Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
In particular, claims 15-20 are to “A computer readable storage medium…” The broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim in light of the specification concludes that the claim as a whole covers a transitory signal since the definition of “medium” leaves open the possibility that the medium could be transitory. The examiner further notes that medium is discussed in paragraphs 18, 19, 61 and 62 of applicant’s publication (US PGPUB 20250220550 A1, where none of these recitations explicitly defines “medium.” In these paragraphs, applicant leaves open the possibility that the medium could be transitory since the applicant does not provide a definition excluding transitory signals or a statement explicitly excluding these signals. In other words, in these paragraphs, it does not define “A computer readable storage medium”. Therefore, the claim can reasonably be read to include a transitory signal as one is able to store instructions onto a signal. The examiner suggests amending the claims to recite, “A non-transitory computer readable storage medium…” (emphasis added).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 8, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA , second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant, regards as the invention.
With respect to Claims 1, 8, and 15, the recitation “determining, in response to determining that there is no the second network that has been connected” is grammatically unclear. Specifically, the phrase “no the” contains an internal contradiction between negation and definite reference, rendering the scope of the condition ambiguous. It is recommended that this phrase be revised to “determining, in response to determining that no second network has been connected,” or similar, to clarify the intended meaning.
Additionally, the limitation “the network score of the first network based on the first network and the preset prioritized network” is indefinite because it is unclear what property, parameter, or characteristic of “the first network” serves as the basis for determining the network score. The claim does not specify whether the determination is based on the network’s identity, type, quality, initial score, priority, or another attribute. To comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. § 112(b), the claim should clearly articulate the specific basis for determining the network score.
Claims 2- 7, 9- 14, and 16- 20 are rejected by virtue of their dependency on claims 1, 8, and 15, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by LI (CN 111327672 A).
Regarding claim 1, LI teaches a network implemented method for Android system-based dual network service coexistence, comprising: determining, when a first network is being connected, whether there is a second network that has been connected (see page 6, lines 7-9) “the first electronic device in the first network and the second network is started”,
determining, in response to determining that there is the second network that has been connected, a network score of the first network based on a network score of the second network and a preset prioritized network (see page 6, lines 7-13, “read as determines whether the first and second networks are active and, when both are active, selects the network based on a preset priority for data transmission. If only the second network is active, the first network is also activated”,
determining whether backing up of direct connection routing information of the first network is needed based on the second network and the preset prioritized network (see page 4 lines 36-40 & page 5 lines 1-5, “mobile terminal 100 can also be through Wi-Fi network interface connected with the router or access point. by the access point (direct connection) or a router of a relay access network server 102. router or access point at the same time, in order to realize the mobile printing, the image forming device 101 is connected with same, in order to make the mobile terminal 100 and the image forming apparatus 101 through the router or relay access point and mutually transmitting command or image data, and see (page 6, lines 18-30] “read as modifies the network routing priority and/or network configuration file to prioritize the first network for data transmission or switch network and modifies a stored network configuration file to first network for data transmission”,
determining, in response to determining that there is no the second network that has been connected, the network score of the first network based on the first network and the preset prioritized network (see page 8, lines 8-23, “read as obtains control authority for the first and second networks and adjusts their priority levels, If the modification of the network configuration file is permitted, the file is modified to stop using the second network for data transmission and enable the first network”,
determining whether backing up of the direct connection routing information of the first network is needed; and determining a current prioritized network based on the network score and updating the backed-up direct connection routing information (see page 6, lines 18-30, “read as modifies the network routing priority and/or network configuration file to prioritize the first network for data transmission or switch network and modifies a stored network (back up) configuration file to first network for data transmission, and see sections [page 8, lines 8-23] “read as modifies network priority information so that the first network has a higher priority than the second network. So, updates or modifies network priority information and/or network configuration information”).
