Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 and 12 – 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 9, the claim limitation recites "wherein the tubular projection at least partially overlaps " in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding Claim 12, the claim limitation recites " further comprising a reaction plate fixed to the KO shaft and arranged to restrict axial movement of " in lines 2 - 3 . There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding Claims 13 – 16, they are rejected as being dependent on rejected claim 12 because of its lack of antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 9 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walega et al. (US20240217331A1) in view of Payne et al. (US10899220B1) and further in view of Podschwadt et al. (US20200094668A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Walega et al. discloses a hybrid module (Walega Para [0012] first sentence), comprising:
an electric motor (20) comprising a rotor (62) (Walega et al. Fig. 2);
a torque converter (18) arranged for driving engagement with an input shaft (36) of a transmission (14) (Walega et al. Para [0041] lines 5 – 9),
the torque converter comprising a cover (front cover 40 of shell 44) rotatably connected to the rotor (Walega et al. Para [0012] lines 9 – 10),
a K0 clutch (electric connect/disconnect friction clutch 16) (Walega et al. Fig. 2),
the K0 clutch comprising a piston (74) (Walega et al. Fig. 2).
Walega et al. does not disclose:
a K0 shaft arranged for driving connection to a crankshaft of a combustion engine;
and a K0 clutch arranged for selectively rotatably connecting the rotor to the KO shaft,
the K0 clutch comprising a piston sealed to the cover at a radially inner portion and at a radially outer portion.
Payne et al. discloses:
a K0 shaft (152) arranged for driving connection to a crankshaft (163) of a combustion engine (Payne et al. c. 4, l. 5 – 6);
and a K0 clutch (150) arranged for selectively rotatably connecting the rotor (134) to the K0 shaft (Payne et al. c. 3, l. 53 – 55).
Podschwadt et al. discloses:
a lockup clutch comprising a piston sealed to a cover disk (Podschwadt et al. Para [0016] last sentence and Para [0022] lines 1 – 4 discloses a lockup clutch 103 includes an axially displaceable piston 140 that is sealed directly to the cover disk 118 of torque converter 102).
Payne et al. and Podschwadt et al. structurally disclose:
the K0 clutch (of Payne et al. Fig. 1) comprising a piston (140) sealed to the cover (cover disk 118) at a radially inner portion and at a radially outer portion (of Podschwadt et al. Para [0016] last sentence and Fig. 1 discloses piston 140 is sealed to the cover disk 118 at a radially inner portion of piston 140 and a radially outer portion of cover disk 118 via seal 152).
Walega et al., Payne et al., and Podschwadt et al. disclose a hybrid module therefore, Payne et al. and Podschwadt et al. constitute as prior art. Payne et al. discloses a k0 shaft connected to a crankshaft and a K0 clutch connecting a rotor to the K0 shaft, and Podschwadt et al. discloses a lockup clutch comprising a piston sealed to a cover of a torque converter. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a K0 shaft arranged for driving connection to a crankshaft of a combustion engine and a K0 clutch arranged for selectively rotatably connecting the rotor to the KO shaft of Payne et al., and the K0 clutch comprising a piston sealed to the cover at a radially inner portion and at a radially outer portion of structurally disclosed Payne et al. and Podschwadt et al. for the purpose of 1) selectively transfer or disconnect torque between the combustion engine and the transmission, 2) allow the combustion engine and rotor of the electric motor to transmit power to the transmission together, and 3) maintain hydraulic pressure and prevent hydraulic fluid from leaking.
Regarding Claim 2, Walega et al., Payne et al., and Podschwadt et al. disclose the hybrid module of claim 1, wherein the K0 clutch (Walega et al. Fig. 2) further comprises:
a first plurality of clutch plates (inner set of friction plates 70) rotatably connected to the input shaft (Walega et al. Para [0036] last sentence);
a second plurality of clutch plates (outer set of friction plates 66) rotatably connected to the rotor (Walega et al. Para [0035] whole paragraph),
wherein the piston is arranged to compress the first plurality of clutch plates against the second plurality of clutch plates (Walega et al. Para [0037] first sentence).
Walega et al. does not disclose:
a first plurality of clutch plates rotatably connected to the K0 shaft;
wherein the piston is arranged to compress the first plurality of clutch plates against the second plurality of clutch plates to engage the K0 clutch to rotatably connect the rotor to the K0 shaft.
