DETAILED ACTION
Non-Final Rejection
Benefit of an Earlier Filing
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in Foreign Application No. (DE) 10 2323 213 264.8 filed on 22nd December, 2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim(s) 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BOECKER (US 2023/0014552 A1) in view of HAAG (US 2023/0258800 A1).
Referring to Claim 1, BOECKER teaches a sensor unit configured to ascertain an orientation of the sensor unit (Abstract; [0001]-[0003]; [0136]-[0137]) , comprising:
a printed circuit board unit ([0093]; [0128]-[0129]);
at least two sensor elements arranged on the printed circuit board unit ([0003]; [0084; [0139]; Fig. 9; Fig. 28), the at least two sensor elements being configured to transmit and/or receive at least a first ultrasonic wave ([0003]; [0140]-[0141]);
adjusting the first transmitted ultrasonic wave using the at least two sensor elements ([0063]; [0142]-[0145]).
BOECKER doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the sensor unit is configured to ascertain the orientation of the sensor unit in relation to a reference of a vehicle.
HAAG teaches wherein the sensor unit is configured to ascertain the orientation of the sensor unit in relation to a reference of a vehicle by adjusting the first transmitted ultrasonic wave using the at least two sensor elements ([0001]; [0008]-[00011])
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the sensor unit disclosed in BOECKER with the orientation determination taught in HAAG with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have improved the accuracy of the electronically adjusted beam steering and object determination.
Referring to Claim 2, BOECKER teaches the sensor unit according to claim 1, wherein the at least two sensor elements are configured to transmit at least a second ultrasonic wave ([0063]; [0139]-[0142]), wherein the sensor unit is configured to adjust a phase offset between the first ultrasonic wave and the second ultrasonic wave to ascertain the orientation of the sensor unit ([0142]; [0145]).
Referring to Claim 3, BOECKER teaches the sensor unit according to claim 2, wherein the sensor unit is configured to adjust the phase offset ([0142]) such that a first maximum of the first ultrasonic wave and/or a second maximum of the second ultrasonic wave move ([0142]-[0145]) along a first axis and/or a second axis ([0063]; [0142]-[0145]).
Referring to Claim 4, HAAG teaches the sensor unit according to claim 1, wherein the sensor unit is configured to transmit the first ultrasonic wave based on a predetermined alignment ([0009]-[0011]), wherein the sensor unit is configured to compare a propagation time of the ultrasonic wave ([0009]; [0012]-[0014]) in the predetermined alignment to a predetermined reference value ([0013]; [0015]) in order to determine the orientation of the sensor unit ([0010]-[0015]).
Referring to Claim 5, HAAG teaches the sensor unit according to claim 1, wherein the sensor unit is configured to receive an initiation signal, wherein the sensor unit is configured to ascertain the orientation of the sensor unit when the initiation signal is present ([0083]).
Referring to Claim 6, BOECKER teaches the sensor unit according to claim 1, wherein the sensor unit is configured to receive a temperature value and/or a geographic position, wherein the sensor unit is configured to adjust the orientation of the sensor unit based on the temperature value and/or the geographic position ([0078]).
Referring to Claim 7, BOECKER teaches a vehicle ([0001]-[0002]; [0136]-[0137]), comprising:
a first sensor unit (Abstract; [0003]) including:
a printed circuit board unit ([0093]; [0128]-[0129]), and at least two sensor elements arranged on the printed circuit board unit ([0003]; [0084; [0139]; Fig. 9; Fig. 28);
wherein the first sensor unit is configured to transmit at least a first ultrasonic wave ([0003]; [0140]-[0142]), by adjusting the first transmitted ultrasonic wave ([0063]; [0142]-[0145]).
BOECKER doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the sensor unit is configured to determine a first orientation of the first sensor unit in relation to a reference of the vehicle.
HAAG teaches wherein the sensor unit is configured to determine a first orientation of the first sensor unit in relation to a reference of the vehicle ([0001]; [0008]-[00011]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the sensor unit disclosed in BOECKER with the orientation determination taught in HAAG with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have improved the accuracy of the electronically adjusted beam steering and object determination.
Referring to Claim 8, BOECKER teaches the vehicle according to claim 7, further comprising:
a second sensor unit ([0136]-[0137]) including:
a printed circuit board unit ([0093]; [0128]-[0129]), and at least two sensor elements arranged on the printed circuit board unit ([0003]; [0084]; [0193]);
the second sensor unit is configured to transmit a third ultrasonic wave ([0003]; [0140]-[0142]).
BOECKER doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the sensor unit is configured to ascertain a second orientation between the second sensor unit and the reference of the vehicle by adjusting the third ultrasonic wave, wherein the vehicle is configured to adjust the first orientation and/or the second orientation based on a comparison between the first orientation and the second orientation
HAAG teaches wherein the sensor unit is configured to ascertain a second orientation between the second sensor unit and the reference of the vehicle by adjusting the third ultrasonic wave, wherein the vehicle is configured to adjust the first orientation and/or the second orientation based on a comparison between the first orientation and the second orientation ([0009]-[0011]).
Referring to Claim 9, BOECKER teaches the vehicle according to claim 8, wherein the vehicle has an axis of symmetry, wherein the first sensor unit and the second sensor unit are arranged substantially symmetrically to the axis of symmetry ([0136]-[0137]).
Referring to Claim 10, BOECKER teaches the vehicle according to claim 8, wherein the first sensor unit is configured to transmit a first ultrasonic wave set ([0063]; [0139]-[0142]), wherein the second sensor unit is configured to receive at least a portion of the first ultrasonic wave set in order to ascertain the second orientation ([0009]-[0011]).
Examiner’s Note
Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record in the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. However, any citation to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Isam Alsomiri can be reached on 571-272-6970. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/AMIE M NDURE/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/ABDALLAH ABULABAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645