Regarding claim 8, LI teaches an electronic device, comprising: a processor (see pages 8,9 & lines 39-44, 1-5, read as “processor”,
and a memory in communication connection with the processor (see page 9, lines 6-10, read as memory “the executable instruction stored in the readable storage medium”,
the memory storing a computer program executable by the processor, wherein the processor is configured to execute the computer program to (see page 9, lines 6-10, read as memory “the executable instruction stored in the readable storage medium”,
determine, when a first network is being connected, whether there is a second network that has been connected (see page 6, lines 7-9, “the first electronic device in the first network and the second network is started”,
determine, in response to determining that there is the second network that has been connected, a network score of the first network based on a network score of the second network and a preset prioritized network (see page 6, lines 7-13, “read as determines whether the first and second networks are active and, when both are active, selects the network based on a preset priority for data transmission. If only the second network is active, the first network is also activated”,
and determine whether backing up of direct connection routing information of the first network is needed based on the second network and the preset prioritized network (see page 4 lines 36-40 & page 5 lines 1-5) “mobile terminal 100 can also be through Wi-Fi network interface connected with the router or access point. by the access point (direct connection) or a router of a relay access network server 102. router or access point at the same time, in order to realize the mobile printing, the image forming device 101 is connected with same, in order to make the mobile terminal 100 and the image forming apparatus 101 through the router or relay access point and mutually transmitting command or image data, and see (page 6, lines 18-30] “read as modifies the network routing priority and/or network configuration file to prioritize the first network for data transmission or switch network and modifies a stored network configuration file to first network for data transmission”,
determine, in response to determining that there is no the second network that has been connected, the network score of the first network based on the first network and the preset prioritized network (see page 8, lines 8-23, “read as obtains control authority for the first and second networks and adjusts their priority levels, If the modification of the network configuration file is permitted, the file is modified to stop using the second network for data transmission and enable the first network”),
determine whether backing up of the direct connection routing information of the first network is needed; and determine a current prioritized network based on the network score and updating the backed-up direct connection routing information (see page 6, lines 18-30, “read as modifies the network routing priority and/or network configuration file to prioritize the first network for data transmission or switch network and modifies a stored network (back up) configuration file to first network for data transmission, and see sections [page 8, lines 8-23] “read as modifies network priority information so that the first network has a higher priority than the second network. So, updates or modifies network priority information and/or network configuration information”).
Regarding claim 15, LI teaches a computer readable storage medium on which a network implemented program for Android system-based dual network service coexistence is stored (see page 9, lines 1-5, “read as computer-readable storage medium can be located in special integrated circuit”)
the network implemented program for the Android system-based dual network service coexistence when executed by a processor, implements operations of: determining, when a first network is being connected, whether there is a second network that has been connected (see page 6, lines 7-9, “the first electronic device in the first network and the second network is started”),
determining, in response to determining that there is the second network that has been connected, a network score of the first network based on a network score of the second network and a preset prioritized network (see page 6, lines 7-13, “read as determines whether the first and second networks are active and, when both are active, selects the network based on a preset priority for data transmission. If only the second network is active, the first network is also activated”),
determining whether backing up of direct connection routing information of the first network is needed based on the second network and the preset prioritized network (see page 4, lines 36-40 & page 5, lines 1-5, “mobile terminal 100 can also be through Wi-Fi network interface connected with the router or access point. by the access point (direct connection) or a router of a relay access network server 102. router or access point at the same time, in order to realize the mobile printing, the image forming device 101 is connected with same, in order to make the mobile terminal 100 and the image forming apparatus 101 through the router or relay access point and mutually transmitting command or image data, and see (page 6, lines 18-30] “read as modifies the network routing priority and/or network configuration file to prioritize the first network for data transmission or switch network and modifies a stored network configuration file to first network for data transmission”),
determining, in response to determining that there is no the second network that has been connected, the network score of the first network based on the first network and the preset prioritized network (see page 8, lines 8-23, “read as obtains control authority for the first and second networks and adjusts their priority levels, If the modification of the network configuration file is permitted, the file is modified to stop using the second network for data transmission and enable the first network”),
and determining whether backing up of the direct connection routing information of the first network is needed; and determining a current prioritized network based on the network score and updating the backed-up direct connection routing information (see page 6, lines 18-30, “read as modifies the network routing priority and/or network configuration file to prioritize the first network for data transmission or switch network and modifies a stored network (back up) configuration file to first network for data transmission, and see sections [page 8, lines 8-23] “read as modifies network priority information so that the first network has a higher priority than the second network. So, updates or modifies network priority information and/or network configuration information”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 9-10 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI (CN 111327672 A) as applied to claims 1, 8, and 15 above and further in view of Gordon et al. (US PGPUB 20150373574 A1).
Regarding claim 2, LI teaches all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, LI teaches the network implemented method for the Android system-based dual network service coexistence according to claim 1, wherein said determining the network score of the first network based on the network score of the second network and the preset prioritized network (see page 6, lines 7-13, read as “determines whether the first and second networks are active and, when both are active, selects the network based on a preset priority for data transmission. If only the second network is active, the first network is also activated”), comprises:
determining when the second network is the preset prioritized network (see page 4, lines 44-50, read as determines whether the first and second networks are active and, when both are active, selects the network based on a preset priority for data transmission. If only the second network is active, the first network is also activated”, a difference between the network score of the second network and a first preset score as the network score of the first network (see page 6, lines 7-17, read as “the method determines whether both first and second networks are active, and determine different priorities for the first and second networks for data transmission and selects the higher-priority network”).
