DETAILED ACTION
This is a Final Office Action on the merits. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and are addressed below.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 05/11/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/11/2026 with respect to the double patenting rejection have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to Applicant's argument that the pending claims are patentably distinct from the patented claims, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. No specific arguments were presented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the combination of references and/or rationale being used in the current rejection.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 19, and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 19, and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,675,360. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims comprise substantially similar limitations to each limitation of the pending claims, thereby anticipating the pending claims.
Claims 11-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2, 21, 7, 8, 13, 14, 11, 12, respectively of U.S. Patent No. 11,675,360. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims comprise substantially similar limitations to each limitation of the pending claims, thereby anticipating the pending claims.
Claims 1-2, and 11-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,204,338. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims comprise substantially similar limitations to each limitation of the pending claims, thereby anticipating the pending claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 11, 14, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Francis, Jr. et al. (US 8,452,451) in view of Kobayashi (US 2013/0246318).
Regarding claim 1:
Francis teaches An information processing apparatus comprising:
circuitry configured to
determine an action based on an action history collected by a first autonomous mobile body (see at least Fig. 4, column 9, line 6-column 10, line 28), and
recommend the action to a second autonomous mobile body (see at least column 2, line 5-42),
wherein the action history associates an autonomous physical movement of the first autonomous mobile body with a reaction from one or more users responsive to the autonomous physical movement (see at least column 4, line 11-17, column 7, lines 63-67, column 9, line 25-45, 58-64), and
wherein the reaction is positive feedback or negative feedback (see at least column 7, lines 63-67).
Francis does not explicitly teach storing the reaction as positive or negative feedback.
However, the Examiner notes that Francis’ teaching of at least learning what causes a user’s behavior, and modifying future behavior based on that feedback at least implies some form of storage of the feedback.
Kobayashi teaches a system and method of learning for a robotic device, including storing an action history, including a previous action by a robotic device, and a positive or negative feedback associated with the action (see at least abstract, ¶00238, ¶0266, ¶0373).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing of the invention to modify the robotic control and learning system and method as taught by Francis with the well-known technique of reward-based learning as taught by Kobayashi in order to provide the well-known benefit of allowing adaptive behavior by the robot, changing behavior to future events based on similar actions in the past and a user’s previous experience and desires.
Regarding claim 2:
Francis further teaches wherein the movement of the first autonomous mobile body is taught as a teaching operation (The Examiner notes that any new action learned, broadly interpreted, is a taught operation. see at least column 10, line 13-25).
Regarding claim 3:
Francis further teaches controlling the robot via interaction with a user interface (see at least column 5, line 65- column 6, line 7).
Francis is silent as to the specifics of the user commands.
The Examiner notes that in the context of the robotic task learning and data sharing system and method as taught by Francis, any number of conventional user commands may meet the claim limitations.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the robot task learning system and method as taught by Francis with any conventional robot motion command implemented through the user interface as taught by Francis in order to provide specific motion commands for a particular context that may not have been previously learned by the robots.
Regarding claim 11:
Francis further teaches
wherein the circuitry is further configured to provide the second autonomous mobile body with control sequence data for realizing the movement corresponding to the recommended action (see at least column 17, lines 23-47).
Regarding claim 14:
Francis further teaches wherein the circuitry is further configured to recommend the action based on a request from the second autonomous mobile body(see at least column 8, line 30-67).
Regarding claim 17:
Francis further wherein the circuitry is further configured to collect data registered in an object recognition dictionary included in the first autonomous mobile body (see at least Fig. 5, column 11, lines 45-67, column 16, line 33-55.
Regarding claim 18:
Francis further teaches wherein the circuitry is further configured to
collect data registered in an object recognition dictionary included in the second autonomous mobile body, and
register the data registered in the object recognition dictionary included in the first autonomous mobile body into the object recognition dictionary included in the second autonomous mobile body (see at least column 5, line 65- column 9, line 65, column 16, line 33-55).
Regarding claims 19 and 20, the combination of Francis and Kobayashi teaches a method and computer readable medium as in claim 1 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Francis and Kobayashi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lin (US 2018/0304460).
Regarding claim 4:
Francis teaches the limitations as in claim 1 above.
Francis is silent as to teaching via physical manipulation of robot joints.
Lin teaches a system and method of teaching a robot including wherein the teaching operation includes physical bending and stretching operations of a joint of the first autonomous mobile body by the user (see at least abstract, ¶0040).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the robot control system and method as taught by Francis and Kobayashi with the well-known technique of manual teaching as taught by Lin in order to quickly and efficiently teach new motions to a robot without requiring external teaching devices or data entry.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Francis and Kobayashi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ito (US 2004/0036437).
Regarding claims 5-6:
Francis teaches the limitations as in claim 2 above.
Francis is silent as to demonstration learning through motion capture.
Ito teaches a system and method of teaching motions to a mobile body including wherein the teaching operation is obtained from movement of an imaged motion of a mobile body wherein the circuitry is further configured to
estimate a position of a joint of the imaged mobile body, and
control a joint part of the first autonomous mobile body corresponding to the joint of the imaged mobile body (see at least ¶0008, 0034, 0068).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the robot teaching system and method as taught by Francis and Kobayashi with the well-known technique of teaching robot motions via motion capture as taught by Ito in order to quickly teach a desired, complex motion without requiring a programming of individual joint angles manually.
Regarding claim 7-10:
Ito further teaches wherein the circuitry is further configured to store an incentive situation associated with the action wherein the incentive situation includes situation recognition based on a sensor information wherein the incentive situation includes music wherein the incentive situation is specified by a user (see at least ¶0016, ¶0112).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Francis and Kobayashi as applied to claim 1 above, in view Thapliya et al. (US 2017/0266812).
Regarding claims 12-13:
Francis teaches the limitations as in claim 1 above. Francis further teaches wherein the robot interacts with a user via natural language and identifies a user based on speech or facial recognition (see column 3, line 53- column 4, line 18). Francis is silent as to user enthusiasm or user feedback via utterance or facial expression.
Thapliya teaches a system and method of human-robot interaction through natural language including determining a next robotic action based at least in part on a level of enthusiasm of a user and facial expressions (see at least ¶0055-0057).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the cloud-based robot-human interaction learning system and method as taught by Francis and Kobayashi with the technique of utilizing user enthusiasm as a feedback mechanism as taught by Thapliya in order to allow for natural, intuitive interactions between the user and robot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Francis and Kobayashi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jenkins et al. (US 2019/0122157).
Regarding claim 15:
Francis teaches the limitations as in claim 1 above. Francis is silent as to recommending maintenance.
Jenkins teaches a system and method of robotic fleet operation, including wherein the circuitry is further configured to transmit a notification for recommending maintenance based on an analysis result of an operation state related to the second autonomous mobile body (see at least ¶0066-0067).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the cloud-based robot-human interaction learning system and method as taught by Francis and Kobayashi with the technique of recommending maintenance upon detecting a failure or other need for maintenance as taught by Jenkins in order to timely determine maintenance requirements to ensure all agents are operating correctly and the system maintains operation.
Regarding claim 16:
Jenkins further teaches wherein the circuitry transmits the notification for recommending maintenance to a user, on a basis of the operation state estimated from an action failure log (broadly interpreted, any detecting, storing, and processing of an action failure constitutes a “failure log”, see at least ¶0066-0067).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Ryan Rink/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619