DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-34 are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/16/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8, 21, and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “steady” in claims 8, 21, and 32 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “steady” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2,5-6, 10-11, 14-19, 23, 25-27, 30-31 and 33-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lavoie (US 2019/009815) in view of Diessner (US 2018/0276839) and Lu (US 2014/0085472).
Regarding claim 1, Lavoie teaches:
an electronic control unit (ECU) comprising electronic circuitry and associated software, wherein the electronic circuitry comprises an image processor operable to process image data; (Lavoie [0085] an electronic control unit carries out the functionality of the back up assist)
wherein image data captured by the forward-viewing camera is transferred to the ECU and is processed at the ECU for at least one driving assist system of the vehicle; (Lavoie [0085] an electronic control unit carries out the functionality of the back up assist)
wherein image data captured by the rear backup camera is transferred to the ECU and is processed at the ECU; (Lavoie [0085] an electronic control unit carries out the functionality of the back up assist)
wherein the vehicular trailering assist system determines a trailer collision angle based at least in part on the determined portion of the trailer; (Lavoie [0077] when the hitch angle for the vehicle and the trailer achieves or exceeds the jackknife angle (i.e. determines the current hitch angle) the vehicle may be pulled forward to reduce the hitch angle)
wherein, with the trailer hitched to the vehicle and with the vehicle not operating in the calibration state, the vehicular trailering assist system, via processing at the ECU of image data captured by the rear backup camera, determines a current trailer angle of the trailer relative to a longitudinal axis of the vehicle; (Lavoie [0077] when the hitch angle for the vehicle and the trailer achieves or exceeds the jackknife angle (i.e. determines the current hitch angle) the vehicle may be pulled forward to reduce the hitch angle)and
wherein, with the trailer hitched to the vehicle and with the vehicle not operating in the calibration state, the vehicular trailering assist system determines whether the determined current trailer angle is within a threshold amount of the determined trailer collision angle. (Lavoie [0077] when the hitch angle for the vehicle and the trailer achieves or exceeds the jackknife angle (i.e. determines the current hitch angle) the vehicle may be pulled forward to reduce the hitch angle)
Lavoie fails to teach:
a forward-viewing camera disposed at a windshield of a vehicle equipped with the vehicular trailering assist system, the forward-viewing camera viewing forward of the vehicle through the windshield of the vehicle;
wherein the forward-viewing camera comprises a two-dimensional imaging array having at least one million photosensor elements arranged in rows and columns;
a rear backup camera disposed at a rear portion of the vehicle, the rear backup camera viewing at least rearward of the vehicle;
wherein, with a trailer hitched to the vehicle via a pivoting joint hitch connection of the trailer to the vehicle, the rear backup camera views at least a portion of the trailer hitched to the vehicle;
wherein the rear backup camera comprises a two-dimensional imaging array having at least one million photosensor elements arranged in rows and columns;
wherein the rear backup camera is operable to capture image data;
wherein, with the trailer hitched to the vehicle and with the vehicle operating in a calibration state, the vehicular trailering assist system, via processing at the ECU of image data captured by the rear backup camera, determines a portion of the trailer hitched to the vehicle;
Diessner teaches:
comprises a two-dimensional imaging array having at least one million photosensor elements arranged in rows and columns; (Diessner [0055] The photosensor array may comprise a plurality of photosensor elements arranged in a photosensor array having rows and columns…and more preferably at least 1 million photosensor elements or pixels)
a rear backup camera disposed at a rear portion of the vehicle, the rear backup camera viewing at least rearward of the vehicle; (Diessner [0015] A camera is mounted at the rear end portion of the pulling vehicle… [0017] The system extracts a feature vector from the radial motion region, which will be used over frames of captured image data to detect the trailer region…. The system detects the tip of the stationary region (hitch ball))
wherein, with a trailer hitched to the vehicle via a pivoting joint hitch connection of the trailer to the vehicle, the rear backup camera views at least a portion of the trailer hitched to the vehicle; (Diessner [0015] A camera is mounted at the rear end portion of the pulling vehicle… [0017] The system extracts a feature vector from the radial motion region, which will be used over frames of captured image data to detect the trailer region…. The system detects the tip of the stationary region (hitch ball))