LI fails to explicitly suggest determining when the second network is not the preset prioritized network, a sum of the network score of the second network and a second preset score as the network score of the first network.
However, in an analogous field of endeavor, Gordon teaches determining, when the second network is not the preset prioritized network, a sum of the network score of the second network and a second preset score as the network score of the first network (see paragraphs [0224], [0226] “ A score modification module 1516 may modify (e.g., add value to a score or threshold, subtract value to a score or threshold, and/or multiply a score or threshold by a weighting factor) a variety of scores and/or threshold values, including those discussed herein (e.g., Wi-Fi network score, cellular network score, ping score, link score, bandwidth score, data usage rate threshold, and so forth)., preferring a cellular network connection, a Wi-Fi network connection, or the best available connection”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify LI with Gordon to include by determining, when the second network is not the preset prioritized network, a sum of the network score of the second network and a second preset score as the network score of the first network thereby, to provide accurate score and threshold modification as taught by Gordon (see paragraph [0225]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of LI and Gordon teaches all the limitations of claim 2. In addition, LI teaches the network implemented method for the Android system-based dual network service coexistence according to claim 2, wherein said determining whether backing up of the direct connection routing information of the first network is needed based on the second network and the preset prioritized network (see page 6, lines 7-13, read as “determines whether the first and second networks are active and, when both are active, selects the network based on a preset priority for data transmission. If only the second network is active, the first network is also activated”), comprises:
performing, when the second network is the preset prioritized network, backing up of the direct connection routing information of the first network (see page 6, lines 37-48, read as “android mobile terminal include two types of network information: network routing priority information, which assigns a preset priority to different network types (e.g. WIFI and cellular networks, and a network configuration file that includes preset configuration attributes indicating whether each network is used for data transmission”),
giving up, when the second network is not the preset prioritized network, backing up of the direct connection routing information of the first network (see page 6, lines 18- 45, read as “the android device stores network routing information and network configuration information and network configuration for a first network and second network. The device modifies the routing information and configuration attributes to prioritize the first network and stop using the second network for data transmission”).
Regarding claim 9, LI teaches all the limitations of claim 8. In addition, LI teaches wherein the processor is further configured to execute the computer program to: determine, when the second network is the preset prioritized network, network (see page 4, lines 44-50) read as “determines whether the first and second networks are active and, when both are active, selects the network based on a preset priority for data transmission. If only the second network is active, the first network is also activated”), a difference between the network score of the second network and a first preset score as the network score of the first network (see page 6, lines 7-17, read as “the method determines whether both first and second networks are active, and determine different priorities for the first and second networks for data transmission and selects the higher-priority network”).
LI fails to explicitly suggest, determine, when the second network is not the preset prioritized network, a sum of the network score of the second network and a second preset score as the network score of the first network.
Gordon teaches determine, when the second network is not the preset prioritized network, a sum of the network score of the second network and a second preset score as the network score of the first network (see paragraphs [0224], [0226] “ A score modification module 1516 may modify (e.g., add value to a score or threshold, subtract value to a score or threshold, and/or multiply a score or threshold by a weighting factor) a variety of scores and/or threshold values, including those discussed herein (e.g., Wi-Fi network score, cellular network score, ping score, link score, bandwidth score, data usage rate threshold, and so forth)., preferring a cellular network connection, a Wi-Fi network connection, or the best available connection”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify LI with Gordon to include by determine, when the second network is not the preset prioritized network, a sum of the network score of the second network and a second preset score as the network score of the first network thereby, to provide accurate score and threshold modification as taught by Gordon (see paragraph [0225]).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of LI and Gordon teaches all the limitations of claim 9. In addition, LI teaches wherein the processor is further configured to execute the computer program to: perform, when the second network is the preset prioritized network backing up of the direct connection routing information of the first network (see page 6, lines 7-13, read as “determines whether the first and second networks are active and, when both are active, selects the network based on a preset priority for data transmission. If only the second network is active, the first network is also activated”),
give up, when the second network is not the preset prioritized network, backing up of the direct connection routing information of the first network (see page 6, lines 18-45 “read as the android device stores network routing information and network configuration information and network configuration for a first network and second network. The device modifies the routing information and configuration attributes to prioritize the first network and stop using the second network for data transmission”).
