DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to application 18/981,876 filed on December 16, 2024. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application and have been examined by the Examiner.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on December 16, 2024 was received and has been considered by the Examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shiraishi et al. (US 2020/0235149).
Consider claim 1, Shiraishi et al. teaches:
An image sensor (see figures 11, 16, 22-24) comprising:
a substrate (“a silicon layer”, paragraph 0167);
a plurality of first pixels (photoelectric conversion device 113A and photoelectric conversion device 113B, figure 22, paragraph 0167) that are disposed in a first pixel group (e.g. in a group of two green pixels, figure 24, paragraph 0255) and share a first micro-lens (on-chip lens, 111, figures 23 and 11, paragraphs 0245 and 0169);
a plurality of second pixels (photoelectric conversion device 113A and photoelectric conversion device 113B, figure 22, paragraph 0167) that are disposed in a second pixel group (e.g. in a group of two red pixels, figure 24, paragraph 0255) and share a second micro-lens (on-chip lens, 111, figures 23 and 11, paragraphs 0245 and 0169);
a first pixel isolation pattern (inter-pixel separation unit, 115, paragraph 0162) that is disposed on the substrate (“the pixels 100 are physically separated in a silicon layer (semiconductor layer) by an inter-pixel separation unit 115 arranged in a square lattice” paragraph 0162) and surrounds the plurality of first pixels (green pixels 113A and 113B, see figures 22 and 24);
a second pixel isolation pattern (inter-pixel separation unit, 115, paragraph 0162) that is disposed on the substrate (“the pixels 100 are physically separated in a silicon layer (semiconductor layer) by an inter-pixel separation unit 115 arranged in a square lattice” paragraph 0162) and surrounds the plurality of second pixels (red pixels 113A and 113B, see figures 22 and 24);
a first guide pattern (i.e. the inter-pixel light blocking unit (114) surrounding the green pixels, paragraph 0172, figure 24) that is disposed between the substrate (i.e. in which the inter-pixel separation unit (115) is formed) and the first micro-lens (111) and at least partially overlaps the first pixel isolation pattern (115) on a plane parallel to a surface of the substrate (see figures 11, 16 and 23);
a second guide pattern (projection portion, 114P, paragraph 0194) that is disposed between the substrate (i.e. in which the inter-pixel separation unit (115) is formed) and the first micro-lens (111) and extends toward a central portion between the plurality of first pixels (i.e. the green pixels, figure 24) on the plane (See figures 16 and 24. Paragraph 0259 recites, “Note that although the case where the projecting length of the projection portion 115P of the inter-pixel separation unit 115 is changed for each pixel 100 has been described, also a length of a protruding part (projecting length) of the projection portion 114P of the inter-pixel light blocking unit 114 may be changed for each pixel 100, similarly.”);
a third guide pattern (i.e. the inter-pixel light blocking unit (114) surrounding the red pixels, paragraph 0172, figure 24) that is disposed between the substrate (i.e. in which the inter-pixel separation unit (115) is formed) and the second micro-lens (111) and at least partially overlaps the second pixel isolation pattern (115) on the plane (see figures 11, 16 and 23); and
a fourth guide pattern (projection portion, 114P, paragraph 0194) that is disposed between the substrate (i.e. in which the inter-pixel separation unit (115) is formed) and the second micro-lens (111) and extends toward a central portion between the plurality of second pixels (i.e. the red pixels, figure 24) on the plane (See figures 16 and 24. Paragraph 0259 recites, “Note that although the case where the projecting length of the projection portion 115P of the inter-pixel separation unit 115 is changed for each pixel 100 has been described, also a length of a protruding part (projecting length) of the projection portion 114P of the inter-pixel light blocking unit 114 may be changed for each pixel 100, similarly.”),
wherein the width of the second guide pattern (114P) in an extension direction of the second guide pattern and a width of the fourth guide pattern (114P) in an extension direction of the fourth guide pattern are different from each other (A width is based on a point of view. When viewing sheet 23 (i.e. that includes figure 24) of Shiraishi et al., an extension direction of the second and fourth guide patterns (114P) is indicated by dotted lines. As detailed in paragraph 0259 and shown in figure 16, the sizes of the second and fourth guide patterns (114P) correspond to the sizes of the projection patterns (115P). The width (L1G) of the projection pattern (115P) of the green pixels in the extension direction (i.e. along the dotted line) is greater than the width (L1R) of the projection pattern (115P) of the red pixels in this direction (i.e. along the dotted line). See figure 24, paragraphs 0256 and 0259.).