wherein the rear backup camera comprises a two-dimensional imaging array having at least one million photosensor elements arranged in rows and columns; (Diessner [0055] The photosensor array may comprise a plurality of photosensor elements arranged in a photosensor array having rows and columns…and more preferably at least 1 million photosensor elements or pixels)
wherein the rear backup camera is operable to capture image data; (Diessner [0015] A camera is mounted at the rear end portion of the pulling vehicle… [0017] The system extracts a feature vector from the radial motion region, which will be used over frames of captured image data to detect the trailer region…. The system detects the tip of the stationary region (hitch ball))
wherein, with the trailer hitched to the vehicle and with the vehicle operating in a calibration state, the vehicular trailering assist system, via processing at the ECU of image data captured by the rear backup camera, determines a portion of the trailer hitched to the vehicle; (Diessner [0023-25] system begins with detecting and measuring trailer attached to vehicle (calibration maneuver), and may identify or recognize the trailer or determine whether or not the particular trailer for which the trailer angle detection is calibrated)
Before the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the recognition step of Diessner with the trailer back up assist of Lavoie. The inventions lie in the same field of endeavor of trailer back up assistance. The motivation to combine the references is to store trailer data ready for use in future trailer recognitions.
The combination of Lavoie and Diessner fails to teach:
a forward-viewing camera disposed at a windshield of a vehicle equipped with the vehicular trailering assist system, the forward-viewing camera viewing forward of the vehicle through the windshield of the vehicle;
wherein the forward-viewing camera
wherein the forward-viewing camera is operable to capture image data;
Lu teaches:
a forward-viewing camera disposed at a windshield of a vehicle equipped with the vehicular trailering assist system, the forward-viewing camera viewing forward of the vehicle through the windshield of the vehicle; (Lu [0066] a vehicle includes an imaging system or vision system or trailer angle viewing detection system that includes one or more imaging sensors or cameras (such as a rearward facing imaging sensor or camera and/or a forwardly facing camera at the front (or at the windshield) of the vehicle)
wherein the forward-viewing camera (Lu [0066] a vehicle includes an imaging system or vision system or trailer angle viewing detection system that includes one or more imaging sensors or cameras (such as a rearward facing imaging sensor or camera and/or a forwardly facing camera at the front (or at the windshield) of the vehicle)
wherein the forward-viewing camera is operable to capture image data; (Lu [0066] a vehicle includes an imaging system or vision system or trailer angle viewing detection system that includes one or more imaging sensors or cameras (such as a rearward facing imaging sensor or camera and/or a forwardly facing camera at the front (or at the windshield) of the vehicle)
Before the time of filing, it would have been obvious to add the front facing camera of Lu to the trailer back up assist of Lavoie and Diessner. The inventions lie in the same field of endeavor of trailer back up assistance. The rationale for the combination is combining prior art elements to yield a predictable result of an all around vehicle vision system.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Lavoie, Diessner, and Lu teaches:
The vehicular trailering assist system of claim 1, wherein the trailer hitched to the vehicle has not been previously hitched to the vehicle. (Diessner [0023-25] system begins with detecting and measuring trailer attached to vehicle (calibration maneuver), and may identify or recognize the trailer or determine whether or not the particular trailer for which the trailer angle detection is calibrated)
Before the time of filing, it would have been obvious to add the front facing camera of Lu to the trailer back up assist of Lavoie and Diessner. The inventions lie in the same field of endeavor of trailer back up assistance. The rationale for the combination is combining prior art elements to yield a predictable result of an all around vehicle vision system.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Lavoie, Diessner, and Lu teaches:
The vehicular trailering assist system of claim 1, wherein the vehicular trailering assist system determines the trailer collision angle based on a plurality of determined portions of the trailer. (Lavoie [0077] The jackknife angle is a function of a maximum wheel angle for the sheered wheels of the vehicle, the when base W of the vehicle, the distance L between hitch point and the axle) of the trailer or the effective axle when the trailer has multiple axles. )
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Lavoie, Diessner, and Lu teaches:
The vehicular trailering assist system of claim 1, wherein, with the trailer hitched to the vehicle and with the vehicle operating in the calibration state, the vehicular trailering assist system determines the trailer collision angle while the vehicle is driven along a curved path. (Lavoie see Figure 9, vehicle with trailer travels along a curved path)