Regarding claim 16, LI teaches all the limitations of claim 15. In addition, LI teaches the computer readable storage medium according to claim 15, wherein said determining the network score of the first network based on the network score of the second network and the preset prioritized network (see page 6, lines 7-13, read as “determines whether the first and second networks are active and, when both are active, selects the network based on a preset priority for data transmission. If only the second network is active, the first network is also activated”), comprises:
determining, when the second network is the preset prioritized network (see page 4, lines 44-50) read as “determines whether the first and second networks are active and, when both are active, selects the network based on a preset priority for data transmission. If only the second network is active, the first network is also activated”, a difference between the network score of the second network and a first preset score as the network score of the first network (see page 6, lines 7-17] “read as the method determines whether both first and second networks are active, and determine different priorities for the first and second networks for data transmission and selects the higher-priority network”).
LI fails to explicitly suggest, determining, when the second network is not the preset prioritized network, a sum of the network score of the second network and a second preset score as the network score of the first network.
Gordon teaches determining, when the second network is not the preset prioritized network, a sum of the network score of the second network and a second preset score as the network score of the first network (see paragraphs [0224], [0226] “ A score modification module 1516 may modify (e.g., add value to a score or threshold, subtract value to a score or threshold, and/or multiply a score or threshold by a weighting factor) a variety of scores and/or threshold values, including those discussed herein (e.g., Wi-Fi network score, cellular network score, ping score, link score, bandwidth score, data usage rate threshold, and so forth)., preferring a cellular network connection, a Wi-Fi network connection, or the best available connection”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify LI with Gordon to include by determining, when the second network is not the preset prioritized network, a sum of the network score of the second network and a second preset score as the network score of the first network thereby, to provide accurate score and threshold modification as taught by Gordon (see paragraph [0225]).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of LI and Gordon teaches all the limitations of claim 16. In addition, LI teaches the computer readable storage medium according to claim 16, wherein said determining whether backing up of the direct connection routing information of the first network is needed based on the second network and the preset prioritized network (see page 6, lines 7-13, read as “determines whether the first and second networks are active and, when both are active, selects the network based on a preset priority for data transmission. If only the second network is active, the first network is also activated”), comprises:
performing, when the second network is the preset prioritized network, backing up of the direct connection routing information of the first network (see page 6, lines 37-48, read as “android mobile terminal include two types of network information: network routing priority information, which assigns a preset priority to different network types (e.g. WIFI and cellular networks, and a network configuration file that includes preset configuration attributes indicating whether each network is used for data transmission”),
giving up, when the second network is not the preset prioritized network, backing up of the direct connection routing information of the first network (see page 6, lines 18- 45, read as “the android device stores network routing information and network configuration information and network configuration for a first network and second network. The device modifies the routing information and configuration attributes to prioritize the first network and stop using the second network for data transmission”).
Claims 4, 11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI (CN 111327672 A) and Gordon et al. (US PGPUB 20150373574 A1) as applied to claims 2, 9, and 16 above and further in view of FENG (CN 116744394 A).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of LI and Gordon teaches all the limitations of claim 2. In addition, LI teaches the network implemented method for the Android system-based dual network service coexistence according to claim 2, further comprising: before said determining the network score of the first network based on the network score of the second network and the preset prioritized network (see page 8, lines 8-23, read as “obtains control authority for the first and second networks and adjusts their priority levels, If the modification of the network configuration file is permitted, the file is modified to stop using the second network for data transmission and enable the first network”).
The combination of LI and Gordon fails to explicitly suggest, increasing the network score of the second network to a full score when the second network is the preset prioritized network; determining a difference between the full score and a third preset score as the network score of the second network and performing backing up of the direct connection routing information of the second network when the second network is not the preset prioritized network, wherein the third preset score is not less than the second preset score.
