Response to Arguments
Applicant's amendments and arguments filed 10/01/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The amendments to claim 6 appear to add subject matter that is not supported by the Drawings and specification; therefore, a new 112(a) and 112(b) rejection is added. Furthermore, claims 6-10 remain rejected in view of Lent (US 2014/0087234).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “housing” (claim 6) must be shown and labeled or the feature canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: Claim 6 has been amended to include a “housing”. However, there is no mention of a “housing” anywhere in the specification.
Furthermore, claim 6 states that “the elongated tail for contacting the battery extension of the battery pack for prohibiting contact of the snubber bracket with the housing of the battery pack”. This is not explicitly disclosed in the specification, and actually appears to contradict Fig. 4 of the drawings, which shows the snubber bracket in contact with what appears to be the unlabeled housing of the battery pack.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 6 recites the limitation, “the elongated tail for contacting the battery extension of the battery pack for prohibiting contact of the snubber bracket with the housing of the battery pack”. However, this limitation is not explicitly disclosed in the specification, or shown in the Drawings. In fact, the drawings show {Figs. 3-4} that the elongated tail {42} contacting the battery extension {50} does not prohibit contact of the snubber bracket {30} with the housing of the battery pack {12 (see how the top of snubber bracket 30 is in contact with what is assumed to be the housing in Fig. 4)}. The specification mentions that “the tail due to its stiffness prohibits the body of the bracket from contact with the high voltage battery module 12” [0019], and “the rear cradle is prohibited from contacting the high voltage battery module” [0020]. However, the specification never mentions the “housing” at all; let alone “the elongated tail for contacting the battery extension of the battery pack for prohibiting contact of the snubber bracket with the housing of the battery pack”. Therefore, claim 6 is rejected under 112(a), because the specification fails to contain a written description of the invention, and of the manner and process of making and using it, in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the same, and shall set forth the best mode contemplated by the inventor or joint inventor of carrying out the invention.
Accordingly, claims 7-10 are rejected by virtue of dependence from claim 6.
Claims 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation, “the elongated tail for contacting the battery extension of the battery pack for prohibiting contact of the snubber bracket with the housing of the battery pack”. This limitation is unclear and indefinite, because this limitation is not explicitly disclosed in the specification, or shown in the Drawings. In fact, the drawings show {Figs. 3-4} that the elongated tail {42} contacting the battery extension {50} does not prohibit contact of the snubber bracket {30} with the housing of the battery pack {12 (see how the top of snubber bracket 30 is in contact with what is assumed to be the housing in Fig. 4)}. Therefore, claim 6 appears to directly contradict the Drawings and Specification. Thus, claim 6 is rejected under 35 USC 112(b) for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Accordingly, claims 7-10 are rejected by virtue of dependence from claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lent (US 2014/0087234).
Regarding claim 6, Lent discloses a vehicle {“vehicle” [0023]} comprising:
a rear cradle {20+30: the cradle extends along the outside of the battery modules 40+50; therefore, it is a rear cradle, front cradle and side cradle for the battery modules (Figs. 1-6)} with at least one snubber {240: “elastomeric member 240” [0020]};
a battery pack {40+50} having a housing {20+30} and a battery extension {112 (Fig. 6)}, the battery pack {40+50} separate and spaced apart from the rear cradle {20+30 (and separate and spaced apart from the housing and battery extension: Fig. 6)};
a snubber bracket {70} coupled with the at least one snubber {240} between the at least one snubber {240} and the housing {20+30} of the battery pack {40+50}, the snubber bracket {70} including:
a body {230};
a reinforcing nose {392 (Fig. 10)} extending from the body {230} providing a crush zone {Figs. 6, 10} for the at least one snubber {240};
an elongated tail {220} extending from the body {230}, the elongated tail {220} for contacting the battery extension {112 (Fig. 6)} of the battery pack {40+50} for prohibiting contact of the snubber bracket {70 (240)} with the housing {20+30} of the battery pack {40+50}.
Regarding claim 7, Lent discloses a step {(base portion of) 390+394 (Fig. 10)} is formed between the body {230} and the elongated tail {220}.
Regarding claim 8, Lent discloses the step {(base portion of) 390+394 (Fig. 10)} provides an additional crush zone for the snubber bracket {70}.
Regarding claim 9, Lent discloses a flange {upper and lower flange portions of 230 connected to 220 by 400+402+404+410 (Fig. 10)} extends from the body {230: “The extension portion 230 includes a first leg portion 390, a second leg portion 392, and a supporting plate portion 394. The supporting plate portion 394 is disposed between and coupled to the first and second leg portions 390, 392 and is substantially perpendicular to the first and second leg portions 390, 392. The first leg portion 390 is coupled to the plate portion 220 utilizing the weld joints 400, 402, 404. The second leg portion 392 is coupled to the plate portion 220 utilizing the weld joint 410 and two other weld joints (not shown)” [0022]}.
Regarding claim 10, Lent discloses a flange {upper and lower flange portions of 220 connected to 112 by 350+352+254+356+362+364+366+368+370 (Fig. 10)} extends from the elongated tail {220: “The plate portion 220 includes the apertures 350, 352, 354, 356, 358, 360, 362, 364, 366, 368, 370, 372 extending therethrough. The apertures 350, 352, 354, 356, 358, 360, 362, 364, 366, 368, 370, 372 are configured to be aligned with the apertures 130, 132, 134, 136, 138, 140, 141, 142, 143, 144, 145, 146 in the second side portion 112 such that screws 250, 252, 254, 256, 258, 260, 262, 264, 266, 268, 270, 272 respectively are disposed therethrough for coupling the plate portion 220 to the second side portion 112” [0021]}.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Daniel M. Keck/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3614