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Lavoie, Diessner, and Lu teaches:
The vehicular trailering assist system of claim 1, wherein, with the trailer hitched to the vehicle and with the vehicle not operating in the calibration state, the vehicular trailering assist system determines whether the determined current trailer angle is within the threshold amount of the determined trailer collision angle while the vehicle is driven in reverse. (Lavoie [0077] when the hitch angle for the vehicle and the trailer achieves or exceeds the jackknife angle (i.e. determines the current hitch angle) the vehicle may be pulled forward to reduce the hitch angle)
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Lavoie, Diessner, and Lu teaches:
The vehicular trailering assist system of claim 1, wherein video images derived from image data captured by the rear backup camera are displayed at a video display device that is viewable by a driver of the vehicle during a reversing maneuver of the vehicle. (Lavoie [0049] The portable device may also include a display for displaying one or more images and other information to a user. For instance, the portable device may display one or more images of the trailer and an indication of the estimated hitch angle on the display)
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Lavoie, Diessner, and Lu teaches:
The vehicular trailering assist system of claim 1, wherein, with the trailer hitched to the vehicle and with the vehicle not operating in the calibration state, the vehicular trailering assist system, responsive to the current trailer angle being with the threshold amount of the determined trailer collision angle, notifies a driver of the vehicle. (Lavoie [0049] The portable device may also include a display for displaying one or more images and other information to a user. For instance, the portable device may display one or more images of the trailer and an indication of the estimated hitch angle on the display)
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Lavoie, Diessner, and Lu teaches:
The vehicular trailering assist system of claim 1, wherein the at least one driving assist system of the vehicle comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of (i) a traffic sign recognition system of the vehicle, (ii) a headlamp control system of the vehicle, (iii) a pedestrian detection system of the vehicle, (iv) a collision avoidance system of the vehicle and (v) a lane marker detection system of the vehicle. (Diessner [0054] The system includes an image processor operable to process image data captured by the camera or cameras, such as for detecting objects or other vehicles or pedestrians or the like in the field of view of one or more of the cameras)
Before the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the recognition step of Diessner with the trailer back up assist of Lavoie. The inventions lie in the same field of endeavor of trailer back up assistance. The motivation to combine the references is to store trailer data ready for use in future trailer recognitions.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Lavoie, Diessner, and Lu teaches:
The vehicular trailering assist system of claim 1, wherein the image processor comprises an image processing chip. (Lavoie, [0051] controller is configured with a microprocessor to process logic and routines stored in the memory)
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Lavoie, Diessner, and Lu teaches:
A vehicular trailering assist system, the vehicular trailering assist system comprising:
a forward-viewing camera disposed at a windshield of a vehicle equipped with the vehicular trailering assist system, the forward-viewing camera viewing forward of the vehicle through the windshield of the vehicle; (Lu [0066] a vehicle includes an imaging system or vision system or trailer angle viewing detection system that includes one or more imaging sensors or cameras (such as a rearward facing imaging sensor or camera and/or a forwardly facing camera at the front (or at the windshield) of the vehicle)
wherein the forward-viewing camera (Lu [0066] a vehicle includes an imaging system or vision system or trailer angle viewing detection system that includes one or more imaging sensors or cameras (such as a rearward facing imaging sensor or camera and/or a forwardly facing camera at the front (or at the windshield) comprises a two-dimensional imaging array having at least one million photosensor elements arranged in rows and columns; (Diessner [0055] The photosensor array may comprise a plurality of photosensor elements arranged in a photosensor array having rows and columns…and more preferably at least 1 million photosensor elements or pixels)
wherein the forward-viewing camera is operable to capture image data; (Lu [0066] a vehicle includes an imaging system or vision system or trailer angle viewing detection system that includes one or more imaging sensors or cameras (such as a rearward facing imaging sensor or camera and/or a forwardly facing camera at the front (or at the windshield) of the vehicle)
