DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 15-34 are pending for consideration following applicant’s preliminary amendment filed 8/04/2025.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: the specification fails to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed first outlet and the claimed second outlet.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the first out” (line 6 of the claim) should be “the first outlet”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the center retainer includes a plurality of reed cage grooves a plurality of petal grooves and the first and second reed cage” (lines 10-11) should be “the center retainer includes a plurality of reed cage grooves and a plurality of petal grooves; and the first and second reed cage” to more clearly delineate the claim terms.
Double Patenting
Claims 15, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, and 31 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 6, 6, 6, 6, 6, 8, 8, 8, 6, 6, and 9, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 12,196,329. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the parent patent recite all of the features of the claims of the instant application including a retainer including a flange, first and second openings and a center retainer; a first and second reed cage; a first reed petal and a second reed petal; and wherein the center retainer includes a plurality of reed cage grooves a plurality of petal grooves and the first and second reed cage each include a reed cage flange and a plurality of first petal tabs configured to form a snap connection that secures the first and second reed cage to the retainer. It is noted that the limitations of a first outlet and a second outlet as recited in the instant application are encompassed by the limitations of the outer openings of the first and second reed cage.
Regarding Claims 22, 23, 27, and 28, claims 6 and 8 of the parent patent recite the retainer includes the petal slots and the reed cages includes the petal tabs (rather than the tabs extending from the retainer and the slots formed in the reed cages). However, such a modification requires a mere reversal of parts and a reversal of parts has been generally held to be within the level of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the application was effectively filed to modify the device recited in the parent patent such that the tabs extend from the retainer and the slots are formed in the reed cages for the purpose of providing an alternative, functionally equivalent arrangement.
Regarding Claim 31, it is noted that first and second inner and outer surfaces are inherently provided to achieve the claimed first and second inner and outer openings recited in the parent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tassinari et al. (US Patent 6,880,577) in view of Mohamed (US Patent Application 2019/0003604).
Regarding Claim 20, Tassinari discloses a reed valve assembly (abstract) comprising: a retainer 44 including a flange 44a (as shown in Figure 4), a first opening (first opening on a first side of 64), a second opening (second opening on a second, opposite side of 64), a first petal slot 52, and a center retainer 64 disposed between and partially defining both the first opening and second opening (as shown in Figure 4), the center retainer 64 including a first reed cage groove (as shown in Figure 4, center retainer 64 includes a first reed cage groove on the left side of 64 to accept tab 48) and a second reed cage groove (as shown in Figure 4, center retainer 64 includes a second reed cage groove on the right side of 64 to accept tab 48); a first reed cage 42 (it is noted that the left half of 42 as shown in Figure 4 is readable as a first reed cage while the right half of 42 as shown in Figure 4 is readable as a second reed cage; the claim does not require the cages to be separable) configured to be advanced from a bottom of the retainer and partially through the first opening of the retainer (as shown in Figure 4, the left half of 42 is configured to be advanced through the first opening of the retainer), the first reed cage including a first outlet (the outlet covered by petal 66 on the left side of Figure 4) configured to be fluidly coupled to the first opening of the retainer (as shown in Figure 4) and a first reed cage flange (tab 48 provides a first reed cage flange engaging the left side of the center retainer) configured to form a connection with the first reed cage groove (as shown in Figure 4); a second reed cage (the right half of 42 as shown in Figure 4 is readable as a second reed cage as described above) configured to be advanced from the bottom of the retainer and partially through the second opening of the retainer (as shown in Figure 4, the right half of 42 is configured to be advanced through the second opening of the retainer), the second reed cage including a second outlet (the outlet covered by petal 66 on the right side of Figure 4) configured to be fluidly coupled to the second opening of the retainer (as shown in Figure 4) and a second reed cage flange (tab 48 provides a second reed cage flange engaging the right side of the center retainer) configured to form a connection with the second reed cage groove (as shown in Figure 4); a first reed petal configured to extend over the first outlet (petal 66 on the left side of Figure 4); and a second reed petal configured to extend over the second outlet (petal 66 on the right side of Figure 4).
Tassinari does not disclose the connections are snap connections.
Mohamed teaches a reed valve assembly (abstract) and further teaches snap fits may be used in assembling components of the reed valve modules (para. 0043).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the application was effectively filed to modify the device of Tassinari such that the retainer grooves and the reed cage flanges are connected by snap fits as taught by Mohamed for the purpose of ensuring the desired connection using a fastening arrangement known in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15, 18, 19, and 31 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the double patenting rejection(s) set forth in this Office action (or with a timely filed terminal disclaimer as described above).
Claims 16, 17, and 32-34 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 21-30 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the double patenting rejection(s) set forth in this Office action (or with a timely filed terminal disclaimer as described above) and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hosaluk et al. (US Patent 7,028,649) teaches a reed cage with inner and outer reed petals. Schou et al. (US Patent 3,412,754) teaches reed valves having holes 25 to secure to tabs 15 of a reed cage.
/KEVIN F MURPHY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753