However, in an analogous field of endeavor, FENG teaches increasing the network score of the second network to a full score when the second network is the preset prioritized network (see page 5, lines 38-42 & page 6, lines 1-15) read as “the network performance index of the first network and each established second network is determined based on their performance, for second network using preset range corresponding to network performance scores” (e.g. established the network score and positioning the networks in accordance with this score),
determining a difference between the full score and a third preset score as the network score of the second network (see page 16, lines 42-43 & page 17 lines 1-2, 23-25, FIG. 12) ”two network priorities with different network qualities: the network score with poor quality is lower than any network score with non-poor quality; the quality-excellent network score is higher than any quality-non-excellent network score and configured (set in advance) to determine network performance indexes of the first network and the second network respectively according to the first communication delay and the second communication delay”),
performing backing up of the direct connection routing information of the second network when the second network is not the preset prioritized network (see page 16, lines 42-43 & page 17, lines 1-2, 23-25, FIG. 12) “two network priorities with different network qualities: the network score with poor quality is lower than any network score with non-poor quality; the quality-excellent network score is higher than any quality-non-excellent network score and configured (set in advance) to determine network performance indexes of the first network and the second network respectively according to the first communication delay and the second communication delay”) (e.g. comparing and established the network score as first network and second network and positioning the networks in accordance with this score),
wherein the third preset score is not less than the second preset score (see page 12, lines 30-36, “according to each network performance index, the target network is determined, switching the first network to the target network, and keeping the first network connection between the terminal and the server when the network performance grading value is not lower than the preset grading threshold”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the combination of LI and Gordon with FENG to include by wherein said increasing the network score of the second network to a full score when the second network is the preset prioritized network; determining a difference between the full score and a third preset score as the network score of the second network and performing backing up of the direct connection routing information of the second network when the second network is not the preset prioritized network, wherein the third preset score is not less than the second preset score thereby, with high network performance index, the network is switched wirelessly, so as to reduce the power consumption generated by the network switching as taught by FENG (see page 12, lines 38-39)).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of LI and Gordon teaches all the limitations of claim 9. In addition, LI teaches the electronic device according to claim 9, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the computer program to: before said determining the network score of the first network based on the network score of the second network and the preset prioritized network (see page 8, lines 8-23) read as “obtains control authority for the first and second networks and adjusts their priority levels, If the modification of the network configuration file is permitted, the file is modified to stop using the second network for data transmission and enable the first network”).
The combination of LI and Gordon fails to explicitly suggest, increase the network score of the second network to a full score when the second network is the preset prioritized network; determine a difference between the full score and a third preset score as the network score of the second network and perform backing up of the direct connection routing information of the second network when the second network is not the preset prioritized network, wherein the third preset score is not less than the second preset score.
However, in an analogous field of endeavor, FENG teaches increase the network score of the second network to a full score when the second network is the preset prioritized network (see page 5, lines 38-42 & page 6, lines 1-15, read as “the network performance index of the first network and each established second network is determined based on their performance, for second network using preset range corresponding to network performance scores” (e.g. established the network score and positioning the networks in accordance with this score),
determine a difference between the full score and a third preset score as the network score of the second network(see page 16, lines 42-43 & page 17, lines 1-2, 23-25, FIG. 12 ) “two network priorities with different network qualities: the network score with poor quality is lower than any network score with non-poor quality; the quality-excellent network score is higher than any quality-non-excellent network score and configured (set in advance) to determine network performance indexes of the first network and the second network respectively according to the first communication delay and the second communication delay”,
perform backing up of the direct connection routing information of the second network when the second network is not the preset prioritized network (see page 16, lines 42-43 & page 17, lines 1-2, 23-25, FIG. 12, “two network priorities with different network qualities: the network score with poor quality is lower than any network score with non-poor quality; the quality-excellent network score is higher than any quality-non-excellent network score and configured (set in advance) to determine network performance indexes of the first network and the second network respectively according to the first communication delay and the second communication delay”) (e.g. comparing and established the network score as first network and second network and positioning the networks in accordance with this score),
wherein the third preset score is not less than the second preset score (see page 12, lines 30-36, “according to each network performance index, the target network is determined, switching the first network to the target network, and keeping the first network connection between the terminal and the server when the network performance grading value is not lower than the preset grading threshold”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the combination of LI and Gordon with FENG to include by wherein said increasing the network score of the second network to a full score when the second network is the preset prioritized network; determining a difference between the full score and a third preset score as the network score of the second network and performing backing up of the direct connection routing information of the second network when the second network is not the preset prioritized network, wherein the third preset score is not less than the second preset score thereby, with high network performance index, the network is switched wirelessly, so as to reduce the power consumption generated by the network switching as taught by FENG (see page 12, lines 38-39)).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of LI and Gordon teaches all the limitations of claim 16. In addition, LI teaches the computer readable storage medium according to claim 16, wherein the network implemented program for the Android system-based dual network service coexistence when executed by a processor, further implements operations of: before said determining the network score of the first network based on the network score of the second network and the preset prioritized network (see page 8, lines 8-23, read as “obtains control authority for the first and second networks and adjusts their priority levels, If the modification of the network configuration file is permitted, the file is modified to stop using the second network for data transmission and enable the first network”).
