DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on 12/16/2024, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
The following is a Non-Final Office Action on the merits in response to applicant’s filing from 12/16/2024.
Claims 1-10 are pending and have been considered below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/16/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 1, line 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the tail” should read, “the elongated tail”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1, lines 6-7 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the battery pack” should read, “a battery pack”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 2, line 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the tail” should read, “the elongated tail”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 5, lines 1-2 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the tail” should read, “the elongated tail”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6, line 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the cradle” should read, “the rear cradle”. Appropriate correction is required. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6, line 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the snubber” should read, “the at least one snubber”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6, line 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: “a snubber” should read, “the at least one snubber”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6, line 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the tail” should read, “the elongated tail”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6, lines 8-9 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the battery pack” should read, “a battery pack”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7, line 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the tail” should read, “the elongated tail”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10, line 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the tail” should read, “the elongated tail”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lent (US 2014/0087234).
Regarding claim 1, Lent discloses a snubber bracket {70} comprising: a body {230 (Fig. 10)}; a reinforcing nose {392 (Fig. 10)} extending from the body {230} providing a crush zone {Figs. 6, 10} for a snubber {240: “elastomeric member 240” [0020]}; an elongated tail {220} extending from the body {230}, the tail {220} for contacting a battery extension {112 (Fig. 6)} for prohibiting contact of the snubber bracket {70} with the battery pack {40+150 (so that only snubber 240 contacts the battery pack): “The plate portion 220 is configured to be coupled to an outer surface of the second side portion 112 such that the extension portion 230 extends through the aperture 120 in the second side portion 112 and the elastomeric member 240 contacts the battery module 150 of the plurality of battery modules 40” [0020]}.
Regarding claim 2, Lent discloses a step {(base portion of) 390+394 (Fig. 10)} is formed between the body {230} and the tail {220}.
Regarding claim 3, Lent discloses the step {(base portion of) 390+394 (Fig. 10)} provides an additional crush zone for the snubber bracket {70}.
Regarding claim 4, Lent discloses a flange {upper and lower flange portions of 230 connected to 220 by 400+402+404+410 (Fig. 10)} extends from the body {230: “The extension portion 230 includes a first leg portion 390, a second leg portion 392, and a supporting plate portion 394. The supporting plate portion 394 is disposed between and coupled to the first and second leg portions 390, 392 and is substantially perpendicular to the first and second leg portions 390, 392. The first leg portion 390 is coupled to the plate portion 220 utilizing the weld joints 400, 402, 404. The second leg portion 392 is coupled to the plate portion 220 utilizing the weld joint 410 and two other weld joints (not shown)” [0022]}.
Regarding claim 5, Lent discloses a flange {upper and lower flange portions of 220 connected to 112 by 350+352+254+356+362+364+366+368+370 (Fig. 10)} extends from the tail {220: “The plate portion 220 includes the apertures 350, 352, 354, 356, 358, 360, 362, 364, 366, 368, 370, 372 extending therethrough. The apertures 350, 352, 354, 356, 358, 360, 362, 364, 366, 368, 370, 372 are configured to be aligned with the apertures 130, 132, 134, 136, 138, 140, 141, 142, 143, 144, 145, 146 in the second side portion 112 such that screws 250, 252, 254, 256, 258, 260, 262, 264, 266, 268, 270, 272 respectively are disposed therethrough for coupling the plate portion 220 to the second side portion 112” [0021]}.
Regarding claim 6, Lent discloses a vehicle {“vehicle” [0023]} comprising: a rear cradle {20+30 (112): the cradle extends along the outside of the battery modules 40+50; therefore it is a rear cradle, front cradle and side cradle for the battery modules (Figs. 1-6)} with at least one snubber {240: “elastomeric member 240” [0020]} in the cradle {20+30 (112)} and a snubber bracket {70} coupled with the snubber {240} including: a body {230}; a reinforcing nose {392 (Fig. 10)} extending from the body {230} providing a crush zone {Figs. 6, 10} for a snubber {240}; an elongated tail {220} extending from the body {230}, the tail {220} for contacting a battery extension {112 (Fig. 6)} for prohibiting contact of the snubber bracket {70} with the battery pack {40+150 (so that only snubber 240 contacts the battery pack): “The plate portion 220 is configured to be coupled to an outer surface of the second side portion 112 such that the extension portion 230 extends through the aperture 120 in the second side portion 112 and the elastomeric member 240 contacts the battery module 150 of the plurality of battery modules 40” [0020]}.
Regarding claim 7, Lent discloses a step {(base portion of) 390+394 (Fig. 10)} is formed between the body {230} and the tail {220}.
Regarding claim 8, Lent discloses the step {(base portion of) 390+394 (Fig. 10)} provides an additional crush zone for the snubber bracket {70}.
Regarding claim 9, Lent discloses a flange {upper and lower flange portions of 230 connected to 220 by 400+402+404+410 (Fig. 10)} extends from the body {230: “The extension portion 230 includes a first leg portion 390, a second leg portion 392, and a supporting plate portion 394. The supporting plate portion 394 is disposed between and coupled to the first and second leg portions 390, 392 and is substantially perpendicular to the first and second leg portions 390, 392. The first leg portion 390 is coupled to the plate portion 220 utilizing the weld joints 400, 402, 404. The second leg portion 392 is coupled to the plate portion 220 utilizing the weld joint 410 and two other weld joints (not shown)” [0022]}.
Regarding claim 10, Lent discloses a flange {upper and lower flange portions of 220 connected to 112 by 350+352+254+356+362+364+366+368+370 (Fig. 10)} extends from the tail {220: “The plate portion 220 includes the apertures 350, 352, 354, 356, 358, 360, 362, 364, 366, 368, 370, 372 extending therethrough. The apertures 350, 352, 354, 356, 358, 360, 362, 364, 366, 368, 370, 372 are configured to be aligned with the apertures 130, 132, 134, 136, 138, 140, 141, 142, 143, 144, 145, 146 in the second side portion 112 such that screws 250, 252, 254, 256, 258, 260, 262, 264, 266, 268, 270, 272 respectively are disposed therethrough for coupling the plate portion 220 to the second side portion 112” [0021]}.
Conclusion
/Daniel M. Keck/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3614