a rear backup camera disposed at a rear portion of the vehicle, the rear backup camera viewing at least rearward of the vehicle; (Diessner [0015] A camera is mounted at the rear end portion of the pulling vehicle… [0017] The system extracts a feature vector from the radial motion region, which will be used over frames of captured image data to detect the trailer region…. The system detects the tip of the stationary region (hitch ball))
wherein, with a trailer hitched to the vehicle via a pivoting joint hitch connection of the trailer to the vehicle, the rear backup camera views at least a portion of the trailer hitched to the vehicle; (Diessner [0015] A camera is mounted at the rear end portion of the pulling vehicle… [0017] The system extracts a feature vector from the radial motion region, which will be used over frames of captured image data to detect the trailer region…. The system detects the tip of the stationary region (hitch ball))
wherein the rear backup camera comprises a two-dimensional imaging array having at least one million photosensor elements arranged in rows and columns; (Diessner [0055] The photosensor array may comprise a plurality of photosensor elements arranged in a photosensor array having rows and columns…and more preferably at least 1 million photosensor elements or pixels)
wherein the rear backup camera is operable to capture image data; (Diessner [0015] A camera is mounted at the rear end portion of the pulling vehicle… [0017] The system extracts a feature vector from the radial motion region, which will be used over frames of captured image data to detect the trailer region…. The system detects the tip of the stationary region (hitch ball))
an electronic control unit (ECU) comprising electronic circuitry and associated software, wherein the electronic circuitry comprises an image processor operable to process image data; (Lavoie [0085] an electronic control unit carries out the functionality of the back up assist)
wherein image data captured by the forward-viewing camera is transferred to the ECU and is processed at the ECU for at least one driving assist system of the vehicle; (Lavoie [0085] an electronic control unit carries out the functionality of the back up assist)
wherein video images derived from image data captured by the rear backup camera are displayed at a video display device that is viewable by a driver of the vehicle during a reversing maneuver of the vehicle; (Lavoie [0049] The portable device may also include a display for displaying one or more images and other information to a user. For instance, the portable device may display one or more images of the trailer and an indication of the estimated hitch angle on the display)
wherein image data captured by the rear backup camera is transferred to the ECU and is processed at the ECU; (Lavoie [0085] an electronic control unit carries out the functionality of the back up assist)
wherein, with the trailer hitched to the vehicle and with the vehicle operating in a calibration state, the vehicular trailering assist system, via processing at the ECU of image data captured by the rear backup camera, determines a portion of the trailer hitched to the vehicle; (Diessner [0015] A camera is mounted at the rear end portion of the pulling vehicle… [0017] The system extracts a feature vector from the radial motion region, which will be used over frames of captured image data to detect the trailer region…. The system detects the tip of the stationary region (hitch ball))
wherein, with the trailer hitched to the vehicle and with the vehicle operating in the calibration state, the vehicular trailering assist system is driven along a curved path; (Lavoie see Figure 9, vehicle with trailer travels along a curved path)
wherein the vehicular trailering assist system determines a trailer collision angle based at least in part on the determined portion of the trailer; (Lavoie [0077] when the hitch angle for the vehicle and the trailer achieves or exceeds the jackknife angle (i.e. determines the current hitch angle) the vehicle may be pulled forward to reduce the hitch angle)
wherein, with the trailer hitched to the vehicle and with the vehicle not operating in the calibration state, the vehicular trailering assist system, via processing at the ECU of image data captured by the rear backup camera, determines a current trailer angle of the trailer relative to a longitudinal axis of the vehicle; (Lavoie [0077] when the hitch angle for the vehicle and the trailer achieves or exceeds the jackknife angle (i.e. determines the current hitch angle) the vehicle may be pulled forward to reduce the hitch angle)
and wherein, with the trailer hitched to the vehicle and with the vehicle not operating in the calibration state, the vehicular trailering assist system determines whether the determined current trailer angle is within a threshold amount of the determined trailer collision angle. (Lavoie [0077] when the hitch angle for the vehicle and the trailer achieves or exceeds the jackknife angle (i.e. determines the current hitch angle) the vehicle may be pulled forward to reduce the hitch angle)
Before the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the recognition step of Diessner with the trailer back up assist of Lavoie. The inventions lie in the same field of endeavor of trailer back up assistance. The motivation to combine the references is to store trailer data ready for use in future trailer recognitions.
