).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the robot control system and method as taught by Francis with the well-known technique of manual teaching as taught by Lin in order to quickly and efficiently teach new motions to a robot without requiring external teaching devices or data entry.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Francis as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ito (US 2004/0036437).
Regarding claims 5-6:
Francis teaches the limitations as in claim 2 above.
Francis is silent as to demonstration learning through motion capture.
Ito teaches a system and method of teaching motions to a mobile body including wherein the teaching operation is obtained from movement of an imaged motion of a mobile body wherein the circuitry is further configured to
estimate a position of a joint of the imaged mobile body, and
control a joint part of the first autonomous mobile body corresponding to the joint of the imaged mobile body (see at least ¶0008, 0034, 0068).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the robot teaching system and method as taught by Francis with the well-known technique of teaching robot motions via motion capture as taught by Ito in order to quickly teach a desired, complex motion without re quiring a programming of individual joint angles manually.
Regarding claim 7-10:
Ito further teaches wherein the circuitry is further configured to store an incentive situation associated with the action wherein the incentive situation includes situation recognition based on a sensor information wherein the incentive situation includes music wherein the incentive situation is specified by a user (see at least ¶0016, ¶0112).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Francis as applied to claim 1 above, in view Thapliya et al. (US 2017/0266812).
Regarding claims 12-13:
Francis teaches the limitations as in claim 1 above. Francis further teaches wherein the robot interacts with a user via natural language and identifies a user based on speech or facial recognition (see column 3, line 53- column 4, line 18). Francis is silent as to user enthusiasm or user feedback via utterance or facial expression.
Thapliya teaches a system and method of human-robot interaction through natural language including determining a next robotic action based at least in part on a level of enthusiasm of a user and facial expressions (see at least ¶0055-0057).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the cloud-based robot-human interaction learning system and method as taught by Francis with the technique of utilizing user enthusiasm as a feedback mechanism as taught by Thapliya in order to allow for natural, intuitive interactions between the user and robot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Francis as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jenkins et al. (US 2019/0122157).
Regarding claim 15:
Francis teaches the limitations as in claim 1 above. Francis is silent as to recommending maintenance.
Jenkins teaches a system and method of robotic fleet operation, including wherein the circuitry is further configured to transmit a notification for recommending maintenance based on an analysis result of an operation state related to the second autonomous mobile body (see at least ¶0066-0067).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the cloud-based robot-human interaction learning system and method as taught by Francis with the technique of recommending maintenance upon detecting a failure or other need for maintenance as taught by Jenkins in order to timely determine maintenance requirements to ensure all agents are operating correctly and the system maintains operation.
Regarding claim 16:
Jenkins further teaches wherein the circuitry transmits the notification for recommending maintenance to a user, on a basis of the operation state estimated from an action failure log (broadly interpreted, any detecting, storing, and processing of an action failure constitutes a “failure log”, see at least ¶0066-0067).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Ryan Rink/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619