Consider claim 2, and as applied to claim 1 above, Shiraishi et al. further teaches that the width of the first guide pattern (114) in the extension direction (i.e. in the direction of the dotted lines in figure 24) of the second guide pattern (114) and the width of the third guide pattern (114) in the extension direction (i.e. in the direction of the dotted lines in figure 24) of the fourth guide pattern (114P) are the same (see figures 16, 22 and 24).
Consider claim 9, and as applied to claim 1 above, Shiraishi et al. further teaches a third pixel isolation pattern (projection portion (115P) of the green pixels) that is disposed on the substrate (see figure 16) and extends from the first pixel isolation pattern (115) to be disposed between the plurality of first pixels (see figures 22 and 24, paragraphs 0254-0256 and 0174); and
a fourth pixel isolation pattern (projection portion (115P) of the red pixels) that is disposed on the substrate (see figure 16) and extends from the second pixel isolation pattern (115) to be disposed between the plurality of second pixels (see figures 22 and 24, paragraphs 0254-0256 and 0174),
wherein on the plane, at least a portion of the second guide pattern (114P) is disposed at one side of the third pixel isolation pattern (115P, see figure 16) and at least a portion of the fourth guide pattern (114P) is disposed at one side of the fourth pixel isolation pattern (115P, see figure 16).
Consider claim 10, and as applied to claim 9 above, Shiraishi et al. further teaches that on the plane, a central portion of the first micro-lens (111) is spaced apart from the central portion between the plurality of first pixels in a first direction (see figures 11 and 23), on the plane, the portion of the second guide pattern (114P) is disposed at a second direction opposite to the first direction of the third pixel isolation pattern (115P, see figure 16), on the plane, a central portion of the second micro-lens (111) is spaced apart from the central portion between the plurality of second pixels in the first direction (see figures 11 and 23), and on the plane, the portion of the fourth guide pattern (114P) is disposed at the second direction of the fourth pixel isolation pattern (115P, see figure 16).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-8 and 11-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Consider claim 3, the prior art of record does not teach nor reasonably suggest that the second pixel group is disposed closer to an edge of the image sensor than the first pixel group, and the width of the fourth guide pattern in the extension direction of the fourth guide pattern is greater than the width of the second guide pattern in the extension direction of the second guide pattern, in combination with the other elements recited in parent claims 1 and 2.
Claims 4-8 contain allowable subject matter as depending from claim 3.
Consider claim 11, the prior art of record does not teach nor reasonably suggest that the central portion of the first micro-lens and the central portion between the plurality of first pixels are spaced apart by a first interval on the plane, the central portion of the second micro-lens and the central portion between the plurality of second pixels are spaced apart by a second interval on the plane, and the second interval is greater than the first interval, in combination with the other elements recited in parent claims 1, 9 and 10.
Claim 12 contains allowable subject matter as depending from claim 11.
Consider claim 13, the prior art of record does not teach nor reasonably suggest that on the plane, the second guide pattern obliquely extends to further overlap the third pixel isolation pattern as the second guide pattern extends away from the first guide pattern, in combination with the other elements recited in parent claims 1 and 9.
Claims 14-20 contain allowable subject matter as depending from claim 13.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Shinohara (US 2022/0190006) teaches a pixel configuration having shared microlenses and isolation patterns (figures 10A and 10B).
Pyo et al. (US 2020/0243578) teaches a pixel configuration having shared microlenses and isolation patterns (figures 5A-7C).
Park et al. (US 2022/0384507) teaches a pixel configuration having shared microlenses and isolation patterns (figures 4A-25).
Jung et al. (US 2022/0344384) teaches a pixel configuration having shared microlenses and isolation patterns (figures 3-20).
Chang et al. (US 2017/0092684) teaches a pixel configuration having shared microlenses and isolation patterns (figures 2 and 4-6).
Park et al. (US 2022/0130876) teaches a pixel configuration having shared microlenses and isolation patterns (figure 3B).
/ALBERT H CUTLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637