Before the time of filing, it would have been obvious to add the front facing camera of Lu to the trailer back up assist of Lavoie and Diessner. The inventions lie in the same field of endeavor of trailer back up assistance. The rationale for the combination is combining prior art elements to yield a predictable result of an all around vehicle vision system.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Lavoie, Diessner, and Lu teaches:
The vehicular trailering assist system of claim 17, wherein the trailer hitched to the vehicle has not been previously hitched to the vehicle. (Diessner [0023-25] system begins with detecting and measuring trailer attached to vehicle (calibration maneuver), and may identify or recognize the trailer or determine whether or not the particular trailer for which the trailer angle detection is calibrated)
Before the time of filing, it would have been obvious to add the front facing camera of Lu to the trailer back up assist of Lavoie and Diessner. The inventions lie in the same field of endeavor of trailer back up assistance. The rationale for the combination is combining prior art elements to yield a predictable result of an all around vehicle vision system.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Lavoie, Diessner, and Lu teaches:
The vehicular trailering assist system of claim 17, wherein the vehicular trailering assist system determines the trailer collision angle based on a plurality of determined portions of the trailer. (Lavoie [0077] The jackknife angle is a function of a maximum wheel angle for the sheered wheels of the vehicle, the when base W of the vehicle, the distance L between hitch point and the axle) of the trailer or the effective axle when the trailer has multiple axles. )
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Lavoie, Diessner, and Lu teaches:
The vehicular trailering assist system of claim 17, wherein, with the trailer hitched to the vehicle and with the vehicle not operating in the calibration state, the vehicular trailering assist system determines whether the determined current trailer angle is within the threshold amount of the determined trailer collision angle while the vehicle is driven in reverse. (Lavoie [0077] when the hitch angle for the vehicle and the trailer achieves or exceeds the jackknife angle (i.e. determines the current hitch angle) the vehicle may be pulled forward to reduce the hitch angle)
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Lavoie, Diessner and Lu teaches:
The vehicular trailering assist system of claim 17, wherein, with the trailer hitched to the vehicle and with the vehicle not operating in the calibration state, the vehicular trailering assist system, responsive to the current trailer angle being with the threshold amount of the determined trailer collision angle, notifies the driver of the vehicle. (Lavoie [0049] The portable device may also include a display for displaying one or more images and other information to a user. For instance, the portable device may display one or more images of the trailer and an indication of the estimated hitch angle on the display)
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Lavoie, Diessner and Lu, teaches:
The vehicular trailering assist system of claim 17, wherein the at least one driving assist system of the vehicle comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of (i) a traffic sign recognition system of the vehicle, (ii) a headlamp control system of the vehicle, (iii) a pedestrian detection system of the vehicle, (iv) a collision avoidance system of the vehicle and (v) a lane marker detection system of the vehicle. (Diessner [0054] The system includes an image processor operable to process image data captured by the camera or cameras, such as for detecting objects or other vehicles or pedestrians or the like in the field of view of one or more of the cameras)
Before the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the recognition step of Diessner with the trailer back up assist of Lavoie. The inventions lie in the same field of endeavor of trailer back up assistance. The motivation to combine the references is to store trailer data ready for use in future trailer recognitions.