Walega et al. and Payne et al. structurally disclose:
a first plurality of clutch plates rotatably connected (of Walega et al. Fig. 2) to the K0 shaft (of Payne et al. Fig. 1);
wherein the piston is arranged to compress the first plurality of clutch plates against the second plurality of clutch plates (of Walega et al. Para [0037] first sentence) to engage the K0 clutch to rotatably connect the rotor to the K0 shaft (of Payne et al. c. 3, l. 53 – 55).
It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a first plurality of clutch plates rotatably connected to the K0 shaft and wherein the piston is arranged to compress the first plurality of clutch plates against the second plurality of clutch plates to engage the K0 clutch to rotatably connect the rotor to the K0 shaft of structurally disclosed Walega et al. and Payne et al. for the purpose of transferring torque from the combustion engine to the transmission.
Regarding Claim 3, Walega et al., Payne et al., and Podschwadt et al. disclose the hybrid module of claim 2, wherein:
the cover comprises a tubular portion (Walega et al. Fig. 2 discloses a front cover 40 of shell 40 has a tubular portion around central axis X).
Walega et al. and Payne et al. do not disclose:
the radially inner portion is sealed to the tubular portion.
Podschwadt et al. discloses:
the radially inner portion is sealed to the tubular portion (Podschwadt et al. Fig. 1 discloses piston 140 is sealed to the cover disk 118 at a radially inner portion of piston 140 and a radially outer portion of cover disk 118 via seal 152).
It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the radially inner portion is sealed to the tubular portion of Podschwadt et al. for the purpose of maintaining a secured and sealed connection between the piston and the cover of the torque converter.
Regarding Claim 4, Walega et al., Payne et al., and Podschwadt et al. disclose the hybrid module of claim 3.
Walega et al. and Payne et al. no not disclose:
wherein the tubular portion at least partially overlaps at least one of the second plurality of clutch plates in a radial direction.
Walega et al. and Podschwadt et al. structurally disclose:
wherein the tubular portion at least partially overlaps (of Podschwadt et al. Fig. 1) at least one of the second plurality of clutch plates in a radial direction (of Walega et al. Fig. 2).
It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the tubular portion at least partially overlaps at least one of the second plurality of clutch plates in a radial direction of structurally disclosed Walega et al. and Podschwadt et al. for the purpose of having a direct mechanical link between the combustion engine and the transmission.
Regarding Claim 5, Walega et al., Payne et al., and Podschwadt et al. disclose the hybrid module of claim 3.
Walega et al. does not disclose:
wherein the tubular portion at least partially overlaps the K0 shaft in a radial direction.
Walega et al. and Payne et al. structurally discloses:
wherein the tubular portion at least partially overlaps (of Walega et al. Fig. 2) the K0 shaft in a radial direction (of Payne et al. Fig. 1).
It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the tubular portion at least partially overlaps the K0 shaft in a radial direction of structurally disclosed Walega et al. and Payne et al. for the purpose of reducing longitudinal space between the torque converter and the K0 shaft.
Regarding Claim 6, Walega et al., Payne et al., and Podschwadt et al. disclose the hybrid module of claim 1, wherein:
the cover comprises a tubular projection (Walega et al. Fig. 2 discloses a front cover 40 of shell 40 has a tubular portion around central axis X).
Walega et al. and Payne et al. do not disclose:
the radially outer portion is sealed to the projection.
Podschwadt et al. discloses:
the radially outer portion is sealed to the projection (also piston 140) (Podschwadt et al. Fig. 1 discloses piston 140 is sealed to the cover disk 118 at a radially inner portion of piston 140 and a radially outer portion of cover disk 118 via seal 152).
It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the radially outer portion is sealed to the projection of Podschwadt et al. for the purpose of maintaining a secured and sealed connection between the piston and the cover of the torque converter.
Regarding Claim 7, Walega et al., Payne et al., and Podschwadt et al. disclose the hybrid module of claim 6.
Walega et al. and Payne et al. do not disclose:
wherein the tubular projection is secured to the cover by welding or riveting.