The combination of LI and Gordon fails to explicitly suggest, increasing the network score of the second network to a full score when the second network is the preset prioritized network; determining a difference between the full score and a third preset score as the network score of the second network and performing backing up of the direct connection routing information of the second network when the second network is not the preset prioritized network, wherein the third preset score is not less than the second preset score.
However, in an analogous field of endeavor, FENG teaches increasing the network score of the second network to a full score when the second network is the preset prioritized network (see page 5, lines 38-42 & page 6 lines 1-15, read as “the network performance index of the first network and each established second network is determined based on their performance, for second network using preset range corresponding to network performance scores” (e.g. established the network score and positioning the networks in accordance with this score),
determining a difference between the full score and a third preset score as the network score of the second network (see page 16, lines 42-43 & page 17 lines 1-2, 23-25, FIG. 12), “two network priorities with different network qualities: the network score with poor quality is lower than any network score with non-poor quality; the quality-excellent network score is higher than any quality-non-excellent network score and configured (set in advance) to determine network performance indexes of the first network and the second network respectively according to the first communication delay and the second communication delay”),
performing backing up of the direct connection routing information of the second network when the second network is not the preset prioritized network (see page 16, lines 42-43 & page 17 lines 1-2, 23-25, FIG. 12, “two network priorities with different network qualities: the network score with poor quality is lower than any network score with non-poor quality; the quality-excellent network score is higher than any quality-non-excellent network score and configured (set in advance) to determine network performance indexes of the first network and the second network respectively according to the first communication delay and the second communication delay”) (e.g. comparing and established the network score as first network and second network and positioning the networks in accordance with this score)“),
wherein the third preset score is not less than the second preset score (see page 12, lines 30-36, “according to each network performance index, the target network is determined, switching the first network to the target network, and keeping the first network connection between the terminal and the server when the network performance grading value is not lower than the preset grading threshold”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the combination of LI and Gordon with FENG to include by increasing the network score of the second network to a full score when the second network is the preset prioritized network; determining a difference between the full score and a third preset score as the network score of the second network and performing backing up of the direct connection routing information of the second network when the second network is not the preset prioritized network, wherein the third preset score is not less than the second preset score thereby, with high network performance index, the network is switched wirelessly, so as to reduce the power consumption generated by the network switching as taught by FENG (see page 12, lines 38-39)).
Claims 5-7, 12-14, and 19- 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI (CN FENG as applied to claims 1, 8 and 15 above and further in view of FENG (CN 116744394 A).
Regarding claim 5, LI teaches all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, LI teaches the network implemented method for the Android system-based dual network service coexistence according to claim 1, wherein said determining the network score of the first network based on the first network and the preset prioritized network (see page 8, lines 8-23, read as “obtains control authority for the first and second networks and adjusts their priority levels, If the modification of the network configuration file is permitted, the file is modified to stop using the second network for data transmission and enable the first network”),
determining whether backing up of the direct connection routing information of the first network is needed (see page 6, lines 18-30, read as “modifies the network routing priority and/or network configuration file to prioritize the first network for data transmission or switch network and modifies a stored network configuration fie to first network for data transmission”).
LI fails to explicitly suggest increasing the network score of the first network to a full score and giving up backing up of the direct connection routing information of the first network when the first network is the preset prioritized network; and determining a difference between the full score and a fourth preset score as the network score of the first network and performing backing up of the direct connection routing information of the first network when the first network is not the preset prioritized network.
However, in an analogous field of endeavor, FENG teaches increasing the network score of the first network to a full score and giving up backing up of the direct connection routing information of the first network when the first network is the preset prioritized network (see page 5, lines 38-42 & page 6 lines 1-15) read as “the network performance index of the first network and each established second network is determined based on their performance, for second network using preset range corresponding to network performance scores” (e.g. established the network score and positioning the networks in accordance with this score),
determining a difference between the full score and a fourth preset score as the network score of the first network and performing backing up of the direct connection routing information of the first network when the first network is not the preset prioritized network (see page 16, lines 42-43 & page 17, lines 1-2, 23-25, FIG. 12, “two network priorities with different network qualities: the network score with poor quality is lower than any network score with non-poor quality; the quality-excellent network score is higher than any quality-non-excellent network score and configured (set in advance) to determine network performance indexes of the first network and the second network respectively according to the first communication delay and the second communication delay”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify LI with FENG to include by increasing the network score of the first network to a full score and giving up backing up of the direct connection routing information of the first network when the first network is the preset prioritized network; and determining a difference between the full score and a fourth preset score as the network score of the first network and performing backing up of the direct connection routing information of the first network when the first network is not the preset prioritized network thereby, with high network performance index, the network is switched wirelessly, so as to reduce the power consumption generated by the network switching as taught by FENG (see page 12, lines 38-39)).