Regarding claim 27, the combination of Lavoie, Diessner, and Lu teaches:
A vehicular trailering assist system, the vehicular trailering assist system comprising:
a forward-viewing camera disposed at a windshield of a vehicle equipped with the vehicular trailering assist system, the forward-viewing camera viewing forward of the vehicle through the windshield of the vehicle; (Lu [0066] a vehicle includes an imaging system or vision system or trailer angle viewing detection system that includes one or more imaging sensors or cameras (such as a rearward facing imaging sensor or camera and/or a forwardly facing camera at the front (or at the windshield) of the vehicle)
wherein the forward-viewing camera (Lu [0066] a vehicle includes an imaging system or vision system or trailer angle viewing detection system that includes one or more imaging sensors or cameras (such as a rearward facing imaging sensor or camera and/or a forwardly facing camera at the front (or at the windshield) comprises a two-dimensional imaging array having at least one million photosensor elements arranged in rows and columns; (Diessner [0055] The photosensor array may comprise a plurality of photosensor elements arranged in a photosensor array having rows and columns…and more preferably at least 1 million photosensor elements or pixels)
wherein the forward-viewing camera is operable to capture image data; a rear backup camera disposed at a rear portion of the vehicle, the rear backup camera viewing at least rearward of the vehicle; (Diessner [0015] A camera is mounted at the rear end portion of the pulling vehicle… [0017] The system extracts a feature vector from the radial motion region, which will be used over frames of captured image data to detect the trailer region…. The system detects the tip of the stationary region (hitch ball))
wherein, with a trailer hitched to the vehicle via a pivoting joint hitch connection of the trailer to the vehicle, the rear backup camera views at least a portion of the trailer hitched to the vehicle; (Diessner [0015] A camera is mounted at the rear end portion of the pulling vehicle… [0017] The system extracts a feature vector from the radial motion region, which will be used over frames of captured image data to detect the trailer region…. The system detects the tip of the stationary region (hitch ball))
wherein the rear backup camera comprises a two-dimensional imaging array having at least one million photosensor elements arranged in rows and columns; (Diessner [0055] The photosensor array may comprise a plurality of photosensor elements arranged in a photosensor array having rows and columns…and more preferably at least 1 million photosensor elements or pixels)
wherein the rear backup camera is operable to capture image data; (Diessner [0015] A camera is mounted at the rear end portion of the pulling vehicle… [0017] The system extracts a feature vector from the radial motion region, which will be used over frames of captured image data to detect the trailer region…. The system detects the tip of the stationary region (hitch ball))
an electronic control unit (ECU) comprising electronic circuitry and associated software, wherein the electronic circuitry comprises an image processing chip operable to process image data; (Lavoie [0049] The portable device may also include a display for displaying one or more images and other information to a user. For instance, the portable device may display one or more images of the trailer and an indication of the estimated hitch angle on the display)
wherein image data captured by the forward-viewing camera is transferred to the ECU and is processed at the ECU for at least one driving assist system of the vehicle; (Lavoie [0085] an electronic control unit carries out the functionality of the back up assist)
wherein the at least one driving assist system of the vehicle comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of (i) a traffic sign recognition system of the vehicle, (ii) a headlamp control system of the vehicle, (iii) a pedestrian detection system of the vehicle, (iv) a collision avoidance system of the vehicle and (v) a lane marker detection system of the vehicle; (Diessner [0054] The system includes an image processor operable to process image data captured by the camera or cameras, such as for detecting objects or other vehicles or pedestrians or the like in the field of view of one or more of the cameras)
wherein video images derived from image data captured by the rear backup camera are displayed at a video display device that is viewable by a driver of the vehicle during a reversing maneuver of the vehicle; (Lavoie [0049] The portable device may also include a display for displaying one or more images and other information to a user. For instance, the portable device may display one or more images of the trailer and an indication of the estimated hitch angle on the display)
wherein image data captured by the rear backup camera is transferred to the ECU and is processed at the ECU; (Lavoie [0085] an electronic control unit carries out the functionality of the back up assist)