Walega et al. and Podschwadt et al. structurally disclose:
wherein the tubular projection (of Podschwadt et al. Fig. 1) is secured to the cover (rigid connection 64) by welding or riveting (of Walega et al. Para [0034] lines 1 – 4 discloses the front cover 40 of the torque converter 18 is welded to rigid connection 64).
It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the tubular projection is secured to the cover by welding or riveting of structurally disclosed Walega et al. and Podschwadt et al. for the purpose of creating an airtight connection between the tubular portion and the cover.
Regarding Claim 8, Walega et al., Payne et al., and Podschwadt et al. disclose the hybrid module of claim 6, wherein the rotor is secured to the cover radially outside of the tubular projection (Walega et al. Fig. 2 discloses front cover 40 is secured to the rotor 62 via rigid connection 64).
Regarding Claim 9, Walega et al., Payne et al., and Podschwadt et al. disclose the hybrid module of claim 6, wherein the tubular projection at least partially overlaps the first plurality of clutch plates (inner set of friction plates 70) and the second plurality of clutch plates (outer set of friction plates 66) in an axial direction (Walega et al. Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 17, Walega et al., Payne et al., and Podschwadt et al. disclose the hybrid module of claim 1.
Walega et al. do not disclose
further comprising: a housing;
and a third bearing for rotatably supporting the K0 shaft in the housing.
Payne et al. discloses:
further comprising: a housing (cover plate 106) (Payne et al. Fig. 1);
and a third bearing (192) for rotatably supporting the K0 shaft in the housing (Payne Fig. 1).
It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a housing; and a third bearing for rotatably supporting the K0 shaft in the housing of Payne et al. for the purpose of increasing rigidity of the K0 shaft in the housing.
Claims 10 – 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walega et al. in view of Payne et al., Podschwadt et al., and further in view of Zhang (CN219712237U) and George (DE112011101758B4).
Regarding Claim 10, Walega et al., Payne et al., and Podschwadt et al. disclose the hybrid module of claim 1.
Walega et al., Payne et al., and Podschwadt et al. do not disclose:
further comprising a compensation plate fixed to the cover,
wherein the piston is sealed to the compensation plate.
Zhang discloses:
a compensation plate (34) fixed to a upper shell assembly and lower shell assembly (Zhang Fig. 3 – 4).
Walega et al. and Zhang structurally disclose:
a compensation plate (34) (of Zhang Fig. 3 – 4) fixed to the cover (of Walega et al. Fig. 2).
George discloses:
wherein the piston is sealed to the compensation plate (18) (George [0006] lines 4 – 5).
Walega et al. and George structurally disclose:
wherein the piston (of Walega et al. Fig. 2) is sealed to the compensation plate (of George Para [0006] lines 4 – 5).
Walega et al., Payne et al., Podschwadt et al., Zhang, and George disclose transmissions therefore, Zhang and George constitute as prior art. Zhang discloses a compensation plate fixed to a shell and George discloses a compensation plate sealed to a piston. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a compensation plate fixed to the cover of structurally disclosed Walega et al. and Zhang, and wherein the piston is sealed to the compensation plate of structurally disclosed Walega et al. and George for the purpose of 1) connecting the combustion engine’s crankshaft to the transmission’s torque converter, and 2) ensuring pressure balance and minimize wear between the compensation plate and the piston.
Regarding Claim 11, Walega et al., Payne et al., Podschwadt et al., Zhang, and George disclose the hybrid module of claim 10.
Walega et al., Payne et al., Podschwadt et al., and Zhang do not disclose:
further comprising a spring arranged axially between the compensation plate and the piston for urging the piston away from the compensation plate.
George discloses:
further comprising a spring (tongues 50) arranged axially between the compensation plate and the piston for urging the piston away from the compensation plate (George Para [0028] lines 8 – 9).
It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a spring arranged axially between the compensation plate and the piston for urging the piston away from the compensation plate of George for the purpose of preventing excessive friction and maintain a seal integrity between the compensation plate and the piston.
Claims 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walega et al. in view of Payne et al., Podschwadt et al., and further in view of Goodwill et al. (US11852227B1).
Regarding Claim 12, Walega et al., Payne et al., Podschwadt et al. disclose the hybrid module of claim 1.