Regarding claim 6, LI teaches all limitations of claim 1. However, LI fails to explicitly suggest the network implemented method for the Android system-based dual network service coexistence according to claim 1, wherein said determining the current prioritized network based on the network score comprises: determining a network corresponding to a highest network score as the current prioritized network.
However, in an analogous field of endeavor, FENG teaches the network implemented method for the Android system-based dual network service coexistence according to claim 1, wherein said determining the current prioritized network based on the network score (see page 16, lines 37-41, ”the strategy of the current network switching is to select the network with the highest score as the current network”). comprises:
determining a network corresponding to a highest network score as the current prioritized network (see page 10, lines 8-12, read as “a first priority for the currently connected first network based on its network quality, where a higher priority results in a longer detection period for detecting communication, [page 16, lines 37-41, ”The strategy of the current network switching is to select the network with the highest score as the current network”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the combination of LI with FENG to include by wherein said determining the current prioritized network based on the network score comprises: determining a network corresponding to a highest network score as the current prioritized network thereby, with high network performance index, the network is switched wirelessly, so as to reduce the power consumption generated by the network switching as taught by FENG (see page 12, lines 38-39)).
Regarding claim 7, LI teaches all limitations of claim 1. However, LI fails to explicitly suggest the network implemented method for the Android system-based dual network service coexistence according to claim 1, wherein the preset prioritized network is set by a user using an application program or is preset in a controller.
FENG teaches wherein the preset prioritized network is set by a user using an application program, or is preset in a controller (see page 15, lines 29-3, FIG 10, read as “the user configures the network quality management service, which monitors the current network and server delay in real time, dynamically adjusts network scores, and switches networks as needed to maintain communication quality”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify LI with FENG to include by wherein the preset prioritized network is set by a user using an application program, or is preset in a controller thereby, with high network performance index, the network is switched wirelessly, so as to reduce the power consumption generated by the network switching as taught by FENG (see page 12, lines 38-39)).
Regarding claim 12, LI teaches all limitations of claim 8. LI fails to explicitly suggest the electronic device according to claim 8, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the computer program to: increase the network score of the first network to a full score and give up backing up of the direct connection routing information of the first network when the first network is the preset prioritized network; and determine a difference between the full score and a fourth preset score as the network score of the first network and perform backing up of the direct connection routing information of the first network when the first network is not the preset prioritized network.
However, in an analogous field of endeavor, FENG teaches increase the network score of the first network to a full score and give up backing up of the direct connection routing information of the first network when the first network is the preset prioritized network (see page 5 lines 38-42, page 6 lines 1-15, read as “the network performance index of the first network and each established second network is determined based on their performance, for second network using preset range corresponding to network performance scores” (e.g. established the network score and positioning the networks in accordance with this score),
determine a difference between the full score and a fourth preset score as the network score of the first network and perform backing up of the direct connection routing information of the first network when the first network is not the preset prioritized network (see page 16, lines 42-43 & page 17, lines 1-2, 23-25, FIG. 12, “two network priorities with different network qualities: the network score with poor quality is lower than any network score with non-poor quality; the quality-excellent network score is higher than any quality-non-excellent network score and configured (set in advance) to determine network performance indexes of the first network and the second network respectively according to the first communication delay and the second communication delay”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify LI with FENG to include by increase the network score of the first network to a full score and give up backing up of the direct connection routing information of the first network when the first network is the preset prioritized network; and determine a difference between the full score and a fourth preset score as the network score of the first network and perform backing up of the direct connection routing information of the first network when the first network is not the preset prioritized network thereby, with high network performance index, the network is switched wirelessly, so as to reduce the power consumption generated by the network switching as taught by FENG (see page 12, lines 38-39)).
Regarding claim 13, LI teaches all limitations of claim 8. However, LI fails to explicitly suggest the electronic device according to claim 8, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the computer program to: determine a network corresponding to a highest network score as the current prioritized network.