wherein, with the trailer hitched to the vehicle and with the vehicle operating in a calibration state, the vehicular trailering assist system, via processing at the ECU of image data captured by the rear backup camera, determines a portion of the trailer hitched to the vehicle; (Diessner [0015] A camera is mounted at the rear end portion of the pulling vehicle… [0017] The system extracts a feature vector from the radial motion region, which will be used over frames of captured image data to detect the trailer region…. The system detects the tip of the stationary region (hitch ball))
wherein the vehicular trailering assist system determines a trailer collision angle based at least in part on the determined portion of the trailer; (Lavoie [0077] when the hitch angle for the vehicle and the trailer achieves or exceeds the jackknife angle (i.e. determines the current hitch angle) the vehicle may be pulled forward to reduce the hitch angle)
wherein, with the trailer hitched to the vehicle and with the vehicle not operating in the calibration state, the vehicular trailering assist system, via processing at the ECU of image data captured by the rear backup camera, determines a current trailer angle of the trailer relative to a longitudinal axis of the vehicle; (Lavoie [0077] when the hitch angle for the vehicle and the trailer achieves or exceeds the jackknife angle (i.e. determines the current hitch angle) the vehicle may be pulled forward to reduce the hitch angle) and
wherein, with the trailer hitched to the vehicle and with the vehicle not operating in the calibration state, the vehicular trailering assist system determines whether the determined current trailer angle is within a threshold amount of the determined trailer collision angle. (Lavoie [0077] when the hitch angle for the vehicle and the trailer achieves or exceeds the jackknife angle (i.e. determines the current hitch angle) the vehicle may be pulled forward to reduce the hitch angle)
Before the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the recognition step of Diessner with the trailer back up assist of Lavoie. The inventions lie in the same field of endeavor of trailer back up assistance. The motivation to combine the references is to store trailer data ready for use in future trailer recognitions.
Before the time of filing, it would have been obvious to add the front facing camera of Lu to the trailer back up assist of Lavoie and Diessner. The inventions lie in the same field of endeavor of trailer back up assistance. The rationale for the combination is combining prior art elements to yield a predictable result of an all around vehicle vision system.
Regarding claim 30, the combination of Lavoie, Diessner, and Lu teaches:
The vehicular trailering assist system of claim 27, wherein the vehicular trailering assist system determines the trailer collision angle based on a plurality of determined portions of the trailer. (Lavoie [0077] The jackknife angle is a function of a maximum wheel angle for the sheered wheels of the vehicle, the when base W of the vehicle, the distance L between hitch point and the axle) of the trailer or the effective axle when the trailer has multiple axles. )
Regarding claim 31, the combination of Lavoie, Diessner, and Lu teaches:
The vehicular trailering assist system of claim 27, wherein, with the trailer hitched to the vehicle and with the vehicle operating in the calibration state, the vehicular trailering assist system determines the trailer collision angle while the vehicle is driven along a curved path. (Lavoie see Figure 9, vehicle with trailer travels along a curved path)
Regarding claim 33, the combination of Lavoie, Diessner, and Lu teaches:
The vehicular trailering assist system of claim 27, wherein, with the trailer hitched to the vehicle and with the vehicle not operating in the calibration state, the vehicular trailering assist system determines whether the determined current trailer angle is within the threshold amount of the determined trailer collision angle while the vehicle is driven in reverse. (Lavoie [0077] when the hitch angle for the vehicle and the trailer achieves or exceeds the jackknife angle (i.e. determines the current hitch angle) the vehicle may be pulled forward to reduce the hitch angle)
Regarding claim 34, the combination of Lavoie, Diessner, and Lu teaches:
The vehicular trailering assist system of claim 27, wherein, with the trailer hitched to the vehicle and with the vehicle not operating in the calibration state, the vehicular trailering assist system, responsive to the current trailer angle being with the threshold amount of the determined trailer collision angle, notifies the driver of the vehicle. (Lavoie [0049] The portable device may also include a display for displaying one or more images and other information to a user. For instance, the portable device may display one or more images of the trailer and an indication of the estimated hitch angle on the display)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4, 7-9, 12-13, 20-22, 24, 28-29, and 32 are objected to as dependent upon a rejected base claim and would be allowable if rewritten in independent form and any applicable rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) were overcome.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Refer to PTO-892, Notice of References Cited for a listing of analogous art.
/Molly Wilburn/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2666