Walega et al., Payne et al., Podschwadt et al. do not disclose:
further comprising a reaction plate fixed to the K0 shaft and arranged to restrict axial movement of the first plurality of clutch plates and the second plurality of clutch plates away from the piston.
Goodwill et al. discloses:
further comprising a reaction plate (184) fixed to the K0 shaft (156) and arranged to restrict axial movement of the first plurality of clutch plates (some of the clutch plates 182) and the second plurality of clutch plates (another some of the clutch plates 182) away from the piston (178) (Goodwill et al. c. 5, l. 50 – 54 and Fig. 2).
Walega et al., Payne et al., Podschwadt et al., and Goodwill et al. disclose transmissions therefore, Goodwill et al. constitute as prior art. Goodwill et al. discloses a reaction plate that engages and disengages clutch plates against the reaction plate. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a reaction plate fixed to the K0 shaft and arranged to restrict axial movement of the first plurality of clutch plates and the second plurality of clutch plates away from the piston of Goodwill et al. for the purpose of temporarily transferring torque from the combustion engine to the transmission.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walega et al. in view of Payne et al., Podschwadt et al., Goodwill et al., and further in view of Lebeau et al. (US20150217632A1).
Regarding Claim 13, Walega et al., Payne et al., Podschwadt et al., and Goodwill et al. disclose the hybrid module of claim 12, further comprising:
a housing (stator 60) (Walega et al. Fig. 2);
a rotor flange (rigid connection 64) fixed to the rotor and rotatably arranged in the housing (Walega et al. Fig. 2).
Walega et al., Payne et al., Podschwadt et al., and Goodwill et al. do not disclose:
a first bearing for rotatably supporting the reaction plate against the rotor flange.
Lebeau et al. discloses:
a first bearing for rotatably supporting the reaction plate (10) against the rotor flange (annular radial web 28) (Lebeau et al. Para [0076] first sentence).
Walega et al., Payne et al., Podschwadt et al., Goodwill et al., and Lebeau et al. disclose transmissions therefore, Lebeau et al. constitute as prior art. Lebeau et al. discloses a hub extending from a rotor that is bearing a reaction plate. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a first bearing for rotatably supporting the reaction plate against the rotor flange of Lebeau et al. for the purpose of accommodating rotational movement and reduce friction under heavy axial loads for the reaction plate.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walega et al. in view of Payne et al., Podschwadt et al., and further in view of Ijadi-Maghsoodi (US20240300785A1).
Regarding Claim 18, Walega et al., Payne et al., and Podschwadt et al. disclose the hybrid module of claim 17.
Walega et al., Payne et al., and Podschwadt et al. do not disclose:
wherein the third bearing is a radial needle bearing.
Ijadi-Maghsoodi discloses:
a radial needle bearing (128) (Ijadi-Maghsoodi Para [0042] lines 2 – 3).
Payne et al. and Ijadi-Maghsoodi structurally disclose:
wherein the third bearing (of Payne et al. Fig. 1) is a radial needle bearing (of Ijadi-Maghsoodi Fig. 2A) .
Walega et al., Payne et al., Podschwadt et al., and Ijadi-Maghsoodi disclose torque therefore, Ijadi-Maghsoodi constitute as prior art. Ijadi-Maghsoodi discloses a radial needle bearing that is between a clutch assembly and an input shaft. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the third bearing is a radial needle bearing of structurally disclosed Payne et al. and Ijadi-Maghsoodi for the purpose of supporting the K0 shaft while in the housing.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14 – 16 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 14 – 16 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claim 14, the prior art discloses various hybrid modules with bearings rotatably supporting reaction plates against rotor flanges. However, the structure in combination with previously recited features, wherein the first bearing is an axial needle bearing is not disclosed/suggested in the prior art. Thus, the invention recited above is neither anticipated nor rendered obvious by the prior art.
Regarding Claim 15, the prior art discloses various hybrid modules with bearings rotatably rotor flanges in housings. However, the structure in combination with previously recited features, further comprising a second bearing for rotatably supporting the rotor flange in the housing is not disclosed/suggested in the prior art. Thus, the invention recited above is neither anticipated nor rendered obvious by the prior art.
Regarding Claim 16, it is objected as being dependent on objected claim 15.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
/THEODORE L PERKINS/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/TERRANCE L KENERLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834