DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gittins et al, US Patent Publication 20110168057 in view of Kunal et al, US Patent Publication 2014/0051310.
Regarding claims 1-24, Gittins discloses a formulation for a fibrous non-woven facing material, wherein the formulation comprises:
(i) a binder (coating vehicle [0007]);
(ii) a filler (GCC [0021]); and
(iii) an extender (kaolin [0020]);
wherein a median particle size, d50, of the extender is equal to or less than 3.5 µm less than 2 and smaller [0020]), and wherein the extender has a non-spherical morphology (teaches the use of “equivalent spherical diameter implying a non-spherical morphology [0016]);
wherein a median particle size, d50, of the filler is equal to or less than 3.0 µm (less than 0.5 microns [0021]) and a d90 equal to or less than 6.0 µm (less than 5 [0021]);
and wherein the formulation comprises less than 13 wt% titanium dioxide on a dry solids basis (Abstract) in the claimed ratios (see Table with example and [0026-0029]).
It is also noted that do to the same materials being utilizing in the coating formation the refractive index of the formulation and produce would also hold the same values. (see In re Best).
Gittins is silent to the value of a d10 measurement, but does teach d50 values that are less than the claimed amount [0021].
While it is not explicitly stated, it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention that if the d50 value is less than 1 micron, then the d10 value would also have to be less than 1 micron.
Gittens teaches that the formulation is utilized to coat a substrate, but is merely silent as to what the substrate is.
In the same field of endeavor of making a coated material for composite uses, Kunal teaches that the surface layer of the product can be a veil made up of a non-woven construction that is then coated of impregnated with the finder and other additives [0061 and 0081].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention totalize the formulation of Gittins on the veil substrate of Kunal for the benefit of utilizing a known components (the formulation) on a known substrate (non-woven material) to arrive at a predictable end result in a conventional manner.
Conclusion
JACOB T. MINSKEY
Examiner
Art Unit 1741
/JACOB T MINSKEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748