FENG teaches determine a network corresponding to a highest network score as the current prioritized network (see page 10, lines 8-12, read as “a first priority for the currently connected first network based on its network quality, where a higher priority results in a longer detection period for detecting communication, see (page 16, lines 37-41, ” the strategy of the current network switching is to select the network with the highest score as the current network”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify LI with FENG to include by determine a network corresponding to a highest network score as the current prioritized network thereby, with high network performance index, the network is switched wirelessly, so as to reduce the power consumption generated by the network switching as taught by FENG (see page 12, lines 38-39)).
Regarding claim 14, LI teaches all limitations of claim 8. However, LI fails to explicitly suggest the electronic device according to claim 8, wherein the preset prioritized network is set by a user using an application program or is preset in a controller.
FENG teaches wherein the preset prioritized network is set by a user using an application program, or is preset in a controller see (page 15, lines 29-3, FIG 10, read as “the user configures the network quality management service, which monitors the current network and server delay in real time, dynamically adjusts network scores, and switches networks as needed to maintain communication quality”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify LI with FENG to include by wherein the preset prioritized network is set by a user using an application program, or is preset in a controller thereby, with high network performance index, the network is switched wirelessly, so as to reduce the power consumption generated by the network switching as taught by FENG (see page 12, lines 38-39)).
Regarding claim 19, LI teaches all limitations of claim 15. In addition, LI teaches the computer readable storage medium according to claim 15, wherein said determining the network score of the first network based on the first network and the preset prioritized network (see page 8, lines 8-23, read as “obtains control authority for the first and second networks and adjusts their priority levels, If the modification of the network configuration file is permitted, the file is modified to stop using the second network for data transmission and enable the first network”,
determining whether backing up of the direct connection routing information of the first network is needed (see page 6, lines 18-30) read as “modifies the network routing priority and/or network configuration file to prioritize the first network for data transmission or switch network and modifies a stored network configuration fie to first network for data transmission”).
LI fails to explicitly suggest increasing the network score of the first network to a full score and giving up backing up of the direct connection routing information of the first network when the first network is the preset prioritized network; and determining a difference between the full score and a fourth preset score as the network score of the first network and performing backing up of the direct connection routing information of the first network when the first network is not the preset prioritized network.
However, in an analogous field of endeavor, FENG teaches increasing the network score of the first network to a full score and giving up backing up of the direct connection routing information of the first network when the first network is the preset prioritized network (see page 5 lines 38-42, page 6 lines 1-15, read as “the network performance index of the first network and each established second network is determined based on their performance, for second network using preset range corresponding to network performance scores” (e.g. established the network score and positioning the networks in accordance with this score),
determining a difference between the full score and a fourth preset score as the network score of the first network and performing backing up of the direct connection routing information of the first network when the first network is not the preset prioritized network (see page 16 lines 42-43 & page 17 lines 1-2, 23-25, FIG. 12, “two network priorities with different network qualities: the network score with poor quality is lower than any network score with non-poor quality; the quality-excellent network score is higher than any quality-non-excellent network score and configured (set in advance) to determine network performance indexes of the first network and the second network respectively according to the first communication delay and the second communication delay”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify LI with FENG to include by increasing the network score of the first network to a full score and giving up backing up of the direct connection routing information of the first network when the first network is the preset prioritized network; and determining a difference between the full score and a fourth preset score as the network score of the first network and performing backing up of the direct connection routing information of the first network when the first network is not the preset prioritized network thereby, with high network performance index, the network is switched wirelessly, so as to reduce the power consumption generated by the network switching as taught by FENG (see page 12, lines 38-39)).
Regarding claim 20, LI teaches all limitations of claim 15. However, LI fails to explicitly suggest the computer readable storage medium according to claim 15, wherein said determining the current prioritized network based on the network score comprises: determining a network corresponding to a highest network score as the current prioritized network.
FENG teaches determining a network corresponding to a highest network score as the current prioritized network (see page 10, lines 8-12, read as “a first priority for the currently connected first network based on its network quality, where a higher priority results in a longer detection period for detecting communication, see (page 16, lines 37-41, ”the strategy of the current network switching is to select the network with the highest score as the current network”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the LI with FENG to include by determining a network corresponding to a highest network score as the current prioritized network thereby, with high network performance index, the network is switched wirelessly, so as to reduce the power consumption generated by the network switching as taught by FENG (see page 12, lines 38-39)).
Conclusion
/ARTIBEN JAIMIN PATEL/ Examiner, Art Unit 2645
/ANTHONY S ADDY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2645